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Introduction

V ictims suffer staggering economic costs as a result of crime. The tangible cost of
crime, including medical expenses, lost earnings, and public victim assistance costs,
is an estimated $105 billion a year.1 Crime victim compensation programs reim-

burse victims for part of this loss. During fiscal year 1998, state compensation programs
paid close to $250 million to victims of violent crime.2 However, most of the costs of
crime are absorbed by the victims and victim service providers.

Restitution laws are designed to shift the burden. As one legislature noted, “It is the pur-
pose of [restitution law] to encourage the compensation of victims by the person most 
responsible for the loss incurred by the victim, the offender.”3

Status of the Law
Right to Restitution

Every state gives courts the statutory authority to order restitution. In addition, 18 of
the 32 state crime victims’ rights constitutional amendments give victims a right to
restitution.4

In more than one-third of all states, courts are required by statute to order restitution un-
less there are compelling or extraordinary circumstances. Florida’s law is typical, provid-
ing that “[i]n addition to any punishment, the court shall order the defendant to make
restitution to the victim for: 1) Damage or loss caused directly or indirectly by the defen-
dant’s offense; and 2) Damage or loss related to the defendant’s criminal episode, unless
it finds clear and compelling reasons not to order such restitution.”5 In many states,
the law requires restitution but allows broad exceptions to that rule. For instance, Con-
necticut and Nevada both require restitution “if restitution is appropriate.”6 Oregon 
provides that restitution shall be ordered “whenever possible.”7 Regardless of whether
restitution is mandatory, about one-quarter of all states require courts to state on the
record the reasons for failing to order restitution or for ordering only partial restitution.8

This requirement is thought to further encourage courts to consider restitution to the
victim when sentencing convicted offenders.
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Message From

the Director
Over the past three decades, the

criminal justice field has witnessed an
astounding proliferation of statutory
enhancements benefiting people who
are most directly and intimately affect-
ed by crime. As of 2000, all states had
passed some form of legislation to ben-
efit victims. In addition, 32 states have
recognized the supreme importance of
fundamental and express rights for
crime victims by raising those protec-
tions to the constitutional level.

Of course, the nature, scope, and en-
forcement of victims’ rights vary from
state to state, and it is a complex and
often frustrating matter for victims to
determine what those rights mean for
them.To help victims, victim advocates,
and victim service providers under-
stand the relevance of the myriad laws
and constitutional guarantees, the
Office for Victims of Crime awarded
funding to the National Center for
Victims of Crime to produce a series
of bulletins addressing salient legal is-
sues affecting crime victims.

Ordering Restitution to the Crime Victim,
the sixth in the series, provides an
overview of state laws addressing the
rights of victims to receive court-
ordered restitution from offenders in
criminal cases.This bulletin and the oth-
ers in the Legal Series highlight 
various circumstances in which relevant
laws are applied, emphasizing their suc-
cessful implementation.
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Restitution need not be limited to victims of crimes for which a
defendant was convicted. When a defendant is charged with sim-
ilar crimes against many individuals, as in the case of a serial
rapist or a perpetrator of large-scale fraud, he or she may plead
guilty to one or more counts in exchange for an agreement by the
prosecutor to drop other charges. In such a case, as part of the
plea agreement, the defendant may agree to pay restitution to all
victims. Many states specifically allow this by statute.27 For exam-
ple, Idaho’s restitution law states that the “court may, with the
consent of the parties, order restitution to victims, and/or any
other person or entity, for economic loss or injury for crimes
which are not adjudicated or are not before the court.”28

Losses for Which Restitution May Be Ordered

Restitution may be ordered to cover numerous crime-related ex-
penses incurred by a victim. Typically, statutes specify that the
following may be included in setting the restitution amount:

• Medical expenses.

• Lost wages.

• Counseling expenses.

• Lost or damaged property.

• Funeral expenses.

• Other direct out-of-pocket expenses.

Medical expenses are defined as medical services and devices
(often including “nonmedical care and treatment rendered in ac-
cordance with a recognized method of healing”), physical thera-
py, and rehabilitation.29

Lost wages can include time lost from work because of participa-
tion in the court process.30 Courts have even applied this to self-
employed individuals who have had to close a business or forego
employment while testifying.31 California law specifies that par-
ents can receive restitution for wages lost while caring for an in-
jured minor victim.32 Although Arizona’s statute is not so specific,
its Court of Appeals has interpreted that statute to reach the
same conclusion: the “parents . . . stood in the shoes of the vic-
tim and were entitled to restitution for their lost wages incurred
while taking [her] to medical appointments and juvenile court
hearings on this case.”33

Counseling expenses are generally recoverable. Many states ex-
tend restitution for counseling expenses to victims’ family mem-
bers. Some states limit family counseling expenses to cases of

We hope that victims, victim advocates, victim service providers,
criminal justice professionals, and policymakers in states across
the Nation will find the bulletins in this series helpful in making
sense of the criminal justice process and in identifying areas in
which rights could be strengthened or more clearly defined.We
encourage you to use these bulletins not simply as informational
resources but as tools to support victims in their involvement
with the criminal justice system.

John W. Gillis
Director

Where victims have a clear statutory right to restitution, the
right has been found to apply to cases that result in a plea agree-
ment. The California Court of Appeals recently ruled that resti-
tution must be a part of every sentence, regardless of a plea
agreement to the contrary: “The Legislature left no discretion or
authority with the trial court or the prosecution to bargain away
the victim’s constitutional and statutory right to restitution. As
such, it cannot properly be the subject of plea negotiations.”9

Oklahoma’s statute expressly requires that restitution to the vic-
tim be part of every plea agreement.10 Florida requires that an
“order of restitution entered as part of a plea agreement is as de-
finitive and binding as any other order of restitution, and a state-
ment to such effect must be made part of the plea agreement.”11

Although most restitution laws apply to crime victims in general,
many states have enacted specific directives to order restitution
to victims of particular offenses, such as crimes against the elder-
ly,12 domestic violence,13 sexual assault,14 hate crimes,15 child
abuse,16 child sexual abuse,17 drunk driving,18 and identity fraud.19

Eligibility for Restitution

Generally, restitution laws provide for restitution to the direct
victim(s) of a crime, including surviving family members of
homicide victims. Many states also authorize an order of restitu-
tion to third parties, including insurers,20 victim compensation
programs,21 government entities,22 and victim service agencies.23

Several states authorize restitution to any entity that has provid-
ed recovery to the victim as a collateral source.24 Alaska authoriz-
es a court to order restitution “to a public, private, or private
nonprofit organization that has provided . . . counseling, medical,
or shelter services to the victim or other person injured by the of-
fense.”25 In a recent New York case, an appellate court ruled that
a defendant could be required to make restitution to a victim’s
employer for the victim’s sick leave.26

Continued from page 1
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homicide,34 whereas others allow such expenses whenever the
counseling is related to the commission of the offense.35

In homicide cases, a family’s funeral and travel expenses and
the ordinary and reasonable attorney fees incurred in closing
the victim’s estate have been found to be proper restitution
items.36 Other funeral expenses that might be covered include a
headstone, flowers, chapel music, minister’s honorarium, and
chapel fee.37

Restitution may also be ordered for other out-of-pocket expenses
directly related to the crime. In cases of identity fraud, this may
include expenses for correcting a victim’s credit history and costs
incurred in any civil or administrative proceeding needed to sat-
isfy any debt or other obligation of the victim, including lost
wages and attorney fees.38

Many states authorize courts to order defendants to pay interest
on the restitution. For example, California’s law provides that a
restitution order shall include “interest, at the rate of 10 per-
cent per annum, that accrues as of the date of sentencing or
loss, as determined by the court.”39 In some states, attorney fees
are also recoverable. In Oregon, attorney fees have been found
by the courts to be recoverable as “special damages” if incurred
to ensure indictment and criminal prosecution; the victim may
later file a civil suit.40 California’s restitution statute provides for
recovery of attorney fees and costs incurred for collecting resti-
tution.41

In some states, future damages can be awarded. Iowa law specifi-
cally provides for future damages, stating that where the full ex-
tent of the loss is not known at the time of sentencing, the court
is to issue a temporary order for a reasonable amount of restitu-
tion identified at that time. The court is authorized to issue a
permanent supplemental order at a later date, setting out the full
amount of restitution.42 Arizona’s Court of Appeals ruled that fu-
ture damages were a permissible restitution element, reasoning
that disallowing future expenses would defeat the legislative pur-
pose of restitution, which is to make the victim whole.43

Meanwhile, Wyoming has a detailed statutory scheme for order-
ing restitution for long-term medical expenses. Under its law, the
court is to consider and include as a special finding “each victim’s
reasonably foreseeable actual pecuniary damage that will result in
the future as a result of the defendant’s criminal activity.”44 Thus,
a restitution order for long-term physical health care must be en-
tered for any such damages.

Not every state allows restitution for future expenses, however.
Indiana courts have stated that only actual costs incurred by the

victim before sentencing may be considered for a restitution
order.45

Considerations in Ordering Restitution

Restitution laws generally set out the elements the court is to
consider before it rules on restitution. Alaska law provides that
“[i]n determining the amount and method of payment of restitu-
tion, the court shall take into account the: 1) public policy that
favors requiring criminals to compensate for damages and injury
to their victims; and 2) financial burden placed on the victim
and those who provide services to the victim and other persons
injured by the offense as a result of the criminal conduct of the
defendant.”46

Most states also require the court to consider the current finan-
cial resources of the defendant, the defendant’s future ability to
pay, and, in some states, the burden restitution will place on the
defendant and his or her dependents. States are beginning to
move away from consideration of the defendant’s ability to pay
when setting the restitution amount. However, the defendant’s
assets and earning potential are taken into account in setting the
payment schedule. Arizona’s law states that the court “shall not
consider the economic circumstances of the defendant in deter-
mining the amount of restitution,”47 but the court is required to
consider the economic circumstances of the defendant in specify-
ing the manner of payment.48 Similarly, in Florida, the court is
charged only with considering the loss sustained by the victim
in determining whether to order restitution and the amount of
restitution. At the time the restitution order is enforced, the
court is to consider the defendant’s financial resources, the pres-
ent and potential future financial needs and earning ability of
the defendant and his or her dependents, and other appropriate
factors.49

Current Issues
Conflicting Directives

Many states have conflicting restitution statutes. A state may
have one statute that mandates restitution in every criminal case
and another that expressly leaves the ordering of restitution to
the court’s discretion. States may give every victim the right to
restitution “as provided by law” but fail to mandate that courts
order restitution. In some states, a single statute contains con-
flicting provisions. For example, a Minnesota law states that
every crime victim has the right to receive restitution as part of
the disposition of a criminal charge or juvenile delinquency pro-
ceeding if the offender is convicted or found delinquent. The
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victim does not request restitution does not change the court’s
obligation to order it.”59

A Victim’s Failure To Demonstrate and a Court’s Inability To
Calculate Loss
Unless they are given sufficient evidence regarding a victim’s fi-
nancial loss and the degree to which the victim was harmed,
courts are reluctant to enter an order of restitution. As a result,
many states have adopted statutory procedures to gather informa-
tion about a victim’s losses. Oregon requires the prosecutor to in-
vestigate and present evidence on the nature and amount of the
victim’s damages before or at the time of sentencing unless the
presentence report contained such information.60 Wisconsin,
meanwhile, requires the prosecutor to request information about
losses from the victim.61

Many states also require that detailed information about the vic-
tim’s losses be included in the presentence report.62 Georgia re-
quires the victim impact statement to be attached to the file so
that the judge or prosecutor can use it at any stage of the pro-
ceedings, including restitution consideration.63 Delaware and
Oklahoma require the victim to submit a particular form describ-
ing losses in detail.64 Victims who seek restitution in South
Carolina must submit an itemized list of all financial losses.65

Several states provide assistance to the crime victim in preparing
such documentation. Oklahoma law states that “[e]very crime
victim receiving the restitution claim form shall be provided as-
sistance and direction to properly complete the form.”66

The Opinion That Restitution Was Inappropriate in Light of
Other Penalties Imposed
Traditionally, laws provide for restitution as a condition of proba-
tion or suspended sentence. There was limited statutory authority
to order both restitution and incarceration.67 This may be why
many judges believe it is inappropriate to order restitution in
cases in which a defendant is imprisoned as well. New laws re-
quiring courts to consider restitution in every case may be a re-
sponse to this judicial reluctance to issue restitution orders.

A Defendant’s Inability To Pay
One of the most common reasons for failing to order restitution
has been a defendant’s inability to pay. As noted earlier, many
states have addressed this problem by providing that the de-
fendant’s financial circumstances are to be considered at the time
the payment schedule is developed but not when the amount of
restitution is set. The South Dakota statute states that even if the
defendant is currently unable to pay restitution, a restitution plan
must be presented that states the conditions under which the 

statute further provides that the court “shall grant or deny 
restitution or partial restitution and shall state on the record its
reasons for its decision on restitution if information relating to
restitution has been presented.”50 Other states have similar con-
tradictions within their statutes. The Colorado Legislature ad-
dressed this issue in 1999 when it created a task force to develop
a report on restitution and specifically charged the task force
with identifying conflicting provisions in the law.51

Other Barriers to Restitution Orders

Despite progressively stronger restitution statutes, studies and 
anecdotal information suggest that crime victims are frequently
not awarded restitution. In a 1996 study, less than half of the
1,300 crime victims surveyed reported that they were awarded
restitution.52

As part of the same study, local criminal justice and victim serv-
ice professionals were surveyed about their experiences with
crime victims’ rights and asked to identify why courts often failed
to order restitution. The most common reasons were a victim’s
failure to request restitution, a victim’s failure to demonstrate
loss, the inability to calculate a victim’s loss, the opinion that
restitution was inappropriate in light of other penalties imposed
(especially in cases where the defendant receives jail time), and a
defendant’s inability to pay.53 Most of these reasons can be ad-
dressed in whole or in part by statute.

A Victim’s Failure To Request Restitution
One way to address a victim’s failure to request restitution is to
strengthen the laws that require a victim to be notified of the
right to request restitution. Victims are commonly informed of
the availability of restitution at the time they receive general in-
formation about crime victims’ rights, either when the crime is
reported or when the prosecutor files charges.54 Early notification
of a victim’s right to request restitution gives the victim time to
gather evidence to document losses. In some states, victims are
informed of their right to request restitution again when they are
notified of the sentencing hearing or asked to complete a victim
impact statement.55

Other states simply place the burden of requesting restitution on
the prosecutor.56 Wisconsin law requires the court to prompt the
prosecutor: “The court, before imposing sentence or ordering pro-
bation, shall inquire of the district attorney regarding the amount
of restitution, if any, that the victim claims.”57 Finally, a few states
have avoided the issue of victims failing to request restitution by
eliminating the need for such a request. In Arizona, for example,
restitution is mandatory in every criminal case:58 “The fact that a
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defendant will begin making restitution.68 Similarly, Idaho’s law
states that the immediate inability of a defendant to pay is not a
reason to not order restitution.69

Illinois courts have addressed this issue by ruling that restitution
may be ordered regardless of the term of incarceration and a de-
fendant’s financial resources. “The fact that [restitution] may
never be collectible is of no importance,”70 according to one
Illinois case. Meanwhile, proceedings in another Illinois case in-
dicate that “[w]ith respect to defendants sentenced to lengthy
prison terms, the fact of a term of imprisonment is simply one
factor for a trial judge to consider when assessing a defendant’s
postincarceration ability to pay for purposes of fashioning terms
of the restitution order.”71

States have also acted to ensure that courts are presented with
more complete information about a defendant’s financial status.
Oklahoma’s law states that

The court shall order the offender to submit . . . such infor-
mation as the court may direct and finds necessary to be
disclosed for the purpose of ascertaining the type and man-
ner of restitution to be ordered. . . . The willful failure or
refusal of the offender to provide all or part of the requisite
information prior to the sentencing, unless disclosure is de-
ferred by the court, shall not deprive the court of the au-
thority to set restitution or set the schedule of payment.
The willful failure or refusal . . . shall constitute a waiver of
any grounds to appeal or seek future amendment or alter-
ation of the restitution order predicated on the undisclosed
information.72

Such failure or refusal is also an act of contempt.73

In California, the defendant is required to file a disclosure identi-
fying all assets, income, and liabilities. Failure to disclose this in-
formation may be considered an aggravating circumstance in
sentencing and “a factor indicating that the interests of justice
would not be served by admitting the defendant to probation . . .
conditionally sentencing the defendant . . . [or] imposing less
than the maximum fine and sentence.”74

New Mexico requires defendants to prepare a plan of restitution
with the probation or parole officer, “and the court, before ap-
proving, disapproving or modifying the plan of restitution, shall
consider the physical and mental health and condition of the de-
fendant, his age, his education, his employment circumstances,

his potential for employment and vocational training, his family
circumstances, [and] his financial condition,” among other 
factors.75

Providing information about a defendant’s ability to pay restitu-
tion can give courts more confidence in ordering restitution.
Perhaps more important, it helps to fashion a workable payment
plan.

Conclusion

R estitution to crime victims is an important criminal law
objective. The act of ordering restitution serves as an ac-
knowledgment by the criminal justice system that the vic-

tim sustained harm. Payment of restitution can help rectify that
harm. Legislatures nationwide are reexamining their statutes re-
garding this issue and continuing to refine and expand this area
of the law. Not only are legislatures acting to encourage more
restitution orders, the increasing attention paid to quantifying a
victim’s losses and investigating a defendant’s assets before enter-
ing restitution orders will help improve the quality and workabili-
ty of such orders. Victim service providers should continue to
follow developments regarding this issue and be prepared to assist
crime victims who seek restitution.

About This Series
OVC Legal Series bulletins are designed to inform victim advocates
and victim service providers about various legal issues relating to
crime victims.The series is not meant to provide an exhaustive
legal analysis of the topics presented; rather, it provides a digest of
issues for professionals who work with victims of crime.

Each bulletin summarizes—

■ Existing legislation.

■ Important court decisions in cases where courts have 
addressed the issues.

■ Current trends or “hot topics” relating to each legal 
issue.
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10. OKLA. STAT. tit. 22, § 991f (2000).

11. FLA. STAT. ANN. § 775.089 (West 2000).

12. FLA. STAT. ANN. § 784.08 (West 2000).
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15. CAL. PENAL CODE § 422.95 (Deering 2001).

16. COLO. REV. STAT. § 18-6-401.4 (2000).

17. COLO. REV. STAT. § 18-3-414 (2000).

18. KAN. STAT. ANN. § 8-1019 (2000).

19. MASS. GEN. LAWS ch. 266, § 37E (2001).
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2000); WIS. STAT. § 973.20 (2000).

25. ALASKA STAT. § 12.55.045 (Michie 2001). See also MICH. STAT.
ANN. § 28.1073 (Law. Co-op. 2000).

26. People v. McDaniel, 219 A.D. 2d 861, 631 N.Y.S.2d 957 (4th
Dept. 1995), appeal denied, 88 N.Y.2d 850, 644 N.Y.S.2d 697, 667
N.E.2d 347 (1996).

27. For example, see FLA. STAT. ANN. § 775.089 (West 2000); 730
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(2001).

28. IDAHO CODE § 19-5304 (Michie 2000).
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