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SUMMARY

This report focuses on the legal issues raised by an administrative
per se lav as well as the effectiveness of such a statute in improving
highway safety. An analysis of legal precedent in this area indicates that
an administrative per se law (if properly drafted) could withstand any
constitutional challenges to it that might be posed. In addition, studies
of mandatory license revocation laws in general and administrative per se
statutes in particular demonstrate that such a statute could have a
considerable impact on drunken driving.

In 1971, the U.S. Supreme Court determined that a driver’s license is
an entitlement that can be taken away only if the revocation procedures
meet the due process standards of the Fourteenth Amendment. Nevertheless,
the Court also held that in certain "emergency" situations, the government
may dispense with the requirements of pre-deprivation notice and an
opportunity for a hearing. Although the definition of emergency is
ambiguous, it has been held to include the context of highway safety. As a
result, in situations in which the governmental purpose is to promote
highway safety, a driver’s license may be summarily revoked. An
administrative per se law, which is designed to promote highway safety by
removing drunken drivers from the roads, meets the required governmental
interest criterion; therefore, a government agency could take away a
driver’s license prior to an administrative hearing.

Concerns about double jeopardy, given the dual nature of sanctions
under an administrative per se law, are also unfounded. The U.S. Supreme
Court ruled that the constitutional prohibition against double jeopardy
refers only to double criminal sanctions for the same conduct. An
administrative per se law, however, provides for a civil penalty in
addition to any criminal sanctions for drunken driving. Consequently, the
difference in nature between the two sanctions makes each one permissible.

In examining the effectiveness of administrative per se statutes in
improving highway safety, two studies of interest were found to be
particularly relevant. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety issued a
report in February 1988 on the impact of an administrative per se law in
reducing alcolol-related fatal crashes. The Insurance Institute’s report
concluded that an administrative per se law could reduce alcohol-related
fatal crashes overall by 4.6 percent. Another study, conducted by the U.S.
Department of Transportation, examined the detérrent effects of mandatory
license revocation laws in general. It concluded that the mandatory
license revocation statute in Wisconsin helped reduce alcohol-related
crashes in the state by 25 percent. Since an administrative per se law is
one type of mandatory license revocation statute, it follows that it could
have a similar effect in reducing alcohol-related crashes.

Given the strong legal precedent supporting the constitutionality of
an administrative per se law and such a statute’s potential effectiveness
in reducing alcohol-related crashes, the Commonwealth of Virginia should
consider adopting an administrative per se law. In the fight against
drunken driving, an administrative per se law would be an effective weapon
for law enforcement officials who are all too often frustrated by the
inadequacies of the criminal justice system.
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INTRODUCTION

More than half of the fatalities that occur on our nation’s highways
each year involve persons operating motor vehicles while under the
influence of alcohol (1l). In response to this problem, almost all states
have enacted laws that provide for licensing action against a person who
has been convicted of driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
(DUI) (2).

In many cases, however, convictions are neither quick nor certain.
Delays in the criminal justice system are the product of the dilatory
tactics of defense attorneys as well as overcrovded dockets (3). In some
instances, drivers can escape the consequences of their actions by having
their drunken driving charge reduced to a lesser charge in exchange for a
guilty plea.

An effective way to avoid problems engendered by the criminal justice
process is to summarily revoke the licenses of drivers whose blood alcohol
concentration (BAC) or alcohol concentration (AC) is above a prescribed
level (4). A statute that provides for summary revocation or suspension by
an administrative agency (e.g., Department of Motor Vehicles, Department of
Public Safety) is called an "administrative per se" statute. A similar
statute that provides for summary license revocation by a judicial officer
is a "judicial per se" statute.

Both administrative per se and judicial per se statutes allow quick
and certain action against the drunken driver. Further, both statutes
provide sanctions that are in addition to and not in lieu of criminal
penalties. The administrative statute is the focus of this report since
all but one of the states that have adopted summary revocation have done so
via an administrative per se law (the only state with a judicial per se




statute is North Carolina). Issues addressed in this report, however,
pertain to summary license revocation in general and thus apply to both
types of statutes.

As indicated above, an administrative per se statute provides for the
revocation or suspension of a driver’s license through an automatic
administrative process if a driver has a BAC above a specific level. 1In
states having such a statute, the BAC level ranges from 0.08 to 0.15 for
drivers of legal drinking age. Most of these states have simply merged the
statute with their existing implied consent law. Every state has an
implied consent lawv whereby a driver on the public roads is deemed to have
given consent to a blood, breath, or urine test if a police officer has
probable cause to administer such a test. The driver may refuse the test;
howvever, refusal carries with it a penalty specified in the statute i
(generally forfeiture of the driver’s license). As a result of the merger
of administrative per se and implied consent laws, therefore, drivers by
implication consent to forfeit their licenses if their BACs are equal to or
above a prescribed level or if they refuse the chemical analysis. Appendix
A gives the mandatory licensing actions upon test refusal in the fifty
states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico as of January 1, 1988.

In 1976, Minnesota became the first state to enact an administrative
per se statute. To date, twenty-one states and the District of Columbia
have enacted administrative per se statutes (Alaska, Arizona, Colorado,
Delavare, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, 'Minnesota,
Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon,
Utah, VWest Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming). Appendix B gives the
mandatory licensing actions under the various administrative per se
statutes as of January 1, 1988. The statutes vary but typically provide
for seizure of the license by police officers upon a test result of 0.10
BAC. The officer then issues a temporary license, which is valid for a
short period of time during which the licensee can request a hearing. The
suspension or revocation is generally automatic in the absence of a request
for a hearing. The hearing itself is usually limited to an inquiry into
probable cause to test, the driver’s refusal, or the test results.

The primary benefit of such a statute is the swift and certain
imposition of penalties for drunken driving. Administrative license
revocation circumvents delays common to the criminal justice process
because the license is seized by the arresting officer (as an agent of the
administrative body) with the driver having recourse to a post-deprivation
hearing. Consequently, the administrative per se statute has the potential
to immediately remove some high-risk drivers from the roads.

A second benefit of an administrative per se statute is that it is
more likely to deter drunken drivers than the present Virginia scheme. In
Deterring the Drinking Driver, Ross explained that the level of deterrence
"is a function of the perceived certainty, severity, and swiftness or




celerity of punishment in the event of violation of the law" (3).
Statistics demonstrate that an administrative per se statute increases the
certainty of punishment upon arrest. In 1986, Minnesota revoked the
licenses of over 99 percent of its DUI arrestees, whereas Virginia revoked
or suspended the licenses of only 63 percent of its DUI arrestees.
Furthermore, celerity of punishment would increase under an administrative
per se scheme because most statutes impose revocation within one week of
the offense. Given the nature of the criminal justice process, it may be
months before a license is revoked in Virginia today. Thus, an
administrative per se law would theoretically afford a better cognitive
link between the illegal DUI offense and its consequences.

THE PROBLEM IN VIRGINIA

Drunken driving in the Commonwealth of Virginia has, over the years,
caused thousands of deaths, a tremendous number of injuries, and an
exorbitant amount of damage to property. It is estimated that in 1987
alone, the total economic loss in Virginia attributable to alcohol-related
accidents was more than $276 million (6). Moreover, the annual economic
loss has been increasing over the past few years.

In 1987, there were 18,878 alcohol-related crashes (7). Of these, 378
were fatal crashes, which represented 41.7 percent of all fatal crashes for
the year. The number of deaths was 418, which represented 40.9 percent of
the total number of traific fatalities for the year (8). These absolute
numbers represent serious losses to the Commonwealth.

Particularly disturbing is the number of young people aged 18 to 40
wvhose lives are lost or who are injured in alcohol-related crashes in
Virginia. In 1987, 289 people in this category were killed, and 11,126
vere injured in such accidents (9). When one considers that this age
category represented almost 70 percent of the alcohol-related fatalities
and almost 75 percent of the alcohol-related injuries, the magnitude of the
problem becomes evident.

Furthermore, it is clear that the criminal justice system alone has
not been able to handle the problem of drunken driving in Virginia.
According to the latest statistics, over the past three years,
approximately 20 percent of those arrested for DUI violations have walked
awvay without a conviction or punishment of any kind (10). Moreover, the
great length of time between arrest and conviction has significantly
reduced the celerity of punishment in Virginia. An administrative per se
statute would help in swiftly and surely removing drunken drivers from the
road, thereby promoting and improving highway safety.




LEGAL ISSUES

The following is a discussion of the legal issues that might be raised’

‘in connection with an administrative per se law. Despite the fact that the
U.S. Supreme Court has yet to rule on the constitutionality of an
administrative per se statute, the analysis of these legal issues indicates
that such a law, if properly drafted, could withstand any constitutional
challenges posed.

Due Process

In Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535, 539 (1971), the U.S. Supreme Court
ruled that a driver’s license is an entitlement that may be taken away by
the state only according to procedures that meet the due process standards
of the Fourteenth Amendment. Generally, in order to satisfy the require-
ments of due process, a hearing is necessary prior to the deprivation of an
entitlement. Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539, 557-58 (1974).

In Bell, the Court held unconstitutional a Georgia statute that
required an uninsured motorist invelved in an accident to post security to
cover the amount of damages claimed by the aggrieved parties. Id. at 343.
The defendant in Bell was involved in an accident in which a girl rode her
bicycle into the side of his automobile. He did not post security for
damages claimed by the girl’s parents. Id. at 537. At the administrative
hearing, his offer to prove that he was not liable for the accident was
rejected, and he was given thirty days to post security or else lose his
license and vehicle registration. Id. at 538. The U.S. Supreme Court held
that before the state could suspend the petitioner’s license, procedural
due process required a determination of whether there was a reasonable
possibility of a judgment being rendered against him as a result of the
accident. Id. at 540. The Court stated:

IIjt is fundamental that except in emergency situations (and
this is not one) due process requires that when a State seeks
to terminate an interest such as that here involved, it must
afford "notice and opportunity for hearing appropriate to the
nature of the case" before the termination becomes effective.

Id. at 542 (emphasis added).

Therefore, in certain situations, (namely "emergencies"), the
U.S. Supreme Court has allowed property to be seized without a
pre-deprivation hearing. See Ewing v. Mytinger & Casselberry, 339
U.S. 594, 599-600 (1950) (summary action by state permissible in
seizure of mislabelled drugs); see also Fahey v. Mallonee, 332 U.S.
245, 253 (1947) (summary action by state permissible in regulation of
savings and loan); Adams v. City of Milwaukee, 228 U.S5. 572, 584




(1913) (summary action by state permissible in regulation of sale of
milk); North American Cold Storage v. City of Chicago, 211 U.S. 306,
315 (1908) (summary action by state permissible in seizure of spoiled
food). Compliance with due process standards is not strictly a
function of the private interest involved out rather a comparison of
the weights of the public and private interests. Further, in VWolff,
the Court stated:

The very nature of due process negates any concept of
inflexible procedures universally applicable to every
imaginable situation. . . . Consideration of what
procedures due process may require under any given set
of circumstances must begin with a determination of the
precise nature of the governmental function involved as
well as of the private interest that has been affected
by the governmental action.

418 U.S. at 560. According to this reasoning, an administrative per se
statute would not violate due process standards despite the fact that the
deprivation of the license occurs prior to a hearing. Due process would be
guaranteed by a post-deprivation hearing within a reasonable time.

Eldridge Analysis

In Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 349 (1976), the U.S. Supreme
Court reversed a Fourth Circuit ruling and allowed a state agency to
summarily suspend disability payments to the respondent. The recipient of
benefits in Eldridge contended that he was wrongly deprived of relief.
However, after the state agency charged with monitoring the relief program
consulted with the recipient’s physician, it suspended payments. The Court
cited several reasons for allowing the suspension of benefits before an
administrative hearing could be held. First, the individual had potential
sources of temporary income from both private sources and government
assistance programs. Id. at 342. Second, the decision whether to
discontinue disability benefits turned on the unbiased medical reports by
an examining physician. 1Id. at 344. Third, the state agency’s procedures
included safeguards against mistakes and allowed individuals the
opportunity to respond to the decision maker. 1Id. at 345. Fourth, the
additional financial cost and administrative burden associated with
requiring an evidentiary hearing upon demand in all cases prior to the
termination of disability benefits would be substantial. Id. at 347.
Finally, the Court stated that the prescribed procedures not only provided
the recipient with an effective process for asserting his claim in an
administrative action but also assured him the right to a hearing before
the termination became final. Id. at 349.

The Court’s analysis in Eldridge essentially rested on a balancing
test. In order to determine those situations in which a state may




summarily deprive one of an entitlement, several factors must be weighed.

The Court thus summarized its analysis:

Identification of the specific dictates of due process gener-
ally requires consideration of three distinct factors: first,
the private interest that will be affected by the official
action; second, the risk of erroneous deprivation of such
interests through the procedures used, and the probable value,
if any, of additional or substitute procedural safeguards; and
finally, the Government’s interest including the function
involved and the fiscal or administrativez burdens that the
additional or substitute procedural requirement would entail.

Id. at 335.

Particularly illustrative of the Eldridge analysis are two cases
in which the Court.squarely addressed the issue of summary license
revocation: Mackey v. Montrym, 443 U.S. 1 (1979), and Dixon v. Love,
431 U.S. 105 (1977). 1In Love, the defendant’s license was revoked
pursuant to an Illinois statute that mandated license revocation after
a specific number of traffic offenses within a prescribed time period
(i.e., a point system). 431 U.S. at 107. 1In Montrym, the defendant’s
license was revoked pursuant to the Massachusetts implied consent
statute that provided for summary revocation of the licenses of DUI
arrestees who refused to submit to a chemical analysis test. 443 U.S.
at 19. The Court cited several reasons for upholding summary
revocation in these instances, but the pervading concern was highway
safety. Id.

An administrative per se statute promotes highway safety by
mandating summary revocation for those who fail the BAC test and for
those who refuse to submit to the test. An administrative per se
statute allows the removal from the highways of those drivers who are
presumably more dangerous than drivers who simply refuse to take the
test; it removes those drivers who have been proven to be drunk.
Because the U.S. Supreme Court recognized a state’s interest in
preserving highway safety in Montrym and Love, and the interest served
by an administrative per se statute is the same as the interest served
in Montrym and Love, an administrative per se statute is not violative
of the Constitution.

A. Private Interest

The first stepr of the Eldridge balancing test is to identify the
nature and weight of the private interest that will be affected by the
government’s action. 424 U.S. at 335. In Montrym and Love, the
private interest affected was the license to operate a motor vehicle.
Montrym, 443 U.S. at 11; Love, 431 U.S. at 113. In particular, the
private interest was the driver’s post-arrest possession of his




license pending a hearing. The U.S. Supreme Court has recognized that
a driver’s license is a substantial interest because a state is unable
to make a driver whole for any personal inconvenience or economic
hardship suffered because of erroneous deprivation. Montrym, 443 U.S.
at 11. —

One factor that should be considered in determining the weight of
the private interest is the duration of the deprivation; in this case,
the duration of the revocation. Id. at 12. The Court found that the
private interest in Love was actually more substantial than the
private interest in Montrym because the Illinois statute in Love
allowved a one-year revocation and the Massachusetts statute in Montrym
permitted only a ninety-day revocation. Montrym, 443 U.S. at 12.
Hence, the longer the revocation period, the more substantial is the
private interest involved.

A second factor in determining the weight of the private interest
is the availability of hardship relief. 1Id. An example of hardship
relief in a summary revocation case is the issuance of a restricted
license that allows the arrestee to continue to drive to and from
work. In Love, the Court noted that the provision for hardship relief
lessened the extent to which the private interest was affected. 431
U.S. at 114 n.10. However, the Massachusetts statute in Montrym did
not provide for such hardship relief. 443 U.S. at 12. 1In essence,
the availability of hardship relief would help mitigate the effects of
a delay in a post-~deprivation hearing.

The final factor in determining the weight of the private
interest involved is the length of time between the deprivation and
the opportunity for a hearing. The Court in Montrym interpreted a
Massachusetts statute to provide for an immediate "walk-in" hearing.
Id. In Love, a period of twenty days between the revocation and the
opportunity for a hearing was sufficient to meet the requirements of
due process. 431 U.S. at 115. However, during this twenty-day
period, the arrestee was afforded hardship relief. It is uncertain
from the case law exactly what period of time between license
revocation and a hearing constitutes a violation of due process.
However, it is implied in Montrym and Love that in order to lessen the
weight of the private interest affected, the period between the
revocation and the opportunity for a hearing should be as short as
possible. Montrym, 443 U.S. at 12. This would be especially true if
the statute did not provide the arrestee with some form of hardship
relief.

B. Risk of Erroneous Deprivation

The second step of the Eldridge test is to consider the risk of
erroneous deprivation of "interests through the procedures used, and




the probable value of additional or substitute procedural safeguards."
Eldridge, 424 U.S. at 335. Vhen the summary license revocation was
based on prior traffic convictions (i.e., a point system), the Court
held that the facts were not in dispute and that any opportunity to
dispute them had been waived. Love, 431 U.S. at 114. If the facts
were disputed, the Court would consider whether the procedures
followed in the determination of the basic facts were sufficiently
reliable to justify a delay in resolving issues of credibility and
conflicts in the evidenca. Montrym, 443 U.S. at 15. In Montrym, the
Court upheld the procedural sufficiency of an affidavit from the
arresting officer endorsed by a third person and the chief of police
in determining whether the arrestee had refused to submit to a breath
test. Id. at 16. In this case, the State of Massachusetts had
minimized the risk of error in refusal determination by holding the
reporting officer personally liable for any abuse of discretion. Id.
Similarly, the risk of error in the BAC determination could be
minimized through strict controls on the administration of chemical
tests.

The due process clause has never been construed to require that
the procedures used to guard against an erroneous deprivation of a
protectable property interest be so comprehensive as to preclude any
possibility of error. Id. at 13. VWhen prompt post-deprivation review
is available for the correction of any administrative error, the U.S.
Supreme Court has generally required no more than that the post-
deprivation procedures used be designed to provide a reasonably
reliable basis for concluding that the facts justifying the official
action are as a responsible government official warrants them to be.
Id. "Procedural due process rules are shaped by the risk of error
inherent in the truthfinding process as applied to the generality of
cases, not the rare exceptions." Eldridge, 424 U.S. at 344. Further,
even when disputes as to the facts do arise, the Court has held that
the risk of error inherent in the statute’s initial reliance on the
representations of the reporting officer is not so substantial as to
require the state to stay the revocation pending the outcome of a
hearing. Moatrym, 443 U.S. at 15.

C. Government’s Interest

The third step of the Eldridge balancing test is to identify the
government’s interest in summary revocation and the administrative and
fiscal burdens associated with substitute procedures. 424 U.S. at
335. The government’s interest in summary license suspension is the
preservation of the safety of the highways. As noted previously, the
Bell Court specifically exempted emergency situations from the usual
due process requirements. 402 U.3. at 542. 1In Montrym and Love, the
Court implied that highway safety could be considered an emergency
situation. Montrym, 443 U.S. at 17; Love, 431 U.S. at 114-15.




In Montrym, the Court held that the state’s interest in removing
drunken drivers from the highways was at least as justifiable as the
summary seizure of mislabelled drugs or the destruction of spoiled
foods. 443 U.S. at 17 (citing Ewing v. Mytinger & Casselberry, 339
U.S. 594 (1950); North American Cold Storage v. City of Chicago, 211
U.S. 306 (1908)). The Court held that the state’s interest would be
undermined if a high-risk driver were to continue driving during the
period between the arrest and the hearing. Montrym, 443 U.S. at 18.
The dissent in Montrym argued that the revocation of an arrestee’s
license was not an emergency when compared to the confiscation of
tainted poultry in North America Cold Storage. Id. at 25-26. The
summary suspension of the licenses of DUI arrestees is an "emergency,"
hovever, because of the danger in allowing arrestees to continue
driving.

In Montrym, the Court held that a state’s interest in safety 1s
substantially served by the summary suspen51on of the driver’s
licenses of those who refuse to submit to a’chemical analysis. Id. at
19, First, the Court stated that summary revocation serves as a
deterrent to drunken driving. Id. Second, the Court held that the
implied consent statute effectuates a state’s interest in obtaining
reliable evidence. Id. Third, summary revocation allows the prompt
removal of high-risk drivers from the road. Id. at 18. The Court
determined that the state’s interest outweighed the individual’s
interest. Id. at 18-19.

Similarly, an administrative per se statute actually furthers the
interests of the state by facilitating the attainment of the
objectives outlined in Montrym. It would undermine highway safety to
allow those who fail the BAC test to continue driving. Moreover, the
shorter the period of time between the offense and the sanction, the
more likely that potential offenders would appreciate the severity of
the sanction and link the sanction to the offense. Thus, an
administrative per se statuge is analogous to an implied consent
statute.

Alternative procedures (i.e., pre-suspension hearings, a stay of
revocation pending a hearing) would undermine the state’s interest in
preserving the safety of its highways. The incentive to delay arising
from the opportunity for a pre-suspension hearing would generate a
sharp increase in the number of hearings sought and would therefore
impose a substantial administrative and fiscal burden on the state.
Love, 431 U.S. at 114; Montrym, 443 U.S. at 18. 1In Montrym, the Court
concluded that the compelllng interest in highway safety justifies a
state’s summary suspension of a driver’s license pending a prompt
post-suspension hearing. 443 U.S. at 19.




This prong of the Eldridge balancing test was also used to
justify summary revocation in Barry v. Barchi, 443 U.S. 55 (1979).
The Court in Barry upheld the constitutionality of a statute that
provided for the summary suspension of a horse trainer’s license upon
a showing that a horse handled by the trainer had been drugged. Id.
at 63. The Court stated that horse trainers are afforded all the
process that is due them when the state summarily suspends their
license on the basis of a post-race urinalysis. Id. at 65. However,
the Court did require that the post-suspension hearing be prompt. Id.
at 66. The Court recognizéd that the suspension of the trainer’s
license was severe in that it deprived him of his livelihood. Id. As
in Montrym, however, the Court indicated that the state had a strong
interest in preserving the integrity of the racing system and that the
state’s interest outweighed the individual’s interest. Id. at 65.

Double Jeopardy

Because a drunk driver may be punished criminally as well as
administratively, an offender is seemingly punished twice for the same
act. The constitutional prohibition against double jeopardy, however,
applies only to double criminal sanctions for the same conduct. One
Lot Emerald Cut Stones and One Ring v. United States, 409 U.S. 232,
235-6 (1972). States that allow summary license action address the
potential double jeopardy problem by differentiating between criminal
punishment and the civil nature of administrative sanctions. In one
New York case, a defendant was convicted of driving while ability-
impaired, for which the criminal court suspended his license. In
addition, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles suspended his license
pursuant to a different statute. Both suspensions were upheld in the
New York Court of Appeals with the Court stating:

Each of these proceedings--one, a civil administrative
proceeding, and the other, a criminal action--are separate
and independent of each other. The outcome of one proceeding
is of no consequence in the other. There is no constitutional
or statutory prohibition to make the Commissioner’s implemen-
tation of the statute illegal or unlawful.

Barnes v. Tofany, 27 N.Y.2d 74, 77-78, 261 N.E.2d 617, 619 (1970). The
Court went on to state:

The constitutional prohibitions against double jeopardy and
double punishment do not prevent the legislature from enacting
and the executive from enforcing civil as well as criminal sanc-
tions for the same conduct. . . . It is apparent that suspension
or revocation of the privilege of operating a motor vehicle is
essentially civil in nature, having as its aims chastening of

the errant motorist, and, more importantly, the protection of

the public from such a dangerous individual.
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The Supreme Court of Minnesota has also emphasized the civil nature of
the administrative sanctions:

We feel it important to again emphasize the essential differ-
ences between license revocation under Sec. 169.121, subd. 3,
and license revocation under Sec. 169,123, subd. 4. The former
is automatically imposed as a criminal penalty upon conviction
of a Sec. 169.121 violation. It is triggered by the outcome of
a criminal proceeding and is imposed through the judicial system. |
Revocation under this section is for not less than thirty days.

On the other hand, revocation under the implied consent
law is essentially civil in nature. It is imposed administra-
tively by the Commissioner of Public Safety regardless of the
outcome of the criminal proceeding arising out of the same in-
cident and is triggered by the refusal to submit to chemical
testing.

State v. Mulvihill, 227 N.W.2d 813, 817-18 (Minn. 1975).

Since the sanctions imposed under an administrative per 3e statute are
also imposed administratively and independent of any criminal proceedings
arising out of the same incident, the same arguments could be used to
support the constitutionality of an administrative per se statute.

STATUTORY RECOMMENDATIONS

An administrative per se statute must be carefully drafted in order to
satisfy the constitutional requirements of the Eldridge analysis.
Professor John Reese listed several recommendations for the formulation of
a summary revocation statute that flow from the Court’s Montrym
opinion (11).

First, the legislature should clearly state that the government’s
interest is that of protecting the safety of persons on the highways by
quickly removing high-risk drivers. If the statute were instead to address
the punitive or deterrent effects of summary revocation, it might not meet
the substantial governmental interest test. Second, the statute should
provide controls in order to establish a reliable factual basis for
pre-hearing revocation (e.g., prompt submission of the reporting officer’s
affidavit, verification of affidavits by a witnessing officer, frequent
inspection of chemical analysis equipment, adequate training of persons
administering the test). Such controls would help ensure that licensees
were not erroneously deprived of the driving privilege. Third, because
notice of deprivation is a requirement of due process, the arrestee should
be given notice promptly. The notice requirement is best satisfied if the

11




arresting officer delivers notice immediately following the driver’s
failure of the chemical analysis test. Moreover, the notice should inform
the arrestee that a post-revocation hearing is available and of the steps
that the arrestee must take to obtain such a hearing. A statute that
follows these simple guidelines should, in light of the Montrym decision,
be upheld as constitutional. A model administrative per se law has been
developed by and is available from the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration.

The Minnesota Statute

An example of an operational administrative per se statute is Minn.
Stat. §169.123 (1988), which provides that when a peace officer has
probable cause to suspect that a person is driving under the influence, he
or she may request that the driver submit to a chemical analysis test
(breath, blood, or urine). The officer must inform the driver of the
consequences of a refusal to submit to the test. The driver does not have
the right to consult with an attorney before deciding whether to submit to
chemical testing. Nyflot v. Commissioner of Public Safety, 369 N.W.2d 512
(Minn. 1985); Minn. Stat. § 169.123(2)(b)(4) (1988). The administrative
penalty for refusing to submit to such a test is license revocation for one
year.

If the driver opts to take the test and his or her AC (Minnesota uses
AC) is 0.10 or greater, the arresting officer serves notice to the driver
on behalf of the Department of Public Safety of the Department’s intention
to revoke his or her license for ninety days. The officer then seizes the
license and issues a temporary license effective for seven days. The
seven-day temporary license is issued to allow the reporting officer and
the motor vehicle department time to process the revocation. Moreover, for
first offenders, this seven-day period allows the driver an opportunity to
obtain a restricted license or arrange for alternate transportation during
the subsequent revocation period. A first offender may obtain a restricted
license if he or she passes .the required licensing tests, demonstrates a
need for the restricted license, and pays a license reinstatement fee of
$150. After either refusal or failure by the driver, the officer sends the
license to the Commissioner of Public Safety with a certificate stating
that he or she had probable cause to believe that the driver had been
driving under the influence and had either refused a chemical analysis test
or had an AC of 0.10 or greater. Upon receipt of the certificate, the
Commissioner of Public Safety revokes the driver’s license for ninety days.

At any time during the period of revocation, the person may request in
writing a review of the order of revocation. Vithin fifteen days of
receiving the request, the Commissioner or a designee of the Commissioner
must review the order and report the results of the review. In Minnesota,
the driver is also entitled to judicial treview of the administrative order.

12
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The driver must file the petition for judicial review within thirty days of
receipt of the notice of the order of revocation. The Minnesota statute
requires that the petition state with specificity the grounds upon which
the petitioner seeks review of the order. Minn. Stat. § 169.123 (1988).

" The filing of the petition does not stay the revocation. Once a revocation

order has been administratively reviewed, however, it can no longer be
judicially reviewed. Similarly, a judicial review of the order bars a
subsequent administrative review.

The North Carolina Statute

The North Carolina statute, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-16.5 (1988), provides
for a ten-day license revocation based on the arresting officer’s
reasonable belief that the arrestee was driving while alcohol-impaired and
upon chemical test results showing a BAC of 0.10 or greater. The
enforcement officer submits a report to a judicial official stating that he
or she had probable cause and showing chemical analysis results. If a
judicial official determines that there was probable cause, he or she
immediately issues a revocation order. If the person is before the
judicial official, the notice is served then, and surrender of the license
is required. If the person is not before the judicial officer at the time,
the clerk of court mails the revocation order. The order is deemed
received four days after it is mailed. The revocation is effective as soon’
as the arrestee is notified; however, the ten-day revocation period does
not begin until the arrestee surrenders his license to the judicial
official. If the license is not surrendered within five days, the
revocation period is extended to thirty days. The arrestee is entitled to
a hearing, but the revocation is not stayed pending the hearing. The
hearing is conducted by a magistrate unless the arrestee requests a judge.
If a judge is not requested, the hearing must occur within three working
days of the petition for hearing. If a judge is chosen, the hearing must
occur within five days of the petition for hearing. Further, civil action
under N.C. Gen., Stat. § 20-16.5 (1988) does not preclude criminal action
pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-138.1 (1988). The arrestee is not
entitled to judicial review of the civil hearing.

IMPACT OF SUMMARY LICENSE REVOCATION

The most important measure of the effectiveness of summary revocation
is its effect on reducing the number of crashes in which alcohol is
involved. During the 1980s there has been an overall national decline in
alcohol-related crashes and the incidence of drivers with high BACs.

There are indications that an administrative per se statute can play a
significant role in further reducing alcohol-related fatalities. A report
recently published by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety included a
study of the impact of an administrative per se law on the number of
alcohol-related fatal crashes (12).
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The report concluded that overall, the reduction in alcohol-related
fatal crashes attributable to an admistrative per se law was 4.6 percent.
0f the three types of laws examined in the report (administrative per se,
illegal per se, and first offense mandatory jail/community service), only
the administrative per se law resulted in a significant overall
reduction (13). Moreover, "[d]uring hours when typically at least half of
all fatally injured drivers have a BAC over 0,10 percent, administrative
[per se] is estimated to reduce the involvement of drivers in fatal crashes
by about 9 percent" (14).

Another study that demonstrated the probable impact of an
administrative per se statute was done by the U.S. Department of
Transportation. The study, released in 1987, is actually an analysis of
*he deterrent effects of mandatory license suspension following a criminal
conviction for driving while intoxicated (15). Nevertheless, it stands to
reason that an administrative per se law, which achieves the same result as
license suspension upon conviction, would have similar deterrent effects.

The report examined both the specific and general deterrence of
drunken driving. Specific deterrence aims to prevent repeat offenses,
whereas general deterrence aims to prevent drunken driving in the
population as a whole. In examining general deterrence, researchers used a
surrogate measure of alcohol-related crashes (single-vehicle night-time
wveekend accidents involving male drivers). The study examined the change
in alcohol-related crashes following the implementation of a mandatory
license suspension law in Wisconsin. Prior to the enactment of the
mandatory suspension law, 45 percent of convicted drunk drivers had their
licenses revoked. In the first full year under the new law, 100 percent of
those convicted of DUI had their licenses revoked. The results of the
study showed that following the adoption of the law, alcohol-related
crashes decreased by approximately 25 percent. The impact of the law was
enhanced by a well-organized publicity campaign (16).

In addition, the report concluded that mandatory license suspension
substantially reduced the recidivism of DUI offenders. The results of this
study, although pertaining to post-conviction license suspension,
nonetheless demonstrated that an administrative per se statute, which is
also a mandatory license suspension law, can have a dramatic impact on
highway safety.

FEDERAL FUNDING
Title 23, § 408, of the U.S. Code provides three tiers of grants

(basic, supplemental, and special) to states that attempt to combat drunken
driving through established methods.
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Basic Grant

The basic grant has nine requirements (see Appendix C). The first
requirement is that a state provide for the "prompt" suspension of a
driver’s license in alcohol-related traffic offenses. The statute defines
a "prompt" suspension as one occurring within forty-five days of arrest.
However, the statute does allow a state that has an average time of ninety
days between arrest and suspension to submit a plan which shows that the
average time will be reduced to forty-five days. At present, Virginia is
not in compliance with the "prompt" suspension requirement. Virginia has
neither an administrative per se statute nor special procedures to reduce
the delays prevalent in the criminal justice process.

The second requirement is that a first offender must have a full, or
"hard," license suspension for at least thirty days. A "hard" suspension
is one that does not allow restricted or occupational licenses. In
Virginia, a first offender receives up to a six-month revocation. However,
the revocation may be suspended and a restricted license issued if the
defendant participates in and completes an alcohol rehabilitation program.
Va. Code § 18.2-27(c) (1988). Thus, the requirement of a thirty-day full
suspension is not satisfied.

The third requirement is a one-year license suspension for an offender
who has had at least one other offense in the previous five years.
Virginia’s statute provides that for a second conviction within ten years,
the driver’s license must be revoked for three years. Va. Code § 18.2-271
(1988).

The fourth requirement addresses the implied consent statute. For a
first chemical test refusal, a state must promptly and fully suspend the
driver’s license for ninety days. For a first test refusal in Virginia, a
driver’s license may be suspended for six months. Va. Code § 18.2-268(T)
(1988). Virginia’s statute, however, allows the refusal charge to be
dropped if the offender is convicted of driving under the influence. Id.
Because this can occur, Virginia does not satisfy this requirement.

The fifth requirement also addresses a state’s implied consent law.
Section 408 requires that a repeat refusal result in a prompt and full
suspension of the driver’s license for one year. Current Virginia law
provides that for a second chemical test refusal within one year, a
driver’s license must be suspended for at least one year. Va. Code
§ 18.2-268(T). Section 408 refers to repeat offenders within a five-year
period rather than a one-year period. 1In order to be in compliance,
Virginia would have to amend its definition of "repeat offender" under the
implied consent statute.

The sixth requirement is a mandatory sentence of forty-eight
consecutive hours of imprisonment or not less than ten days of community
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service for a repeat DUI offense within five years. The Virginia Code
provides that for a second DUI conviction within five years, an offender
may be sentenced to serve one month to one year in prison. Va. Code §
18.2-270 (1988). The offender must serve at least forty-eight hours in

jail. Virginia law does not provide for community service in lieu of jail.

Further, Virginia does not require that the mandatory forty-eight hours be
served consecutively.

The seventh requirement is that a state have an illegal per se law
with a per se level no greater than 0.10 BAC. Virginia is in full
compliance with this requirement. See Va. Code § 18.2-266 (1988).

The last two requirements are much less objective. They are that a
state increase efforts or resources dedicated to the enforcement of
alcohol-related traffic laws and that a state increase efforts to inform
the public of such enforcement. It seems that Virginia could easily meet
these requirements (as indicated in a letter from James L. Nichols, Chief,
Alcohol Programs Division, NHTSA, to John Hanna, Deputy Commissioner for
Transportation Safety, Commonwealth of Virginia [February 18, 1987]).

If Virginia adopted an administrative per se statute, most of the
Section 408 requirements would be met. Although an administrative per se
statute is not a specific requirement of Section 408, such a statute would
facilitate compliance with the basic grant requirements. States that have
an administrative per se statute but do not receive Section 408 monies are
usually disqualified because they issue restricted licenses to DUI
offenders before the thirty-day hard suspension has expired.

Supplemental Grant

To qualify for a supplemental grant, a state must meet all of the
requirements for the basic grant and at least eight of twenty-two
recommendations listed in 23 C.F.R. § 1309.6 (1988) (see Appendix D). A
supplemental grant entitles the qualifying state to an additional 20
percent of its Section 402 apportionment for fiscal year 1983. To qualify
for a supplemental grant in the second and third years, a state must enact
in each year two or more of the twenty-two recommendations of Section 408
unless it has already employed fifteen of these recommendations. Thus, if
Virginia met the supplemental grant requirements, it would receive up to
$1,094,500 per year for three years ($656,700 for the basic grant and
$437,800 for the supplemental grant). A provision in Section 408 allows a
state 10 percent of its 1983 Section 402 apportionment if it meets at least
four of the twenty-two recommendations of Section 408.
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Special Grant

A special grant of 5 percent of Section 402 and Section 408
apportionments for the fiscal year 1984 is available to a state if it
enacts a statute that meets certain requirements. These requirements are
quite rigorous (see Appendix E).

Benefits to Virginia

Section 408 affords Virginia a cost-effective opportunity to
strengthen its fight against drunken driving. A basic grant provides a
state with 30 percent of the amount apportioned to such a state for fiscal
year 1983 under 23 U.S.C. § 402 each year for five years. Virginia’s
Section 402 apportionment in 1983 was $2,189,000. Thus, Virginia would be
eligible to receive $656,700 per year for five years if it met the criteria
for a basic grant. In the first year that a state qualifies for a basic or
supplemental grant, it is reimbursed for up to 75 percent of the costs of
the alcohol traffic safety programs adopted puvsuant to 23 U.S.C. § 408.

In the second year, a state is eligible to be r. .mbursed for up to 50
percent of its Section 408 costs. The third year reimbursement is 25
percent of the Section 408 costs incurred. 1In no year should the
reimbursement pursuant to a basic grant exceed 30 percent of the state’s
Section 402 appropriation, nor should the amount reimbursed under a
supplemental grant exceed 20 percent of the state’s Section 402
apportionment.

CONCLUSION

An administrative per se statute is an increasingly popular means by
which to combat drunken driving. Given the ineffectiveness of the criminal
justice system in deterring drunken driving and reducing alcohol-
related traffic fatalities, an administrative per se law would benefit the
current statutory regime in Virginia. It would bypass much of the delay
caused by the criminal justice process without abridging the rights of the
individual and would ensure that drunken drivers were quickly removed from
the roads.

Yet, this proposed law would be only one step in an overall plan to
reduce alcohol-related traffic fatalities and injuries. Such a plan would
require the full cooperation of local and state law enforcement
authorities. Moreover, driver education, particularly directed to younger
audiences, as to the dangers of drinking and driving must be included in
the plan. Community awareness of the problem of drunken driving is
critical to the success of any plan to reduce alcohol-related fatalities.
As a first step in strengthening its fight against drunken driving,
howvever, Virginia should consider adopting an administrative per se
statute.
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State

Possible
Criminal
Sanction

APPENDIX A

Implied Consent Refusal:
Sanctions as of January 1, 1988

Mandatory Minimum License Action:

1st 2nd
Refusal Refusal Explanatory Notes

AL

AZ

CA

co

No

Yes

No

No

No

No

$-90 days* S~1 yr¥* *Mandatory suspension may be
reduced if the driver is
acquitted of the related
DWI charge.

R-90 days R-1 yr¥* *or previous DWI conviction. 3rd
refusal or DWI conviction or
combination thereof within a
certain time frame results in a
mandatory 10-yr revocation.

S-1 yr S-1 yr

S-6 mo S-1 yr* *3rd refusal within 3 yr results
in a mandatory 2-yr suspension.
4th refusal within 3 yr results
in a mandatory 3-yr revocation.

S-6 mo R-2 yr* *This revocation is for a driver
who refuses after having been
convicted of a DWI within 5 yr
of the refusal. This includes
guilty and nolo-contendere
pleas to reckless driving in
lieu of a DWI charge.

There is mandatory revocation
for 3 yr if the driver has two
DVI offenses within 5 yr of
refusal.

R-1 yr R-1 yr
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State

Possible
Criminal
Sanction

1st
Refusal

2nd
Refusal

Explanatory Notes

CTt

DE

DCCI

FL

GA

HI

- ID

IL

IN

IA

KS

No

No

No

No

No

No

No

No

No*

No

No

S-6 mo

R-6 mo
S-1 yr

—_

S~-6 mo*

R-1 yr

S5-180 days

—k

S5-1 yr**

R-240 days*

S-1 yr*

R-18 mo*

S-1 yr

S-18 mo

S-6 mo*

R-2 yr¥*

S5-180 days

5-90 days

S-1 yr*x*

R-360 days
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*Also applies to 1lst refusal
when there has been a previous
DVI conviction. A 3rd refusal
or a 2nd plus a DWI results in
a mandatory 3-yr suspension.
When person refuses a test, the
police must hold the license
for 24 hr regardless of the
number of prior refusals.

*3rd and subsequent refusals
within 5 yr result in a
mandatory 2-yr revocation.

*Hardship license available.

*If refusal is in connnection
with a DWI/homicide charge,
there is a mandatory 1l-yr
suspeasion.

*Driver must undergo assessment
for alcohol dependence and the
need for treatment.

*Judicial driving permit
available.

*Unless there has been a death
or serious injury
likely to result in death.
**May not be mandatory in all
cases.

*If the driver pleads guilty to
a subsequent DWI charge, a
restricted license may be
issued for this implied con-
sent violation.




Possible
Criminal 1st 2nd

State Sanction Refusal Refusal Explanatory Notes

KY No -— ——

LA No 5-90 days $-545 days

ME No $-90 days* S-1 yr *If driver is under 21 and
there is probable cause to
believe he or she was driving
with a BAC greater than 0.02,
then there is a 1 yr
suspension.

MD No —— —— *Restricted license is
available.

MA No S5-120 days  S$-120 days

MI No -k 5-1 yr *Hardship license available.

MN No - ——

MS No 5-90 days* S-90 days *Mandatory suspension for 1 yr
if there has been a prior DVWI
conviction.

MO No — R-1 yr *Hardship license may be
issued.

MT No $-90 days R-1 yr* *License is seized and forwarded
to driver licensing division.

NE Yes R-60 days R-6 mo* *3rd refusal results in a
mandatory 1l-yr revocation.

NV No R-1 yr R-3 yr

NH No R-90 days R-1 yr* *0r where it is a first refusal
with prior DWI. Also special
provisions when a probationary
license involved.

NJ Yes R-6 mo R-2 yr

NM No R-1 yr R-1 yr
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Possible

" Criminal Ist 2nd

State Sanction Refusal Refusal Explanatory Notes

NY No R-6 mo¥* R-1 yr *If the driver is under 21, his
or her license will be
suspended or revoked for 1 yr
or until age 21, whichever is
the greater time period.

NC No R-6 mo* R-1 yr* *Can be lowered to 6 mo if no
prior refusal or DWI conviction
w/in 7 yr and incident does not
involve death or critical
injury.

ND No R-1 yr R-2 yrx* *3rd or subsequent refusals
result in a mandatory 3-yr
revocation.

OH Yes —_— -

OK No —_— _—

OR No 5-90 days 5-1 yr Emergency license available.

PA No S-1 yr S-1 yr

PR No —_—— ——

RI Yes S-3 mo* S-1 yr**  *If driver is under 18,
there is a mandatory 6-mo
suspension.

**%3rd refusal within 5-yr period
results in a mandatory 2-yr
suspension.

sC No 5-90 days 5-90 days

SD No — —

TN No — _—

TX No — _—

uT No R-1 yr R-1 yr
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Possible
Criminal 1st 2nd

State Sanction Refusal Refusal Explanatory Notes

VT No S-6 mo 5-18 mo*  *If not w/in 5 yr, mandatory
suspension is for only 6 mo.
3rd and subsequent refusals
result in a mandatory 2-yr
revocation. A previous DWI
conviction is considered to be-
a prior refusal.

VA No S-6 mo S-1 yr* *Within 1 yr.

WA No R-1 yr R-2 yr - Test may be taken w/o consent

: in certain cirmcumstances.

W No R-1 yr R-5 yr* *3rd refusal results in a
mandatory 10-yr revocation.

WI No R-30 days R-90 days 3rd and subsequent refusals
w/in 5 yr result in a mandatory
120-day revocation. Previous
DVI and Admin. Per Se are
considered to be prior
refusals.

WY No S-6 mo 5-6 mo

S = suspension; R = revocation.

Source: Data were taken from Digest of State Alcohol-Highway Safety
Related Legislation, 6th ed. (Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of
Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1988).
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APPENDIX B

Administrative Per Se and Pre-DVWI Adjudication Licensing Actions:

Sanctions as of January 1, 1988

BAC Mandatory Minimum License Action
State Level lst offense 2nd offense* 3rd/Subsequent offense*
AK 0.10 R-30 days R-1 yr R-10 yr
AZ 0.10 S-30 days S-90 days S$-90 days
CA Pre-DVI adjudication licensing action for persons who
have been involved in a DWI related accident and who
have had a previous DWI related vehicle homicide con-
viction.
co 0.15 R-1 yr R-1 yr R-1 yr
DE Probable R-3 mo R-1 yr R-18 mo
cause of
DVI
DC Sufficient -— ' —— —
evidence
of DWI
IL 0.10 —— $-90 days S-90 days
IN 0.10 Suspension up to 180 days or until the DVI
charges have been disposed of, whichever
occurs first.
IA 0.10 —— R-1 yr R-1 yr
KY Alternative pre-DVWI criminal adjudication licensing
action by the courts if there is probable cause and
certain other circumstances are present.
LA 0.10 S-30 days S-1 yr S-1 yr
ME Over 21 0.10 —_— —— —
ME Under 21 0.02 -— — _—
27




NC Judicial
Per Se

ND

OH

OK
OR

ur

WI

WY

BAC Mandatory Minimum Licensing Action

State Level 1st offense 2nd offense* 3rd/subsequent offense*

MA Alternative pre-DWI criminal adjudication licensing action
by the courts. )

MN 0.10 _— S _—

MS 0.10%* - -— ' -

MO 0.13 -— -— -—

NV 0.10 — —_ ——

NM Over 18 0.10 R-90 days | R-1 yr R-1 yr

NM Under 18 0.05 R-6 mo R-1 yr ---

NY Alternative pre-DWI criminal adjudication licensing action

by the courts. Temporary suspension is mandatory for
repeat offenders w/in 5 yr.

0.10 R-10 days R-10 days R-10 days

0.10 S-30 days S-1 yr S-2 yr

Alternative pre-DWI criminal adjudication licensing action
by the courts.

0.10 - —— —
0.08 5-30 days S-1 yr S-1 yr
0.08 — -— R
0.10 or R-90 days R-5 yr R-10 yr

driving

under the

influence

0.10 S-15 days 5-15 days S-15 days

0.10 -— 5-90 days 5-90 days
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S = suspension; R = revocation.

*Time period between offenses varies. A test refusal under an
implied consent statute may also be considered a prior offense under the
administrative per se statute.

**Special provisions, procedures.

Source: The data were taken from Digest of State Alcohol-Highwvay
Safety Related Legislation, 6th ed. (Washington, D.C.: U.S. Department of

Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1988).
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APPENDIX C

23 U.S.C. § 408. Alcohol Traffic Safety Programs

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

Subject to the provisions of this section, the Secretary shall make
basic and supplemental grants to those States which adopt and implement
effective programs to reduce traffic safety problems resulting from
persons driving while under the influence of alcohol. Such grants may
only be used by recipient States to implement and enforce such
programs.

No grant may be made to a State under this section in any fiscal year
unless such State enters into such agreements with the Secretary as the
Secretary may require to ensure that such State will maintain its
aggregate expenditures from all other sources for alcohol traffic
safety programs at or above the average level of such expenditurzss from
all other sources for alcohol traffic safety programs at or above the
average level of such expenditures in its two fiscal years preceding
the date of enactment of this section [enacted Oct. 25, 1982].

No State may receive grants under this section in more than five fiscal
years. The Federal share payable for any grant under this section
shall not exceed--

(1) in the first fiscal year the State receives a grant under this
section, 75 per centum of the cost of implementing and enforcing in
such fiscal year the alcohcl and controlled substance traffic safety
program adopted by the State pursuant to subsection (a);

(2) in the second fiscal year the State receives a grant under this
section, 50 per centum of the cost of implementing and enforcing in
such fiscal year such program; and

(3) in the third, fourth, and fifth fiscal years the State receives a
grant under this section, 25 per centum of the cost of implementing and
enforcing in such fiscal year such program.

(1) Subject to subsection (c), the amount of a basic grant made under
this section for any fiscal year to any State which is eligible for
such a grant under subsection (e)(1l) shall equal 30 per centum of the
amount apportioned to such State for fiscal year 1983 under section 402
of this title [23 USCS § 402].

(2) Subject to subsection (c), the amount of a supplemental grant made
under this section for any fiscal year to any State which is eligible
for such a grant under subsection (e)(2) shall not exceed 20 per centum
of the amount apportioned to such State for fiscal year 1983 under
section 402 of this title [23 USCS § 402]. Such supplemental grant
shall be in addition to any basic grant received by such State.

(3) Subject to subsection {c¢), the amount of a special grant made
under this section for any fiscal year to any State which is eligible
for such a grant under subsection (e)(3) shall not exceed 5 per centum
of the amount apportioned to such State for fiscal year 1984 under
sections 402 and 408 of this title. Such grant shall be in addition to
any basic or supplemental grant received by such state.
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(1) for purposes of this section, a State is eligible for a basic grant
if such State provides—-~ ‘
(A) for the prompt suspension, for a period not less than ninety days
in the case of a first offender and not less than one year in the case
of any repeat offender, of the driver’s license of any individual who a
law enforcement officer has probable cause under State law to believe
has committed an alcohol-related traffic offense, and (i) to whom is
administered one or more chemical tests to determine whether the
individual was intoxicated while operating the motor vehicle and who is
determined, as a result of such tests, to be intoxicated, or (ii) who
refuses to submit to such a test as proposed by the officer;
(B) for mandatory sentence, which shall not be subject to suspension
or probation, of (i) imprisonment for not less than forty-eight
consecutive hours, or {(ii) not less than ten days of community service,
of any person convicted of driving while intoxicated more than once in
any five-year period;
(C) that any person with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.10 percent
or greater when driving a motor vehicle shall be deemed to be driving
vhile intoxicated; and
(D) for increased efforts or resources dedicated to the inforcement of
alcohol-related traffic laws and increased efforts to inform the public
of such enforcement.
(2) For purposes of this section, a State is eligible for a
supplemental grant if such State is eligible for a basic grant and in
addition provides for some or all of the criteria established by the
Secretary under subsection (f).
(3) For the purposes of this section, a State is eligible for a
special grant if the State enacts a statute which provides that--
(A) any person convicted of a first violation of driving under the
influence of alcohol shall receive--

(i) a mandatory license suspension for a period of not less than
ninety days; and either

(ii) (I) an assignment of one hundred hours of community service; or

(IT) a minimum sentence of imprisonment for forty-eight consecutive
hours;
(B) any person convicted of a second violation of driving under the
influence of alcohol within five years after a conviction for the same
offense, shall receive a mandatory minimum sentence of imprisonment for
ten days and license revocation for not less than one year;
(C) any person convicted of a third or subsequent violation of driving
under the influence of alcohol within five years after a prior
conviction for the same offense shall--

(i) receive a mandatory minimum sentence of imprisonment for one
hundred and twenty days; and
(ii) have his license revoked for not less than three years; and
(D) any person convicted of driving with a suspended or revoked
license or in violation of a restriction due to driving under the
influence of alcohol conviction shall receive a mandatory sentence of
imprisonment for at least thirty days, and shall upon release from
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(£)

(g)

imprisonment, receive an additional period of license suspension or
revocation of not less than the period of suspension or revocation
remaining in effect at the time of commission of the offense of driving
with a suspended or revoked license.

The Secretary shall, by rule, establish criteria for effective programs
to reduce traffic safety problems resulting from persons driving while
under the influence of alcohol, which criteria shall be in addition to
those required for a basic grant under subsection (e)(1l). The
Secretary shall establish such criteria in cooperation with the States
and political subdivisions thereof, appropriate Federal departments and
agencies, and such other public and nonprofit organizations as the
Secretary may deem appropriate. Such criteria may include, but need
not be limited to, requirements—-

(1) for the establishment and maintenance of a statewide driver
recordkeeping system from which repeat offenders may be identified and
which is accessible in a prompt and timely manner to the courts and to
the public;

(2) for the creation and operation of rehabilitation and treatment
programs for those arrested and convicted of driving while intoxicated;
(3) for the impoundment of any vehicle operated on a State road by any
idividual whose driver’s license is suspended or revoked for any
alcohol-related driving offense;

(4) for the establishment in each major political subdivision of a
State of locally coordinated alcohol traffic safety programs which are

~administered by local officials and are financially self-sufficient;

(5) for the grant of presentence screening authority to the courts;
(6) for the setting of the minimum drinking age in such State at
twenty-one years of age;

(7) for the consideration of and, where consistent with other
provisions of State law and constitution the adoption of,
recommendations that the Presidential Commission on Drunk Driving may
issue during the period in which rules are being made to carry out this
section; and

(8) for the creation and operation of rehabilitation and treatment
programs for those arrested and convicted of driving while under the
influence of a controlled substance or for the establishment of
research programs to develop effective means of detecting use of
controlled substrances by drivers.

There is hereby authorized to be appropriated to carry out this
section, out of the Highway Trust Fund, $25,000,000 for the fiscal year
ending September 30, 1983, and $50,000,000 per fiscal year for each of
the fiscal years ending September 30, 1984, and September 30, 1985.

All provisions of chapter 1 of this title that are applicable to
Federal-aid primary highway funds, other than provisions relating to
the apportionment formula and provisions limiting the expenditures of
such funds to Federal-aid systems, shall apply to the funds authorized
to be appropriated to carry out this section, except as determined by
the Secretary to be inconsistent with this section and except that sums
authorized by this subséction shall remain available until expended.
Sums authorized by this subsection shall not be subject. to any
obligation limitation for State and community highway safety programs.
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APPENDIX D

§ 1209.6 Requirements for a Supplemental Grant

(a)

(b)

To qualify for a supplemental grant of 20 percent of its 23 U.S.C. 402
apportionment for fiscal year 1983, a State must have in place and
implement or adopt and implement a license suspension system in which
the average time from date of arrest to suspension of a license does
not exceed an average of 45 days, and

Have in place and implement or adopt and implement eight of the
following twenty-two requirements.

(1) Enactment of a law that raises, either immediately or over a
period of three years, the minimum age for drinking any alcoholic
beverage to 21. To demonstrate compliance, a State shall submit a
copy of its law adopting this requirement.

(2) Coordination of State alcohol highway safety programs. To
demonstrate compliance, a State shall submit information explaining
hov the work of the different State agencies involved in alcohol
traffic safety programs is coordinated.

(3) Rehabilitation and treatment programs for persons arrested and
convicted of alcohol-related traffic offenses. To demonstrate
compliance, a State shall submit a copy of its law eor regulation
adopting this requirement, and a copy of the minimum standards set for
rehabilitation and treatment programs by the State.

(4) Establishment of State Task Forces of governmental and
non-governmental leaders to increase awareness of the problems, to
apply more effectively drunk driving laws and to involve governmental
and private sector leaders in programs attacking the drunk driving
problem. To demonstrate compliance a State shall submit a copy of the
executive order, regulation, or law setting up the task force a
description of how the interests of local communities are represented
on the task force. i

(5) A Statewide driver record system readily accessible to the courts
and the public which can identify drivers repeatedly convicted of
drunk driving. Conviction information must be recorded in the system
within 30 days of a conviction, license sanction or the completion of
the appeals process. Information in the record system must be
retained for at least five years. The public shall have access to
those portions of a driver’s record that are not protected by Federal
or State confidentiality or privacy regulations. To demonstrate
compliance, a State shall submit a description of its record system
discussing its accessibility to prosecutors, the courts and the public
and providing data showing that the time required to enter
alcohol-related convictions into the system is not greater than 30
days. A State shall also submit information showing that the data is
retained in the system for at least 5 years.
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(6) Establishment in each major political subdivision of a locally
coordinated alcohol traffic safety program, which involves
enforcement, adjudication, licensing, public information, education,
prevention, rehabilitation and treatment and management and program
evaluation. In small States, local coordination may be demonstrated
by showing that the interests of the local communities are recognized
and coordinated by the State program. To demonstrate compliance, a
State shall submit a description of the number of programs, type of
programs and percentage of the State population covered by such local
" programs.

(7) Prevention and long-term educational programs on drunk drivirg.
To demonstrate compliance, a State shall submit a description of its
prevention and education program, discussing how it is related to
changing societal attitudes and norms against drunk driving with
particular attention to the implementation of comprehensive youth
alcohol traffic safety program, and the involvement of private sector
groups and parents.

(8) Authorization for courts to conduct pre- or post-sentence
screenings of convicted drunk drivers. To demonstrate compliance, a
State shall submit a copy of its law adopting this requirement and a
brief description of its screening process.

(9) Development and implementation of State-wide evaluation system to
assure program quality and effectiveness. To demonstrate compliance,
a State shall provide a copy of the executive order, regulation or law
setting up the evaluation program and a copy of the evaluation plan.
(10) Establishment of a plan for achieving self-sufficiency for the
State’s total alcohol traffic safety program. To demonstrate
compliance, a State shall provide a copy of the plan. Specific
progress toward achieving financial self-sufficiency must be shown in
subsequent years. _

(11) Use of roadside sobriety checks as part of a comprehensive
alcohol safety enforcement program. To demonstrate compliance, a
State shall submit information showing that it is systematically using
roadside sobriety checks. In addition, a State shall provide a copy
of its regulation or policy authorizing the use of roadside checks.
(12) Establishment of programs to encourage citizen reporting of
alcohol-related traffic offenses to the police. To demonstrate
compliance, a State shall submit a copy of its citizen reporting
guidelines or policy and data on the degree of citizen participation,
e.g., number of citizen reports and the number of related arrests. A
State can provide the necessary data based on a statistically valid
sample.

(13) Establishment of a 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration as
presumptive evidence of driving while under the influence of alcohol
to demonstrate compliance, a State shall submit a copy of its law
adopting this requirement.

(14) Adoption of a one-license/one record policy. In addition, the
State shall fully participate in the National Driver Register and the
Driver License Compact. To demonstrate compliance, a State shall
submit a copy of the order, regulation or law showing the State is a
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member of the Driver License compact and has adopted a
one-license/one-record policy, and is participating in the National
Driver Register.

(15) Authorization for the use of a preliminary breath test where
there is probable cause to suspect a driver is impaired. To
demonstrate compliance, a State shall submit a copy of its law
adopting this requirement.

(16) Limitations on plea-bargaining in alcohol- related offenses. To
demonstrate compliance, a State shall submit a copy of its law or
court guidelines requiring that no alcohol-related charge be reduced
to a non-alcohol-related charge or probation without judgment be
entered without a written declaration of why the action is in the
interest of justice. If a charge is reduced, the defendant’s driving
record must reflect that the reduced charge is alcohol-related.

(17) Provide victim assistance and victim restitution programs and
require the use of a victim impact statement prior to sentencing in
all cases where death or serious injury results from an
alcohol-related traffic offense. To demonstrate compliance, a State
shall submit a description of its victim assistance and restitution
programs, and its use of victim impact statements.

(18) Mandatory impoundment or confiscation of license plates/tags of
any vehicle operated by an individual whose license has been suspended
or revoked for an alcohol-related offense. Any such impoundment or
confiscation shall be subject to the lien or ownership right of third
parties without actual knowledge of the suspension or revocation. To
denonstrate compliance a State shall submit a copy of 1ts lav adopting
this requirement.

(19) Enactment of legislation or regulations authorizing the arresting
officer to determine the type of chemical test to be used to measure
intoxication and to authorize the arresting officer to require more
than one chemical test. To demonstrate compliance, a State shall
submit a copy of its law adopting this requirement.

(20) Establishment of liability against any person who serves
alcoholic beverages to an individual who is visibly intoxicated. To
demonstrate compliance, a State shall submit a copy of the law or
court decision of a State’s highest court establishing that liability.
(21) Use of innovative programs. To demonstrate compliance a State
shall submit a description of its program and an explanation showing
that the program will be as effective as any of the programs adopted
to comply with the other supplemental criteria.

(22) Rehabilitation and treatment programs for those arrested and
convicted of driving under the influence of a controlled substance or
research programs to develop effective means of detecting use of
controlled substances by drivers. To demonstrate compliance with the
rehabilitation and treatment portion of this criterion, a State shall
submit a copy of its law or regulation adopting the requirement and a
copy of the minimum standards set for these programs by the State. To
demonstrate compliance with the research portion of this criterion, a
State shall submit a description of its drugged driving research
program and the research plan.
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(c) To qualify for a supplemental grant of 10 percent of its 23 U.S.C. 402

(d)

apportionment for fiscal year 1983, a State must:

(1) Have in place and implement or adopt and implement a license
suspension system in which the average time from date of arrest to
suspension of a license does not exceed 45 days; and

(2) Have in place and implement or adopt and implement four of the
twventy-two requirements specified in paragraph (b) of this section.

To qualify for a supplemental grant for a second and a third year, a
State must:

(1) Show that it has increased its performance of each of the
requirements it adopted in the prior year, and

(2) Adopt two more requirements from paragraph (b) of this section for
each subsequent year, except that a State does not have to implement
more than a total of fifteen criteria.
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APPENDIX E

§ 1309.7 Requirements for a Special Grant

To qualify for a special grant of five percenf of its 23 U.S.C. 402 and 408
apportionment for fiscal year 1984, a State must have in place and
implemert or adopt and implement a statute which provides that:

(a)

(b)

()

(d)

Any person convicted for a first violation of driving while intoxicated
shall receive:

(1) A mandatory license suspension for a period of not less than ninety
days; and

(2)(i) An assignment of one hundred hours of community service to be
completed within three months; or

(ii) A mandatory minimum sentence of imprisonment for forty-eight
consecutive hours;

Any person convicted of a second violation of driving while intoxicated
within five years after a conviction for the same offense shall
receive:

(1) A mandatory minimum sentence of imprisonment for ten days to be
served in no less than 48 consecutive hour segments within a ninety day
period from conviction; and

(2) A mandatory license revocation for not less than one year;

Any person convicted of a third or subsequent violation of driving
while intoxicated within five years after a prior conviction for the
same offense shall receive:

(1) A mandatory minimum sentence of imprisonment for one hundred and
twventy consecutive days; and

(2) A mandatory license revocation of not less than three years; and

Any person convicted of driving with a suspended or revoked license or
in violation of a restriction due to a driving while intoxicated
conviction shall receive:

(1) A mandatory sentence of imprisonment for thirty consecutive days;
and

(2) Upon release from imprisonment, and an additional period of license
suspension or revocation for not less than the period of suspension or
revocation remaining in effect at the time of commission of the offense
of driving with a suspended or revoked license.
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