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Introduction 

}:outh and the Law describes Minnesota statutes and cases that provide rights, responsibilities, 
and protections for young people different from those applicable to adults. The purpose of the 
guidebook is to give legislators an overview of all laws affecting young people in order to have 
a reference aid on current state policies toward youth. The guidebook should prove useful for 
evaluating any proposals for changing these policies. 

This is basically a STATE GUIDE. Federal statutes and cases are included only in a few areas 
where they dictate state policy or where state policy has been closely linked with federal law for 
some other reason. Youth and the Law does not attempt to cover federal statutes, cases or 
programs in general. 

LEGAL DISTINCITONS are generally made between adults, who are statutorily defined as age 
18 and over, and minors, who are statutorily defmed as under age 18. Youth and the Law uses 
the terms "minor" and "child" as synonyms. Exceptions occur if the text clearly indicates that 
"child" means a minor of a particular age or means an individual of any age in relation to his 
or her parents. 

Youth and the Law is divided into two parts: Part I consists of substantive laws organized by 
subject categories. An index to the topic of each statute is provided at the beginning with page 
reference. Part II explains the courts and procedures that deal with youths. A glossary of 
terms used throughout both Parts I and II is provided at the beginning of the guide. 

Unless otherwise noted, all citations are to Minnesota Statutes, 1988 or Minnesota Rilles, 1988 
Supplement. 
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Age of Majority 

CHIPS 

Civil Action 

Contract 

Crime 

Delinquent 

Felony 

Gross Misdemeanor 

Juvenile 

Legal or Full Age 

Misdemeanor 

Petty Misdemeanor 

Statute of I.imitations 

Tort 

Glossary 

The period of time after an individual reaches the age of 18 (M.S. 645.451, subdivision 5). 

An acronym denoting a category of juvenile court jurisdiction. "CHIPS" means Child in Need 
of Protection or Services. 

A lawsuit to establish or redress certain rights. It can be based on a statutory right or a legal 
rule developed in court cases. It can involve seeking payment of money (damages) or compelling 
someone to act or refrain from an action (injunction). It involves no possible criminal 
punishment, such as imprisonment, criminal fine, or developing a record of a criminal conviction. 
Civil action examples: personal injulY, breach of contract, marriage dissolution. 

An agreement between two or more persons that creates a legal obligation to do or not to do 
a particular thing, such as to perform a service or to buy or sell goods or real estate. 

Conduct which is prohibited by statute and for which the actor may be sentenced to 
imprisonment, with or without a fme. 

A minor ten years old or older who has committed an a.ct that would be a crime if committed 
by an adult. 

A crime punishable by a sentence of more than one year imprisonment. Fines for felony 
offenses may range from $3,000 to $1,000,000, depending on the offense. 

A crime punishable by a sentence of incarceration for more than 90 days but not more than one 
year, and/or up to a $3,000 fme. 

A person who is younger than the age of majority. 

Eighteen years of age or older. (M.S. 645.451, subd. 6). 

A crime punishable by a sentence of up to 90 days incarceration and/or up to a $700 fme. 

An offense that is not a crinle, which carries no possibility of imprisonment, but for which a 
sentence of a fme of up to $200 may be imposed. 

A deadline set by statute for beginning a particular kind of lawsuit. 

The area of law that involves (1) the breach of a duty to another person, (2) imposed by law, 
(3) when the person is injured by the breach. It is sometimes defmed a£ the law of legal wrongs 
committed by private individuals against each other, not based on contracts. Examples include 
personal injury and libel. 
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Part I. 

The Laws 

Minnesota law makes many distinctions between adults and young persons' rights and responsibilities. Part I 
describes the major statutory and case law that differentiates between youths and adults. These provisions have 
been divided into the areas of economic regulations, education, family relations, health and social services, and 
criminal law. There is a miscellaneous section for other age provisions. An index of the subject of each law is 
provided at the beginning of Part I. 

Usually, legru distinctions are drawn at the age of majority, which is statutorily defined as 18 years. Persons 
under 18 are minors. They are deemed less able them adults to take responsibility for themselves or to l:arry out 
obligations to others. Similarly, they are considered more in need of protection both from their own 
inexperienced judgments and from the actions of others. 

Minnesota law makes some distinctions between adults and youth at points other than 18 years. For example, 
a few rights are \vithheld and a few protections are extended until ages 19 or 21 in the belief that 18 year aIds 
are not ready to be entirely on their own in particular areas. On the other hand, not all minors are treated 
identically under the law. In some instances younger children are considered in need of greater protection or 
unable to carry out the greater responsibilities of older children. As a result, certain statutes treat minors under 
such ages as 16, 14, or 10 differently from minors over those ages. 



I 
I 
I 
I 
I 

I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 

Laws Index 

ECONONnCPROTECTION 

CHILD SUPPORT ................................................................ 8 

All Parents .................' ................................................... 8 
Divorced Parents . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 8 
Support Guidelines ................................................................ 8 
Unmarried Parents ................................................................ 8 
Enforcement . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 8 
Step-parents ..................................................................... 8 

PROPERTY RIGIn"S ...................................................... , . . . . . .. 9 

Control of a Minor's Earnings or Property ............................................... 9 
Minor's Contracts ................................................................. 9 
Wills ......................•................•................................... 9 
Inheritance from Parents ............................................................ 9 
Uniform Transfers to Minors Act . : . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 9 

EMPLOY:MENT .................................................................. 10 

Age Restrictions .................................................................. 10 
Day and. Hour R~st-?ctions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 10 
Occupatlon RestrictIons . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 10 
Exemptions from Restrictions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 10 
Minim~m .W~ge: . '.' . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 10 
Age DIScnmJllatlon m Employment .................................................... 11 
Unemployment Compensation ........................................................ 11 

EDUCATIONAL RIGHTS AND RESPONSIDllJTIES 

COMPULSORY ATI'ENDANCE .................................................... . 

Age of Attendance; Compulsory Attendance; Penalty . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . ,. . . . . . , . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
Residency Requirements ........................................................... . 
Enrollment Options .................................... , .......................... . 

DISCIPLINE ................................................................. '" 

Corporal Punishment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . , . . . . . . . . 
Dismissal Generally ............................................................... . 
Suspension ......,............................................................. .. 
Expulsion and Exclusion ...........................................,................ 
Removal from Class ........... : ........................................ , .......... . 

PARTICIPATION IN" ATHLETICS ................................................... . 

State Discrimination Law ............... ' ............................................ . 
Federal Discrimination Law ......................................................... . 
Equal Protection Clause ..................................................... , ...... . 
Right of Participation ............................................................. . 

HANDICAPPED CHILDREN' ...................................................... . 

Education for all Handicapped Children Act of 1975 ....................................... . 
Availability and Procedural Requirements Under State Law .................................. . 

Youth and the Law 

14 

14 
14 
14 

15 

15 
15 
15 
15 
15 

16 

16 
16 
16 
16 

17 

17 
17 

-1-



PUBliC SCHOOL FEB lA. W ....................................................... 17 

Prolubited Fees . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . " 17 
Authorized Fees ........................•......................................... 17 

ACCESS TO lNFORMA.TION ....................................................... 18 

Student's Right to Inspect ........................................................... 18 
Parent's Right to Inspect ............................................................ 18 

RIGHTS OF NON-PUBliC SCIlOOL PUPILS . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 18 

Educational Materials and Pupil Support Services .......................................... 18 
Transportation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 18 
Tuition Tax Deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 18 

FIRSI' AMENDMENT RIGHTS .................................................... " 19 

Freedom of Speech ................................................................ 19 
Prayer in the Schools . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 19 
Religious Observances . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 19 
Course Requirements . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 19 
Access to Facilities for Religious Purposes ..•............................................ 20 
Exemption from Compulsory Attendance ................................................ 20 

FOURTII AMENDMENT RIGHTS .................................................... 20 

Search and Seizure ................................................................ 20 
Drug Testing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 20 

FAMlLY RElATIONS 

ALL FAMILIES ................................................................. . 22 

Child's Residence ................................................................ . 22 
Housing Discrimination Against Families with Children ..................................... . 22 
Emancipation of a Minor . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22 
Marriage by a Minor .............................................................. . 22 

DIVORCED PARENTS ........................................................... . 22 

Child Custody . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . 22 
Changing Child's Residence ......................................................... . 22 
Parent's Visitation Rights ........................................................... . 23 
Other Parental Rights ............................................................. . 23 
Grandparent's Visitation Rights ....................................................... . 23 

DE<.."EASED PARENTS ........................................................... . 23 

Appointing a Guardian for an Orphan ................................................. . 23 

UNMARRIED PARENTS ......................................................... . 24 

Child Custody and Visitation ........................................................ . 24 
Establishing Parentage .....•........................................................ 24 

ADO:PTED CHILDREN" ........................................................... . 24 

Required Consents ............................................................... . 24 
Adoptee's Access to Original Birth Certificate ............................................ . 25 
Adoptee's Access to Other Information ................................................. . 25 

Youth and the Law -2-

I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 



I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 

HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES 

MINORS' CONSENI' FOR HEALTH SERVICES. . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 28 

Marriage or Giving Birth .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .... , . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . .. 28 
Living Apart from Parents and Financially Independent . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 28 
Pregnancy, Venereal Disease, Alcohol or Drug Abuse ...................................... , 28 
Emergency Treatment .....•....... ,................................................ 28 
Representations to Persons Rendering Service . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . .. 28 
Information to Parent ......... :.................................................... 28 
Financial Responsibility . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 28 
Blood Donations ................................•................................ , 29 
Anatomical Gifts .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 29 
Abortion . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . .. 29 
Voluntary Institutional Treatment. • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 29 
Insurance ...........................................................•....•...... 29 

SOCIAL SERVICES: . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . .. 30 

Child Welfare .................................................................... 30 
Child Care ...................•.................................................. 30 
Community Social SeIVices . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 30 
Foster Care Review . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 30 
Subsid;zed Adoption Program ........................................................ 30 
Child Abuse Reporting ..........................................................•.. 31 
Medical Neglect ...........................................•...................... 31 
Child Abuse Prevention Trust Fund .................................................•.. 31 

CRIMINAL VIOlATIONS BY YOUTHS 

Purchase and Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages ......................................... 34 
Use of Tobacco or Tobacco-Related Devices. . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 34 
Possession of a Pistol ......................•...................................... " 34 
Possession of a Firearm .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 34 
Possession or Use of Toxic Gllte .. : . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 34 
Possession or Use of Tear Gas . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 34 
Possession or Use of Electronic Incapacitation Device . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 34 

CRIMINAL VIOlATIONS AGAINST YOUTHS 

PORNOGRAPHY lAWS ... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . • . . . . . . . . .. 36 

Child Pornography . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . .. 36 
Dissemination of Obscene Works to Min~rs .............................................. 36 

SEXUAL ABUSE lAWS .............................................••............ 36 

CriIninal Sexual Conduct ....•....................................................... 36 
Prostitution . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 36 
Sexual Solicitation . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 37 

Youth and the Law -3-



3' 

PHYSICAL AND EMOTIONAL ABUSE lAWS. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 37 

Death Caused by Child Abuse ........................................................ 37 
False Imprisonment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 37 
Malicious Punishment .............................................................. 37 
Neglect ..........•.............................................................. 37 
Nonsupport ...................................................................... 37 
Kidnapping . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 38 
Parental Abduction .•..•........................................................... 38 

SAFErY lAWS . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 38 

Unused Refrigerator or Container ................. :................................... 38 
Tobacco Sales . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 38 
Tear Gas Sales ................................................................... 38 
Electronic Incapacitation Device Sales .................................................. 38 
Toxic Glue Sales .................................................... ' - _ . . . . . . . . .. 38 
Child Restraint Seats . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 38 

DRUG-Fallj\1ln)lAWS .......................................................... 39 

Drug Distnbution to Persons Under 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 39 
Drug Possession on School Property . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 39 
Drug Paraphernalia Sales . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 39 

MISCELlANEOUS CHILD PROTECTION lAWS ....................................... 39 

Sale of Alcoholic Beverages ..... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 39 
Dance Halls ............................... ,..................................... 39 
Pawnbrokers and Junkdealers ........................................................ , 39 
Abduction for Marriage ............................................................ , 40 
Contributing to Delinquency ......................................................... 40 

MISCELLANEOUS AGE PROVISIONS 

Access to Government Records ....................................................... 42 
Driver's License .................................................................. , 42 
Fishing and Hunting Licenses . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 42 
Office Holding ................................................................... 42 
Voting ......................................................................... 42 

CIVTI.. ADULT COURT 

Parental Liability for Children's Torts and Contracts ........................................ 46 
Parents' Liability to Children .....•................................................... 46 
Injury to Minors .................................................................. 46 
Statute of Lintitations .............................................................. 46 
Minors as Witnesses ............................................................... 46 

Youth and the Law -4-

I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 



I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 

-------------------------"------

CRIMINAL ADULT COURT 

CriIninal Responsibility .....•...........................................•........... 48 
Admissibility of a Child's Hearsay Statements in Child Abuse Cases . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 48 
Testimony by Closed Circuit TV or VideoTape ..... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 48 
Minors as Witnesses ............................................................... 48 
Child Sex Abuse Victims ............................................................ 48 
Exclusion of Public from Trials Involving Children ......................................... 48 
Exclusion of Children from CriIninal and Scandalous Trials ................................... 48 
Care and Custody of Juvenile Offenders .,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 49 

JUVENll..E COURT 

PURPOSE AND JURISDICI10N OF JUVENll...E COURT ................................. 52 

Juveniles Who Commit Unlawful Acts .................................................. 53 
Referral for Adult Prosecution . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 53 
Juvenile Court Dispositions .......................................................... 53 
CHIPS Cases. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 54 
Types of Dispositions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 55 

COURT PROCESS FOR DELINQUENCY AND OTHER OFFENSES. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 55 

Apprehension .................................................................... 55 
Pretrial Detention ................................................................. 55 
Filing of Petition or Citation ......................................................... 55 
Arraignment Hearing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 56 
Reference for Adult Prosecution . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 56 
A?judi~tory He~g . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 56 
DISpoSltion Heanng ........................................ '. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 56 
Major Constitutional Rights of a Child in Juvenile Court . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 57 

COUZT PROCESS FOR CHIPS CASES . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 58 

P~~Adjudi~t~on Dete~ti~n .......................................................... 58 
Filing of Petltion or Cltation ......................................................... 58 
First Appearance . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 59 
Adjudicatory Hearing ............................................................. " 59 
Disposition HearUig . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 59 

Youth and the Law -5-



I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 

ECONONUCPROTECTION 

Minors' economic rights and activities are heavily regulated by statute because it is believed that minors are much 
less able than adults to support themselves, to make decisions about managing property, or to bargain as equals 
in employment and other business situations. 
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Child Support 

ALL PARENTS A parent who is fmancially able to support a child but fails to do so may have 
his or her parental rights terminated by the juvenile court. M.S. 260.221 
(b)(2) 

DIVORCED PARENTS The court may order either or both parents to pay child support. A parent 
may also be required to provide health insurance or pay medical expenses 
for a child. Child means an individual: (1) under 18; (2) under 20 who is 
still attending secondary school; or (3) who, because of his or her physical 
or inental condition, cannot support himself or herself. M.S. 518.17(4); 
518.171; 518.54, sllbd. 2 

SUPPORT GUIDELINES Statutory guidelines amounts and other specified factors affect the amount 
of parental support courts will award to children of divorced parents, unless 
the parents each have separate counsel and reach their own support 
agreement. M.S. 518.551, sllbd. 5 

UNMARRIED PARENTS If an individual admits she or he is a child's parent or if parentage is 
established in a court action, the individual is legally obligated to support the 
child. M.S. 257.67, subd. 1 

ENFORCEMENT If a court orders a parent to pay child support, including health insurance 
or medical costs, legal mechanisms exist to enforce the order in Minnesota 
or against a parent who moves to another state. M.S. 256.87,' 257.66; 518.611; 
548.091; Chapter 518C; 518.613; and 518.614 

STEP-PARENTS In determining the amount of public assistance to be granted for a dependent 
child, the income of a step-parent living in the same household will be 
considered, after subtracting the first $75 of earned income and any amount 
the'step-parent pays to support other dependents and for alimony and child 
support. M.S. 256.74, subd. 1a 

Youth and the Law 

When a divorced parent seeks a change in court-ordered child support, the 
income of both parents' new spouses, if any, will not be considered in raising 
or lowering the support amount. M.S. 518.64, subd. 2 
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Property Rights 

A parent or guardian may claim a minor's wages by notifying the minor's 
employer. Otherwise, the minor has control of his or her own wages. 
M.S. 181.01 

A minor may control his or her own savings account. MS. 48.30 

A minor may make a contract but may choose not to complete it, unless it 
involves the purchase of necessities, like food or shelter. Miller v. Smith, 26 
Minn. 248, 2 N.W. 942 (1879) 

A minor may not make a will. MS. 524.2 - 501 

If an individual is adopted, she or he has a legal right to an intestate share 
of the adopted parents' estate but not to the biological parents' estate, unless 
the individual was adopted by a step-parent. MS. 524.2 - 109 

If a parent does not make a will, children of any age whose parents were 
IParried share the estate with the surviving spouse. If no spouse survives, the 
children share the estate among themselves. MS. 524.2-102 and 524.2-103 

If parents were not married to each other and did not leave wills, children 
of any age inherit from either parent, if parentage is established pursuant to 
the Uniform Parentage Act. MS. 524.2 - 109 

If a parent makes a will, he or she may intentionally disinherit a child. If it 
seems the child was omitted from the will by error or because of being born 
after the parent's death, the child will inherit something. M.S. 524.2-108 and 
524.2-302 

Any kind of property (money, real estate, stocks, etc.) may be transferred to 
a custodian for a minor's benefit. A custodianship created under this 1985 
act -lasts until age 21. M.S. 527.21 to 527.44 
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Employment 

No .minor under the age of 14 may be employed, except: (1) a minor may 
be an actor, performer, or model; (2) those 11 and older may be newspaper 
carriers; (3) those 12 and older may work in agricultural operations. M.S. 
18lA.04, subd. 1; 18lA.07, subds. 1, 2, 3 

On school days during school hours, no minor under 16 years may be 
employed except with a valid employment certificate. M.S. 18lA.04, subd. 
2; 18lA.05 

No minor under 16 may work any day before 7 a.m. or after 9:30 p.m. except 
as a newspaper carrier. M.S. 181A.04, subd. 3; 18lA.07, subd. 3 

No one may employ a minor under 16 more than 40 hours per week or more 
than eight hours in any 24-hour period, except for minors working h 
agricultural operations with their parents' or guardian's permission. MS. 
18lA.04, subd. 4; 18lA.07, subd. 1 

All minors may be excluded from employment in any occupation which the 
Commissioner of Labor and Industry fmds by rule hazardous to their well­
being. The Commissioner also has the power to exempt an individual minor 
from this restriction. MS. 18lA.04, subd. 5; Minn. Rules 5200.0940-0960 

Millors employed to do home chores or babysitting or employed by their 
parents are exempt from all the above restrictions. MS. 18lA.07, subd. 4 

No state law prevents a minor's employment in any agricultural work 
permitted by 29 U.S.C. §213(c)(2). M.S. 1BlA.ll 

Employees under the age of 18 who work for employers covered by federal 
law must be paid at least $3.20 per hour as of January 1, 1988, $3.47 per hour 
as of January 1, 1989, and $3.56 per hour as of January 1,1990. 

Employees under the age of 18 who work for employers covered by state law 
must be paid at least $3.15 per hour as of January 1, 1988, $3.29 per hour 
as of January 1,1989, and $3.42 per hour as of January 1, 1990. 

This does not include persons under the age of 18 who are: (1) doing certain 
agricultural work, (2) babysitting as a sole practitioner, or (3) employed part­
time by a municipality as part of a recreational program. MS. 177.24, subd. 
1; 177.23, subd. 7 
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AGE DISCRIMlNATION Minors and young adults are not protected against this. Different treatment 
IN EMPLOYMENT in privileges, benefits, services, or facilities for employees under 21 is 

permitted. M.s. 363.02, subd. 6 

UNEMPLOYMENT Like all adults, a minor may be covered by unemployment compensation laws 
COMPENSATION if she or he satisfies the statutory requirements regarding eligibility. M.S. 

268.07, subd. 2 However, minors in the following employment areas are not 
eligible for unemployment compensation: (1) agricultural labor performed 
by a child under 16; (2) service performed by a child under 18 in the employ 
of a parent; (3) work performed by a student for an academic or vocational 
program; (4) work performed at a school or university by a student enrolled 
there; and (5) newspaper delivery by anyone under 18. M.S. 268.04, subds. 
11; P(13)(f), (JS)(d); and 268.07 
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EDUCATIONAL RIGHTS AND RESPONSIDll.ITIES 

The state of Minnesota is required by its constitution to provide a free education to all children in the state. 
This section provides an overview of some of the rights and responsibilities students have while attending 
elementary and secondary schools. 

COMPlJLSORY ATIENDAN"CE .............................................. 14 
Age of Attendance; Compulsory Attendance; Penalty ............................. 14 
Residency Requirements .................................................. 14 
Enrollment Options ..................................................... 14 

DISCIPLINE .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15 
Corporal Punishment .................................................... 15 
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Suspension . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15 
Expulsion and Exclusion .................................................. 15 
Removal from Class ..................................................... 15 

PARllCIPAll0N~A11DLEn1CS ............. '" ............................ 16 
State Discrimination Law ................................................. 16 
Federal Discrimination Law . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 
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Right of Participation .................................................... 16 

HANDICAl'PED CHlI..DREN" ................................................. 17 
Education for all Handicapped Children Act of 1975 .............................. 17 
Availability and Procedural Requirements Under State Law ........................ 17 

PUBUC SCHOOL FEE IAW ................................................ 17 
Prolubited Fees. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17 
Authorized Fees ........................................................ 17' 

ACCESS TO INFORMAll0N ................................................ 18 
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Parent's Right to Insp:::ct .................................................. 18 

RIGHTS OF NON-PUBUC SCHOOL PUPIlS ................................... 18 
Educational Materials and Pupil Support Services ................................ 18 
Transportation ......................................................... 18 
Tuition Tax Deduction ................................................... 18 

FIRST AMENDMENT RIGHTS .............................................. 19 
Freedom of Speech ...................................................... 19 
Prayer in the Schools .................................................... 19 
Religious Observances .................................................... 19 
Course Requirements .................................................... 19 
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Drug Testing ............. : ............................................ 20 
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Compulsory Attendance 

Children aged seven to 16 must receive instruction for at least 170 days each 
year. For the 2000-2001 school year and beyond, a child must remain in 
school until that child completes the high school graduation requirements or 
is 18 years old. A minor who is a parent and who has not completed high 
school must attend school in order to receive AFDC (Aid to Families with 
Dependent Children). M.S. 256.736, sllbd. 3b 

A school age child may be exempted from mandatory attendance 
requirements under certain circumstances. M.S. 120.101, sllbd. 9 

Instruction must occur either in a public school, a non-public school, a church 
or religious organization, or a home-school. M.S. 120.101, sllbd. 4 

Instruction is required in specific subject areas, and must be provided by a 
person who meets the specific requirements for instructors. M.S. 120.101, 
subd. 6-7 

The performance of every child not enrolled in a public school must be 
assessed each year. All persons in charge of providing instruction to a child 
must provide documentation that the child has received instruction as 
required by law, except for those receiving instruction from an accredited or 
state-recognized body. M.S. 120.102, subd. 1-3 

Depending on their qualifications as instructors, parents instructing their 
children in a home-school may be required to provide greater assessment and 
documentation of their children's instruction. M.S. 120.101, subd. 8(b), 
120.102, sllbd. 1(4) 

It is a misdemeanor if a person responsible for instruction in an unaccredited 
non-public school, home, or other institution, fails to comply with compulsory 
instruction. M.S. 120.103 

Any person who fails or refuses to provide for instruction of a child of whom 
the person has legal custody and which child is required to receive instruction 
commits a misdemeanor. M.S. 127.20 

School age children who reside within a district operating public schools may 
attend those schools without charge. M.S. 120.06, subd. 1 

Beginning with the 1989-1990 school year, those pupils residing in districts 
with more than 1,000 pupil units in grades kindergarten through 12 have the 
option of attending a school or program in a district in which the pupil does 
not reside, unless (1) a school board determines by resolution that 
nonresident pupils may not attend its schools or programs, or (2) a district 
with a desegregation plan limits the number of transferees. A school board 
is required to adopt specific standards for accepting and rejecting timely 
applications. The program applies to all districts in the 1990-1991 school 
year. M.S. 120.062 
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Discipline J 
A school official may use reasonable force to discipline a child. M.S. 609.06, 
clause (6) While the U.S. Supreme Court agrees that the imposition of 
corporal punishment of school children invades a "liberty" interest, it has held 
that such punishment may be imposed without any administrative hearing. 
The opportunity for community scrutiny of a school system plus the 
availability of common law tort remedies is deemed to give adequate 
protection against teacher abuse. Ingraham v. Wright, 430 U.S. 651 (1977). 

Dismissals from school are generally governed by the Pupil Fair Dismissal 
Act of 1974. M.S. 127.26-127.39 

Grounds for dismissal are the willful violation of clearly defined school board 
regulations, substantial disruption of the learning process, or posing a serious 
danger to persons or property. M.S. 127.29, subd. 2 A public school student 
is entitled to due process and equal protection guarantees when facing 
dismissal proceedings. Possible outcomes inc;iude exclusion, expUlsion or 
suspension. MS. 127.28 A school must attempt to provide a student subject 
to dismissal with an alternative education program, except under certain 
circumstances. M.s. 127.29, subd. 1 

Before being suspended for one to five days, a student is generally entitled 
to notice and a meeting with the administration, where he or she will be 
informed of the grounds for suspension. M.S. 127.27, subd.10 If the student 
poses a serious danger he or she can be suspended for up to 15 days, 
provided the school implements an alternative education program for any 
suspension over five days. MS. 127.27, subd. 10. The U.S. Supreme Court 
has declared that suspending a student from a public school requires 
procedural due process, including written notice of the charges, an 
explanation of the evidence the authorities have, and an opportunity for the 
student to present his or her side of the story. These requirements do not 
include the right to counsel, a right to confront and cross-examine witnesses, 
or a right to call the student's own witnesses. Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565 
(1975). 

If a student is subject to expUlsion (precluding an enrolled student from 
attending school for up to one year) or exclusion (preventing a prospective 
student from enrolling in school for up to one year), he or she is entitled to 
notice from the administration and to information regarding attendance 
rights, including the right to a formal hearing and appeal. M.S. 127.27, 
subds. 4 and 5; 127.31; 127.32; 127.33 The school may be required to notify 
the student within ten days of termination of the dismissal period. M.S. 
127.37 

If a student willfully engages in disruptive, dangerous and unsanctioned 
conduct, a school official may prohibit that student from attending class for 
up to three class periods. This is not considered dismissal under the Pupil 
Fair Dismissal Act. MS. 127.27, subd. 2; 127.40; 127.41 
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Participation in Athletics 

All educational institutions are required to provide equal opportunity for both 
sexes to participate in athletic programs. Depending upon the grade level, 
past circumstances, extent of interest and the particular sport, sports 
programs may offer single sex teams in som\~ cases. MS. 126.21 

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, which prohibits sex 
discrimination in federally assisted interscholastic athletic opportunities for 
male and female students, specifies what educational institutions must do in 
order not to be subject to a cut-off of federal funds. Nondiscrimination on 
the Basis of Sex in Education Programs andActivities Receiving or Benefitting 
from Federal Financial Assistance, 20 U.S.C. §§1681-1686. 

Female athletes alleging sex discrimination in athletic programs have 
argued that the equal protection clause of the fourteenth amendment 
prohibits ruIes barring them from male athletic teams or treating female 
teams differently from male teams. While courts generally agree that the 
equal protection clause requires permitting females to try out for male teams 
in contact and non-contact sports, they are unwilling to fmd a right for 
females to participate on male teams when there is a separate female team 
available. See, Brendan v. Independent School District 742, 477 F.2d 1292 
(8th Cir. 1973); Leffel v. Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association, 444 
F.Supp. 1117 (E.D. Wisc. 1978); O'Connor v. Board of Education, Dist. 
#23,645 F.2d 578 (7th Cir., 1980) cert. denied 454 U.S. 1084. 

The right of participation in extracurricuIar activities is not a constitutionally 
protected property interest and is not of equal importance with the right to 
an education. Without a protected property interest, there are no due process 
requirements in dismissing a student from a team. Athletic programs are 
not included in the statutory protections under the Pupil Fair Dismissal Act. 
M.S. 127.39, subd. 2; Dorn v. Anoka-Hennepin Independent School District 
No. 11, Case No. C6-87-1186, Edward W. Bearse, 10th Judicial District 
(Minn. State trial court) (March 10, 1988). 
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. Handicapped Children 

The Act provides federal funding to states and local educational agencies for 
expenses incurred in providing special education and related services to 
handicapped school age children who qualify for assistance under the Act's 
eligibility provisions. In order to be eligible for funding, states must have a 
"right to education" policy, establish priorities for services, and assure that 
handicapped children and their parents are guaranteed procedural 
safeguards in decisions affecting the children's education. States are held 
accountable for the expenditure of these funds. The State Department of 
Education is responsible for assuring that all handicapped children within the 
state receive a free appropriate public education. 20 U.S.e. §§1401-1454, et 
seq. 

Each school district is required to provide appropriate nondiscriminatory 
instruction and services for handicapped children from birth until the 
handicapped child is 21 or completes secondary school. M.S. 120.03; 120.17, 
subds. 1, 1b 

State law guarantees procedural safeguards and parental participation in the 
ass~ssment and educational placement of handicapped children. M.S. 120.17, 
subds. 3a and 3b 

Public School Fee Law 

Public school education is free to all eligible students. School boards may 
not charge fees for necessary goods and services such as instructional 
materials and supplies, required library books, or required school activities. 
A school board may require payment of transportation costs for which state 
aid is not authorized, if guideline's are established to guarantee no one is 
denied an education based upon this cost alone. M.S. 120.72; 120.73; 120.74 

The U. S. Supreme Court ruled against a poor family's equal protection 
challenge to a North Dakota law allowing some school districts to charge a 
bussing fee while providing students in other districts with free 
transportation. Kadrmas v. Dickinson Public Schools, 108 S.Ct. 2481 (1988) 

School districts may require students to pay for certain school-related costs 
specified in statute, such as fees for extracurricular activities, security 
deposits, personal athletic equipment, supplementary field trips, musical 
instruments, and personal stationery supplies. M.S. 120.73,' 120.75 
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Access to Information 

A student may inspect or copy any public or private educational data 
concerning that student with certain exceptions, such as parental fmancial 
records ftIed with the school. M.S. 13.03,' 13.04; 13.32, subd. 1 

The parents of a minor student may inspect public or private educational 
data concerning their child unless, at the request of the minor, the 
responsible authority determines that it is in the best interest of the minor 
that the information be withheld. M.S. 1302, subd. 8 

Rights of Non-Public School Pupils 

School districts are required to provide all pupils not attending public 
schools, including those in home schools, with textbooks, individualized 
instructional materials, and standardized tests. All material must be secular 
in nature and not used for religious instruction or worship. A district must 
provide the same health services to pupils of non-public schools as it 
provides to public school pupils. Non-pUblic secondary pupils must be 
offered guidance and counseling services by the public secondary schools. 
Allotments for non-public school costs are not to exceed average 
expenditures for the same public school services. M.S. 123.931-132.937 

Public school teachers cannot provide Chapter 1 instructional services (a 
federally funded program for educationally deprived children) to eligible 
non-pUblic school students on non-public school premises because of the 
potential for violating the establishment clause of the First Amendment. 
Aguilar v. Felton, 473 U.S. 402 (1985). 

School districts are required to provide "equal transportatio .... for non-pUblic 
school pupiLc; within the district's boundaries to the same extent they are 
required to provide transportation for public school pupils. A district may 
provide transportation to a non-public school located in another district, but 
the non-public school pays the cost of the transportation. M.S. 123.78 

A taxpayer may deduct the costs of tuition, textbooks and transportation up 
to $650 for each dependent in grades K-6 and $1,000 for each dependent in 
grades 7 to 12. The costs of religious books and materials and the expenses 
of participating in extracurricular non-public school activities may not be 
deducted. M.S. 290.01, subd. 19(b)(3) 
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First Amendment Rights 

Students retain their first amendment right to freedom of speech in school 
provided their speech does not result in "material disruption" of the 
education process. Tinker v. Des Moines Ind. Comm. School District, 393 
U.S. 503 (1969). The test for determining the degree of disruption is 
"whether the manner of expression is basically incompatible with the normal 
activity of a particular place at a particular time." 

The Supreme Court has ruled that a student's speech containing "explicit 
sexual metaphors" is not protected by the first amendment. Bethel School 
District v. Fraser, 106 S.Ct. 3159 (1986). 

School officials have the right to impose reasonable restrictions on student 
speech in school sponsored student papers. Hazelwood School Dist. v. 
Kuhlmeier, 108 S.Ct. 562 (1988). 

The U.S. Supreme Court has declared the district-sanctioned recitation of 
a non-denominational prayer at the beginning of each school day to be a 
violation of the first amendment prohibition against establishment of 
religion. Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421 (1962). The Supreme Court recently 
ruled that a law authorizing a short period for "voluntary or silent prayer" is 
also unconstitutional, but indicated that allowing a moment of silence 
probably would not violate the Constitution. Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38 
(1985). Federal courts are split on whether an invocation and a benediction 
at graduation ceremonies viOlate the establishment clause. See, Grossberg 
v. Deusebio, 380 F.Supp. 285 (E.D. Va. 1974). 

The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals has heM that it is not a violation of the 
first amendment's establishment clause for a school to observe holidays that 
have both a religious and a secular basis through programs containing music, 
art, literature and drama having religious themes and via the temporary 
display of religious symbols associated with religious holidays. Florey v. 
Sioux Falls School District 49-5, 619 F.2d 1311 (8th Cir. 1980), cert. denied 
449 U.S. 987 (1980). 

A statute forbidding the teaching of evolution unless "creation science" was 
also taught was held to violate the constitutional ban on a state 
est<\blishment of religion. Edwards v. Aguillard, 107 S.Ct. 2573 (1987). 
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Two federal appellate courts have ruled that the use of public elementary 
and secondary schools by students for religious purposes violates the 
establishment clause of the ftrst amendment. Brandon v. Board of 
Education of Guilderland Central School District, 635 F.2d 971 (2d Cir. 
1980), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1123 (1981); Lubbock Independent School Dist. 
v. Lubbock Civil Liberties Union, 669 F.2d 1038 (5th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 
459 U.S. 1155, (1983). However, a law was enacted by Congress which 
forbids secondary schools receiving federal funds from barring religious 
student groups from meeting at school if the school has a general policy of 
allowing student meetings. 20 U.S.c. §4071 The Supreme Court has not yet 
issued a ruling that would resolve the conflict between these court decisions 
and the legislation. 

The United States Supreme Court has ruled that certain pupils may be 
exempt from the state compulsory attendance law if they can show that the 
law imposes an unnecessary burden on the right to free exercise of religion 
under the ftrst amendment. Wisconsin v. Yoder, 46 U.S. 205 (1972). 

Fourth Amendment Rights 

The United States Supreme Court has ruled that the fourth amendment of 
the Constitution protects students, but perm~ts school officials to search 
students if there are "reasonable grounds" for suspecting that a student has 
violated the law or school rules. New Jersey v. T.L.O., 469 U.S. 325 (1985). 
This is less stringent than the usual standard requiring a "warrant based on 
proba.ble cause" used by the courts in adult criminal search and seizure 
cases. 

A drug test is a search covered by the fourth amendment. However, a 
federal court upheld a school district's drug testing program requiring 
random urinalysis for high school athletes and cheerleaders on the grounds 
that (1) the right to participate in extracurricular activities was not 
constitutionally guaranteed and (2) school officials' interest in a drug free 
athretic program outweighed students' privacy interest. Schaill v. Tippecanoe 
County School Corp., 679 F.Supp. 833 (N.D. Ind. 1988). A policy requiring 
all students to submit to urinalysis likely would be ruled unconstitutional. 
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FAMILY RELATIONS 

With a few exceptions noted in this section and elsewhere in the guide, the statutes do not regulate relations 
between married parents and their children who live together. Statutes exist primarily to deal with needs 
that arise when a new family is bemg created--for example, by adoption--or when a family is changing form­
-for example, due to events like divorce, death, or a minor's marriage. For provisions regulating 
circumstances arising from neglect or abuse of children by family members see CRIMINAL VIOLATIONS 
AGAD"vSTYOumS and the JUVENILE COURT section of Part n. 

AIL FAMIlJES .............................................. 22 

Child's Residence ....................................... " ... 22 
Housing Discrimination Against Families with Children ............... 22 
Emancipation of a Minor ..................................... 22 
Marriage by a Minor ........................................ 22 

DNORCEI> PAREN'I'S ........................................ 22 

Child Custody ...........................................•.. 22 
Changing Child's Residence ................................... 22 
Parent's Visitation Rights ..................................... 23 
Other Parental Rights ........................................ 23 
Grandparent's Visitation Rights ................................. 23 

DECEASED PAREN'I'S ..... : .................................. 23 

Appointing a Guardian for an Orphan ............................ 23 

UN"MARRIED PAREN'I'S ....................................... 24 

Child Custody and Visitation ................................... 24 
Establishing Parentage ....................................... 24 

ADOP'rED CIIIIDREN ...................... ' .................. 24 

Required Consents .......................................... 24 
Adoptee's Access to Original Birth Certificate ...................... 25 
Adoptee's Access to Other Information ',' ......................... 25 
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All Families 

Parents choose the residence of an unmarried child under age 18. A child 
who leaves that residence without permission is considered a runaway and 
can be taken into custody. M.S. 260.015, subd. 20; 260.165 

The Human Rights Act prohibits (1) refusal to rent or sell real estate to 
persons with children and (2) any unlawful restrictions against children in a 
real estate sale or rental advertisement. Various exceptions exist for owner­
occupied, cooperative, and elderly housing units. M.S. 363.01-363.03 

"Emancipation" means that a minor has the same legal rights and obligations 
as an 18 year old adult. A minor can be emancipated by a legal marriage 
or by parental consent. State ex. reI. Scott v. Lowell, 78 Minn. 166, 80 N.W. 
877 (1899); Minneapolis v. Orono, 212 Minn. 7; 2 N.W.2d 149 (1942). 

A 16 year old may marry with parental consent. Anyone may marry at age 
18. M.S. 517.02 

Divorced Parents 

After an annulment, dissolution, or legal separation, the court must order 
either sole or joint legal and physical custody of minor children. In deciding 
custody, the court must consider the best interests of the child and not 
prefer one parent over the other on the basis of the parent's sex. There is 
a presumption that joint legal custody is ill. the child's best interests. If the 
child is old enough the judge may ask her or his custody preference. MS. 
518.17 

The child resides with the parent who has physical custody. If the 
noncustodial parent has visitation rights, the child can be moved out of state 
only with a court order or the noncustodial parent's consent. M.S. 518.175, 
subd.3 
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In dissolution or legal separation proceedings, on request of the noncustodial 
parent, the court must grant visitation rights in the best interests of the 
child. The court may restrict visitation or deny it entirely, if it would 
endanger or impair the child. A parent's failure to pay support because of 
inability to do so is not sufficient cause to deny visatation. If one parent 
wrongfully denies the other's visitation rights, compensatory visitation time 
may be obtained by court order. MS. 518.175 

Notice must be given to both parties that they have the right to (1) obtain 
certain education, health and religious records of the child, and (2) attend 
school conferences, unless a court waives the notice to protect the welfare 
of a party or child. M.S. 518.17, subd. 3 

In all dissolution, separation, custody, annulment, and parentage 
proceedings, the child's grandparent or great-grandparent may ask the court 
for reasonable visitation rights to an unmarried minor child. The rights may 
be granted if they do not interfere with the parent and child relationship. 
Visitation rights end if the child is adopted by someone other than a step­
parent or grandparent. MS. 257.022 

Deceased Parents 

An unmarried minor's parent may appoint a guardian by will. A minor 14 
years or older or an adult interested in the minor's welfare may object to the 
choice. MS. 525.6155; 525.616 

If parents do not name a guardian by will, the court may put the child under 
the guardianship of the Commissioner of Human Services, a licensed child 
placing agency, or an individual willing and able to take responsibility. M.S. 
260.242, subd. 1b(a)-(c) 

Guardianship ends when the child dies, is adopted, legally marries, or turns 
18. MS. 525.6192 
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Unmarried Parents 

The mother has sole custody until paternity is established, either by the 
father's legally effective admission or by court action. If paternity is 
established, the father may petition the court for custody or visitation. If the 
child is old enough, the court may ask his or her custody preference. M.S. 
257.541, subd. 2(b) 

The child, parent, or welfare agency may bring an action to establish the 
child's parentage. The parties may be required to have blood tests. An 
action to determine the existence of the father and child relationship a child 
who has no presumed father is not barred until one year after the child 
reaches the age of majority. M.S. 257.51-257.74 

An alternative to legal action: A man is presumed to be the natural father 
of the child if he and the child's natural mother acknowledge his paternity 
in a writing signed by both of them and rued with the state registrar of vital 
statistics. M.S. 257.34; 257.55, subd. 1 

Adopted Children 

An individual aged 14 or older may be adopted only if she or he consents. 
M.S. 259.24, subd. 3 

If an unmarried parent under 18 wants to place a child for adoption, he or 
she must be offered consultation with an attorney, clergy, or physician before 
consenting to the adoption. The consent of the minor's parents or guardian, 
if any, also is required. If the minor has no parent or guardian to give 
consent, the Commissioner of Human Services may do so. M.S. 259.24, 
subd. 2 
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An adopted person 21 or older may request the information on his or her 
original birth certificate. The Commissioner of Human Services must try to 
notify each parent identified on the certificatr, of the request. If the parents 
agree, the information is disclosed. 

If the Commissioner cannot notify a parent and if the parent has not fIled 
a consent to disclosure, the information may be disclosed as follows: 

-- If the person was adopted before August 1, 1977, he or she may petition 
for disclosure, which will be granted if the court determines that it is more 
beneficial than nondisclosure. 

-- If the person was adopted on or after August 1, 1977, the information 
must be released unless the parent fIled an affidavit requesting 
nondisclosure. 

If a parent dies without revoking a nondisclosure request, the adopted 
person may petition the court for disclosure. The petition will be granted 
if the court determines that disclosure would be more beneficial than 
nondisclosure. MS. 259.49 

Adopted persons age 19 and older may ask the adoption agency to help 
determine whether a biological parent or adult sibling wants to have contact 
or share information. The agency will also transmit health information 
relevant to any genetically related parties to an adoption. A reimbursement 
fee may be charged for these services. M.S. 259.47 
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HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES 

Minors' access to health care services is dependent upon the parents or guardians, who are expected to act 
in the best interest of the child. Exceptions are made for older children who are financially independent, 
who have married or who have borne children themselves. Minors' access to social services is specifically 
authorized by a number of state laws that require counties to provide day care subsidies for currently 
eligible children, and child welfare and protective services for children at risk. 

MINORS' CONSENT FOR HEALTH SERVICES ......................... 28 

Marriage or Giving Birth ......................................... 28 
Living Apart from Parents and Financially Independent ................... 28 
Pregnancy, Venereal Disease, Alcohol or Drug Abuse .................... 28 
Emergency Treatment ............................................ 28 
Representations to Persons Rendering Service .......................... 28 
Information to Parent ............................................ 28 
Financial Responsibility . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28 
Blood Donations ................................................ 29 
Anatomical Gifts ............................................... 29 
Abortion ..................................................... 29 
Voluntary Institutional Treatment ................................... 29 
Insurance ..................................................... 29 

SOCIAL SERVICES ........•...................................... 30 

Child WeJfare .................................................. 30 
Child Care .................................................... 30 
Community Social Services ........................................ 30 
Foster Care Review ............................................. 30 
Subsidized Adoption Program ...................................... 30 
Child Abuse Reporting ........................................... 31 
Medical Negl~ct ................................................ 31 
Child Abuse Prevention Trust Fund .................................. 31 
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Minors' Consent for Health Services 

Any minor who has been married or has borne a child may give effective 
consent to medical, mental, dental or other health services for his or her 
child, and for himself or herself. M.S. 144.342 

Any minor (1) who is living apart from his or her parents or legal guardian, 
with or without consent to do so and regardless of the duration of such 
separate residence, and (2) who is financially independent, regardless of the 
source or extent of his or her income, may give effective consent to medical, 
dental, mental or other health services for himself or herself. MS. 144.341 

Any minor may give effective consent for medical, mental or other health 
services to determine the presence of or to treat pregnancy, venereal disease, 
alcohol and other drug abuse. MS. 144.343, subd. 1 

Medical, dental, mental and other health services may be provided to minors 
without parental consent when, in a professional's judgment, treatment 
should be given without delay. M.S. 144.344 

If a minor represents that he or she may give effective consent but in fact 
may not do so, his or her consent is effective if relied upon in good faith by 
the person rendering service. M.S. 144.345 

A professional may inform a minor's parent of any medical treatment given, 
whenever the professional determines it is necessary to the health of the 
minor. For purposes of access to health records of a minor, the term 
"patient" includes a parent or guardian, or a person acting as a parent or 
guardian in the absence of a parent or guardian, except in cases where 
minors have received treatment related to pregnancy, venereal disease, 
alcohol or drug abuse. MS. 144.335 and 144.346 

A minor who gives legally effective consent is financially responsible for 
services rendered. MS. 144.347 
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Any person 17 or over may donate blood in a noncompensatory blood 
program without obtaining parental consent. M.S. 145.41 

Any person of sound mind who is at least 18 or any minor, with written 
consent from parents or legal guardian, may donate all or any part of his 
or her body for medical purposes. M.S. 525.922 

If a minor wishes not to notify both parents of a planned abortion, the court 
must determine after a hearing, whether the minor is mature and capable 
of giving informed consent to the proposed abortion. If the minor is 
determined to be mature, the court must authorize a physician to perform 
the abortion without parental notification. If the minor does not claim to be 
mature, the court must authorize the abortion without notification if it fmds 
that so doing would be in the minor's best interests. 

An expedited confidential appeal shall be available to any minor for whom 
the 'court denies an order authorizing an abortion without notification. An 
order authorizing an abortion without notification is not subject to appeal. 
M.S. 144.343, subd. 6 

Note: The above statute is in effect as of the decision by the federal Court 
of Appeals in Hodgson v. State, 853 F.2d 1452 (8th Cir. 1988). 

Any person 16 years of age or older may request informal admission to a 
treatment facility for observation or treatment of mental illness, chemical 
dependency or mental retardation, and may consent to treatment for 
emergency or short-term acute care. Any person under the age of 16 may 
be admitted as a voluntary patient upon the signature of a parent or 
guardian, so long as there is some independent review of the placement in 
accordance with Parham v. J.R., 442 U.S. 584 (1979). M.S. 253B.03, subd. 
6(d); 2538.04, subd. 1 

Minors' rights to insurance benefits depend on the purchase of insurance 
coverage by a parent or guardian. The purchase of family coverage will 
insure any children up to age 19 years and dependent children of any age. 
M.S. 62A.03 
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Social Services 

Counties are required to provide child welfare services to assure protection 
and financial assistance for children confronted with social, physical or 
emotional problems. MS. 393.07 

For a full description of the special eligibility requirements and benefits of 
the major public assistance programs, see A Guide to Public Assistance 
Programs in Minnesota, Research Department, Minnesota House of 
Representatives. 

Child care services for income-eligible families are funded through social 
service agencies and post-secondary institutions using, in various 
combinations, community social service funds, child care sliding fee funds, 
state set-aside money, and federal funding. MS. 245.84 and 268.91 

County boards are responsible for the administration, planning, and funding 
of social services. They are required to provide services to children who are 
abused, neglected, dependent, mentally retarded, chemically dependent, or 
income-eligible and in need of child care. The county of fmandal 
responsibility for a minor is the county in which her or his parents reside. 
M.S. 256E.08; 256G.01, subd. 4 

Counties are also required to give priority to minor parents when allocating 
case management and employment and training services for recipients of Aid 
to Families with Dependent Children. MS. 256.736 

Social service agencies are required to conduct administrative reviews of 
foster care placements and to seek court review, where applicable, in order 
to assure that children have been appropriately placed and that case plans 
are being implemented. MS. 257.071 

Adoption subsidies are available to eligible families desiring to adopt 
"difficult-to-place" children. This program was established in 1979. The law 
was amended in 1982 so that its provisions would conform with 42 U.S.C. 
§§670-676, the federal Foster Care and Adoption Assistance Act. The 
Department of Human Services administers both the state program and the 
federal program through the county welfare agencies. M.s. 259.40 
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-- ------------------

State law requires certain professionals to report information if they know 
or have reason to believe a child is being abused, or has been abused within 
the 'Preceding three years. Reports are made to welfare or law enforcement 
personnel. Failures to report are prosecuted by the county attorney. Local 
welfare agencies are required to investigate all reports. Special procedures 
have been enacted in regard to interviewing alleged child abuse victims. 
Age,ncies must also provide protective services where necessary. One form 
of protective service is removing the child from the home and placing him 
or her in a foster care setting. MS. 626.556 

Withholding medically indicated treatment from an infant with a life­
threatening condition is defined as a form of neglect that must be reported 
under the Child Abuse Reporting Act. Required treatment is specilled and 
circumstances are listed in which treatment can be limited. 

If al report of medical neglect is received, the local welfare agency must 
consult the hospital and parents and, if necessary, obtain a court order for 
an independent medical examination and treatment of the infant. MS. 
260.015, subd. 2a,· 626.556, subd. 10c 

Services and education programs designed to help prevent child abuse before 
it occurs may be developed and offered by private and public organizations 
at the local level and fmanced through grants obtained from the state Child 
Abuse Prevention Trust Fund. The Trust Fund is supported by a surcharge 
on birth certillcate filings and by federal, state and private contributions. It 
will eventually have a balance of $20 million. MS. 299A.20 to 299A.27 
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CRlMINAL VIOLATIONS BY YOUTHS 

Minnesota law prohibits young people from performing certain activities that adults are allowed to do, and 
imposes penalties for such conduct. The rationale behind these laws is that, due to the harmful nature of 
the activity and the immature judgment abilities of young people, it is necessary to place stricter controls 
on youths than adults. 

Purchase and Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages ......................... 34 
Use of Tobacco or Tobacco-Related Devices .............................. 34 
Possession of a Pistol ............................................... 34 
Possession of a Firearm ............................................. 34 
Possession or Use of Toxic Glue: ...................................... 34 
Possession or Use of Tear Gas ........................................ 34 
Possession or Use of Electronic Incapacitation Device ....................... 34 
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No person under 21 years of age may purchase alcoholic beverages, or 
possess or consume alcoholic beverages at a place other than his or her 
parent's home. Additionally, any person under 19 who purchases or 
attempts to purchase alcohol by using a driver's license can lose his or her 
license for up to 30 days. M.S. 171.171 and 304A.503 

No minor may use tobacco or tobacco-related devices such as cigarette 
papers or pipes. MS. 609.685 

No minor may possess a pistol unless the minor (a) is in the actual presence 
or under the direct supervision of a parent or guardian, (b) is possessing it 
for military drill purposes, (c) is using it in an approved and supervised 
target practice range or (d) has completed a state-approved marksmanship 
and safety course. M.S. (j24.713 

No child under 16 years of age may possess a fIrearm or airgun for hunting, 
target practice or any other purpose, unless he or she is either accompanied 
by a parent or guardian or is over 14 and has a fIrearm safety certifIcate 
from the Department of Natural Resources. M.s. 97.83 and 97.55 

No person under 19 years may use or possess toxic glue with the intent of 
inducing intoxication, excitement or stupefaction of the nervous system (i.e., 
"glue-sniffmg") except on doctor's orders. MS. 145.39 

No person under the age of 16 may use or possess tear gas except by written 
permission of a parent or guardian. MS. 624.731 

No person under the age of 18 may use or possess an electronic 
incapacitation device ("stun gun"). MS. 624.731 
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CRIMINAL VIOLATIONS AGAINST YOUTHS 

There are a number of Minnesota laws that make it a crime to commit certain acts with or upon children. 
These criminal laws are designed to protect young people in a variety of situations where, due to youth and 
immaturity, children are considered particularly vulnerable to physical or emotional harm. 

PORNOGRAPHY lAWS ........... < ••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• 36 

Child Pornography .............................................. 36 
Dissemination of Obscene Works to Minors ........................... 36 

SEXUAL ABUSE lAWS ............................•............... 36 

Criminal Sexual Conduct .......................................... 36 
Prostitution ................................... , ............... 36 
Sexual Solicitation •..•......•...•.......•........•............... 37 

PHYSICAL AND EMOTIONAL ABUSE lAWS .......................... 37 

Death Caused by Child Abuse ...................................... 37 
False Imprisonment ............................................. 37 
Malicious Punishment ............................................ 37 
Neglect ...................................................... 37 
Nonsupport ............ : ...................................... 37 
Kidnapping .................................................... 38 
Parental Abduction .............................................. 38 

SA:FEI'Y IA. WS ................................................... 38 

Unused Refrigerator or Container ................................... 38 
Tobacco Sales .................................................. 38 
Tear Gas Sales ................................................. 38 
Electronic Incapacitation Device Sales ...........•.................... 38 
Toxic Glue Sales ................................................ 38 
Child Restraint Seats ............................................ 38 

DRUG-RElATED lAWS ........................................... 39 

Drug Distribution to Pt,.:'sons Under 18 ............................... 39 
Drug Possession on School Property ................................. 39 
Drug Paraphernalia Sales ......................................... 39 

MISCEUANEOUS CHILD PROTECTION lAWS ........................ 39 

Sale of Alcoholic Beverages ....................................... 39 
Dance Halls ................................................... 39 
Pawnbrokers and Junkdealers ................................. , .... 39 
Abduction for Marriage .......................................... 40 
Contributing to Delinquency ........•....•..•..•.......•.....•..... 40 
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CH1LD 
PORNOGRAPHY 
(Felony) 

(Gross Misdemeanor) 

DISSEMINATION 
OF OBSCENE 
WORKS TO 
MINORS 
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

(Misdemeanor) 

CRIMINAL SEXUAL 
CONDUCT 
(Felony) 

PROSTITUTION 
(Felony) 

Youth and the Law 

Pornography Laws 

It is a crime to employ, use or permit a minor to pose or model for a sexual 
performance, or to disseminate or distribute for profit pictures or works 
depicting minors in a sexual performance. M.S. 617.246 

It is a crime to disseminate or possess photographic representations of 
sexual conduct involving a minor. M.S. 617.247 

No .person may knowingly sell or rent obscene pictures or films to a minor, 
or show or admit minors, whether or not for monetary consideration, to see 
such films or other presentation in a place of public accommodation. 

The display of obscene materials is forbidden unless minors are physically 
segregated from the display or an opaque cover blocks from view those 
materials which may be harmful to minors. M.S. 617.293-617.294 

Sexual Abuse Laws 

It is- a crime for any person to engage in sexual conduct with a minor who 
is less than 13 years of age; a minor between the ages of 13 and 18 who is 
a certain number of years younger than the actor and/or under the actor's 
authority and control; or a minor who is under 16 and with whom the actor 
has a "significant relationship" as defl.'1ed by law. 

It is a crime for an adult to engage in sexual conduct with a minor when that 
person has a significant relationship to the minor, or is the minor's guardian. 
"Significant relationship" includes relationships by blood, marriage and 
adoption but excludes relationships more distant than first cousins. M.S. 
609.341-609.345 

It is a crime for any person to solicit, induce, promote or receive profit from 
the practice of prostitution by a minor or to hire a minor for sexual 
purposes. The penalty for the offense varies depending on the age of the 
minor, with the highest penalties reserved for the prostitution of a minor 
under the age of 13. It is also a crime for a non-relative to permit a minor 
to reside with him or her without parental consent when the non-relative 
knows or has reason to know that the minor is engaging in prostitution. 
M.S. 609.321 to 609.324 
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SEXUAL 
SOliCITATION 
(Felony) 

DEATH CAUSED 
BY CHllD ABUSE 
(Felony; Life 
Imprisonment) 

FALSE 
IMPRISONMENT 
(Felony) 

(Gross Mi5demeanor) 

(Felony) 

MALICIOUS 
PUNISHMENT 
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

(Felony) 

NEGLEGr 
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

NONSUPPORT 
(Misdemeanor) 

(Felony) 

Youth and the Law 

It is a crime for an adult to solicit (i.e. command, entreat, or attempt to 
persuade) a child under the age of 15 to engage in sexual conduct. Mistake 
as to age is not a defense to this crime. M.S. 609.352 

Physical and Emotional .Abuse Laws 

A person who causes the death of a child while committing or attempting to 
commit child abuse is guilty of first degree murder if (1) there is a past 
pattern of child abuse and (2) death occurs under circumstances manifesting 
an extreme indifference to human life. M.S. 609.185 (5) 

No person may intentionally restrain a minor who is not the person's own 
child, without the consent of the minor's parent or legal custodian. 

No parent, guardian or caretaker may subject a minor to unreasonable 
physical confmemeut or restraint, if done in a cruel manner and if excessive 
under the circumstances. 

If substantial bodily harm results from the unreasonable restraint, the 
offense becomes a felony. M.S. 609.255 

No parent, guardian or caretaker may commit an intentional act or series of 
acts against a minor which evidence unreasonable force or cruelty to the 
minor. 

If substantial bodily harm results from the person's actions, the offense 
becomes a felony. M.S. 609.377 

A parent, guardian or caretaker may not willfully neglect a minor child when 
reasonably able to take care of him or her, thereby substantially harming the 
child's physical or emotional health, and may not knowingly permit the 
continuing physical or sexual abuse of the child. M.S. 609.378 

No person legally obligated to provide for the support of a child in 
necessitous circumstances under the age of 16 may knowingly fail to do so 
without lawful excuse. 

The offense becomes a felony if the nonsupport continues for more than 90 
days. M.S. 609.375 
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KIDNAPPING 
(Felony) 

PARENTAL 
ABDUCnON 
(Felony) 

UNUSED 
REFRIGERATOR 
OR CONTAINER 
(Misdemeanor) 

TOBACCO SALES 
(Misdemeanor) 

TEAR GAS SALES 
(Misdemeanor) 

ELECTRONIC 
INCAPACITATION 
DEVICE SALES 
(Misdemeanor) 

TOXIC GLUE 
SALES 
(Misdemeanor) 

CIllLD RESTRAINT 
SPATS 
(petty Misdemeanor) 

Youth and the Law 

No child under 16 years of age may be kidnapped without the consent of the 
child's parents or legal custodial guardian. Unlike the situation with adult 
kidnapping victims, consent of the child victim to the kidnapping is not a 
defense. lIf.S. 609.25 

No person may conceal a minor child for the purpose of depriving a parent 
or other custodian of his or her parental, custodial or visitation rights to the 
child, nor maya person abduct a minor child for the purpose of depriving 
a parent of his or her parental rights, unless a person reasonably believes the 
action is necessary to prevent physical or sexual assault or substantial 
emotional harm. M.S. 609.26 

Safety Laws 

It is unlawful to allow an unused refrigerator or other container to be 
exposed and accessible to children, if it is large enough to contain a child 
and has doors which fasten automatically when closed. MS. 609.675 

It is unlawful to furnish tobacco or tobacco-related devices, such as cigarette 
papers or pipes, to a minor. MS. 609.685 

No one may knowingly sell or furnish tear gas to a child under 16 years of 
age without the written permission of the child's parent or guardian. M.S. 
624.731 

No one may knowingly sell or furnish an electronic incapacitation device 
("stirn gun") to a child under 18 years of age. MS. 624.731 

No one may sell toxic glue to a person under 19 years of age, unless the glue 
is contained in a packaged model construction kit. MS. 145.38 

A parent or guardian of a child under four years of age must install a 
federally-approved child restraint seat and transport the child in it while 
using the parent's or guardian's motor vehicle. MS. 160.685 
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DRUG 
DISTRIBUTION TO 
PERSONS UNDER 
18 (Felony or Gross 
Misdemeanor) 

DRUG 
POSSESSION ON 
SCHOOL 
PROPERTY (Felony 
or Gross 
Misdemeanor) 

DRUG 
PARAPHERNALIA 
SALES (Gross 
Misdemeanor) 

SALE OF 
ALCOHOUC 
BEVERAGES 
(Misdemeanor) 

DANCE HALLS 
(Misdemeanor) 

PAWNBROKERS 
AND 
JUNKDEALERS 
(Misdemeanor) 

Youth and the Law 

Drug Related Laws 

An adult who distributes a prohibited drug to a person under the age of 18, 
or uses a person under the age of 18 to sell or distribute such a drug, is 
subject to double the applicable felony or gross misdemeanor penalty for 
drug distribution. M.S. 152.15, subd. 1, clause (3)-(5) 

An adult who possess prohibited drugs on school property (excluding post­
secondary schools) is subject to double the applicable felony or gross 
misdemeanor penalty for drug possession. M.S. 152.15, subd. 4a 

An adult may not knowingly deliver drug paraphernalia to a minor who is 
at least three years his or her junior. MS. 152.094 

Miscellaneous Child Protection Laws 

No one may sell or give alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 years of 
age. M.S. 340A.503 (2) and 340A.702 

A public dance hall operator may not admit any unmarried person under 16, 
unless accompanied by a parent or guardian, or any unmarried person 
between 16 and 18, unless he or she is either .accompanied by a parent or 
guardian or has the parent's or guardian'S written consent. M.S. 624.49 

No pawnbroker, junkdealer or second-hand dealer is allowed to make a loan 
or pledge to, or purchase property from a minor, without the written consent 
of the minor's parent or guardian. MS. 609.81 and 609.815 
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ABDUCTION FOR 
MARRIAGE 
(Gross Misdeme:mor) 

CONTRIBUTING 
TO DELINQUENCY 
(Misdemeanor) 

Youth and the Law 

No person may take a minor for the purpose of marriage without the 
consent of the minor's parents or legal custodian. M.S. 609.265 

It is a misdemeanor for any person to encourage, cause or contribute (1) to 
the need for protective services or delinquency of a minor or (2) to the 
commission of status offenses by the minor. M.S. 260.315 
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--------------------------

IvlISCEllANEOUS AGE PROVISIONS 

This section describes rights granted on the basis of age, in addition to those covered in other sections of 
the guide. 

Access to Government Records ........................................ 42 
Driver's License ................................................... 42 
Fishing and Hunting Licenses ......................................... 42 
Office Holding .................................................... 42 
Voting .......................................................... 42 
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ACCESS TO 
GOVERNMENT 
RECORDS 

DRIVER'S 
liCENSE 

FISIDNGAND 
HUNTING 
liCENSES 

OFFICE HOLDING 

V01'!NG 

Youth and the Law 

A minor and his or her parent or guardian may examine government data 
on the minor classified as either public or private, with two exceptions: 

-- Parental fmancial data ftIed with a school is not available to ami,' °Jr 

-- At the minor's request, data will be withheld from a parent or guardian 
if the government agency determines that withholding is in the minor's 
best interest. M.S. 13.02, subd. 8; 13.32, subd. 4 

A minor aged 15 or 16, and otherwise qualified to hold a driver's license, 
may get a restricted license for farm work or personal or family medical 
reasons. MS. 171.041; 171.042 

Minors aged 16 and 17 may be issued driver's licenses only after pas:;ing an 
approved course in driver education. The license application must be 
approved by either parent when both reside with the minor, or by the 
custodial parent or guardian. M.S. 171.04(1) 

A minor may not drive a vehicle that carries passengers for hire. MS. 
171.322 

Residents under 16 may fish without a license. M.S. 97A.451, subd. 2 

Residents under 13 may hunt small game without a license. Residents aged 
13 to 15 may hunt small game without a license if they have a valid firearm 
safety certificate. Residents under 14 must be accompanied by a parent or 
guardian while hunting. No hunting license may be issued to any resident 
under 16, except those under 16 who have a firearms safety certificate may 
purchase a big game license. M.S. 97A.0451, subds. 3 and 4 

An individual must be 21 in order to hold state or local office. Minn. Canst., 
Art. VII, Sec. 6 

An individual may vote at age 18. Minn. Canst., Art. VII, Sec. 1 
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Part n. 

The Courts 

Minnesota Law makes distinctions between adults and minors not only with regard to substantive rights and 
responsibilities, as described in Part I, but also with respect to the type of court procedures under which 
these rights and responsibilities are judicially decided. Part II explains these court procedures in three 
sections. 

Section l--CiviIAtiult Court describes procedures applicable to minors who are parties or witnesses to civil 
lawsuits in adult court. 

Section 2--Criminal Adult Court describes procedures applicable to minors who are involved in criminal 
cases in adult court as witnesses or parties. It also explains certain procedural protections pertaining to 
the care and custody of minors found to have committed criminal acts. 

Finally, Section 3--1uvenile Court describes the purposes and procedures of the juvenile court, which hears 
most cases involving criminal acts committed by minors and cases involving children in need of protection 
or care by the state. 
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CIVIL ADULT COURT 

This section describes the rights and restrictions affecting minors as parties or witnesses in civil lawsuits in 
adult court. 

Parental Liability for Children's Torts and Contracts ........................ 46 
Parents' Liability to Children ......................................... 46 
Injury to Minors ................................................... 46 
Statute of Limitations ............................................... 46 
Minors as Witnesses ................................................ 46 
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PARENTAL 
LIABILITY FOR 
CHILDREN'S 
TORTS AND 
CONTRACfS 

PARENTS' 
LIABILITY TO 
CHILDREN 

lNJURYTO 
MINORS 

STATUTE OF 
LlMITATIONS 

MINORS AS 
WITNESSES 

Youth and the Law 

The parent or guardian of a minor who willfully causes personal injury or 
property damage is liable for up to $500 damage. M.S. 540.18 

There is no Minnesota law indicating whether parents are liable for a 
minor's contracts. 

Children may sue their parents for torts. Parents are held by case law to a 
"reasonable parent" standard in determining whether they are negligent. 
Anderson v. Stream, 295 N.W.2d 595, 601 (Minn. 1980). 

A parent may bring suit to recover for injury done to a minor child. M.S. 
540.08 

The statute of limitations does not run while a person is a minor, so a minor 
with a legal right of action has until he or she is 19 to file suit if parents do 
not do so, with one exception. The statute stops running in a medical 
malpractice case either seven years after the action arises or when the 
plaintiff tUrns 19, whichever is fIrst. M.S. 541.15 

A child under the age of ten is a competent witness unless he or she lacks 
the capacity to remember or to relate facts truthfully. M.S. 595.02, subd. 
1(1). 
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CRIl\1INAL ADULT COURT 

This section describes procedures applicable to minors who are parties or witnesses in criminal cases in 
adult court, or who are confined in a correctional facility. 

Criminal Responsibility . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 48 
Admissibility of a Child's Hearsay Statements in Child Abuse Cases .......... 48 
Testimony by Closed Circuit TV or VideoTape ......................... 48 
Minors as Witnesses ...................... ' ....................... 48 
Child Sex Abuse Victims .......................................... 48 
Exclusion of Public from Trials Involving Children ....................... 48 
Exclusion of Children from Criminal and Scandalous Trials ................ 48 
Care and Custody of Juvenile Offenders .............................. 49 

Youth and the ~aw ~47-



CRIMINAL 
RESPONSffiillTY 

ADMISSffiillTY OF 
A CHllD'S 
HEARSAY 
STATEMENTS IN 
CHllD ABUSE 
CASES 

TESTIMONY BY 
CLOSED CIRCUIT 
TV OR VIDEOTAPE 

MINORS AS 
WITNESSES 

CHllD SEX ABUSE 
VICTIMS 

EXCLUSION OF 
PUBLIC FROM 
TRIALS 
INVOLVING 
CHllDREN 

EXCLUSION OF 
CHllDREN FROM 
CRIMINAL AND 
SCANDALOUS 
TRIALS 

Youth and the Law 

Children under the age of 14 are considered legally incapable of committing 
crimes. M.S. 609.055 

Children between the ages of 14 and 18 accused of criminal acts may be 
referred for adult criminal prosecution in the manner provided in the 
juvenile code. 

Hearsay statements made by a child sex or physical abuse victim under ten 
years of age may be admitted into evidence in abuse cases if (a) the 
statement is shown to be reliable, and (b) the child either testifies in person 
or is unavailable as a witness and there is corroboration of the abuse. M.S. 
595.02, subd. 3 

Child abuse victims under ten years old may be allowed to give their 
testimony over closed-circuit TV or on videotape, if the court decides that 
use of these devices is necessary to allow the child to testify without undue 
psychological trauma. M.S. 595.02, subd. 4 

A child under the age of ten is a competent witness unless he or she lacks 
the capacity to remember or to relate facts truthfully. M.S. 595.02, Sllbd. 
1(1). 

No data in records or reports relating to criminal child sex abuse complaints 
or indictments that specifically identify the child are accessible to the public, 
except by court order. M.S. 609.3471 Furthermore, when a child abuse 
victim is interviewed by the government, a record must be made of the time, 
place and substance of the interview. M.S. 626.561 

The public may be barred from the courtroom by the judge during all or 
part of a child sex abuse trial if necessary to ensure fairness or protect the 
child. M.S. 631.045 

No person under age 17 may be present at a criminal prosecution unle.ss 
involved or directly interested in the case. M.S. 631.04 

The court is permitted to exclude minors whose presence is not necessary, 
if a trial involves obscene or scandalous matters. M.S. 546.37 
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CARE AND 
CUSTODY OF 
JUVENILE 
OFFENDERS 

Youth and the Law 

Minors may not be detained or confmed in the same area as adult prisoners 
while in jail or lockup unless the minor has been certified for trial as an 
adult or convicted of a crime as an adult. M.S. 636.07 and 641.14 

The Commissioner of Corrections is prohibited from placing in a penal 
institution any juvenile referred by the juvenile court. M.S. 242.14 

It is a misdemeanor for any person to abduct, conceal or improperly 
interfere with any juvenile inmate in a juvenile correctional facility. M.S. 
242.47 
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JUVENrrE COURT 

This section provides a general overview of the juvenile justice system in Minnesota. First, the purpose and 
jurisdiction of the juvenile courts is described with an explanation of key terms and concepts necessary for 
understanding the function of the court. Next, the juvenile court process is explained: first, for delinquency 
and other offenses; second, for CIllPS cases. 

All of the statutory provisions discussed in this chapter are contained in Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 260. 
Other provisions are found in the'Juvenile Court Rules. 

PURPOSE At"ID JURISDICTION OF JUVENILE COURT 

Juveniles Who Commit Unlawful Acts ................................ 53 
Referral for Adult Prosecution ..................................... 53 
Juvenile Court Dispositions ........................................ 53 
CIllPS Cases .................................................. 54 
Types of Dispositions ............................................ 55 

COURT PROCESS FOR DELINQUENCY AND OTHER OFFENSES 

Apprehension .................................................. 55 
Pretrial Detention ............................................... 55 
Filing of Petition or Citation ....................................... 55 
Arraignment Hearing ............................................ 56 
Reference for Adult Prosecution .................................... 56 
Adjudicatory Hearing ............................................ 56 
Disposition Hearing ............................................. 56 
Major Constitutional Rights of a Child in Juvenile Court .................. 57 

COURT PROCESS FOR CIDPS·CASES 

Pre-Adjudication Detention ........................................ 58 
Filing of Petition or Citation ....................................... 58 
First Appearance ............................................... 59 
Adjudicatory Hearing ................................... , ........ 59 
Disposition Hearing ............................................. 59 
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Purpose.and Jurisdiction of Juvenile Court 

The juvenile court in Minnesota is authorized to hear and decide two main categories of cases: 

• those involving juveniles ten years old or older who commit unlawful acts, and 

• those involving children who, for a variety of reasons, are in need of protection or services by or from 
the juvenile court. 

In addition, the juvenile court is responsible for the following legal actions: 

• terminations of parental rights to a child. Parental rights may be terminated by the court either (a) for 
good cause with parental consent, or (b) if the child has been abandoned, continuously neglected, or 
1 the parent's conduct shows a clear unwillingness or unfitness to be a parent; 

• juvenile marriages; 

• adoptions; 

• waivers of parental notification sought by minor women wishing to terminate a pregnancy; 

• persons (including adults) alleged to be contn'buting to the neglect or delinquency of a minor. All juvenile 
courts may order relief of a civil or injunctive nature, but only in counties having over 200,000 in 
population may the juvenile court hear and decide a misdemeanor criminal charge in these cases; 

.. appointments and removals of guardians for minors; and 

• periodic review of a child's foster care status. 

Records of juvenile court actions are accessible to the minor and his or her parents or guardian, but may 
be seen by others in most cases only with a court order. All proceedings conducted by the juvenile court 
are closed to the public with one exception: hearings and court records involving minors 16 years old or 
older who are accused of a felony offense are optm to the public. 
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JUVENll...ES WHO 
COMMIT 
UNlAWFUL ACI'S 

REFERRAL FOR 
ADULT 
PROSECUTION 

JUVENll...E COURT 
DISPOSmONS 

As mentioned earlier, one important type of case generally assigned to the 
juvenile court involves minors who engage in unlawful conduct. In contrast 
to the adult courts, the juvenile proceeding in this context is not a criminal 
proceeding designed to fix criminal responsibility and punishment but, 
rather, is a civil proceeding designed to protect the child from the 
consequences of his or her own conduct, rehabilitate him or her and, at the 
same time, promote the public safety. 

Juveniles committing unlawful acts fall into one of the following categories, 
depending on the nature of the conduct involved: 

• Delinquents: children ten years old or older who commit acts which 
would be unlawful if committed by an adult;* 

.. PEtty offenders: children who engage in conduct which is unlawful for 
them, but not unlawful for adults, such as violating curfew, drinking and 
smoking; 

., Juvenile traffic offenders: children who violate traffic laws. In certain 
cases, depending on the age of the child and the nature of the traffic 
offense, the matter may be handled exclusively by the adult court rather 
than the juvenile court. 

In some cases, the juvenile court may decide that a child over the age of 14 
who is accused of a partiCUlarly dangerous offense and/or has engaged in 
criminal conduct in the past would be handled more appropriately in the 
adult court. These alleged delinquents may be "referred for adult 
prosecution" upon motion by the prosecutor if the juvenile court fmds, after 
a hearing, that there is probable cause to believe the child committed the 
offense and that there is clear and convincing evidence that the child is not 
suitably treated or the public safety is not served by handling the case in 
juvenile court. Once a child has been referred to the <\dult court for 
prosecution he or she may be prosecuted, convicted and se II tenced as if he 
or she were an adult. 

Assuming the juvenile court retains jurisdiction over the alleged juvenile 
offender, and, after a hearing, determines that the child did engage in the 
unla,wful conduct, the court has available to it a variety of dispositions, 
including: fmes, probation, counseling, placement out of the home, loss of 
driver's license, restitution or community service, and (for delinquents only) 
commitment to the commissioner of corrections for placement in a juvenile 
torrectional facility. 

• However, under Minnesota law, children who commit traffic offenses are not labelled as delinquents, even if the conduct would 
have been unlawful if committed by an adult. Similarly, children found in possession of a small amount of marijuana are classified 
as petty offenders rather than delinquents. 
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CIllPS CASES 

Youth and the Law 

The other major category of cases the juvenile court hears are those 
involving children in need of protection or services (CHIPS) by or from the 
juvenile court. Grounds for invoking the juvevJle court's "CHIPS" 
jurisdiction include the following: 

1. abandonment of the child; 

2. physical or sexual abuse of the child; 

3. the child needs necessary food, shelter, or other care; 

4. the child needs special care due to a physical, mental, or emotional 
condition; 

5. the child is a medically-neglected infant within the statute's deflnition; 

6. the child's parent or guardian desires, for good reason, to be relieved of 
the child's care and custody; 

7. the child is in an illegal adoptive or foster care placement; 

8. the child's parent or guardian is unable to provide care due to disability 
or immaturity; 

9. the child is in dangerous surroundings; 

10. the child has committed a delinquent act before becoming ten years old; 

11. the child is a runaway from home; or 

12. the child is an habitual truant from school. 

In CHIPS cases, the juvenile court is directed by law to secure for each child 
the care and guidance that will best serve the child's welfare and the 
interests of the state. In so doing, the court must observe the following 
policies wherever possible: 

• .to maintain the child in bis or her own home; 

.. to provide judicial procedures that protect the welfare of the child; 

• to remove the child from parental custody only when his or her welfare 
or safety cannot otherwise be adequately safeguarded; and 

• when the child is placed out of the home, to secure care and discipline 
for him or her similar to that which should have been given by the 
parents. 
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TYPES OF 
DISPOSrnONS 

The types of dispositions available to the court to achieve these purposes 
are: placing the child under protective supervision while permitting the child 
to remain at home; placing the child out of the home in a foster care setting 
or, under certain limited circumstances, in an independent living 
arrangement; ordering the abuser out of the home in cases of domestic child 
abuse; or ordering that the child receive special treatment for his or her 
mental Of physical health. If the court's order for mental health treatment 
is based on a diagnosis made by a treatment professional, the court may 
order that the diagnosing professional not provide the treatment, if such an 
order is in the child's best interest. Dispositional orders are for a fixed 
period of time not to exceed one year and may be renewed or modified by 
the court. 

If the child is in need of protection or services due to truancy or running 
away from heme, the court may also order counseling, probation, fine the 
child, or order a correctional group home placement. 

Court Process for Delinquency and Other Offenses 

The following is a summary of the major stages of the juvenile court process as it relates to children alleged 
to have committed unlawful acts. 

APPREHENSION 

PRETRIAL 
DETENTION 

FlUNG OF 
PETITION OR 
CITATION 

Youth and the Law 

A child may be apprehended and taken into immediate custody by the police 
or a probation or parole officer before any court papers are rued, if the child 
is: 

• found in dangerous surroundings, 
• the subject of an arrest warrant, 
• subject to arrest, or 
• a parole/probation violator. 

No child taken into custody may be held for longer tJum 24 hours without a 
court order unless he or she was found in dangerous SlUTOIL"ldingv or 
apprehended pursuant to a warrant. In those situations, an alleged delinquent 
can be held up to 36 hours in a secure or shelter care facility, and others can 
be held up to 72 hours in a shelter care facility. In order to detain children 
longer than these time periods, the court must hold a detention hearing and 
find that pretrial detention is necessary. Then, it must review the propriety 
of this continued detention every eight days until the child's case is heard 
and decided. 

The juvenile court process is begun officially by the filing of a petition or 
citation with the court. Delinquency petitions are prepared and filed by the 
county attorney; citations for petty offenses may be rued by a peace officer. 
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ARRAIGNMENT 
HEARING 

REFERENCE FOR 
ADULT 
PROSECUTION 

ADJUDICATORY 
HEARING 

DISPOSITION 
HEARING 

Youth and the Law 

At the arraignment hearing, the child is given the opportunity to admit or deny 
the allegations contained in the petition. This hearing must be held within 20 
days of the date on which the petition is served or, jf the child is in 
detention, within five days of the time he or she was taken into custody. 

If the child denies the allegations in the petition or if the court refuses to 
accept the child's admission, an adjUdicatory hearing is scheduled to take 
place within 30 or 60 days, depending on whether or not the child is in 
detention. If the child admits to the allegations and the court accepts the 
admission, the court will schedule a disposition hearing. 

As was mentioned earlier, a hearing may be held by the juvenile court judge, 
upon motion by the prosecutor, as to whether or not a particular alleged 
delinquent over the age of 14 should be referred to the adult court for criminal 
prosecution. In ordering the reference, the court must find that there is 
probable cause that the child committed the charged offense and that there 
is clear and convincing evidence that the child is not amenable to treatment 
or that the public safety would not be served by handling the case in the 
juvenile system. 

This hearing is the equivalent of a trial in adult court. At the conclusion of 
the hearing the court has between 15 and 30 days to decide whether or not 
the allegations in the petition have been proven beyond a reasonable doubt. 
If the allegations have not been proven the court must dismiss the petition. 
If they have been proven, the court may either (1) adjudicate the child as a 
delinquent or an offender and schedule a disposition hearing or (2) withhold 
adjudication for up to 180 days pending examination or counseling of the 
child or pending probationary supervision. 

This hearing is similar to a sentencing hearing in adult court. It is designed 
to be informal and to allow all participants the opportunity to be heard. 
Based on the information received, the judge may order anyone of the 
dispositions summarized above. 
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MAJOR 
CONSTITUTIONAL 
RIGHTSOFA 
CHILD IN 
JUVENILE COURT 

Youth and the Law 

Until fairly recently, children who come before the juvenile court on charges 
of delinquency were not accorded the same constitutional rights as adults 
charged with criminal offenses. The rationale for this distinction was that 
the juvenile delinquency process was not designed to fIx criminal 
responsibility, guilt and punishment but, rather, was designed to protect and 
rehabilitate the child. 

Since 1966, however, the U. S. Supreme Court has recognizeJ that juvenile 
court proceedings can and do affect the rights of children to "life, liberty and 
the pursuit of happiness" and, therefore, that juvenile court hearings and 
procedures must measure up to the essentials of due process and fair 
treatment. 

Thus, during the late 1960's and early 1970's, the U. S. Supreme Court 
found, in a series of cases, that alleged delinquents have the following 
constitutional rights in juvenile adjudicatory hearings: 

• right to written advance notice of the adjudicatory hearing, allowing 
adequate time to prepare for it 

e right to counsel 

f6 privilege against self-incrimination 

., right to cross-examine witnesses. In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967) 

• fmdings of delinquency must be based on proof beyond a reasonable 
doubt if the offense is one that would be unlawful if committed by an 
adult. In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970). 

,. the double jeopardy clause of the Fifth Amendment prohibits prosecution 
in adult court of a juvenile if an adjudicatory hearing has been held on 
the same matter in juvenile court. Breed v. Jones, 421 U.S. 519 (1975). 

In contrast, however, the U.S. Supreme Court held in McKeiver v. 
Pennsvlvania, 403 U.S. 528 (1971) that a jury trial is not constitutionally 
required in the adjudicative phase of a juvenile court proceeding, because 
juries are not essential to fundamental fairness in fact-fmding procedures. 
Several states (not including Minnesota) have extended the right to trial by 
jury in some or all juvenile cases, however. 

Additionally, the Court held in SchaU v. Martin, 467 U.S. 253 (1984) that 
pretrial detention of an alleged delinquent, based on the risk of his 
committing additional crimes prior to trial, does not violate the child's due 
process rights. It held that, given the protective rather than punitive 
objectives of the juvenile justice system, pretrial detention of alleged 
delinquents is compatible with the fundamental fairness requirement of the 
due process clause of the Fifth Amendment. 
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Court Process for CHIPS Cases 

The following is a summary of the m~jor stages of the juvenile court process as it relates to cruldreu alleged 
to be in need of protection or services, and terminations of parental rights to children. 

PRE­
ADJUDICATION 
DETENTION 

FILING OF 
PETITION OR 
CITATION 

Youth and the Law 

As .explained more fully on page 55 above, under certain circwnstances a 
child may be taken into immediate custody by a peace officer or by order of the 
court prior to the juvenile court hearing. In child protection cases, the usual 
reasons for doing so would be because the child is a runaway, to ensure the 
child's presence at the hearing, or to remove the child from surroundings or 
conditions which endanger or reasonably appear to endanger the child's 
health or welfare. Such a child may be held in a shelter care facility for no 
longer than 72 hours, unless a petition has been rued and the judge 
determines after a detention hearing that the child should remain in custody. 
In addition, upon the request of a party, the court will hold the adjudicatory 
hearing on the petition within 60 days of the detention hearing, unless 
another party shows good cause why the hearing should not be held. The 
detention order must he reviewed informally by the judge every eight days 
until the case is decided. The detention order must include rules for 
parental visitation unless visitation would endanger the child's physical or 
emotional well-being. 

Children who are detained because they are alleged child abuse victims 
cannot be given mental health treatment for the effects of the abuse until the 
court finds probable cause to believe the abuse occurred or unless treatment 
is agreed to by the child's parent or guardian. 

Any reputable person, including any agent of the commissioner of human 
serVices, may file a CIllPS petition in juvenile court. Any reputable person 
may likewise petition the juvenile court to terminate the rights of a parent 
to his or her child if he or she has knowledge of circumstances that support 
such a petition. Additionally, the social service agency responsible for the 
placement of a child in voluntary foster care may petition the court to review 
the child's foster care status. All petitions are drafted by the county attorney 
and verified by the petitioner. 

A peace officer may issue a citation to a child believed to be a runaway, and 
a school attendance officer may issue a citation to an alleged truant. A 
citation rued with the court has the legal effect of a petition. 
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FIRST 
APPEARANCE 

ADJUDICATORY 
HEARING 

DISPosmON 
HEARING 

Youth and the Law 

This is a hearing at which the child and the child's parents and guardian are 
required to admit or deny the allegations of the petition. This hearing must be 
held within ten days aftt.:T a child has been placed in pre-adjudication 
detention, or 20 days after the child is served with the petition or citation if 
he or she is not in detention. If the allegations contained in the petition are 
admitted, the court will schedule a disposition hearing. If denied, the court 
will schedule an adjudicatory hearing within 90 or 120 days, depending on 
whether or not the child is in detention. 

The adjudicatory hearing is held to determine if the allegations of the petition 
are proved. In contrast to the delinquency or offender adjudicatory hearing, 
proof of the allegations need not be made "beyond a reasonable doubt" but 
only by "clear and convincing evidence," which is a lesser standard. If the 
court finds the allegations of the petition are proven, it may either withhold 
adjudication for up to 180 days, or adjudicate the child as being in need of 
protection or services, or neglected and in foster care, and schedule a 
disposition hearing. 

Where the petition is one to terminate parental rights and the allegations ar~ 
proven, the court will terminate parental rights and transfer custody of the 
child in a disposition hearing. Even where the allegations have not been 
proven, the court may still determine that the child is in need of protection 
or services, or that the child is neglected and in foster care. In such a case 
the court will adjudicate the child accordingly and will schedule a disposition 
hearing. 

If the court finds that a child is in need of protection or services, it may 
order the dispositions summarized on page 55 above. Where the court 
terminates the parental rights of both parents or of the only known living 
parent, guardianship and legal custody of the child will be transferred to the 
commissioner of human services, a licensed child placing agency or a willing 
individual capable of assuming parental duties. 
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