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NEW LAW RELATING TO SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION; OFFENSES BY,
AND WAIVER OF, JUVENILE OFFENDERS;
AND GANG-RELATED CRIMES AND PROGRAMS
(1993 WISCONSIN ACT 98)
INTRODUCTION

This Information Memorandum describes 1993 Wisconsin Act 98, relating to offenses by,
procedures relating to, and programs for, juvenile offenders and gang-related crimes and programs.
This Act was signed into law on December 10, 1993 by Govemnor Thompson. The general
effective date of Act 98 is December 25, 1993. The Gang Violence Prevention Council (see Part
I, B, 7, below) takes effect on July I, 1994.

‘ Copies of Act 98 may be obtained from the Documents Room, Lower Level, One East Main
Street, Madison, Wisconsin 53702; telephone: (608) 266-2400.

This Memorandum is divided into the following parts:
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PART I

KEY PROVISIONS OF 1993 WISCONSIN ACT 98

The key provisions of 1993 Wisconsin Act 98:

a. Sex offender registration. Creates a sex offender registration requirement in the state,
specifying that any person who is currently imprisoned or placed on probation, parole or aftercare
supervision for first- or second-degree sexual assault or sexual assault of a child is required,
following discharge from supervision (and annually for 15 years thereafter), to provide to the
Department of Justice (DOIJ) information about his or her home address, place of school enrollment,
place of employment and employment duties.

b. Gang-related crimes. Creates crimes and penalties for: (1) a person who violates a
court order prohibiting contact with gang members if criteria specified in the Act are met; and (2)
a person who intentionally solicits a child to participate in “criminal gang activity” (as defined in
the Act). The Act also creates a penalty enhancement provision for certain offenses committed for
the benefit of, at the direction of or in association with any criminal gang, with the specific intent
to promote or assist in any criminal conduct by gang members.

c. Civil action for criminal gang activity.

1. Allows the state, county, city, town, village or school district to bring a civil action
against a criminal gang or gang member for any expenditure of money for the allocation or
reallocation of law enforcement, fire fightitig, emergency or other personnel or resources relating
to criminal gang activity.

2. Allows an individual to bring a civil action for any physical injury or property damage
or loss resulting from any criminal gang activity.

d. Gang Violence Prevention Council. Creates a 15-member Gang Violence Prevention
Council, which is required, among other things, to submit an annual report to the Legislature on
ways to improve the existing strategies and programs and ways to establish new strategies and
programs to prevent children from becoming influenced by and involved with gangs.

e. Gang-troubled neighborhoods: job training grants. Provides funding in 1994-95 for
DHSS to award a grant to a community organization to conduct a community improvement job
training program. The grant recipient is required to, among other things, provide job training,
counseling and education for persons 16 to 23 years of age who reside in neighborhoods that have
gang problems.

f. Condemnation of gang buildings. Provides that any building or structure used as a
meeting place of a criminal gang or used to facilitate the activities of a criminal gang may be
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declared a public nuisance and allows a city, town or village to close and sell or raze such
buildings in order to abate the activity.

g. Notification of school and school board of gang-related delinquent act. Eliminates the
right of parents under prior law to object to notification of the school board by the juvenile court
that the parents’ child has been adjudged delinquent. The Act also requires the clerk of the juvenile
court to notify the principal of the child’s school, as well as the school board if the child is
adjudged delinquent for committing a delinquent act, at the request of or for the benefit of a
criminal gang, that would be a felony if committed by an adult, whether or not the child’s parents
object.

h. Records in juvenile court. Specifies that upon request of a law enforcement agency to
review court records for the purposes of investigating a crime that might fall within “a pattern of
criminal gang activity” (as defined in the Act), the juvenile court is required to open for inspection
by authorized representatives of the law enforcement agency the records of the court relating to any
child who has been found to have committed a delinquent act at the request of or for the benefit
of a criminal gang that would have been a felony if committed by an adult.

i. Penalties for the manufacture, delivery or possession of cocaine and “crack’ (cocaine
base). Makes all cocaine offenses (i.e., powder cocaine and “crack” cocaine) subject to the same
penalties and eliminates the mandatory minimum fines for cocaine violations and the mandatory
minimum period of imprisonment for all first offense cocaine violations.

j. Revocation or suspension of alcohol beverage licenses and permits for drug-related
activity. Provides that a municipality or the Department of Regulation (DOR) may revoke, suspend
or refuse to renew a person’s alcohol beverage license or permit if: (1) the person has been
convicted of manufacturing or delivering a controlled substance or of possessing, with intent to
manufacture or deliver, a controlled substance; or (2) the person knowingly allows another person,
who is on the premises for which the license is issued, to possess, with the intent to manufacture
or deliver, or to manufacture or deliver, a controlled substance.

k. Waiver of children age 14 or older to adult court: additional offenses. Authorizes
a juvenile court to waive its jurisdiction and transfer to the adult court system a child who, on or
after the child’s 14th birthday, is alleged to have committed specified serious offenses, including
a violation committed at the request of, or for the benefit of, a criminal gang that would constitute
a felony under ch. 161, Stats. (the Controlled Substances Act), or under the Criminal Code [chs.
939 to 948, Stats.], if committed by an adult.

1. Waiver criteria: _consideration_of prior waiver or conviction. Modifies current law to
expand the criteria which a judge must consider when deciding whether or not to waive a child into
adult court to include: (1) whether the court has previously waived its jurisdiction over the child;
and (2) whether the child has been previously convicted following a waiver of the court’s
jurisdiction. :
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m. Battery or assault while in a secured juvenile correctional facility:

1. Grants original jurisdiction (i.e., the child does not go through the waiver procedure in
juvenile court) over a child who is accused of committing battery under s. 940.20 (1), Stats. (battery
by prisoners), or aggravated assault under s. 946.43, Stats. (assaults by prisoners), while placed in
a secured juvenile correctional facility to a court of criminal jurisdiction (adult court). The Act sets
forth conditions under which the adult court of criminal jurisdiction may transfer jurisdiction over
the child to the juvenile court.

2. Requires an adult court to sentence a person who is convicted of battery under s. 940.20
(1), Stats., while placed in a secured juvenile correctional facility to not less than three years of
imprisonment and to sentence a person who is convicted of aggravated assault under s. 946.43,
Stats., while placed in a secured juvenile correctional facility to not less than five years of
imprisonment.

3. Requires a juvenile court to extend its jurisdiction over a person until the person reaches
21 years of age, unless the person is discharged sooner, if the person is adjudicated delinquent
following transfer of jurisdiction from an adult court for committing battery under s. 940.20 (1),
Stats., or aggravated assault under s. 946.43, Stats., while placed in & secured juvenile correctional
facility.

n. Holding a child in_custody in_secure detention. Provides that if a child meets the
criteria under current law for holding a child in secure detention, the intake worker, after consulting
by telephone with the law enforcement officer who took the child into custody, may authorize the
secure holding of the child, without an intake interview, until §8:00 a.m. of the day following the
night on which the child was taken into custody.

o. Limitation on_judge substitution in _certain juvenile proceedings. Provides that a child
may not request the substitution of a judge in a juvenile delinquency proceeding or in a “child in
need of protection or services” (CHIPS) proceeding based on a child under 12 years of age
committing a delinquent act within one year after the entry of a dispositional order in another
juvenile proceeding under ch. 48, Stats., in which the child requested the substitution of a judge.

p. Creation of juvenile booi camp program. Requires the DHSS to provide, and
appropriates the funding for, a juvenile boot camp program for childrén, allowing the DHSS to
place in the program any child whose legal custody has been transferred to the DHSS under s.
48.34 (4m), Stats., for placement in a secured juvenile correctional facility (e.g., Ethan Allen).

q. Electronic_monitoring of juvenile offeniders. Authorizes a juvenile court to order
electronic monitoring of a child under certain situations, including: (1) predisposition monitoring
of a child who would otherwise be kept in physical custody; (2) monitoring of a delinquent child
who is placed under house arrest, in an out-of-home placement or in a supervised independent living

situation; and (3) monitoring of a child who is placed on house arrest as a sanction for violating

_ a delinquency disposition.
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r. Juvenile forfeitures. Increases: (1) the maximum forfeiture that 2 municipal court may
order a child who has violated a civil law or a municipal ordinance to pay; and (2) the maximum
forfeiture that a juvenile court may impose on a child adjudicated delinquent.

s. Combination of restitution with certain other dispositions. Modifies the combinations
of juvenile delinquency dispositions provided under current law to allow the payment of restitution
or the repair of damage to property to be combined with other dispositions imposed on children
alleged to have committed a delinquent act or adjudicated delinquent.

t. Age at which child may be issued a citation for municipal ordinance or civil law
violations. Reduces the age at which a child may be issued a citation for v1olatmg a civil law or
municipal ordinance from age 14 to age 12.

u. Contempt of court for certain_juvenile offenders. Specifies that if a child adjudicated
delinquent commits a second or subsequent violation of a condition specified in the juvenile’s
dispositional order, a district attorney may file a delinquency petition charging the child with
contempt of court and reciting the disposition under s. 48.34, Stats. (the delinquency dispositions
under the Children’s Code), the district attomey seeks to be imposed.

v. Victim attendance _at juvenile court hearings. Permits the victim of an act for which
a child is adjudicated delinquent to attend a dispositional hearing before the juvenile court relating
to that act, subject to the same restrictions as under current law for attendance at a fact-finding
hearing. The Act also requires: (1) a juvenile court or a municipal court to provide notice to any
victim or alleged victim of a child’s act or alleged act of any hearing that the victim or alleged
victim is entitled to attend; and (2) a juvenile court to allow a victim of a delinquent act that would
be a felony if committed by an adult or a family member of a homicide victim to make a statement
to the juvenile court before the juvenile court imposes a disposition.

w. Juvenile court records: confii:ntial information. Authorizes a law enforcement
agency to request to review juvenile court records for the purpose of investigating a crime that may
fall within a pattern of criminal gang activity; and requires a juvenile court to open for inspection
its records relating to any child who has been found to have committed a gang-related delinquent
act that would have been a felony had it been committed by an adult.

x. Increased penalties for providing guns to children. Increases penalties for people
convicted of selling or giving certain dangerous weapons (firearms, electric weapons, brass knuckles
and a number of other weapons) to children.

y. Prohibition against armor-piercing bullets. Creates a new felony for the commission
of a crime with a handgun loaded with armor-piercing bullets (as defined in the Act) that may be
fired with a muzzle velocity of 1,500 feet per second or greater, or while in the possession of
armor-piercing bullets that could be fired from a handgun.

z. Penalty for atiempt to disarm a peace officer. Increases the penalties for attempting
to disarm a peace officer by making them the same as for the completed crime and broadens the
coverage of the crime to apply to the taking of any dangerous weapon from the officer.
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aa. Terrorism penalty enhancer. Creates a “terrorism” penalty enhancer that increases the
fine and term of imprisonment for certain acts of terrorism (as defined in the Act).

bb. Evidence in criminal actions: videotaped statements of children and use of recorded
communications:

1. Eliminates a provision in prior law that allowed a party in a court proceeding to call a
child, who had testified on videotape for a preliminary examination in a felony case, to appear for
cross-examination in the preliminary hearing if the party submitting the videotaped statement did
not call the child to testify.

2. Expands the authorized use of one-party consent recordings to include solicitation or
conspiracy to commit a felony.

cc. Authority of peace officers to make arrests or render assistance. Provides another
exception to the current law on peace officers acting outside of their territorial jurisdiction by
specifying that a peace officer outside of his or her territorial jurisdiction may, if certain conditions
are met, arrest a person or provide aid or assistance anywhere in the state if certain criteria
specified in the Act are met.

dd. Law _enforcement access to Department of Corrections (DOC) records. Provides that
the DOC must give a law enforcement officer access to DOC records pertaining to probationers,
parolees, intensive sanctions participants and community residential confinement prisoners who are
residing or planning to reside in the officer’s territorial jurisdiction.

ee. Task force on children and families. Requires the Secretary of DHSS to establish a
committee to be known as the Task Force on Improving Services to Children and Families for the
purpose of submitting recommendations on, among other things, how to: (1) improve state
programs that support collaboration between schools and social services agencies by using existing
resources; (2) coordinate state agency operations to reduce barriers to collaboration between schools
and social services agencies; and (3) deliver services efficiently to children and families by reducing
duplication of effort.
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PART I1

BACKGROUND OF 1993 WISCONSIN ACT 98

On October 26, 1993, Senate Bill 548 was introduced by the Joint Committee on Finance.
The Joint Committee on Finance reported introduction and adoption of Senate Substitute
Amendment 1 by a vote of Ayes, 15; Noes, 1; and recommended passage of the Bill as amended
by a vote of Ayes, 15; Noes, 1.

On October 28, 1993, the Senate adopted Senate Substitute Amendment 1, as amended by
Senate Amendments 2, 3, 4, 13, 14 and 22. The Senate then passed the Bill, as amended, on a
vote of Ayes, 30; Noes, 2.

On October 28, 1993, the Assembly concurred in the Bill, as amended by Assembly
Amendments 2 and 3, by a vote of Ayes, 96; Noes, 2. The Senate then concurred in the Assembly
Amendments by voice vote.

Senate Bill 548 was approved by the Govemor in part and vetoed in part on December 10,
1693 and was published on December 24, 1993 as 1993 Wisconsin Act 98. On February 8, 1994,
the Senate refused to suspend the rules and take up the vetoed portion of the Bill by a vote of
Ayes, 16; Noes, 17.
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PART 1lI

DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF PROVISIONS OF 1991 WISCONSIN ACT 98

A. PROVISIONS RELATING TO SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATICN

1, Creation of Program: Appropriation

1993 Wisconsin Act 98 creates a sex offender registration in the state and provides, for this
purpose: (a) $77,200 in general purpose revenue (GPR) in 1993-94 and $144,700 GPR in 1994-95;
and (b) 4.0 GPR positions for the DOJ beginning in 1993-94.

2. Persons Subject to Registration; Information Required

Under Act 98, any person who is currently: (a) imprisoned or placed on probation, parole
or aftercare supervision for first- or second-degree sexual assault [s. 940.225 (1) or (2), Stats.] or
sexual assault of a child [s. 948.02, Stats.]; or (b) found not guilty or not responsible by reason of
mental disease or defect and is under DHSS institutional care for first- or second-degree sexual
assault or sexual assault of a child, is required, following discharge from supervision, to provide
to the DOJ information about his or her home address, place of school enrollment, place of
employment and employment duties. A court may also require the sex offender registration, in the
interest of public protection, for persons convicted or adjudicated for third- or fourth-degree sexual
assault [s. 940.225 (3) or (4), Stats.] or a person for whom the court determines that the underlying
conduct was seriously sexually assaultive in nature.

3. Time Periods Applicable to Registration

Under Act 98, a person is required to submit the registration information annually for a
period of 15 years following discharge from supervision. The Act requires that any changes in
address, school enrollment or employment be updated within 14 days of the change.

4. Penalty for Violating Registration or Deoxyribonucleic Acid Analysis Requiremerits

Under Act 98, a person violating the registration requirement, or failing to provide a
required specimen for deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) analysis (required under current law for these
offenders as a result of the enactment of 1993 Wisconsin Act 16), is subject to a fine of up to
$10,000 and imprisonment for not more than nine months, or both (i.e., the same penalty as for a
Class A misdemeanor under the Criminal Code, chs. 939 to 951, Stats.).
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5. Confidensiality Requirement

Act 98 specifies that the registration information is to be maintained by DOJ and kept
confidential except as needed for law enforcement purposes. A fine of up to $500 or imprisonment
for not more than 30 days or both is provided for any knowing violation of the confidentiality
requirement.

6. Other Provisions

Act 98 also:

a. Specifies an expungement process for sex offender registration records. Under the Act,
a person who has provided this information may request, in writi~g, expungement of all pertinent
DOJ information on the ground that his or her conviction, delinqu. .cy adjudication finding of need
of protection or services or commitment has been reversed, set aside or vacated.

b. Requires the DOJ to promulgate rules necessary to carry out its duties under these new
registration provisions.

c. Requires the DOC and DHSS to cooperate with the DOJ in obtaining information under
these new registration provisions.

d. Limits liability for medical personnel and hospitals responsible for taking biological
specimens for DNA analysis.

B. PROVISIONS RELATING TO CRIMINAL GANGS

I. Definition of a Criminal Gang

Act 98 defines a “criminal gang” as an ongoing organization, association or group of three
or more people, that has as one of its primary activities the commission of one or more of the
offenses specified in the definition of “pattem of criminal gang activity”; that has a common name
or an identifying symbol; and whose members individually or collectively engage in a pattern of
criminal gang activity. “A pattern of criminal gang activity” is defined as the commission, attempt
or solicitation to commit twe or more of the following offenses:

a. Manufacture or delivery of a controlled substance [s. 161.41 (1), Stats.].
b. First- or second-degree intentional homicide [s. 940.01 or 940.05, Stats.].
c. Battery or aggravated battery [s. 940.19, Stats.].

d. Mayhem {s. 940.21, Stats.].
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e. Sexual assault [s. 940,225, Stats.].

f. False imprisonment [s. 940.30, Stats.].

g. Taking hostages {s. 940.305, Stats.].

h. Kidnapping [s. 940.31, Stats.].

i. Intimidation of witnesses [s. 940.42 or 940.43, Stats.].

j. Intimidation of victims [s. 940.44 or 940.45, Stats.].

k. Criminal damage to property [s. 943.01, Stats.].

1. Arson of buildings or damage by explosives [s. 943.02, Stats.].
m. Burglary [s. 943.10, Stats.].

n. Theft |s. 943.20, Stats.].

o. Taking, driving or operating a vehicle, or removing a component of a vehicle without
the owner’s consent [s. 943.23, Stats.].

p. Robbery {s. 943.32, Stats.].

q. Sexual assault of a child [s. 948.02, Stats.].

Under the Act, the pattern is established if: (a) at least one of the offenses occurs after the
effective date of the Act (i.e., December 25, 1993); (b) the last of the offenses occurred within three

years after a prior offense; and (c) the offenses are committed, attempted or solicited on separate
occasions or by two or more people.

2._Gang-Related Crime: Violation of Court Order Prohibiting Contact With Gang Members

Act 98 creates a Class A misdemeanor (a fine of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment
for not more than nine months, or both) for violating a court order prohibiting contact with gang
members if all of the following apply:

a. The court finds that the person subject to the court order is a gang member;

b. The court had informed the person of the contact restriction; and

¢. The order specifies how long the restriction applies.
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3. Gang-Related Crime: Intentional Solicitation of a Child for Gang Activity

Act 98 creates a Class E felony (a fine of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment of not
more than two years, or both) for any person who intentionally solicits a child to participate in
criminal gang activity. “Criminal gang activity” is defined to mean the commission of, or attempt
to commit or solicitation to commit one or more of the offenses specified in item 1, above,
committed for the benefit of, at the direction of, or in association with any criminal gang, with
specific intent to promote, further or assist in any criminal conduct by criminal gang members.

4. Gang-Related Penalty Enhancer

Act 98 provides a penalty enhancement (similar to the dangerous weapons penalty
enhancement under current law, s. 939.63, Stats.) for any drug offense or any misdemeanor or
felony drug or Criminal Code offense committed for the benefit of, at the direction of or in
association with any criminal gang, with the specific intent to promote or assist in any criminal
conduct by gang members. Penalties may be increased by up fo six months for a misdemeanor
and by three to five years for a felony depending on the maximum penalty for the underlying
crime.

5. Civil Action for Criminal Gang Activity

a. State or Local Goevernment Action

Under prior law, there was no specific civil cause of action available for injury caused by
criminal gang activity. Act 98 allows the state, county, city, town, village or school district to bring
a civil action for any expenditure of money for the allocation or reallocation of law enforcement,
fire fighting, emergency or other personnel or resources relaiing to criminal gang activity, as
defined in Section C, above. The action may be brought against a criminal gang or any member
or leader who: (1) authorizes, causes, orders, ratifies, requests or suggests a criminal gang activity;
or (2) participates in the criminal gang activity. The criminal gang and any participating gang
members must be named as defendants in the action and all unknown criminal gang members may
be named as a class to the action. The cml action may be brought regardless of any criminal
action or disposition.

The Act authorizes the service of a summons upon any member or leader of a criminal gang
and provides that a judgment rendered after serv1ce 1s a binding adjudication against the criminal
gang. Under the Act, a court is authorized to:

1. Grant an injunction restraining an individual from committing an act that would injure
the state, political subdivision or school district or order other relief the court determines is proper;

2. Order a gang member to divest himself or herself of any interest or involvement in any
criminal gang activity; and
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3. Restrict a gang member from engaging in any future criminal gang activity.

The Act requires that a final judgment in favor of the state, political subdivision or school
district must include compensatory damages for any expenditure of money resulting from the
criminal gang activity and compensation for the costs of investigation, prosecution and reasonable
attorneys fees. The Act allows the final judgment to include punitive damages assessed against
a participating gang member or leader.

b. _Individual Action

Act 98 allows a person to bring a civil action for any physical injury or property damage
or loss resulting from any criminal gang activity. The burden of proof rests with the plaintiff who
must prove his or her case by a preponderance of the evidence. The action is for the actual
damages sustained and punitive damages may be awarded. Further, an award includes attorneys
fees and investigation and litigation costs. The civil action may be brought regardless of any
criminal action or disposition.

¢. Statute of Limitations

Act 98 establishes a six-year statute of limitations for the civil action described in items a
and b, above.

6. Waiver of Children age 14 or Older to Adult Court for Gang-Related Violation

See Section D, 1, below, for an analysis of this change in Act 98 (see, in particular, 1, b,
(10), in that Section).

7. Gang Violence Prevention Council

Act 98 creates a 15-member Gang Violence Prevention Council which is attached to the
Division of Youth Services in DHSS. Under the Act, the Gang Violence Prevention Council must
do the following:

a. Conduct public hearings and surveys to solicit the opinions and recommendations of
citizens and public officials on ways to prevent children from becoming influenced by and involved
with gangs.

b. Based on the opinions and recommendations under item a, above, submit an annual
report to the appropriate standing committees of the Legislature, the cochairpersons of the Joint
Committee on Finance and the Secretary of Health and Social Services, and otherwise provide
information and recommendations to interested persons on ways to improve the existing strategies
and programs and ways to establish new strategies and programs to prevent children from becoming
influenced by and involved with gangs.
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The Council is comprised of appropriate state and local public officials and four citizen
members who have a recognized interest in and demonstrate a knowledge of prevention and
intervention strategies and programs that are effective in reducing gang influence and gang violence
that is affecting children throughout the state. The Administrator of the Division of Youth Services
in the DHSS serves as Chairperson of the Council.

The Act provides $50,000 GPR in 1994-95 and authorizes 1.0 GPR position beginning in
1994-95. The provisions in the Act concerning the appointment of members of the Council and
the Council’s responsibilities take effect on July 1, 1994.

8. Community Improvement Job Training Grart

Under current law the DHSS provides GPR as grants for community program to fund
various programs.

Act 98 provides $250,00 GPR in 1994-95 for DHSS to award a grant to 2 community
organization to conduct a community improvement job training program. The grant recipient is
required to:

a. Provide job training, counseling and education for persons 16 to 23 years of age who
reside in neighborhoods that have gang problems;

b. Provide projects to rebuild and strengthen such neighborhoods;
c. Assist program participants who want to start their own small businesses by referring
them to sources of grants, loans, venture capital and other funding and by assisting them with the

funding application process; and

d. Encourage former gang members to participate in the program.

9. Cendemnation of Gang Buildings

a. Background

Under current law, a building or structure used to deliver or manufacture a controlled
substance is a public nuisance. The city, town or village where the building or structure is located
may bring an action to abate the nuisance and prevent the continuance of the nuisance. The court
is required to order the removal and sale of the personal property from a building or structure that
is declared a nuisance, order the building or structure closed until all building code violations are
corrected or, if there is no compliance with an order to repair the premises, order the building or
structure sold {ss. 66.05 (1) (b), 823.113 and 823.114, Stats.].
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b, Act 98

Act 98 provides that any building or structure used as a meeting place of a criminal gang
or used to facilitate the activities of a criminal gang (refer to item 1, above, for the definition of
a “criminal gang”) may be declared a public nuisance. This allows a city, town or village to close
and sell or raze such buildings in order to abate the activity. Further, the Act provides that
proceeds from any sale must be paid in equal shares to:

(1) The local law enforcement agency for gang-related law enforcement activities; and

(2) The treasurer of the city, town or village for gang abatement programs.

10. Notification of School and School Board of Gang-Related Delinguent Act

a. Prior Law

Under the law prior to Act 98, if a child is adjudged delinquent, the clerk of the juvenile
court must notify the school board of the school district in which the child is enrolled of that
adjudication unless the child’s parents object [s. 48.396 (7), Stats.].

b. Act 98

Act 98:

(1) Eliminates the parents’ right to object to that notification.

(2) Requires the clerk of the juvenile court to notify the principal of the child’s school and
the school board of the school district in which a child is enrolled if the child is adjudged
delinquent for committing a delinquent act, at the request of or for the benefit of a criminal gang,

that would be a felony if committed by an adult, whether or not the child’s parenits object. Refer
to item 1, above, for the definition of a “criminal gang.”

11. Records in Juvenile Court

Under current law, subject to certain exceptions, the records of the juvenile court are not
open to inspection and may not be disclosed except by order of the juvenile court {s. 48.396 (2),
Stats.].

Act 98 specifies that upon request of a law enforcement agency to review court records for
the purpose of investigating a crime that might fall within “a pattern of criminal gang activity,”
as defined in the Act (see item 1, above), the juvenile court is required to open for inspection by
authorized representatives of the law enforcement agency the records of the court relating to any
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child who has been found to have committed a delinquent act at the request of or for the benefit
of a criminal gang that would have been a felony if committed by an adult. ‘

C. PROVISIONS RELATING TO DRUG OFFENSES AND ALCOHQOL

1. Penalties for the Manufacture, Delivery or Possession of Cocaine and “Crack” (Cocaine Base)

a. Background

(1) Overview of Uniform Controlled Substances Act

The primary Wisconsin statutes governing drug-related crimes are contained in ch. 161,
Stats., the Uniform Controlled Substances Act. That Act is a uniform state law developed for
consideration and possible enactment by the individual states by the National Conference of
Commissioners on Uniform State Laws. Chapter 161 is the Uniform Act as amended and enacted
in Wisconsin.

(2) Classification of substances

Subchapter II of chapter 161, Stats., classifies all controlled substances into five different
categories or “schedules” according to: (a) each substance’s potential for abuse; (b) the existence
of any accepted medical use for the substance in treatment; and (c) the potential that abuse of the
particular substance may lead to psychological or physical dependence.

Schedules [ and II include substances which have a high potential for abuse. For example,
Schedule I includes cocaine base (“crack”) [s. 161.14 (7) (a), Stats.], lysergic acid diethylamide
(LSD), phencyclidine (PCP), heroin and tetrahydrocannabinol (THC, the hallucinogenic contained
in marijuana). Examples of substances listed in Schedule I include cocaine, other than cocaine
base [s. 161.16 (2) (b), Stats.], opium, codeine, morphine, methadone and amphetamines. Schedules
OI, IV and V contain substances with lower potentials for abuse for which there is a currently
accepted medical use.

The Wisconsin Controlled Substances Board may add, delete or reschedule substances
enumerated in the five schedules, by administrative rule. The statutes direct the Controlled
Substances Board to use certain criteria in placing substances in each of the five schedules. For
purposes of Schedules I and II, the criteria are:

(a) Schedule I

(i) The substance has high potential for abuse; and

(ii) The substance has no accepted medical use in treatment in the United
States or lacks accepted safety for use in treatment under medical supervision
{ss. 161.13 and 161.14, Stats.].
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(b) Schedule I

(i) The substance has high po'tential for abuse;

(ii) The substance has currently accepted medical use in treatment in the
United States or currently accepted medical use with severe restrictions; and

(iii) Abuse of the substance may lead to severe psychological or physical
dependence |[ss. 161.15 and 161.16, Stats.].

(3) “Presumptive” minimums: court’s authority to deviate from mandatory minimum
sentences

Current law provides that any minimum sentence under ch. 161, Stats., is a “presumptive”
minimum. A court may impose a sentence which is less than a “presumptive” minimum or place
the person on probation only if it finds that the best interests of the community will be served and
the public will not be harmed and if it places its reasons on the record. Thus, the minimum
penalties are not, in fact, mandatory minimums, but presumptive minimums [s. 161.438, Stats.].

(4) _Determining amount of controlled substance for purpose of applying appropriate
penalty

Current law provides that, for the purpose of determining the appropriate penalty where the
amount of the controlled substance is significant, the amount includes the weight of the controlled
substance together with any compound, mixture, diluent or other substance mixed or combined with
the controlled substance (e.g., sugar). Current law also specifies that the amount of THC (the
hallucinogenic chemical in marijuana) includes the weight of any marijuana [s. 161.41 (1r), Stats.].

(5) Penalties, Prior to Act 98, for the Manufacture, Delivery or Possession of Cocaine
and “Crack” Cocaine

(a) Cocaine offenses

Table 1 sets forth the penalty structure for cocaine first offenses under the law prior to Act
98. As under Act 98, for cocaine and other major controlled substances under ch. 161, Stats.
(including “crack”), any applicable minimum and maximum fines and minimum and maximum
periods of imprisonment are doubled if: (1) it is the person’s second or subsequent offense; or (2)
the cocaine was distributed by a person 18 years of age or older to a person under 18 years of age
who is at least three years his or her junior.

Note that, in the tables in this Information Memorandum, unless otherwise specified by
“may,” “up to” or “not more than,” the penalties cited must be imposed by the court, subject to the
concept of “presumptive” minimums described above.
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PENALTIES FOR ILLEGAL MANUFACTURE OR DELIVERY OF, POSSESSION WITH INTENT TO

TABLE 1
PRIOR LAW:

MANUFACTURE OR DELIVER, OR POSSESSION OF COCAINE
[Section 161.41 (1) (c), (im) (c) and (3m), Stats.]

OFFENSE

AMOUNT

PENALTY* (FINE/PERIOD
OF IMPRISONMENT)**

A. MANUFACTURE OR
DELIVERY OF COCAINI

10 grams or lcss

Morc than 10 grams but not more than
25 grams

Morc than 25 grams but not more than
100 grams

More than 100 grams but not more than
400 grams

Morc than 400 grams but not more than
800 grams

Morc than 80{) grams

$1,000 to $200,000 (may be
imprisoned up to S years)

$1,000 10 $250,000 (6 months
to 5 years)

$1,000 to $500,000 (1 to 15
years)

$1,000 to $500,000 (3 to 15
years)

$1,000 to $500,000 (5 to 15
years)

$25,000 to $1,000,000 (10 to
30 years)

B. POSSESSION OF
COCAINE WITH INTENT
TO MANUFACTURE OR
DELIVER

10 grams or lcss

More than 10 grams but not more than
25 grams

Morc than 25 grams but not more than
100 grams

May be imprisoned up to 5
years and must be fined
$1,000 to $100,000

$1,000 to $250,000 (6 months
to 5 years)

$1,000 10 $500,000 (1 to 15
years)

B. POSSESSION OF
COCAINE WITIL INTENT
TO MANUFACTURE OR
DELIVER

(CONTINUED)

More than 1{X) grams but not more than
400 grams

Morc than 400 grams but not more than
800 grams

More than 800 grams

$1,000 to $500,600 (3 to 15
years)

$1,000 1o $500,000 (5 to 15
years)

$25,000 to $1,000,000 (10 to
30 years)

Page 22

Wisconsin Legislative Council Staff




R PENALTY* (FINE/PERIOD
. OFFENSE AMOUNT OF IMPRISONMENT)**
. C. POSSESSION OR - $250 to $5,000 (may be
ATTEMPTED imprisoncd up to one¢ year in
POSSESSION OF county jail)
. COCAINE

* Unless otherwise specified, a violator must be fined and imprisoned at least the minimum amounts
and periods sct forth in the. table (sce a, (3) in the text, above, on “presumptive” minimums).

** Upon a sccond or subscquent offensc, the minimum and maximum fines and periods of imprisonment
arc_doubled.

(b) “Crack” (cocaine base) offenses

Prior law established a separate penalty structure for offenses involving cocaine base. The
penalty structure is shown in Table 2, below.

TABLE 2
PRIOR LAW:
PENALTIES FOR ILLEGAL MANUFACTURE OR DELIVERY OF, POSSESSION WITH INTENT TO
MANUFACTURE OR DELIVER, OR POSSESSION OF COCAINE BASE (“CRACK?”)

o [Section 161.41 (1) (cm), (Im) (cm) and (3m), Stats.]
PRI PENALTY* (FINE/PERIOD OF
OFFENSE AMOUNT IMPRISONMENTY**
A. MANUFACTURE OR 3 grams or lcss $1,000 to $500,000 (1 to 15 years)
DELIVERY
OF COCAINE BASE More than 3 grams to 10 grams $1,000 to $500,000 (3 to 15 years)
More than 10 grams to 40 grams | $1,000 to $500,000 (5 to 30 years)
Morc than 40 grams $25,000 to $1,000,000 (10 to 30
years)
B. POSSESSION OF COCAINE 3 grams or lcss $1,000 to $500,000 (1 to 15 years)
BASE WITH INTENT T0
MANUFACTURE OR DELIVER Morc than 3 grams to 10 grams $1,000 to $500,000 (3 to 15 years)
Morc than 10 grams to 40 grams | $1,000 to $500,000 (5 to 30 years)
. More than 40 grams $25,000 to $1,600,000 (10 to 30
years)
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OFFENSE

AMOUNT

PENALTY* (FINE/PERIOD OF
IMPRISONMENT )**

C. POSSISSION OR
ATTEMPTED POSSESSION OF
COCAINI: BASE

$250 to $5,000 (may be
imprisoncd not more than one year
in county jail)

*  Unless otherwise specificd, a violator must be fined and imprisoned at least the minimum
amounts and pcriods sct forth in the table (see a, (3) in the text, above, on “presumptive”

minimums).
£33

imprisonment arc_doubled.

b. Act 98

Upon a sccond or subscquent offcnse, the minimum and maximum fines and periods of

Act 98 makes all cocaine offenses (i.e., powder cocaine and “crack” cocaine) subject to the
same penaities, as set forth in Table 3, below. Note that the Act eliminates the mandatory
minimum fines for cocaine violations and the mandatory minimum period of imprisonment for all

first offense cocaine violations.

TABLE 3

PENALTIES IN ACT 98 FOR ILLEGAL MANUFACTURE OR DELIVERY OF, POSSESSION WITH
INTENT TO MANUFACTURE OR DELIVER, OR POSSESSION OF COCAINE OR “CRACK”
COCAINE [Section 161.41 (1) (cm), (Im) (cm) and (3m), Stats.]

FENSE ; PENALTY* (FINE/PERIOD OF
OFFENSE AMOUNT IMPRISONMENT)**
A. MANUFACTURE OR S5 grams or lcss Not more than $500,000 (up to 15
DELIVERY years)
OF COCAINE OR “CRACK”
COCAINE Morc than 5 grams to 15 grams Not more than $500,000 (1 to 15
years)
More than 15 grams to 40 grams. | Not more than $500,000 (3 to 20
years)
More than 40 grams to 100 grams | Not morc than $500,000 (5 to 30
years)
More than 100 grams Not more than $500,000 (10 to 30
years)
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PENALTY* (FINE/PERIOD OF

OFFENSE AMOUNT IMPRISONMENT)*
B. POSSESSION OF COCAINE 5 grams or lcss Not more than $500,000 (up to 10
WITH INTENT TO years)

MANUFACTURE OR DELIVER
Morg than § grams to 15 grams Not more than $500,000 (1 to 15
years)

More than 15 grams to 40 grams | Not more than $500,000 (3 to 20

years)
Morc than 40 grams Not more than $500,000 (5 to 30
years)
C. POSSESSION OR - Not more than $5,000 (may be
ATTEMPTED POSSESSION OF imprisoned not more than one year
COCAINE in county jail)

* Unless otherwisc specified, a violator must be fined and imprisoned at least the minimum
amounts and periods sct forth in the table (see a, (3) in the text, above, on “presumptive”
minimums).

** Upon a sccond or subscquent offcnse, the minimum and maximum fines and periods of
imprisonment arc_doubled.

2. Revocation or Suspension of Alcohol Beverage Licenses and Permits for Drug-Related Activity

.
Citatrm.

a. Background

Under current law, in general, any person who sells, manufactures or brews alcohol
beverages vaust hold the appropriate license or permit required under ch. 125, Stats. Licenses are
issued by the local governing body of each city, village or town and permits are issued by the
Secretary of the Wisconsin DOR.

Section 125.12, Stats., sets forth the current due process procedures relating to revocation,
suspension, refusal to issue or refusal to renew a license or permit under ch. 125, Stats. The
methods by which a license or permit may be revoked, suspended, not issued or not renewed are
the following:

(1) By a municipal governing body; license. A municipal goveming body may revoke or
suspend any alcohol beverage license issued by the municipality upon a written complaint of a
resident, if it is found that the licensee has: (a) violated any provision of ch. 125, Stats., or a
municipal regulation relating to the sale of alcohol beverages; (b) kept a disorderly, riotous,
indecent or improper house; (c) sold or given aicohol beverages to a known habitual drunkard; or
(d) does not possess the qualifications under ch. 125 to hold a license.
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A municipality may also refuse to remew a license for the same reasons discussed above [s.

125.12 (3), Stats.]. 0

{2) By a court upon_complaint of the DOR; licenses. An alcohol beverage license issued
under ch. 125, Stats., may be revoked or suspended by a court of record having jurisdiction over
the licensed premises upon complaint of an authorized employe of the DOR for the same reasons
that a local governing body may revoke or suspend a license. In addition, the DOR may revoke
a license when: (a) the licensee has failed to maintain the standards of sanitation prescribed by the
DHSS; or (b) has permitted known criminals or prostitutes to loiter on the licensed premises.

-

(3) By the DOR; permii. The DOR may revoke, suspend or refuse to renew any retail
permit issued by it for the reasons discussed in 1 and 2, above, and any other permit issued by it
under ch. 125, Stats., for any violation of ch, 125, Stats., or ch. 139, Stats. (beverage, controlled
substances and tobacco taxes) [s. 125.12 (5), Stats.].

b. Act 98

Act 98 provides that a municipality or DOR may also revoke, suspend or refuse to renew
a person’s alcohol beverage license or permit if:

(1) The person has been convicted of manufacturing or delivering a controlled substance
under s. 161.41 (1), Stats.; of possessing, with intent to manufacture or deliver, a controlied
substance under s. 161.41 (1m), Stats.; or of possessing, with intent to manufacture or deliver, or
of manufacturing or delivering a controlled substance under a substantially similar federal law or
a substantially similar law of another state; or

(2) The person knowingly allows another person, who is on the premises for which the
license is issued, to possess, with the intent to manufacture or deliver, or to manufacture or deliver,
a controlled substance.

The Act specifies that it is not employment discrimination under the Fair Employment Act
because of conviction record to revoke, suspend or refuse to renew a license or permit under ch.
125, Stats. (the alcohol beverage laws), if tiie person holding or applying for the license or permit
has been convicted of one or more of the offenses described above.

D. PROVISIONS RELATING TO CHANGES IN THE CHILDREN’S CODE

1. Waiver of Children Age 14 or Older to Adult Court: Additional Qffenses

a. Background

Under the law prior to Act 98, a child could be tried in a court of general civil and criminal
jurisdiction (adult court) after the juvenile court has waived its jurisdiction over the child only if:
(1) the child is alleged to have committed first-degree intentional homicide or first-degree reckless
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homicide on or after the child’s 14th birthday; or (2) the child is alleged to have violated any state
‘ criminal law on or after the child’s 16th birthday.

Current law specifies that the juvenile court may waive its jurisdiction only after a hearing
at which the judge finds “prosecutive merit,” that is, reasonable grounds to believe that the child
has committed the offense charged and that it would be contrary to the best interests of the child
or of the public to proceed in juvenile court based on such criteria as the personality and prior
record of the child, the seriousness of the alleged offense and the adequacy of the treatment

available for the child in the juvenile justice system. After a juvenile court waives its jurisdiction
over a child, the child may be tried in a court of criminal jurisdiction (adult court) [s. 48.18, Stats.].

b. Act 98

Act 98 authorizes a juvenile court to waive its jurisdiction and transfer to the adult court
system a child who, on or after the child’s 14th birthday, is alleged to have committed any of the
following offenses:

(1) Attempted first-degree intentional homicide;
(2) First-degree intentional homicide;
(3) Second-degree intentional homicide;
(4) Second-degree reckless homicide;
. (5) First-degree sexual assault;
(6) Kidnapping;
(7) Taking hostages;

(8) Actual drug manufacturing or delivery (but not for drug possession with intent to
manufacture or deliver);

(9) Armed burglary; or
(10) A violation commiitted at the request of, or for the benefit of, a criminal gang that
would constitute a felony under ch. 161, Stats. (the Controlled Substances Act) or under the

Criminal Code [chs. 939 to 948, Stats.] if committed by an adult. Refer to Section B, 1, above,
for the definition of “criminal gang.”

-
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2. Waiver Criterin: Consideration of Prior Waiver or Conviction

a. Background

Under current law, in order to waive its jurisdiction, a juvenile court must first determine
whether there are reasonable grounds to believe that the child committed the offense. In addition,
a juvenile court must base its decision to waive its jurisdiction on the following criteria:

(1) The personality and prior record of the child, including any prior delinquency
adjudications;

(2) The type and seriousness of the alleged offense;

(3) The adequacy of the services available for treatment of the child and the protection of
the public within the juvenile justice system; and

(4) The desirability of trial and disposition of the entire offense in one court if the child
was allegedly associated in the offense with adults who will be charged in adult criminal court.

Under the law prior to Act 98, the juvenile court was not specifically required to consider
a previous waiver of the child into adult court in deciding whether or not to waive the child into
adult court on a subsequent alleged offense [s. 48.18 (5), Stats.].
b. Act 98

Act 98 modifies current law to expand the criteria which a judge must consider when
deciding whether or not to waive a child into adult court to also include:

(1) Whether the court has previously waived its jurisdiction over the child; and
(2) Whether the child has been previously convicted following a waiver of the court’s

jurisdiction.

3. Battery or Assault While in a Secured Juvenile Correctional Facility: Original Jurisdiction
in Adult Court

a. Background

See discussion of the law on waiver in item 1, above.

b. Act 98

Act 98 grants original jurisdiction (ie., the child does not go through the waiver procedure
in juvenile court) over a child who is accused of committing battery under s. 940.20 (1), Stats.
(battery by prisoners), or aggravated assault under s. 946.43, Stats. (assaults by prisoners), while
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placed in a secured juvenile correctional facility fo a court of criminal jurisdiction (adult court).
Under the Act, a child who is accused of committing battery or aggravated assault while placed in
a secured juvenile correctionai facility is subject to the procedures specified in the Criminal
Procedure Code and to adult sentencing [chs. 967 to 979, Stats.], unless the adult court of criminal
Jurisdiction transfers jurisdiction over the child to the juvenile court.

Under the Act, if an adult court finds probable cause at a preliminary hearing to believe that
a child has committed battery or aggravated assault while placed in a secured juvenile correctional
facility, the adult court must retain jurisdiction over that child unless the adult court finds thas:

(1) I convicted, the child could not receive adequate treatment in the criminal justice
system,

(2) Transferring jurisdiction to the juvenile court would not depreciate the seriousness of
the offense.

(3) Retaining jurisdiction is not necessary to deter the child or other children from
committing battery or aggravated assault or “other similar offenses,” while placed in a secured
juvenile correctional facility.

If, at the preliminary hearing, the adult court does not find probable cause to believe that
the child has committed battery or aggravated assault at the facility, the court must order that the
child be discharged. However, proceedings may then be brought regarding the child under the
Children’s Code (e.g., a delinquency petition).

4. Battery or Assault While in a Secured Juvenile Correctional Facility: Presumptive Minimum
Imprisonment

a. Background

Under current law, presumptive minimum sentences are provided for certain crimes or for
crimes committed under certain circumstances. For example, under current law, a person who
commits a felony while possessing, using or threatening to use a dangerous weapon is subject to
a minimum term of imprisonment, but the adult court may impose probation or a lesser sentence
if the court states its reasons for doing so on the record [s. 939.63, Stats.]. The discretion given
to the court to deviate from the minimum imprisonment term makes this a presumptive minimum
sentence, rather than a mandatory minimum sentence.

b. Act 98

Act 98 requires an adult court to sentence a person who is convicted of battery under s.
940.20 (1), Stats., while placed in a secured juvenile correctional facility to not less than three
years of imprisonment and to sentence a person who is convicted of aggravated assault under s.
946.43, Stats., while placed in a secured juvenile correctional facility to not less than five years
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of imprisonment. An adult court may impose probation or a lesser sentence only if the adult court
finds ail of the following:

(1) That placing the person on probation or imposing a lesser sentence would not depreciate
the seriousness of the offense; and

(2) That imposing the applicable presumptive minimum sentence under the Act is not
necessary to deter the person or other persons from committing battery, aggravated assault or other
similar offenses, while placed in a secured juvenile correctional facility. The court must place these
findings of fact on the record.

5. Battery or Assault While in a Secured Juvenile Correctional Facility: Extended Juvenile
Court Jurisdiction

a. Background

Current law provides that the juvenile court must enter an order extending its jurisdiction
over a person until the person reaches 21 or 25 years of age, unless the person is discharged
sooner, if:

(1) The person committed first-degree intentional homicide [s. 940.01], second-degree
mtentlonal homicide [s. 940.05], first-degree reckless homicide [s. 940.02], physical abuse of a child
[s 948.03], causing mental harm to a child [s. 948.04], mayhem [s. 940.21] or first-degree sexual
assault [s. 940.225 (1)] and the person was adjudicated delinquent on that basis; and

(2) The person has been transferred to the legal custody of the DHSS for placement in a
secured correctional facility.

If the person committed first-degree intentional homicide, the juvenile court must enter an
order extending its jurisdiction over the person until the person reaches 25 years of age unless the
person is discharged sooner. If the person committed any of the other crimes specified above, the
juvenile court must enter an order extending its jurisdiction over the person until the person reaches
21 years of age unless the person is discharged sooner [s. 48.366, Stats.].

b. Act 98

Act 98 requires a juvenile court to extend its jurisdiction over a person until the person
reaches 21 years of age, unless the person is discharged sooner, if the person is adjudicated
delinquent following transfer of jurisdiction from an adult court for committing battery under s.
940.20 (1), Stats., or aggravated assault under s. 946.43, Stats., while placed in a secured juvenile
correctional facility.
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6. Holding a Child in Custody in Secure Detention

a. Background

Under current law, a child of any age may be taken into custody under the Children’s Code
and, under certain circumstances, a child 14 years of age or older may be taken into custody under
authority found outside the Children’s Code. Under current law, no child who has been taken into
custody under the Children’s Code may be held in a secure detention facility unless various criteria
for holding the child in secure detention are met and the child is interviewed by an intake worker.
A child may, however, be held temporarily in a secure detention facility while the intake worker
is en route to the interview |ss. 48.067 and 48.208, Stats.].

b, Act 98

Act 98 provides that if a child meets the criteria for holding a child in secure detention, the
intake worker, after consulting by telephone with the law enforcement officer who took the child
into custody, may authorize the secure holding of the child, without an intake interview, until 8:00
a.m. of the day following the night on which the child was taken into custody.

7. Limitation on Judge Substitution in Ceriain Juvenile Proceedings

a. Background

Under current law, in a proceeding under s. 48.12, Stats. (delinquency proceeding) or 48.13
(12), Stats. (“child in need of protection or services” proceeding as a result of a child under 12
years of age committing a delinquent act), only the child may request a substitution of the judge.
Whenever any person has the right to request a substitution of judge, that person’s counsel or
guardian ad litem may file the request. Not more than one such written request may be filed in
any one proceeding, nor may any single request name more than one judge [s. 48.29 (1), Stats.].

b. Act 98

Act 98 provides that a child may not request the substitution of a judge in a juvenile
delinquency proceeding or in a “child in need of protection or services” proceeding based on a child
under 12 years of age committing a delinquent act within one year after the entry of a dispositional
order in another juvenile proceeding under ch. 48, Stats., in which the child requested the
substitution of a judge.
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8. Ceorrective Sanctions Program (Created by 1993 Wisconsin Act 16)

a. _Background

Under current law (created by 1993 Wisconsin Act 16), beginning on April 1, 1994, DHSS
is required to administer a corrective sanctions piloi program to serve an average daily population
of 20 children who have been adjudicated delinquent, placed in a secured correctional facility and
selected by the Juvenile Offender Review Program (JORP) in DHSS to participate in the pilot
program. Under current law, beginning on July 1, 1994, DHSS is required to administer a
corrective sanctions program in three counties, including Milwaukee County, to serve an average
daily population of 60 children who have been adjudicated delinquent, placed in a secured
correctional facility and selected by JORP to participate in the program. Under both the pilot
program and the permanent program, DHSS must place a participant in the community under
intensive surveillance, which may include electronic monitoring, and must provide an average of
$5,000 per year per participant for the purchase of community-based treatment services. Under both
the pilot program and the permanent program, a participant remains in the legal custody of DHSS
and subject to the rules and discipline of DHSS, may be returned to a secured correctional facility
for up to 72 hours without a hearing as a sanction for violating a condition of the child’s
participation in the pilot program or permanent program and is considered to have escaped from
secure custody if the child runs away from his or her placement in the community under the pilot
program or permanent program.

Current law created by Act 16 also provides for an intensive supervision program that is
similar to the corrective sanctions program under current law, except that county departments, rather
than DHSS, administer the intensive supervision program.

b. Act 98

Act 98 provides $100,600 GPR in 1993-95 for DHSS to award grants to counties to operate
county intensive supervision programs (i.e., local corrective sanctions programs).

9, Intensive Aftercare Grants

a._ Background

Juvenile aftercare is comperable to the adult parole system, providing supervision, services
and programs after release of a child from a facility or institution.

The Intensive Aftercare Pilot Program was created by 1989 Wisconsin Act 122. Under the
pilot program, DHSS provided grants to five intensive aftercare programs operating in Vilas,
Oneida, Waukesha, Kenosha, Racine and Rock Counties. Vilas and Oneida Counties operated a
joint program. Funding for the pilot program was eliminated by 1993 Wisconsin Act 16, the 1993-
95 Biennial Budget Act. The pilot program terminated on June 30, 1993.

_ Page 32 Wisconsin Legislative Council Staff




b, Act 98

(1) Funding: Selection of Grant Recipients

Act 98 reinstates the intensive aftercare program and provides $100,000 GPR in 1993-94
and $200,000 GPR in 1994-95 for grants to counties to operate intensive aftercare programs. The
Act specifies that: (a) no county may receive more than $75,000 GPR each calendar year; (b) each
county must provide matching funds equal to 25% of the amount awarded under the grant from
sources other than funding from the intensive aftercare grant; and (c) counties which were operating
intensive aftercare programs on January 1, 1993 under the intensive aftercare pilot program must
receive preference in the award of grants.

(2) Program Reqguirements

Under the program, counties receiving grants are required to: (a) appoint a case manager
to meet with a child placed in a child-caring institution or a secured juvenile correctional facility
to develop an aftercare plan to be impiemented upon the child’s release to the community; (b)
provide all delinquent children who are releascd from a child-caring institution or a secured juvenile
correctional facility with at least one face-to-face supervisory contact per day for a period of not
less than 60 days; and (c) provide intensive aftercare services to children in the program for not
less than 90 days, including tutoring and educational services, vocational training, AODA treatment
and education, family counseling, employment services, recreational opportunities and assistance
with independent living arrangements.

10. Creation of Juvenile Boot Camp Program

a. _Background

Under current law (1993 Wisconsin Act 16), DHSS is required to study residential boot
camp and wilderness challenge programs for juvenile offenders and submit a plan by August 31,
1994, to the Joint Committee on Finance for the establishment of a boot camp and wildemness
challenge program for juvenile offenders to be operated or contracted for by DHSS.

b. Act 98

(1) Design and Purpose of the Program

Act 98 requires the DHSS to provide a juvenile boot camp program for children.

(2) Program Eligibility

Under Act 98, the DHSS may place in the juvenile boot camp program any child whose
legal custody has been transferred to the DHSS under s. 48.34 (4m), Stats., for placement in a
secured juvenile correctional facility.
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(3) Funding: Cost of Operation; Daily Rate

Act 98 provides $624,000 GPR in 1994-95 in the youth aids appropriation and $3,000,000
in GPR-supported bonding for DHSS to establish a beot camp program for juvenile offenders. In
addition, the Act increases the expenditure authority in the juvenile correctional institutions
appropriation by $624,000 program revenue (PR) in 1994-95, with the increased funding placed in
unallotted reserve, subject to release by the Department of Administration (DOA), for the operating
costs of the boot camp.

-

The Act also establishes a new daily rate for the juvenile correctional facilities. The new
rate, applicable only for the first six months of calendar year 1995, is $1718.60 per day. Under
current law, the daily rates charged by the juvenile correctional facilities are: (a) $108.12 per day
for calendar year 1994; and (b) $114.42 per day for the first six months of calendar year 1995.
The calendar year 1994 rate is unchanged by Act 98.

11. Electronic Monitoring of Juveniles

a. Background

Under current law, counties may electronically monitor children who are adjudicated
delinquent and placed in a local intensive supervision program.

b. Act 98

Act 98 authorizes a juvenile court to order electronic monitoring of a child under certain
situations, including:

(1) Pre-disposition monitoring of a child who would otherwise be kept in physical custody;

(2) Monitoring of a delinquent child who is placed under house arrest, in an out-of-home
placement or in a supervised independent living situation; and

(3) Monitoring of a child who is placed on house arrest as a sanction for violating a
delinquency disposition. ' :

I12. Juvenile Forfeitures

a. Background

Under the law prior to Act 98, the maximum amount a child could be ordered to forfeit for
violating a civil law or municipal ordinance was $25. Similarly, a juvenile court could impose a
~ maximum forfeiture of $50 upon a child adjudicated delinquent, except that the court could raise
the maximum amount of the forfeiture by $50 for every subsequent adjudication of delinquency
concerning the juvenile. As continued under Act 9%, current law specifies if a child fails to pay
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a forfeiture ordered for a delinquency disposition or for a violation of a civil law or municipal
ordinance, the court may suspend the child’s hunting or fishing license or the child’s driver’s license
for not less than 30 days and not more than 90 days [ss. 48.34 (8) and 48.343 (2), Stats.].

b. Act 98

Act 98 increases the maximum forfeiture that a municipal court may order a child who has
violated a civil law or a municipal ordinance to pay from $25 to the maximum amount that an
adult may be ordered to forfeit for committing that violation. In addition, the Act increases the
maximum forfeiture that a juvenile court may impose on a child adjudicated delinquent from $50

_to the maximum amount that an adult may be fined for committing that violation. As under
current law, the municipal or juvenile court must: (1) find that the child alone can pay the
forfeiture; and (2) allow the child up to 12 months for payment of the forfeiture.

13. Combination of Restitution With Certain Other Dispositions

Under current law, restitution may be provided only as an alternative to certain other
disposition options. For example, under s. 48.34, Stats., which sets forth the dispositions that may
be imposed on a child adjudicated delinquent, a disposition may not combine the payment of a
forfeiture with the payment of restitution or the repair of damage to property [ss. 48.32 (1) and (it)
and 48.34 (intro.) and (5), Stats.].

Act 98 modifies the combinations of juvenile delinquency dispositions provided under current
law to allow the payment of restitution or the repair of damage to property to be combined with
other dispositions imposed on children alleged to have committed a delinquent act or adjudicated
delinquent as follows:

a._Consent decree. For purposes of a consent decree for a child who is alleged to have
committed a misdemeanor offense, the Act would authorize the court to require the child to make
reasonable restitution, repair damage to property and/or participate in a supervised work or
community service program in addition to other disposition options provided under current law.

b. Disposition of child adjudicated delinquent. For a child who has been adjudicated
delinquent and required to pay a forfeiture, a judge is authorized to require the child to make
reasonable restitution or to repair damage to property, if the child committed an act that resulted
in damage to the property of another person or in physical injury to another person.

14. Dispositions Available if Informal Disposition

Act 98 clarifies that an informal disposition of a matter involving a child under ch. 48,
Stats., may include one or more, rather than “any,” of the seven options available for informal
_ disposition provided under current s. 48.245 (2) (a), Stats. :
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15. Age at Which Child May be Issued a Citation for Municipal Ordinance or Civil Law
Violations

Under the law prior to Act 98, a child aged 14 or older who violated a civil law or
municipal ordinance could be issued a citation [s. 48.17 (2) (b) (intro.), Stats.].

Act 98 reduces the age at which a child may be issued a citation for v1olatmg a civil law
or municipal ordinance from age 14 to age 12.

16. Contempt of Court for Certain Juvenile Offenders

a. Background

Under current law, any child who is adjudicated delinquent and who violates a condition
of a dispositional order may be subject to the following sanctions: (1) placement in a secure
detention facility for up to 10 days; (2) suspension or limitation of the child’s driver’s license for
up to 90 days; (3) home detention for not more than 20 days; and (4) not more than 25 hours of
uncompensated community service in a supervised work program [s. 48.355, Stats.].

b. Act 98

Under Act 98, if a child adjudicated delinquent commits a second or subsequent violation
of a condition specified in the juvenile’s dispositional order, a district attorney may file a
delinquency petition charging the child with contempt of court and reciting the disposition under
$. 48.34, Stats. (the delinquency dispositions under the Children’s Code) sought to be imposed. In
addition, the Act permits the juvenile court judge who imposed the condition that the child is
alleged to have violated to request that the district attoney bring a motion charging the child with
contempt of court. If that judge does request a motion charging a child with contempt of court for
allegedly violating a condition of a dispositional order, he or she is disqualified from holding any
hearing on the contempt petition.

Under the Act, a juvenile court is authorized to find a child in contempt of court only if
the court finds that: (1) the child was previously sanctioned for violating a condition of the
juvenile’s dispositional order; (2) the child, subsequent to that sanction, committed another violation
of a condition of the dispositional order; (3) the court, at the sanction hearing, explained the
conditions of the dispositional order to the child and informed the child of a possible finding of
contempt and the possible consequences of that contempt; (4) the violation is egregious; and (5) the
court has considered less restrictive alternatives and found them to be ineffective.

The Act authorizes a juvenile court, if it finds a child in contempt of court for a second or
subsequent violation of a delinquency dispositional order, to order a dispesition that is available
Jor a delinquent under s. 48.34, Stats. (delinquency dispositions under the Children’s Code).
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I7. Reimbursement of Legal Counsel Costs for Juvenile Cases

The Act modifies the requirement in prior s. 48.275 (2) (a), Stats., for reimbursement by
a parent or guardian of legal counsel costs provided by the state or county in juvenile cases to:
(a) require that reimbursement be ordered by a court and not, as under current law, be ordered only
if the juvenile court or the district attorney moves such an order; and (b) specify that the court may
not order reimbursement until the proceeding is complete or until the state or county is no longer
providing the child with legal counsel in the proceedings. Under prior law, the court could not
order reimbursement until after the child is found delinquent, in need of protective services or all
juvenile court proceedings are complete. Current provisions prohibiting reimbursement if the parent
is the complaining party or if such reimbursement would be unfair are retained in the Act.

The Act also requires the clerk of court in each county to report to the State Public
Defender, within 30 days after each calendar quarter, the total amount of reimbursement determined
or ordered for state-provided counsel during the previous calendar quarter and the total amount
collected for reimbursement oi state-provided counsel costs during the previous quarter. The
reporting requirement first applies to amounts ordered and collected during the calendar quarter
ending December 31, 1993.

18. Victim Attendance at Juvenile Court Hearings

a. Background

Pnder current law, the victim of a child’s act has “the right to attend” a fact-finding
hearing before a juvenile court and hearings before a municipal court relating to the alleged act,
except that a judge may exclude the victim from any portion of a hearing that deals with sensitive
personal matters of the child or the child’s family and which is not directly related to the alleged
act against the victim [s. 48.299 (1) (am), Stats.].

b, Act 98

Act 98 also permits the victim of an act for which a child is adjudicated delinquent to
attend a dispositional hearing before the juvenile court relating to that act, subject to the same
restrictions as under current law for attendance at a fact-finding hearing. The Act also:

(1) Notice. Requires a juvenile court or a municipal court to provide notice to any victim
or alleged victim of a child’s act or alleged act of any hearing that the victim or alleged victim is
entitled to attend.

(2) Statements by victim and others at disposition. Regquires a juvenile court to allow a
victim of a delinquent act that would be a felony if committed by an adult or a family member of
a homicide victim to make a statement (or to submit a written statement to be read to the court)
to the juvenile court before the juvenile court imposes a disposition. The Act: (a) permits the
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court to allow any oither person to make or submit a statement; and (b) specifies that any statement
must be relevant to the disposition.

After a delinquency or a CHIPS finding (CHIPS is an acronym for “children in need of
protection and services™) based on a violation that would be a felony if committed by an adult, the
district attorney or corporation counsel must attempt to contact any known victim or family member
of a homicide victim to inform that person of the right to make such a statement. The district
attorney or corporaiion counsel may mail a letter or form to comply with this requirement. Any
failure to comply with this requirement is not a ground for an appeal of a dispositional order or
for any court to reverse or modify a dispositional order.

These provisions first apply to acts committed by a child on the general effective date of
the Act (i.e., December 25, 1993).

19. Juvenile Court Records: Confidential Information

Act 98:

a. Authorizes a law enforcement agency to request to review juvenile court records for the
purpose of investigating a crime that may fall within a pattern of criminal gang activity.

b. Requires a juvenile court to open for inspection its records relating to any child who has
been found to have committed a gang-related delinquent act that would have been a felony had it
been committed by an adult. Under current law, in general, juvenile court records are not open
for inspection nor are their contents disclosed except by order of the juvenile court [s. 48.396,
Stats.].

c. If a child is adjudicated delinquent for a gang-related felony offense, requires the juvenile
court to notify the principal of a child’s school and the school board of the district in which the
child is enrolled of the fact that the child has been adjudicated delinquent on that basis. Under
prior law, the juvenile court could only notify the school board of the fact that the child was
adjudicated delinquent. Information on the nature of the juvenile’s offense could not be disclosed
[s. 48.396 (7), Stats.}.

d. Eliminates the right of the parents of a child adjudicated delinquent to object to the
release to the school board of the district in which the child is enrolled of the fact that the child
has been adjudicated delinquent. Under prior law, the parents may submit a written objection to
the release of such information to the school board [s. 48.396 (7) (a), Stats.].

e. Clarifies that, although information obtained by juvenile intake workers and disposition
workers in the course of providing intake and disposition services to juveniles is not privileged,
such information is subject to the confidentiality and disclosure provisions contained in the
Children’s Code. Under current law, with few exceptions, information obtained by certain health
care providers and social workers.in the course of a patient’s diagnosis or treatment is privileged
and the patient may prevent that information from being disclosed in a court of law or an
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administrative hearing. Under the Children’s Code, specific confidentiality and disclosure provisions
are provided for records of juveniles |s. 48.396, Stats.].

20. Availability of Counseling: Juvenile Intake Worker Requirement

a. _Background

Under current law, when a juvenile intake worker receives information indicating that a child
should be referred to the juvenile court as delinquent, in need of protection or services or in
violation of a civil law or municipal ordinance, the juvenile intake worker must conduct an intake
inquiry to determine whether the available facts establish prima facie jurisdiction and to determine
the best interests of the child and of the public with regard to any action that may be taken. As
part of the intake inquiry, the juvenile intake worker may conduct multidisciplinary screens and
intake conferences with notice to the child and the child’s parent, guardian and legal custodian [s.
48.24, Stats.].

b. Act 98
Act 98 requires the juvenile intake worker, as part of the intake inquiry, to inform the child
and the child’s parent, guardian and legal custodian that they may request counseling from the staff

of the agency that is responsible for providing dispositional services for the juvenile court. The Act
also requires the disposition staff to offer individual counseling.

21, Continuance of Dispositional Orders Where Extension Hearing is Delaved

In addition to the current 30-day grace period following the expiration of a dispositional
order during which a juvenile court may extend the order [s. 48.365 (6), Stats.], the Act allows the
court to grant a continuance for any period of delay resulting from the inability of the court to
provide notice to a child of an extension hearing due to the child having run away or otherwise
being unavailable for notice.

E. PROVISIONS RELATING TO CHANGES IN THE CRIMINAL CODE AND EVIDENCE
AND PROCEDURE IN CRIMINAL ACTIONS

1, Increased Penalties for Providing Guns to Children

Act 98 increases penalties under s. 948.60 (2), Stats., for people convicted of selling or
giving certain dangerous weapons (firearms, electric weapons, brass knuckles and a number of other
weapons) to children as follows:

a. The selling, loaning or giving of dangerous weapons to a child, which was a Class A
misdemeanor (punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000 or imprisonment not to exceed nine
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months, or both), is increased to a Class E felony (punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000 or
imprisonment not to exceed two years, or both).

b. If a person provides a child with a dangerous weapon, and the child discharges the
firearm and causes death to himself, herself or another, the person who provided the weapon is
guilty of a Class D felony (punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000 or imprisonment not to
exceed five years, or both), instead of a Class E felony as under prior law.

The Act does not affect the various current exemptions to these prohibitions relating to
authorized hunting and supervised target practice.

2. Prohibition Against Armor-Piercing Bullets

Act 98 creates a Class E felony (punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000 or
imprisonment not to exceed two years, or both) for the commission of a crime with a handgun
loaded with armor-piercing bullets that may be fired with a muzzle velocity of 1,500 feet per
second or greater, or while in the possession of armor-piercing bullets that could be fired from a
handgun (as defined in current s. 175.35 (1) (b), Stats.). “Armor-piercing bullets” are defined as
those fired from any handgun that are constructed entirely from one or a combination of the
following: tungsten alloy; steel; iron; brass; bronze; beryllium copper or depleted uranium.

This new provision applies to drug crimes [ch. 161, Stats.] and most Criminal Code
violations (i.e., all except those crimes in ch. 951, Stats., crimes against animals). The Act requires
that any sentence imposed for using armor-piercing bullets be imposed consecutive to any previous
Or current sentence.

3. Attempt to Disarm a Peace Officer

a. Background

(1) Attempt to Commit a Crime;: Penalty

Under current law, with certain exceptions, a person who is convicted of attempting to
commit a felony may be fined or imprisoned up to one-half of the penalty for the completed crime.
The felony crime of disarming a peace officer is punishable by a fine of not more than $10,000
or imprisonment for not more than two years, or both. Under the law prior to Act 98, therefore,
an attempt to disarm a peace officer was punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 or
imprisonment for not more than one year, or both [s. 939.32, Stats.].

In addition to specific offenses set forth in s. 939.32 for attempt, it should be noted that
some crimes have penally provisions for attempts included within the substantive statutes
themselves. For example, s. 943.45, relating to obtaining telecommunications services by fraud,
provides that the penalties apply if the fraudulent charges for services are obtained or are attempted
to be obtained.
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Under current law, an attempt to commit a crime (ie., a felony or a misdemeanor) requires
that:

(a) The actor have an intent to perform acts and attain a result which, if
accomplished, would constitute such crime; and

(b) He or she does acts towards the commission of the crime which demonsirate
unequivocally, under all of the circumstances, that he or she formed that intent and
would commit the crime except for the intervention of another person or some other
extraneous factor [s. 939.32 (3), Stats.].

(2) Disarming a Peace Officer

Under prior law, whoever intentionally disarmed a peace officer who was acting in his or
her official capacity by taking a firearm from the officer without his or her consent was guilty of
a Class E felony (punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000 or imprisonment not to exceed two
years, or both). This prohibition applied to any firearm which the officer is carrying or which is
in an area within the officer’s immediate presence [s. 941.21, Stats.]. For purposes of the Criminal
Code (i.e., chs. 939 to 951, Stats.), “peace officer” is defined to mean any person vested by law
with a duty to maintain public order to make arrests for crime, whether that duty extends to all
crimes or is limited to specific crimes {s. 939.22 (22), Stats.].

b. Act 98

Act 98:

(1) Increases the penalties for attempting to disarm a peace officer by making them the
samne as for the completed crime (i.e., 2 Class E felony, punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000
or imprisonment not to exceed two years, or both).

(2) Broadens the coverage of the crime to apply to the taking of any dangerous weapon
from the officer. For purposes of the entire Criminal Code, “dangerous weapon” is defined to mean
any firearm, whether loaded or unloaded; any device designed as a weapon and capable of
producing death or great bodily harm; any electric weapon, as defined in s. 941.295 (4), Stats.; or
any other device or instrumentality which, in the manner it is used or intended to be used, is
calculated or likely to produce death or great bodily harm [s. 939.22 (10), Stats.].

4. Terrorism Penalty Enhancer

Act 98 creates a “terrorism” penalty enhancer that increases any fine by up to $50,000 and
a term of imprisonment by not more than 10 years for certain acts of terrorism. The penalty
enhancement applies only if all of the following conditions are met:

a. The crime committed is a felony under the Criminal Code.

Information Memorandum 94-] Page 41



b. The felony: (1) causes bodily harm, great bodily harm or death to another; (2) causes
damage to the property of another and the total property damaged is reduced in value by $25,000
or more; er (3) involves the use of force or violence or threat of force or violence.

c. The felony is committed with the intent to influence the policy of any governmental unit
(federal, state or local) or punish a governmental unit for a prior policy decision.

The court or jury is required to find a special verdict that all of the above criteria are met
in order for the enhancement to apply.

The Act specifies that the penalty enhancer does not apply to conduct arising out of or in
connection with a “labor dispute” (which is defined in the Act).

5. Evidence in Criminal Actions: Videotaped Statements of Children and Use of Recorded
Communications

Act 98:

a. Videotaped statements of children. Eliminates a provision in prior law that allowed a
party in a court proceeding to call a child, who had testified on videotape for a preliminary
examination in a felony case, to appear for cross-examination in the preliminary hearing if the party
submitting the videotaped statement did not call the child to testify. Under prior law, if a party
submitted a videotaped statement and did not call the child to appear, the other party had the option
of calling the child to appear for cross-examination [s. 908.08 (5), Stats.].

b. Use of recorded communications. Expands the authorized use of one-party consent
recordings to include solicitation or conspiracy to commit a felony. Under prior law, a recorded
communication, where one-party consents to the recording, may be disclosed only in court
proceedings for dangerous drug felony cases [s. 968.29 (3) (b), Stats.]. For example, if a police
informant consented to wearing a bug or being wiretapped, the recordings could currently be used
in a drug prosecution and, under the Act, also in a case charging the solicitation or conspiracy to
commit a felony.

6. Confinement of Grand Jury Witness for Refusal to Give Testimony or Failure to Appear

Act 98 eliminates the provision in s. 972.08 (3), Stats., that limited confinement of a grand
jury witness to a single offense for refusal or failure to give testimony. Under prior law, if a
witness at a trial or a grand jury or John Doe investigation refused or failed to give testimony,
without cause, the court could order the person confined until he or she agrees to testify or until
the court proceeding is over. However, the witness could not be confined for more than one
separate refusal or failure to appear before a grand jury. Act 98, by deleting s. 972.08 (3), Stats.,
allows confinement for each refusal or failure to appear before a grand jury, though the current one-
year maximum confinement period is retained.
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. PROVISIONS RELATING TQ LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS

1. _Authority of Peace Officers to Make Arrests or Render Assistance

a. Background

Under current law, with certain exceptions, peace officers generally do not have authority
to act outside of their territorial jurisdictions. “Peace officer” is defined to mean any person vested
by law with a duty to maintain public order or to make arrests for crime, whether that duty extends
to all crimes or is limited to specific crimes. One exception to the current law on peace officers
acting outside of their territorial jurisdiction specifies that, for purposes of civil and criminal
Hiability, any peace officer may, when in fresh pursuit, follow a suspected offender anywhere in
the state and arrest the person for violation of any law or ordinance the officer is authorized to
enforce {s. 175.40 (1) (c¢) and (2), Stats.].

b. Act 98

Act 98 provides for another exception, specifying that a peace officer outside of his or her
territorial jurisdiction may arrest a person or provide aid or assistance anywhere in the state if the
criteria under items a to c, below, are met:

(1) The officer is in uniform, on duty and on official business. If the officer is using a
vehicle, that vehicle is a marked police vehicle.

(2) The officer is taking action that he or she would be authorized to take under the same
circumstances in his or her territorial jurisdiction.

(3) The officer is acting to respond to any of the following:
(a) An emergency situation that poses a significant threat to life or of bodily harm.
(b) Acts that the officer believes, on reasonable grounds, constitute a felony.

The Act provides that a peace officer specified in this new exception has the additional
arrest and other authority only if the peace officer’s supervisory agency has adopted policies and
the officer complies with those policies. The Act specifies that in order to allow a peace officer
to exercise authority under the new exception, the peace officer’s supervisory agency must adopt
and implement written policies regarding the arrests and other authority under this new exception,
including at least a policy on notification to and cooperation with the law enforcement agency of
another jurisdiction regarding arrest made and other actions taken in the other jurisdiction.

The Act specifies that for purposes of civil and criminal liability, any peace officer outside
of his or her territorial jurisdiction acting under the new exception is considered to be acting in an
official capacity.
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The Act, if enacted into law, first applies to acts by peace officers on the general effective
date of the new law (i.e., December 25, 1993).

2. Law Enforcement Access to DOC Records

a. Background

Under the current Open Records Law in subch. II of ch. 19, Stats., any person generally has
the right to inspect and copy a public record, unless access to the record is specifically limited or
prohibited by law or unless the custodian of the record demonstrates that the public interest in
nondisclosure outweighs the strong public interest in providing access [s. 19.36, Stats.].

b, Act 98

Act 98 provides that the DOC must give a law enforcement officer access to DOC records
pertaining to probationers, parolees, intensive sanctions participants under s. 301.048, Stats., and
community residential confinement prisoners [s. 301.046, Stats.] who are residing or planning to
reside in the officer’s territorial jurisdiction. “Law enforcement officer” is defined to mean any
person employed by the state or any political subdivision of the state, for the purpose of detecting
and preventing crime and enforcing laws or ordinances and who is authorized to make arrests for
violations of the laws or ordinances he or she is employed to enforce. “Records” has the meaning
given in the Open Records Law (i.e., the definition in s. 19.32 (2), Stats.).

3. Offender Release Information; Compuier Software

Act 98 requires the DOC to obtain computer software and use the software to provide local
law enforcement agencies with information regarding prisoners who have been released to or placed
in the agencies’ jurisdictions. The Act appropriates $50,000 GPR for this purpose.

G. TASK FORCE ON CHILDREN AND FAMILIES

Act 98 requires the Secretary of DHSS to establish a committe¢ to be known as the Task
Force on Improving Services to Children and Families (“Task Force”). The Act specifies that:

1.__Members. The Secretary of DHSS or a designee will chair the Task Force and the
members of the Task Force will be the State” Superintendent of Public Instruction, the
Administrators of the Divisions of Community Services, Economic Support, Health and Youth
Services in DHSS and the Administrator of the Division of Handicapped Children and Pupil
Services in the DPI, or their designees. '

] 2. _Recommendations to Governor. By October 1, 1994, the Task Force must submit
recommendations to the Governor on how to: (a) improve state programs that support collaboration
between schools and social services agencies by using existing resources; (b) coordinate state agency
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operations to reduce barriers to collaboration between schools and social services agencies; and (c)
C deliver services efficiently to children and families by reducing duplication of effort.

3. Report to Governor and Legislature. By January 1, 1995, the Task Force must submit
* a report to the Governor and the Legislature that: (a) describes the barriers to collaboration
between school and social services agencies in serving children and families; (b) analyzes the need
for federal waivers and state law revisions that would enable increased collaboration between
schools and social services agencies in serving children and families; and (c) identifies programs
and funding sources that serve children and families. -
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