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The National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse maintains a collection of state statutes and 
relevant case law covering more than 40 areas of criminal child abuse and neglect. This 
compilation and others listed below represent a unique, comprehensive and up-to-date summary of 
state legislation significant to child abuse prosecution. The collection is updated annually and 
expands with the passage of new state legislation and major appellate decisions. The following 
summaries can be ordered from Publications, American Prosecutors Research Institute, 99 Canal 
Center, Suite 510, Alexandria VA 22314 (FAX: 703/549-6259): 

• Child Abuse Crimes: Criminal Neglect and Abandonment. $4 
• Child Abuse Crimes: Emotional Abuse. $1 
• Child Abuse Crimes: Child Homicide. $1 
• Child Abuse Crimes: Child Pornography. $5 
• Child Abuse Crimes: Child Prostitution. $4 
• Child Abuse Crimes: Physical Abase. $4 
• Child Abuse Crimes: Sexual Offenses. $5 
• Closed Circuit Television (with case law). $4 
• Competency of Child Witnesses (with case law). $4 

• 

• Child Hearsay Laws (with case law). $4 • 
• mv Testing of Sex Offenders. $2 
• Joint Investigations. $4 
• Mandatory Autopsies and Child Death Review Teams. $2 
• Multi-Disciplinary Teams. $4 
• Parental Abduction. $5 
• Protecting the Identity of Child Witnesses. $1 
• Religious Exemptions to Criminal Child Abuse and Neglect. $2 
• Sex Offender Registration. $4 
• Special Statutes of Limitation for Offenses Against Children. $2 
e Support Persons: Guardians Ad Litem and Other Support Persons. $2 
• Special Procedures: Courtroom Closure; Leading Questions; Use of Anatomical Dolls; 

Limiting the Length and Time of Victim Interviews; Speedy Disposition of Child Abuse 
. Cases; Limiting Length of In-Court Testimony. $4 

• Videotaped Testimony and Depositions (with case law). $4 
• Videotaped Statements and Interviews (with case law). $4 

We are especially grateful to Gina Cirincion and Renee Kostick for their assistance with this 
compilation. Thanks also to Amanda Carnevale, Toni Dixon, Holly Streeter, and Kelly Throne for 
their valuable contribution. 
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STATE STATUTES 

Arizona 

Arkansas 

California 

Colorado 

Florida 

Georgia 

Idaho 

Illinois 

Indiana 

Iowa 

Kansas 

Kentucky 

Louisiana 

Maine 

Legislation Authorizing 
HIV Testing of Sex Offenders* 

(Current through December 31, 1993) 

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-1415 (1990) 

Ark. Stat. Ann. § 16-82-101 (1989) 

Cal. Penal Code § 1202.1 (1988) 
Cal. Penal Code § 1524.1 (1989) 

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-3-415 (1993) 

Fla. Stat. Ann. § 960.003 (1992) 

Ga. Code Ann. § 17-10-15 (1991) 
Ga. Code Ann. § 15-11-35.1 (1992) 
Ga. Code Ann. § 31-22-9.1 (1989) 

Idaho Code § 39-601 (1990) 
Idaho Code § 39-604 (1993) 

730 IlL Compo Stat. Ann. § 5/5-5-3(g) (1992) 

Ind. Code § 35-38-1-10.5 (1993) 
Ind. Code § 35-38-1-10.6 (1993) 

Iowa Code § 709B.l. (1993) 
Iowa Code § 709B.2 (1993) 
Iowa Code § 709B.3 (1993) 

Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-2913 (1993) 

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 510.320 (1992) 

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 15:535 (1993) 
La. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. Art. 499 (1991) 

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 19203-A(5) (1991) 
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 19203-E (1993) 

* This compilation includes all statutes (excluding military and tribal statutes) that authorize or 
mandate HIV testing of persons arrested, detained, charged, or convicted for a sexual offense. 
The citation date refers to the year of passage or latest amendment. 
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Maryland 

Michigan 

Minnesota 

Mississippi 

Missouri 

Montana 

Nebraska 

Nevada 

New Hampshire 

New Jersey 

North Carolina 

North Dakota 

Ohio 

Oklahoma 

Oregon 

Pennsylvania 

Rhode Island 

South Carolina 

South Dakota 

Md. Ann. Code art. 27, § 765 (1992) 

Mich. Compo Laws § 333.5129 (1988) 

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 611A.19 (1992) 

Miss. Code Ann. § 99-19-201 (1991) 
Miss. Code Ann. § 99-19-203 (1991) 

Mo. Stat. Ann. § 191.663 (1990) 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-256 (1993) 
Mont. Code Ann. § 50-18-101 (1993) 

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 29-2290 (1991) 

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 441A.320 (1993) 

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 632-A:1O-b (1993) 

N.J. Rev. Stat. § 2A:4A-43.1 (1993) 
N.r. Rev. Stat. § 2C:43-2.2 (1993) 

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-534.3 (1989) 

N.D. Cent. Code § 23-07-07.5 (1989) 

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2907.27 (1989) 
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3701.243 (1989) 

Okla. Stat. tit. 63, § 1-524 (1991) 
Okla. Stat. tit. 63, § 1-525 (1991) 

Or. Rev. Stat. § 135.139 (1989) 
Or. Rev. Stat. § 137.076 (1991) 

35 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 7608 (1990) 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-34-10 (1990) 

S.C. Code Ann. § 16-3-740 (1ge8) 
S.C. Code Ann. § 16-15-255 (1988) 

S.D. Codified Laws § 23A-35B-1 (1993) 
S.D. Codified Laws § 23A-35B-3 (1992) 
S.D. Codified Laws § 23A-35B-4 (1992) 
S.D. Codified Laws § 23A-35B-5 (1993) 
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Texas Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 21.31 (1993) 

• Utah Utah Code Ann. § 76-5-502 (1993) 
Utah Code Ann. § 76-5-504 (1993) 

Virginia Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-62 (1993) 

Washington Wash. Code § 70.24.340 (1988) 

West Virginia W. Va. Code § 16-3C-2(f) (1993) 

Wisconsin Wis. Stat. § 968.38 (1992) 

OTHER LEGISLATION 

Puerto Rico P.R. Laws Ann. tit. 24, § 576 (1988) 

• 

• 
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ARIZONA 

Summary of Legislation Authorizing 
HIV Testing of Sex Offenders 

(Current through December 31, 1993) 

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-1415 (1990) 
A victim or the parent or guardian of a minor victim of a sexual offense or other crime which 
involved "significant exposure" may request the agency responsible for prosecuting the offense 
to request the person arrested to submit to a test for human immunodeficiency virus (mV) 
and to consent to the release of the test result to the victim. 

If a person is convicted of a sexual offense or other crime which involved "significant 
exposure," the prosecuting attorney, if requested by the victim, or, if the victim is a minor, by 
the parent or guardian of the minor, shall petition the court for an order requiring that the 
person be tested by the State Department of Corrections or the Department of Health Services 
for the presence of mv. The court shall determine if there is sufficient evidence indicating 
that "significant exposure" occurred. If the court makes this finding, it shall order that the test 
be performed in compliance with rules adopted by the department of health services. 

The Department of Health Services shall notify the victim and the person tested of the results 
of the test for mv and shall counsel them regarding the health implications cf the results. 
Notwithstanding any other law, test results shall be released only to the victim of the crime 
and the Department of Health Services. 

"Significant exposure" means contact of the victim's ruptured or broken skin or mucous 
membranes with a person's blood or body fluids, other than tears, saliva or perspiration, of a 
magnitude that the Centers for Disease Control has epidemiologically demonstrated can result 
in transmission of mv. 

ARKANSAS 

Ark. Stat. Ann. § 16-82-101 (1989) 
Any person arrested and charged with rape, carnal abuse, sexual misconduct, sexual abuse, 
violation of a minor, or sodomy, may be required by the court having jurisdiction of the 
criminal prosecution, upon a finding of reasonable cause to believe that the person committed 
the offense and subject to constitutional limitations, to be tested for the presence of HIV or 
any antibody of mv, unless the court determines that testing the defendant would be 
inappropriate and documents the reasons for that determination in the court record . 
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If the victim or person with whom the defendant engaged in sexual penetration during the 
course of the crime consents, the court shall provide the person or agency administering the 
test with the name, address, and telephone number of the victim or person with whom the 
defendant engaged in sexual penetration during the course of the crime. After the defendant • 
is tested as to the presence of mv or an antibody to mv, the person or agency administering 
the test shall immediately provide the test results to the victim or person with whom the 
defendant engaged in sexual penetration during the course of the crime, and shall refer the 
victim or other person for appropriate counseling. 

CALIFORNIA 

Cal. Penal Code § 1202.1 (1988) 
The court shall order every person convicted of rape, unlawful intercourse with a female 
under age 18, rape of a spouse, sodomy, or oral copulation, whether or not a sentence or fine 
is imposed or probation is granted, to submit to a blood test for evidence of antibodies to the 
probable causative agent of acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS). Each person 
tested shall be informed of the results of the blood test. 

The results of a blood test to detect antibodies to the probable causative agent of AIDS shall 
be available to the defense attorney and to the prosecuting attorney (for the sole purpose of 
preparing counts for a subsequent offense or sentence enhancement). 

Cal. Penal Code § 1524.1 (1989) 
Notwithstanding provisions of the Health and Safety Code, when a defendant has been 
cbarged by complaint, information, or indictment with a crime, or a minor is the subject of a • 
petition filed in juvenile court alleging the commission of a crime, the court, at the request of 
the victim, may issue a search warrant for the purpose of testing the accused's blood with an 
HIV test. 

Prior to the issuance of a search warrant, the court shall conduct a hearing at which both the 
victim and the defendant have the right to be present. In support of the search warrant, the 
court must fmd probable cause to believe that the accused committed the offense and probable 
cause to believe that blood, semen, or any other body fluid identified by the State Department 
of Health Services in appropriate regulations as capable of transmitting mv, has been 
transferred from the accused to the victim. 

A blood test for HIV shall be SUbjected to appropriate confirmatory tests to ensure accuracy 
of the first test results, and under no circumstances shall test results be transmitted to the 
victim or the accused unless any initially reactive test result has been confirmed by 
appropriate confirmatory tests for positive reactors. 

The local health officer shall have the responsibility for disclosing test results to the victim 
who requested the test and to the accused who was tested. However, no positive test results 
shall be disclosed to the victim or to the accused without also providing or offering 
professional counseling appropriate to the circumstances. The local health officer and victim 
shall comply with all laws and policies relating to medical confidentiality. Any victim who 
receives information from the health officer may disclose the test results as the victim deems • 
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necessary to protect hislher health and safety or the health and safety of hislher family or 
sexual partner. Any person transmitting test results or disclosing information pursuant to this 
section shall be immune from civil liability for any actions taken in compliance with this 
section. 

Test results obtained under this section shall not be used in any criminal proceeding as 
evidence of either guilt or innocence. 

The prosecutor shall advise the victim of hislher right to make a request for an mv test. To 
assist the victim to determine whether to make this request, the prosecutor shall refer the 
victim to the local health officer for prerequisite counseling to help that person understand the 
extent to which the particular circumstances of the crime mayor may not have put the victim 
at risk of transmission of mv from the accused. 

COLORADO 

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-3-415 (1993) 
Any adult or juvenile who is bound over for trial for any sexual offense involving sexual 
penetration, subsequent to a preliminary hearing or after having waived the right to a 
preliminary hearing, or any person who is indicted for or is convicted of any such offense, 
shall be ordered by the court to submit to a blood test for mv. The results of such test shall 
be reported to the court or the court's designee, who shall then disclose the results to any 
victim of the sexual offense who requests such disclosure. Review and disclosure of blood 
test results by the courts shall be closed and confidential. If the person bound over for trial or 
who is indicted for or convicted of any such offense voluntarily submits to the blood test for 
mv, the fact of voluntary submission shall be admissible in mitigation of the sentence if the 
person is convicted of the charged offense. 

FLORIDA 

Fla. Stat. Ann. § 960.003 (1992) 
In any case in which a person has been charged by information or indictment with any sexual 
offense which involves the transmission of body fluids from one person to another, upon 
request of the victim, the victim's legal guardian, or the victim's parent (if the victim is a 
minor), the court shall order such person to undergo HIV testing. 

The results of the mv test shall not be admissible in any criminal proceeding arising out of 
the alleged sexual offense. 

The results of the test shall be disclosed under the direction of the Department of Health and 
Rehabilitative Services to the person charged with the offense, and, upon request, to the 
victim, the victim's legal guardian, or the victim's parent (if the victim is a minor). 

If, for any reason, requested testing has not been undertaken, then upon request of the victim, 
the victim's legal guardian, or the victim's parent, the court shall order the offender to 

• undergo mv testing following conviction. 
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GEORGIA 

Ga. Code Ann. § 17-10-15 (1991) 
A victim or the parent or legal guardian of a minor victim of a sexual offense (rape, sodomy, • 
aggravated sodomy, child molestation, aggravated child molestation, prostitution, solicitation 
of sodomy, incest, or statutory rape), or other crime which involves "significant exposure" 
may request that the agency responsible for prosecuting the alleged offense request that the 
person arrested for such offense submit to a test for the HIV virus and consent to the release 
of the test results to the victim. If the person so arrested declines to submit to such a test, the 
judge of the superior court in which the criminal charge is pending, upon a showing of 
probable cause that the person arrested for the offense committed the alleged crime and that 
significant exposure occurred, may order the test be performed. The cost of the test shall be 
borne by the victim or by the arrested person, in the discretion of the court. 

Upon a verdict or plea of guilty or a plea of nolo contendere to any AIDS transmitting 
crime, the court in which the verdict is returned or plea entered shall require the defendant in 
such case to submit to an mv test within 45 days following the date of the verdict or plea. 

Any person required under this section to submit to the mv test who fails or refuses to 
submit to the test shall be subject to such measures deemed necessary by the court in which 
the order was entered, verdict was returned, or plea was entered to require involuntary 
submission to the mv test. Submission to an HIV test may also be made a condition of 
suspending or probating any part of that person's sentence for the AIDS transmitting crime. 

If a person tested for mv is found to be infected with mv, that determination and the name 
of the person shall be reported to the Department of Human Resources which shall disclose • 
the name of the person, as necessary to provide counseling to each victim of that person's 
AIDS transmitting crime or to any parent or guardian of any such victim or incompetent 
person. 

"Significant exposure" means contact of the victim's ruptured or broken skin or mucous 
membranes with the blood or body fluids (blood, semen or vaginal secretions) of the person 
arrested for such offense, other than tears, saliva, or perspiration, of a magnitude that the 
Centers for Disease Control has epidemiologically demonstrated can result in transmission of 
HIV. 

Ga. Code Ann. § 15-11-35.1 (1992) 
As part of any order of disposition regarding a child adjudged to have committed a delinquent 
act constituting an AIDS transmitting crime (see Ga. Code Ann. § 31-22-9.1 below), the court 
may, in its discretion, and after conferring with the director of the health district, order that 
the child submit to an mv test within 45 days following the adjudication of delinquency . 
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• 
If the child is found to be infected with HIV, that determination and the name of the child 
shall be deemed to be AIDS confidential information and shall be reported to the Department 
of Children and Youth Services and the Department of Human Resources. If necessary, the 
Department of Human Resources may disclose the name of the child to provide coUnseling 
(which the Department shall provide) to each victim of the child's "AIDS transmitting crime" 
or to any parent or guardian of any victim who is a minor or incompetent person, if the 
Department of Human Resources believes the crime posed a reasonable risk of transmitting 
HIV to the victim. 

Ga. Code Ann. § 31-22-9.1 (1989) 
"AIDS transmitting crime" means rape, sodomy, aggravated sodomy, child molestation, 
aggravated child molestation, prostitution, solicitation of sodomy", incest, or statutory rape. 

IDAHO 

Idaho Code § 39-601 (1990) 
"Venereal diseases" include syphilis, gonorrhea, AIDS, AIDS related complexes, other 
manifestations of HIV infections, chancroid and hepatitis B infections. 

Idaho Code § 39-604 (1993) 
All persons who shall be confined in any county or city jail and who are charged with sex 
offenses, drug related charges, prostitution or other charges as recommended by public health 
authorities shall be tested for venereal diseases. 

• If a person is charged with sexual abuse of a child under the age of 16 years, lewd conduct 
with a minor or child under 16, rape or male rape and is tested as required in this section, the 
results of the test shall be revealed to the court upon its request. Upon application to the 
court by the victim, or if the victim is a minor, by the minor's parent, guardian, or legal 
custodian, the court may release the results of the test if the court determines the health or 
safety of the victim may be threatened. The court may impose such conditions on the release 
of the test results as the court deems necessary and just. Whenever a prisoner tests positive 
for HIV antibodies or antigens, the victim of said prisoner shall be entitled to counseling 
regarding HIV, HIV testing in accordance with applicable law, and referral for appropriate 
health care and support services. Said counseling, HIV telting and referral services shall be 
provided to the victim. Provided however, the requirement to provide referral services does 
not, in and of itself, obligate the district health departments to provide or otherwise pay for a 
victim's health care or support services. Any court, when releasing test results to a victim, or 
if the victim is a minor, to the minor's parent, guardian, or legal custodian, shall explain or 
otherwise make the victim or the victim's parent, guardian, or legal custodian, aware of the 
services to which the victim is entitled . 

• 
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ILLINOIS 

730 Ill. Compo Stat. Ann. § 5/5-5-3(g) (1992) 
Whenever a defendant is convicted of prostitution, soliciting for a prostitute, soliciting for a • 
juvenile prostitute, pandering, keeping a place of prostitution, patronizing a prostitute, 
pimping, juvenile pimping, exploitation of a child, criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal 
sexual assault, criminal sexual abuse, or aggravated criminal sexual abuse, the defendant shall 
undergo medical testing to determine whether the defendant has any sexually transmissible 
disease, including a test for infection with HIV or any other identified causative agent of 
AIDS. Any such medical test shall be performed only by appropriate licensed medical 
practitioners and may include an analysis of any bodily fluids as well as an examination of 
the defendant's person. 

Except as otherwise provided by law, the results of such test shall be kept strictly confidential 
by all medical personnel involved in the testing and must be personally delivered in a sealed 
envelope to the judge of the court in which the conviction was entered for the judge's 
inspection in camera. Acting in accordance with the best interests of the victim and the 
public, the judge shall have discretion to determine to whom, if anyone, the results of testing 
may be revealed. 

The court shall order that the cost of any such test shall be paid by the county and may be 
taxed as costs against the convicted defendant. 

INDIANA 

Ind. Code § 35-38-1-10.5 (1993) • 
The court shall order that a person undergo a screening test for mv if the person is 
convicted of a sex crime (rape, criminally deviate conduct, child molesting, child seduction, 
prostitution, patronizing a prostitute, incest), and the crime created an epidemiologically 
demonstrated risk of transmission of mv. 

If the screening test required by this section indicates the presence of antibodies to mv, the 
court shall order the person to undergo a confirmatory test. 

If the confirmatory test confirms the presence of the mv antibodies, the court shall report the 
results to the state department of health and require a probation officer to conduct a 
presentence investigation to obtain the medical record of the convicted person from the state 
department of health, and to determine whether the convicted person had received risk 
counseling that included information on the behavior that facilitates the transmission of HIV. 

Ind. Code § 35-38-1-10.6 (1993) 
The state department of health shall notify victims of sex crimes if the tests conducted under 
§ 10.5 confirm that the person who committed the crime had antibodies for HIV. 
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IOWA 

Iowa Code § 709B.1. (1993) 
As used in this chapter, unless the context otherwise requires: 

"Significant exposure" means contact of the victim's ruptured or broken skin or mucous 
membranes with the blood or bodily fluids, other than tears, saliva, or perspiration of the 
convicted offender. "Significant exposure" is presumed to have occurred when there is a 
showing that there was penetration of the convicted offender's penis into the victim's vagina 
or anus, contact between the mouth and genitalia, or contact between the genitalia of the 
offender and the genitalia or anus of the victim. 

Iowa Code § 709B.2 (1993) 
If a person is convicted of sexual assault, the county attorney, if requested by the petitioner, 
shall petition the court for an order requiring the person convicted to submit to an mv -related 
test, provided that all of the following conditions are met: 
• The sexual assault for which the offender was convicted included sufficient contact 

between the victim and the offender to be deemed a significant exposure pursuant to 
section 709B.1. 

• The authorized representative of the petitioner, the county attorney, or the court sought 
to obtain written informed consent from the convicted offender to the testing. 

II Written informed consent was not provided by the convicted offender. 

Upon receipt of the petition, the court shall: 
• Prior to the scheduling of a hearing, refer the victim for counseling by a victim 

counselor or a person requested by the victim who is authorized to provide the 
counseling required pursuant to section 141.22, regarding the nature, reliability, and 
significance of the mv -related test and of the serologic status of the convicted 
offender. 

• Schedule a hearing to be held as soon as is practicable. 
• Cause written notice to be served on the convicted offender who is the subject of the 

proceeding, in accordance with the rules of civil procedure relating to the service of 
original notice, or if the convicted offender is represented by legal counsel, provide 
written notice to the convicted offender and the convicted offender's legal counsel. 

• Provide for the appointment of legal counsel for a convicted offender if the convicted 
offender desires but is financially unable to employ counsel. 

• Furnish legal counsel with copies of the petition. 

Unless a petitioner chooses to be represented by private counsel, the county attorney shall 
represent the victim's interest in all proceedings under this section. 

A hearing under this section shall be conducted in an informal manner consistent with orderly 
procedure and in accordance with the Iowa rules of evidence. The hearing shall be limited in 
scope to the review of questions of fact only as to the issue of whether the sexual assault for 
which the offender was convicted provided sufficient contact between the victim and the 
offender to be deemed a significant exposure and to questions of law . 
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In determining whether the contact should be deemed a significant exposure, the court shall 
base the determination on the testimony presented during the proceedings on the sexual assault 
charge, the minutes of the testimony or other evidence included in the court record, or if a • 
plea of guilty was entered, based upon the complaint or upon testimony provided during the 
hearing. 

The victim may testify at the hearing, but shall not be compelled to testify. The court shall 
not consider the refusal of a victim to testify at the hearing as material to the court's decision 
regarding issuance of an order requiring testing. 

The hearing shall be in camera unless the convicted offender and the petitioner agree to a 
hearing in open court and the court approves. The report of the hearing proceedings shall be 
sealed and no report of the proceedings shall be released to the public, except with the 
permission of all parties and the approval of the court. 

Stenographic notes or electronic or mechanical recordings shall be taken of all court hearings 
unless waived by the parties. 

Following the hearing, the court may require a convicted offender to undergo an HlV-related 
test only if the petitioner proves all of the following by a preponderance of the evidence: 
• The sexual assault constituted a significant exposure. 
• An authorized representative of the petitioner, the county attorney, or the court sought 

to obtain written informed consent from the convicted offender. 
• ·Written informed consent was not provided by the convicted offender. 

A convicted offender who is required to undergo an HlV -related test may appeal to the court • 
for review of questions of law only, but may appeal questions of fact if the findings of fact 
are clearly erroneous. 

Iowa Code § 709B.3 (1993) 
The physician or other practitioner who orders the test of a convicted offender for HlV under 
this chapter shall disclose the results of the test to the convicted offender and to the victim 
counselor or a person requested by the victim who is authorized to provide the counseling 
required pursuant to section 141.22, who shall disclose the results to the petitioner. 

Results of a test performed under this chapter, except as provided herein, shall be disclosed 
only to the physician or other practitioner who orders the test of the convicted offender, the 
convicted offender, the victim, the victim counselor or person requested by the victim who is 
authorized to provide the counseling required pursuant to section 141.22, the physician of the 
victim if requested by the victim, and the parent, guardian, or custodian of the victim, if the 
victim is a minor. Results of a test performed under this chapter shall not be disclosed to any 
other person without the written, informed consent of the convicted offender. A person to 
whom the results of a test have been disclosed under this chapter is subject to the 
confidentiality provisions of section 141.23, and shall not disclose the results to another 
person except as authorized by section 141.23(1). 

Test results shall not be disclosed to a convicted offender who elects against disclosure. 
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• 
The court shall not consider the disclosure of an alleged offender's serostatus to an alleged 
victim, prior to conviction, as a basis for a reduced plea or reduced sentence. The fact that an 
mv -related test was performed under this chapter and the results of the test shall not be 
included in the convicted offender's medical or criminal record unless otherwise included in 
department of corrections records. The fact that an mv -related test was performed under this 
chapter and the results of the test shall not be used as a basis for further prosecution of a 
convicted offender in relation to the incident which is the subject of the testing, to enhance 
punishments, or to influence sentencing. 

KANSAS 

Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-2913 (1993) 
Upon conviction of a person for any crime which the court determines from the facts of the 
case involved or was likely to have involved the transmission of body fluids from one person 
to another, or involved a sexual act, the court may order the convicted person to submit to an 
mv test or shall order the convicted person to submit to an HIV test if the victim of the 
crime or the parent or legal guardian of the victim, if the victim is a minor, requests the court 
to make such order. If an mv test is ordered, the victim of the crime who is an adult shall 
designate a health care provider or counselor to receive the information on behalf of the 
victim. If the victim is a minor, the parent or legal guardian of the victim shall designate the 
health care provider or counselor to receive the information. If the test results in a negative 
reaction, the court shall order the convicted person to submit to another HIV test six months 
after the first test was administered. 

• The results of any mv test ordered under this section shall be disclosed to the court which 
ordered the test, the convicted person and to each person designated by a victim or by the 
parent or legal guardian of a victim. If an mv test ordered under this section results in a 
laboratory confmnation of mv, the results shall be reported to the secretary of health and 
environment and to the secretary of corrections for inclusion in the convicted person's medical 
file. If the test results in a negative reaction, the court shall order the convicted person to 
submit to another mv test six months after the first test was administered. The court shall 
order the convicted person to pay restitution to the department of health and environment for 
the costs of any counseling provided under this section and for the costs of any test ordered or 
otherwise performed under this section. 

The results of tests or reports, or information therein, obtained under this section shall be 
confidential and shall not be divulged to any person not authorized by this section to receive 
the results or information. 

KENTUCKY 

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 510.320 (1992) 
A defendant charged with an offense pursuant to this chapter which has sexual intercourse or 
deviate sexual intercourse as an element, or has sexual contact as an element when the 
circumstances of the case demonstrate a possibility of transmission of mv, shall upon initial 

• court appearance on the charge, be informed by the judge of the availability of HIV testing. 
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The judge shall also notify the victim of the offense, or parent or guardian of the victim, that 
the defendant has been so notified. 

When a defendant has been convicted of any offense listed above, the sentencing court, • 
regardless of any prior illV test, shall order the defendant to undergo an illV test, undr.;r the 
direction of the Cabinet for Human Resources. 

The result of any illV test conducted pursuant to this section shall not be a public record. 
The result shall only be made available to the victim, or the parent or guardian of a victim 
who is a minor or is mentally retarded or mentally incapacitated, the defendant, the court 
issuing the order for testing and to any other agency as directed pursuant to Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Chapter 214. 

LOmSIANA 

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 15:535 (1993) 
The court shall order a person convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for aggravated rape, 
forcible rape, simple rape, sexual battery, aggravated sexual battery, oral sexual battery, and 
aggravated oral sexual battery to submit to a test designed to determine whether the person is 
infected with a sexually transmitted disease, or is infected with AIDS, illV, illV-l antibodies 
or any other probable causative agent of AIDS. 

The procedure or test shall be performed by a qualified physician or other qualified person 
who shall report any positive result to the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, make 
the notification of the test results to the victim of the alleged offense, and notify the victim or • 
the parent or guardian of the victim of the offense, regardless of the results. 

La. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. Art. 499 (1991) 
A person indicted by a grand jury for a sexual offense shall, at the direction of the court, 
undergo a medical procedure or test designed to determine or aid in determining whether the 
person is infected with a sexually transmitted disease, the AIDS virus, illV-l, any antibodies 
to such viruses, or with any other probable causative agent of AIDS. The court may in its 
discretion provide the results to the victim of the offense, and shall provide them to health 
authorities in accordance with law. The state shall not use the fact that the medical procedure 
or test was performed on the alleged offender under this article, or the results thereof, in any 
criminal proceeding arising out of the alleged offense. 

MAINE 

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 19203-A(5) (1991) 
Informed consent need not be obtained when a victim of gross sexual assault has been 
exposed to the blood or body fluids of the convicted offender and the exposure creates a 
significant risk of infection, provided that a court order has been obtamed under this section. 
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Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 19203-E (1993) 
A person who is the victim of gross sexual assault who allegedly has been exposed to the 
blood or body fluids of the convicted offender may petition the District Court with 
jurisdiction over the convicted offender to require the convicted offender to submit to HIV 
testing. The court may not order a convicted offender to obtain HIV testing unless the 
petitioner has consented to and obtained an HIV test within 6 weeks following the gross 
sexual assault. The court shall schedule a hearing as soon as practicable upon receipt of the 
petition. The court may require the convicted offender to obtain HIV testing if the petitioner 
proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the alleged exposure to blood or body fluids 
of the convicted offender created a significant risk of HIV infection as defined by the 
Department of Human Services; an authorized representative of the petitioner, the prosecuting 
attorney, or the court has sought to obtain written informed consent from the convicted 
offender; and written informed consent was not given by the convicted offender. 

Subsequent testing arising out of the same incident of exposure must be conducted in 
accordance with this section, except that the court is not required but has discretion to order 
subsequent testing under the subsection on determination (5), if the requirements are met. 
Other testing of the convicted offender may not be required except as provided by this 
section. 

MARYLAND 

Md. Ann. Code art. 27, § 765 (1992) 
Upon the written request of a victim to the office of the State's Attorney in the jurisdiction 
where an offense involving a prohibited sexual act occurred, the court shall order an 
individual convicted of committing the offense or being granted probation before judgment 
to furnish a blood sample to be tested for the presence of HIV and any other identifying 
causative agent of AIDS. 

If the individual is charged within 1 year after the offense occurred, upon the written request 
of a victim to the office of the State's Attorney in the jurisdiction where an offense occurred, 
the court may order, upon a finding of probable cause to believe that an exposure occurred, 
an individual charged with the offense to furnish a blood sample to be tested for the presence 
ofHIV. 

The Department of Health and Mental Hygiene shall adopt regulations to implement the 
provisions of this section, including regulations regarding the confidentiality of test results and 
providing victims with counseling regarding HIV disease, HIV testing, and referral for 
appropriate health care and support services. 

The results of any test conducted under this section are not admissible as evidence of either 
guilt or innocence in any criminal proceeding arising out of the alleged offense . 
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MICHIGAN 

Mich. Compo Laws § 333.5129 (1988) 
If an individual is arrested and charged with gross indecency between male persons, gross • 
indecency between female persons, gross indecency between male and female persons, 
soliciting prostitution, admitting to place for purpose of prostitution, engaging or offering to 
engage services of female, aiding and abetting, keeping a house of ill-fame, pandering, 
criminal sexual conduct, or assault with intent to commit conduct involving penetration, or a 
local ordinance prohibiting prostitution, solicitation, or gross indecency, the judge or 
magistrate responsible for setting the individual's conditions of release pending trial shall 
distribute to the individual the information on HIV transmission required to be distributed by 
county clerks and shall recommend that the individual obtain additional information and 
counseling at a local health department testing and counseling center regarding HIV infection, 
acquired immunodeficiency syndrome, and acquired immunodeficiency syndrome related 
complex. Counseling under this subsection shall be voluntary on the part of the individual. 

Upon conviction of a defendant for gross indecency between male persons, gross indecency 
between female persons, gross indecency between male and female persons, soliciting 
prostitution, admitting to place for purpose of prostitution, engaging in or offering to engage 
services of female, criminal sexual conduct, or assault with intent to commit conduct 
involving penetration, the court having jurisdiction of the criminal prosecution shall order the 
defendant to be tested for the presence of HIV or an antibody to HIV. 

Upon conviction of a defendant aiding and abetting, keeping a house of ill-fame, or 
pandering, the court having jurisdiction of the criminal prosecution shall order the defendant 
to be tested for the presence of HIV or an antibody to HIV, unless the court determines that • 
testing the defendant would be inappropriate and documents the reasons for that determination 
in the court record. 

The test shall be confidentially administered by a licensed physician, the department of public 
health, or a local health department. The court also shall order the defendant to receive 
counseling regarding HIV infection, AIDS, and AIDS related complex including, at a 
minimum, information regarding treatment, transmission, and protective measures. 

If the victim or person with whom the defendant engaged in "sexual penetration" during the 
course of the crime consents, the court shall provide the person or agency administering the 
HIV test with the name, address, and telephone number of the victim. The test results shall be 
provided immediately to the victim or person with whom the defendant engaged in "sexual 
penetration" during the course of the crime. 

As used in this section, "sexual penetration" means sexual intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, 
anal intercourse, or any other intrusion, however slight, of any part of a person's body or of 
any object into the genital or anal openings of another person's body, but emission of semen 
is not required. 
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MINNESOTA 

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 611A.19 (1992) 
A sentencing court may issue an order requiring a person convicted of criminal sexual 
conduct to submit to testing to determine the presence of the HIV antibody if the prosecutor 
moves for the test order in camera, the victim requests the test and the evidence exists that the 
broken skin or mucous membrane of the victim was exposed to or had contact with the 
offender's semen or blood during commission of the crime. 

The results are available, on request, to the victim or, if the victim is a minor, to the victim's 
parent or guardian and positive test results shall be reported to the commissioner of health. 
Any test results given to a victim or victim's parent or guardian shall be provided by a health 
professional who is trained to provide counseling. 

MISSISSIPPI . 
Miss. Code Ann. §§ 99-19-201 and 99-19-203 (1991) 
Any person who is convicted of a "sex offense" on or after July 1, 1991, and who is 
sentenced to imprisonment in any state correctional facility shall be tested for HIV (including 
the human immunodeficiency virus or any other identified causative agent of AIDS) and 
AIDS (including acquired immunodeficiency syndrome, AIDS related complex and any 
similar disease) by the State Department of Health upon entering the facility. An offender 
who is confined for more than 90 days shall be tested for HIV and AIDS within 30 days 
before the date of such offender's release. The results of any positive HIV or AIDS test shall 
be reported to the victim of such sex offense. Any positive HIV or AIDS test results shall 
also be reported to the victim's spouse and to the spouse of the person who is convicted of 
such sex offense, if either or both of them are lawfully married. 

The provisions of this section shall not be construed to require either the testing of any person 
convicted of a sex offense prior to sentencing or the testing of such person held in a city or 
county jail awaiting transfer to a state correctional facility. 

"Sex offense" means any offense involving the crime of rape or carnal knowledge of a child 
under 14; sexual battery; seduction of a child under 18; touching of a child for lustful 
purposes; dissemination of sexually oriented material to children; exploitation of children; 
carnal knowledge of a stepchild, adopted child, or child of a cohabiting partner; unnatural 
intercourse. 

MISSOURI 

Mo. Stat. Ann. § 191.663 (1990) 
Any person who is convicted or who pleads guilty or nolo contendere to rape, sodomy, 
sexual abuse, sexual assault, deviate sexual assault, and sexual misconduct, which includes 
sexual intercourse as an element of the crime, shall be ordered by the court to undergo HIV 
testing prior to incarceration without the right of refusal. 
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Any defendant charged with rape, sodomy, sexual abuse, sexual assault, deviate sexual 
assault, and sexual misconduct, which includes sexual intercourse as an element of the crime, 
shall be required to post a minimum bond amount for his/her release prior to trial. The • 
minimum amount shall be sufficient to cover the cost of any post-trial HIV testing ordered by 
the court. 

Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the victim of any sexual offense, which includes 
sexual intercourse as an element, shall have a right to access to the results of any mv testing 
performed pursuant to the provisions of this statute. 

MONTANA 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-256 (1993) 
Following entry of judgement, a person convicted of a sexual offense (sexual assault, sexual 
intercourse without consent, deviate sexual conduct, incest, and sexual abuse of children) must 
be administered standard testing to detect in the person the presence of antibodies indicative 
of mv or other sexually transmitted disease. 

The county attorney of the county in which the person was convicted shall arrange for the test 
and shall release the information concerning the test results to the convicted person and the 
victim of the offense committed by the convicted person, or to the parent or guardian of the 
victim if the victim is a minor. 

Mont. Code Ann. § 50-18-101 (1993) 
"Sexually transmitted diseases" include HIV, syphilis, gonorrhea, chancroid, chlamydia genital • 
infections, lymphogranuloma venereum, and granuloma inguinale. 

NEBRASKA 

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 29-2290 (1991) 
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, when a person has been convicted of sexual 
assault or sexual assault of a child, the presiding judge shall, at the request of the victim as 
part of the sentencing of the convicted person, order the convicted person to submit to an mv 
antibody or antigen test. The results of the test shall be reported to the victim of the sexual 
assault or to the parents or guardian of the victim if the victim is a minor or is mentally 
incompetent. 

The Department of Correctional Services shall adopt and promulgate rules and regulations to 
carry out this section. 

NEVADA 

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 441A.320 (1993) 
As soon as practicable after a person has been arrested for the commission of a crime, or a 
minor is detained for the commission of an act which, if committed by a person other than a 
minor would constitute a crime, which the victim or a witness alleges involved the sexual • 
penetration of the victim's body, the health authority shall test a specimen from the arrested 
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person or detained minor for exposure to the HIV virus and any commonly contracted 
sexually transmitted disease, regardless of whether he or, if a detained minor, his parent or 
guardian, consents to providing the specimen. The agency that has custody of the arrested 
person or detained minor shall obtain the specimen and submit it to the health authority for 
testing. The health authority shall perform the test in accordance with generally accepted 
medical practices. 

The health authority shall disclose the results of all these tests performed to the victim or to 
the victim's parent or guardian if the victim is a minor, and to the arrested person and, if a 
minor is detained, to his parent or guardian. 

If the health authority determines that a victim of sexual assault may have been exposed to 
HIV or any commonly contracted sexually transmitted disease, it shall, at the request of the 
victim, provide him with an examination, counseling, and a referral for health care and other 
assistance, as appropriate. 

"Sexual penetration" includes cunnilingus, fellatio, or any intrusion, however slight, of any 
part of a person's body or any object manipulated or inserted by a person into the genital or 
anal openings of the body of another. 

NEW HAMPSHIRE 

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 632-A:I0-b (1993) 

• The state shall, at the request of a victim of any sexual offense, except violations of § § 
632-A:1O or 632-A:19, administer to any person convicted for such offense, a test to detect in 
such person the presence of the etiologic agent for acquired immune deficiency syndrome. 

• 

The state shall disclose results of a test administered to any person convicted and the victim. 

The state shall provide counseling to the victim and the person convicted for such an offense 
regarding HIV disease, HIV testing for the victim in accordance with applicable law and 
referral for appropriate health care and support services. 

NEW JERSEY 

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 2A:4A-43.1 (1993) 
A court shall order a juvenile charged with delinquency or adjudicated delinquent for an act 
which if committed by an adult would constitute aggravated sexual assault or sexual assault to 
submit to an approved serological test for acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) or 
infection with the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or any other related virus identified 
as a probable causative agent of AIDS. 

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 2C:43-2.2 (1993) 
In addition to any other disposition made pursuant to law, a court shall order a person 
convicted of, indicted for or formally charged with, or a juvenile charged with delinquency 
or adjudicated delinquent for an act which if committed by an adult would constitute, 
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aggravated sexual assault or sexual assault to submit to an approved serological test for 
acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) or infection with the human immunodeficiency 
virus (mV) or any other related virus identified as a probable causative agent of AIDS. The • 
court shall issue such an order only upon the request of the '.,iGtim and upon application of the 
prosecutor made at the 'time of indictment, charge, conviction or adjudication of delinquency. 
The person or juvenile shall be ordered by the court to submit to such repeat or confirmatory 
tests as may be medically necessary. 

As used in this section, "formal charge" includes a proceeding by accusation in the event that 
the defendant has waived the right to an indictment. 

A court order issued pursuant to this section shall require testing to be performed as soon as 
practicable by the Commissioner of the Department of Corrections, by a provider of health 
care or at a licensed health facility. The order shall also require that the results of the test be 
reported to the offender and to the appropriate Office of Victim-Witness Advocacy. 

The Office of Victim-Witness Advocacy shall reimburse the Department of Corrections or 
Department of Health for the direct costs incurred by these departments for any tests ordered 
by a court pursuant to subsection a. of this section. Reimbursement shall be made following a 
request from the department. 

In addition to any other disposition authorized, a court may order an offender at the time of 
sentencing to reimburse the State for the costs of the tests ordered by subsection a. of this 
section. 

Upon receipt of the result of a test ordered pursuant to subsection a. of this section, the Office • 
of Victim-Witness Advocacy shall provide the victim with appropriate counseling, referral for 
counseling and if appropriate, referral for health care. The office shall notify the victim or 
make appropriate arrangements for the victim to be notified of the test result. 

The result of a test ordered pursuant to this section shall be confidential and a health care 
provider and employees of the Department of Corrections, the Office of Victim-Witness 
Advocacy, a health care provider, health care facility or counseling service shall not disclose 
the result of a test performed pursuant to this section except as authorized herein or as 
otherwise authorized by law or court order. The provisions of this section shall not be 
deemed to prohibit disclosure of a test result to the person tested. 

Persons who perform tests ordered pursuant to subsection a. of this section in accordance with 
accepted medical standards for the performance of such tests shall be immune from civil and 
criminal liability arising from their conduct. 

This section shall not be construed to preclude or limit any other testing for acquired immune 
deficiency syndrome (AIDS) or infection with the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or 
any other related virus identified as a probable causative agent of AIDS which is otherwise 
permitted by statute, court rule or common law. 

National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse Page 19 
• 



• 

• 

• 

NORTH CAROLINA 

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-534.3 (1989) 
If a judicial official conducting an initial appearance or first appearance hearing fmds 
probable cause that an individual was exposed to the defendant in a manner that poses a 
significant risk of transmission of the AIDS virus or hepatitis B by such defendant, the 
judicial official shall order the defendant to be detained for a reasonable period of time, not to 
exceed 24 hours, for investigation by public health officials and for testing for AIDS virus 
infection if required by public health officials. 

NORTH DAKOTA 

N.D. Cent. Code § 23-07-07.5 (1989) 
Every individual, whether imprisoned or not, who is convicted of gross sexual imposition, 
solicitation of minors, sexual abuse of wards, sexual assault, fornication, adultery, incest, 
deviate sexual act, or sexual exploitation by a therapist must be examined or tested for the 
presence of antibodies to or antigens of the human immunodeficiency virus. 

The results of any positive or reactive test must be reported to the state department of health 
and consolidated laboratories. 

OHIO 

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2907.27 (1989) 
If a person is charged with rape, sexual battery, or corruption of a minor, the court shall 
cause the accused to be examined by a physician who shall perform or order the performance 
of one or more tests designated by the Director of Health to determine if the accused is a 
carrier of a virus which causes AIDS. The results of the test shall be communicated in 
confidence to the court, and the court shall inform the accused of the result. The court shall 
inform the victim that the test was performed and that the victim has a right to receive the 
results on request. 

If the accused tests positive for a virus that causes AIDS, the test results shall be reported to 
the Department of Health, the sheriff, the head of the state penal or reformatory institution, or 
other person in charge of any jail or prison in which the accused is incarcerated. No other 
disclosure of the test results or the fact that a test was performed shall be made. 

If the test result is negative, and the charge has not been dismissed or if the accused has been 
convicted of the charge or a different offense arising out of the same circumstances as the 
offense charged, the court shall order that the test be repeated not earlier than three months 
nor later than six months after the original test. 

The fact that th~ accused was given a test for a virus that causes AIDS or the results of the 
test shall not be admitted in evidence over the objection of the accused, in a prosecution for 
rape, sexual battery, corruption of a minor, or a different offense arising out of the same 
circumstances as the offense charged. . 
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Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3701.243 (1989) 
The results of an HIV test or the identity of an individual on whom an HIV test is performed 
or who is diagnosed as having AIDS or an AIDS related condition may be disclosed to law 
enforcement authorities pursuant to a search warrant or a subpoena issued by or at the request • 
of the grand jury, a prosecuting attorney, city director of law or similar chief legal officer of a 
municipal corporation, or village solicitor, in connection with a criminal investigation or 
prosecution. 

OKLAHOMA 

Okla. Stat. tit. 63, § 1-524 (1991) 
A licensed physician shall examine persons who are arrested by lawful warrant for the 
offense of rape, forcible sodomy or the intentional infection or attempt to intentionally infect 
a person with HIV, for the purpose of determining if they are infected with a venereal disease 
or a communicable disease including, but not limited to, HIV. The court shall issue an order 
for this examination upon the arraignment of the person arrested for any of the offenses 
specified in this section. 

Any licensed physicians may examine persons who are arrested by lawful warrant for 
prostitution, or other sex crimes not specified above, for the purpose of determining if they 
are infected with a venereal disease or a communicable disease including, but not limited to, 
the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV). Any such examination shall be made subsequent 
to arrest and if the examination is for the human immunodeficiency virus, upon order of the 
court issued at the arraignment of the arrested person. Such person may be detained until the 
results of the examination are known. A determination as to whether or not the person is • 
infected shall not be based on any prior examination. 

Okla. Stat. tit. 63, § 1-525 (1991) 
Except as otherwise provided by law, the prescription and records required by § 524 (above) 
shall not be exposed to any person other than the state commissioner of health or local health 
officer, or when properly ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction to be used as evidence 
in such court, and no information whatever shall be given to any person concerning any 
infected person except to appropriate persons for use in the proper courts of this state. 
Provided, that records of diagnosis and treatment may be transmitted to physicians and to 
health authorities in this and other states upon written request of the person affected. 
Provided further, results of examinations conducted on persons arrested for sexual offenses 
shall be provided to the alleged victim of the crime upon the request of the victim, the parent 
of the victim if the victim is a minor, or upon request of the legal guardian or custodian of 
the victim. 

OREGON 

Or. Rev. Stat. § 135.139 (1989) 
Notwithstanding other provisions of law, upon conviction of a person for any crime in which 
the court determines that the "transmission of body fluids" from one person to another was 
involved or was likely to have been involved, the court shall seek the consent of the convicted • 
person to submit to an HIV test. In the absence of such consent or failure to submit to the 
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test, the court may order the convicted person to submit to an HIV test if the victim of the 
crime, or a parent or guardian of the victim, requests the court to make such an order after the 
victim has been tested for HIV. 

If an HIV test is ordered, the victim of the crime, or a parent or guardian of the victim, shall 
designate an attending physician to receive such information on behalf of the victim. 

If the test results in a negative reaction, the court may order the convicted person to submit to 
another HIV test six months after the first test was administered. 

The result of any HIV test ordered under this section is not a public record and shall be 
available only to the victim, the parent or guardian of a minor or incapacitated victim, the 
attending physician who is licensed to practice medicine, the Health Division, and the person 
tested. 

If an HIV test ordered under this section results in a positive reaction, the individual subject 
to the test shall receive post-test counseling as required by the Health Division, by rule. The 
results of HIV tests ordered under this section shall be reported to the Health Division. 
Counseling as directed by the Assistant Director for Health shall be provided to the victim or 
victims. 

The costs of testing and counseling shall be paid through the compensation for crime victims 
program from amounts appropriated for such purposes. Restitution to the state for such 
payment of the costs of any counseling provided under this section and for payment of the 
costs of any test ordered under this section shall be included by the court in any order 
requiring the convicted person to pay restitution. 

"Transmission of body fluids" means the transfer of blood, semen, vaginal secretions or any 
other body fluids identified by rule of the Health Division, from the perpetrator of a crime to 
the mucous membranes or potentially broken skin of the victim. 

Or. Rev. Stat. § 137.076 (1991) 
When a person is convicted of rape, sodomy, unlawful sexual penetration, sexual abuse, 
public indecency, incest, or using a child in a display of sexually explicit conduct, the person 
shall provide a blood sample at the request of the law enforcement agency attending upon the 
court, whether or not ordered to do so by the court. In a judgment of conviction, the court 
shall order a blood sample to be drawn at the request of the law enforcement agency attending 
the court. If the judgment places the convicted person on probation, the court shall order the 
convicted person to submit to the drawing of a blood sample as a condition of the probation. 

No sample is required to be drawn if the Department of State Police notifies the court that it 
has previously received an adequate blood sample drawn from the convicted person, or the 
court determines that drawing a sample would create a substantial and unreasonable risk to the 
health of the convicted person. 
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PENNSYLVANIA 

35 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 7608 (1990) • 
No court may order the performance of an HIV-related test and allow access to the test result 
unless the court finds, upon application, that the individual whose test is sought was afforded 
informed consent and pretest counseling procedures required by law and the subject refused to 
give consent or was not capable of providing consent, the applicant was exposed to a body 
fluid of the individual whose test is sought and that exposure presents a significant risk of 
exposure to HIV infection. A determination that the applicant has incurred a significant risk 
of exposure to HIV infection must be supported by medical and epidemiologic data regarding 
the transmission of HIV, including, if available, information about the HIV risk status of the 
source individual and the circumstances in which the alleged exposure took place, and the 
applicant has a compelling need to ascertain the HIV test result of the source individual. 

The court shall provide for an expedited proceeding if it is requested by the applicant and the 
application includes verified statements that the applicant has been exposed to a body fluid 
that poses a risk of HIV infection from the individual whose test result is sought, the exposure 
occurred within six weeks of the filing of the application, the exposure involves a 
percutaneous injury to the applicant's skin from a needle stick or other sharp object, contact 
of the applicant's eyes, mouth, or other mucous membrane, contact of chapped or abraded 
skin of the applicant, or prolonged contact of the applicant's skin. An expedited proceeding 
on the application shall be held no later than five days after the court complies with the notice 
requirements. 

RHODE ISLAND 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-34-10 (1990) 
Any person convicted of prostitution and lewdness shall be required to be tested for HIV. No 
consent for such testing shall be required. 

The Department of Health shall be responsible for reasonable costs associated with performing 
and reporting the results of the HIV tests, including the costs of pretest and post-test 
counseling. 

SOUTH CAROLINA 

S.C. Code Ann. § 16-3-740 (1988) 
Within fifteen days of a conviction of any person for a crime involving sexual battery or 
sexual conduct, if the conduct results in exposure of the victim to blood or vaginal or seminal 
fluids of the convicted offender, the solicitor shall require that the convicted offender be 
tested for HIV. The results must be reported to the South Carolina Department of Health and 
Environmental Control and to the solicitor who ordered the test. The solicitor shall notify the 
victim and the convicted sexual offender of the test results. 

The convicted offender shall pay for the test unless he/she is indigent, in which case the cost 
of the test must be paid by the state. 

National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse Page 23 

• 

• 



• 

• 

• 

s.c. Code Ann. § 16-15-255 (1988) 
Any person convicted of committing or attempting to commit a lewd act upon a child under 
14, prostitution, lewdness or buggery, if the violation results in the exposure of the victim to 
blood or vaginal or seminal fluids of the convicted offender, must be tested for HIV. The 
results of the test must be reported to the South Carolina Department of Health and 
Environmental Control, to the convicted offender, and to any person who may have been 
exposed to mv as a direct result of the act leading to the conviction. The convicted offender 
shall pay for the test unless he/she is indigent, in which case the cost of the test must be paid 
by the state. 

SOUTH DAKOTA 

S.D. Codified Laws § 23A-35B-1 (1993) 
"Defendant" is a person held over for trial on a charge of sexual assault; 'Juvenile" is a minor 
charged in juvenile court with being a delinquent child as the result of actions that would 
constitute a sexual assault, an assault or a crime of violence in criminal court. 

S.D. Codified Laws § 23A-35B-3 & 4 (1992) 
A victim of a sexual assault or a law enforcement officer may request in writing to the state's 
attorney that the defendant or the juvenile be tested for mv infection by the department of 
health and that a search warrant be obtained for the purpose of taking a blood sample from 
the defendant or the juvenile for mv testing. The written request shall state that the victim 
or law enforcement officer believes there was an exchange of blood, semen or other bodily 
fluids from the defendant to the victim or law enforcement officer and shall state the factual 
basis for believing there was such an exchange. The court shall hold a hearing at which both 
the victim or law enforcement officer and the defendant or the juvenile may be present. If 
the court fmds probable cause to believe that the defendant or the juvenile committed the 
offense and that there was an exchange of blood, semen or other bodily fluids from the 
defendant or the juvenile to the victim or from the defendant to the law enforcement officer, 
the court may order a search warrant for the purpose of taking a blood sample from the 
defendant or the juvenile for HIV testing. 

A licensed physician designated by the victim or the law enforcement officer to receive the 
results of the test shall notify the victim or the law enforcement officer of the results of the 
victim's of law enforcement officer's test and shall notify the victim or the law enforcement 
officer and the defendant or the juvenile of the results of the defendant's or the juvenile's test 
within forty-eight hours after receipt. The county in which the alleged crime of violence, 
assault, sexual assault or equivalent juvenile offense occurred shall pay for the services of the 
licensed or certified health professionals involved in the counseling and the testing, and a 
defendant, if convicted, shall reimburse the county for the cost of the testing. 

S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 23A-35B-5 (1993) 
All persons involved in carrying out HIV testing in this chapter shall act in a manner that will 
protect the confidentiality of the victim and the defendant or juvenile. The results of the test 
for infection by blood-borne pathogens may not be used to establish a defendant's guilt or 
innocence of the charge and may not be used to determine a juvenile's status as a delinquent 
child. 
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TENNESSEE 

Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-13-521 (1992) 
When a defendant charged with aggravated rape or rape initially appears before a general • 
session, circuit or criminal court judge upon such charge, the judge shall inform such 
defendant of the availability of HIV testing and shall also cause the victim of the offense, or a 
parent or guardian of the victim, to be notified that the defendant has been so notified. 
Upon the conviction of the defendant for such a crime, the court shall, upon the request of 
the victim or a parent or guardian of a victim, order the convicted person to submit to an 
"HIV test." 

Upon the conviction of the defendant for prostitution, the court shall order the convicted 
person to submit to an HIV test. The defendant shall obtain a confirmatory test when 
necessary. 

The result of any "HIV test" ordered by this section is not a public record and shall be 
available only to the victim, the parent or guardian of a minor victim, the attending physician 
of the: defendant and of the victim, the Department of Health, the Department of Corrections, 
and the person tested. 

The cost of testing under this section shall be paid by the department of health, but 
reimbursement to the department for the cost of the testing shall be included by the court in 
any order requiring the convicted person to pay restitution. 

"HIV test" means a test of an individual for the presence of HIV or for antibodies or antigens 
that result from HIV infection, or for any other substance specifically indicating infection with • 
HIV. 

TEXAS 

Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 21.31 (1993) 
A person who is indicted or who waives indictment for sexual assault or aggravated sexual 
assault shall, at the direction of the court, undergo a medical procedure or test designed to 
show or help show whether the person has AIDS or HIV infection, antibodies to HIV, or 
infection with any other probable causative agent of AIDS. The court may direc:t the person 
to undergo the procedure or test on its own motion or on the request of the victim of the 
alleged offense. If the person refuses to submit voluntarily, the court may require the person 
to submit to the test. The person performing the test shall make the test results available to 
the local health authority, and the local health authority shall be required to make the 
notification of the test result to the victim of the alleged offense. 

The state may not use the fact that a medical procedure or test was performed on a person 
under this section or use the results of the procedure or test in any criminal proceeding arising 
out of the alleged offense. 

Nothing in this section would allow a court to release a test result to anyone other than those 
specifically authorized by law. 
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UTAH 

Utah Code Ann. § 76-5-502 (1993) 
A person who has entered a plea of guilty, a plea of no contest, a plea of guilty and mentally 
ill, a plea of not guilty by reason of insanity or has been found guilty of a sexual offense or 
an attempted sexual offense, or a juvenile who is adjudicated to have violated or attempted to 
violate state law prohibiting a sexual offense, shall be required to submit to a mandatory test 
upon the request of the victim or the parent or legal guardian of the minor victim or victim of 
a sexual offense within six months of conviction to determine if the offender is HIV positive. 

Utah Code Ann. § 76-5-504 (1993) 
The Department of Health shall provide the victim who requests testing of the convicted 
sexual offender's mv status counseling regarding mv disease and referral for appropriate 
health care. The Department of Health may disclose to the victim the results of the convicted 
sexual offender's HIV status. 

VIRGINIA 

Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-62 (1993) 
As soon as practicable following arrest, the attorney for the Commonwealth may request, 
after consultation with any victim, that any person charged with any crime involving sexual 
assault pursuant to this article or any offenses against children (including crimes against 
nature, incest, taking indecent liberties with children, and taking indecent liberties with child 
by person in custodial or supervisory relationship) be requested to submit to mv testing. The 
person so charged shall be counseled about the meaning of the test, about AIDS, and about 
the transmission and prevention of mv. If the person so charged refuses to submit to the 
test, the court with jurisdiction of the case shall, after a finding of probable cause that the 
individual has committed the crime with which he is charged, order the accused to undergo 
testing for infection with mv. 

Upon conviction, or adjudication as delinquent in the case of a juvenile, of any crime 
involving sexual assault pursuant to this article or any offenses against children, as listed 
above, the attorney for the Commonwealth may, after consultation with any victim and, upon 
the request of any victim shall, request and the court shall order the defendant to submit to 
testing for infection with mv. 

Confirmatory tests shall be conducted before any test result shall be determined to be positive. 
The results of the tests for mv shall be confidential; however, the Department of Health shall 
also disclose the results to any victim and offer appropriate counseling. The results of such 
tests shall not be admissible as evidence in any criminal proceeding. The costs of such tests 
shall be paid by the Commonwealth and taxed as part of the cost of such criminal 
proceedings. ' 
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WASHINGTON 

Wash. Code § 70.24.340 (1988) 
Local health departments shall conduct or cause to be conducted pretest counseling, HIV • 
testing, and post-test counseling of all persons convicted of a sexual offense, or of 
prostitution or offenses relating to prostitution, as soon as possible after sentencing. Such 
testing shall be so ordered by the sentencing judge. 

WEST VIRGINIA 

W. Va. Code § 16-3C-2(f) (1993) 
The court having jurisdiction of the criminal prosecution shall order that an mv -related test 
be performed on any persons convicted of prostitution, sexual abuse, sexual assault, incest, or 
molestation. A person convicted of such offenses shall be required to undergo HIV -related 
testing and counseling immediately upon conviction and the court shall not release such 
convicted person such convicted person from custody and shall revoke any order admitting the 
defendant to bail until mv -related testing and counseling have been performed. The test 
result is made part of the court record; if the convicted person is placed in the custody of the 
department of corrections, the court shall transmit a copy of the test results to the division of 
corrections. The results shall be closed and confidential and disclosed by the court only to the 
subject of the test and the victim of the crimes of sexual abuse, sexual assault, incest or sexual 
molestation at the request of the victim or the victim's legal guardian, or of the parent or 
legal guardian of the victim if the victim is an infant where disclosure of the mv -related test 
results of the convicted sex offender are requested. 

The performance of any mv -related testing that is or becomes mandatory shall not require 
consent of the subject but will include counseling. 

WISCONSIN 

Wis. Stat. § 968.38 (1992) 
In a criminal action for sexual assault, sexual assault of a child, sexual exploitation of a child, 
or incest with a child, the district attorney shall apply to the court for his or her county to 
order the defendant to submit to a test or a series of tests administered by a health care 
professional to detect the presence of mv or a sexually transmitted disease to disclose the 
results of the tests as specified in this section. The district attorney must show probable cause 
to believe that the defendant has significantly exposed the alleged victim or victim, and that 
the alleged victim or victim who is not a minor or the parent or guardian of the alleged victim 
or victim who is a minor requests the district attorney to so apply for an order. The court is 
not required to order the defendant to submit to an mv test under this section if the court 
finds substantial reason relating to the health or life of the defendant not to do so and states 
the reason on the record. 

The district attorney may apply for an order under this section at or after the initial 
appearance and prior to the preliminary examination, if the, defendant waives the preliminary 
examination, at any time after the court binds the defendant over for trial and before a verdict 
is rendered, and if the defendant is convicted, before 53 days after conviction. 
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The court shall require the health care professional who performs the test to refrain from 
disclosing the test results to the defendant and to disclose the results of the test to the alleged 
victim or victim if not a minor, to the parent or guardian of the alleged victim or victim if a 
minor and if the court determines that it is in the alleged victim or victim's best interests that 
the parent or guardian receive this information, and the health care professional who provides 
care to the alleged victim or victim, upon request by the alleged victim or victim, or if the 
alleged victim or victim is a minor, by the parent or guardian of the alleged victim or victim. 

OTHER LEGISLATION 

PUERTO RICO 

P.R. Laws Ann. tit. 24, § 576 (1988) 
In every case of rape, incest or sodomy, the magistrate shall direct that the convicted person 
be submitted to examinations to detect the mv virus . 
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National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse 

The National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse was founded by the American 
Prosecutors Research Institute in 1985 in response to dramatic increases in child abuse cases 
reported to law enforcement. Its mission is to improve the investigation and prosecution of child 
abuse through professional specialization, court reform and interagency coordination. 

By demanding full accountability for the crime of child abuse along with comprehensive 
support services for the child, the Center reflects the commitment of prosecutors to a particularly 
vulnerable group of victims. The Center is serving prosecutors' needs by providing: 

Expert training and technical assistance through national and regional training 
conferences, on-site visits and phone consultations. Experienced trial and staff attorneys review 
cases, offer strategic guidance and forward up-to-date litigation and background documents in 
response to over 3,000 callers each year. In-depth training is provided to interdisciplinary 
audiences at some 70 conferences per year. 

Clearinghouse on child abuse case law, statutory initiatives, court reforms and trial 
strategies. The Center maintains the only comprehensive collection of criminal child abuse case 
law and statutes--a continually updated and expanded resource. Written materials are supplemented 
by computer access to legal, medical and social service data bases. 

Authoritative publications including the highly acclaimed guide, Investigation and 
Prosecution of Child Abuse, the informative monthly newsletter, Update, and a monograph series 
examining special issues. 

Research on reducing trauma in court for child sexual abuse victims, child abuse fatalities, 
drug-affected children and parental abduction. The Center works closely with researchers, local 
prosecutors and specialists in exploring new avenues to protect children from abuse. 

For information, write or call the National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse, 
American Prosecutors Research Institute, 99 Canal Center, Suite 510, Alexandria, VA 22314, 
703/739-0321. FAX: 703/549-6259. 




