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The National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse maintains a collection of state statutes and 
relevant case law covering more than 40 areas of criminal child abuse and neglect. This 
compilation and others listed below represent a unique, comprehensive and up-to-date summary of 
state legislation significant to child abuse prosecution. The collection is updated annually and 
expands with the passage of new state legislation and major appellate decisions. The following 
summaries can be ordered from Publications, American Prosecutors Research Institute, 99 Canal 
Center, Suite 510, Alexandria VA 22314 (FAX: 703/549-6259): 

• Child Abvse Crimes: Criminal Neglect and Abandonment. $4 
• Child Abuse Crimes: Emotional Abuse. $1 
• Child Abuse Crimes: Child Homicide. $1 
• Child Abuse Crimes: Child Pornography. $5 
• Child Abuse Crimes: Child Prostitution. $4 
• Child Abuse Crimes: Physical Abuse. $4 
• Child Abuse Crimes: Sexual Offenses. $5 
• Closed Circuit Television (with case law). $4 
• Competency of Child Witnesses (with case law). $4 

• 

• Child Hearsay Laws (with case law). $4 
• HIV Testing of Sex Offenders. $2 • 
• Joint Investigations. $4 
• Mandatory Autopsies and Child Death Review Teams. $2 
• Multi-Disciplinary Teams. $4 
• Parenta! Abduction. $5 
• Protecting the Identity of Child Witnesses. $1 
• Religious Exemptions to Criminal Child Abuse and Neglect. $2 
• Sex Offender Registration. $4 
• Special Statutes of Limitation for Offenses Against Children. $2 
• Support Persons: Guardians Ad Litem and Other Support Persons. $2 
• Special Procedures: Courtroom Closure; Leading Questions; Use ·of Anatomical Dolls; 

Limiting the Length and Time of Victim Interviews; Speedy Disposition of Child Abuse 
Cases; Limiting Length of In-Court Testimony. $4 

• Videotaped Testimony and Depositions (with case law). $4 
• Videotaped Statements and Interviews (with case law). $4 

We are especially grateful to Gina Cirincion and Renee Kostick for their assistance with this 
compilation. Thanks also to Amanda Carnevale, Toni Dixon, Holly Streeter, and Kelly Throne for 
their valuable contribution. 

Project Coordinator' Charles Phipps 
Staff Attorney 
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STATE STATUTES 

Alabama 

Arizona 

Arkansas 

California 

Colorado 

Florida 

Hawaii 

Idaho 

Illinois 

Legis~ation Requiring Sex Offenders 
to Register With a Government Agency* 

(Current through December 31, 1993) 

Ala. Code § 13A-11-200 (1975) 
Ala. Code § 13A-11-201 (1975) 
Ala. Code § 13A-11-202 (1975) 

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-3821 (1993) 
Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-3822 (1985) 
Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-3823 (1985) 

Ark. Code Ann. § 12-12-902 (1987) 
Ark. Code Ann. § 12-12-904 (1987) 
Ark. Code Ann. § 12-12-906 (1987) 
Ark. Code Ann. § 12-12-908 (1987) 
Ark. Code Ann. § 12-12-909 (1987) 

Cal. Penal Code § 290 (1993) 
Cal. Penal Code § 290.5 (1961) 

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-3-411(1) (1991) 
Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-3-412.5 (1991) 

Fla. Stat. Ann. § 943.325 (1990) 

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 706-603 (1991) 

Idaho Code § 18-8303 (1993) 
Idaho Code § 18-8304 (1993) 
Idaho Code § 18-8305 (1993) 
Idaho Code § 18-8306 (1993) 
Idaho Code § 9-340(11)(f) (1993) 

730 Ill. Compo Stat. Ann. § 150/2 (1992) 
730 Ill. Compo Stat. Ann. § 150/3 (1992) 
730 Ill. Compo Stat. Ann. § 15016 (1992) 
730 Ill. Compo Stat. Ann. § 15017 (1992) 
730 Ill. Compo Stat. Ann. § 150/8 (1992) 
730 Ill. Compo Stat. Ann. § 150/9 (1992) 

* This compilation includes all statutes (excluding military and tribal statutes) that require 
convicted sexual offenders to register in some manner with a central registry or with local law 
enforcement. The citation date refers to the date of passage or latest amendment. 
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Louisiana 

Maine 

Minnesota 

-Missouri 

Montana 

Nevada 

New Hampshire 

Ohio 

Oklahoma 

Oregon 

Rhode Island 

South Dakota 

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 15:535 (1991) 
La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 15:546 (1992) 
La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 15:549 (1992) 

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 34-A § 11002 (1993) 
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 34-A § 11003 (1993) 

Minn. Stat. § 243.166 (1993) 

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 43.506 (1991) 
Mo. Rev. Stat. § 650.055 (1991) 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-502 (1991) 
Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-504 (1989) 
Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-505 (1989) 
Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-506 (1989) 

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 207.151 (1991) 
Nev. Rev. Stat. § 207.152 (1993) 
Nev. Rev. Stat. § 207.154 (1993) 
Nev. Rev. Stat. § 207.155 (1993) 
Nev. Rev. Stat. § 207.156 (1961) 

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 632-A: 11 (1993) 
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 632-A:12 (1992) 
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 632-A:14 (1992) 
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 632-A:15 (1992) 
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 632-A:16 (1993) 
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 632-A:17 (1992) 

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2950.01 (1974) 
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2950.02 (1963) 
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2950.06 (1963) 

Okla. Stat. tit. 57, § 582 (1993) 
Okla. Stat. tit. 57, § 583 (1989) 
Okla. Stat. tit. 57, § 584 (1991) 

Or. Rev. Stat. § 181.518 (1991) 
Or. Rev. Stat. § 181.519 (1991) 
Or. Rev. Stat. § 181.555 (1981) 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-37-16 (1992) 

S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 23-5-14 (1990) 
S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 23-5-15 (1990) 
S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 23-5-7 (1990) 
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Tennessee 

Texas 

Utah 

Washington 

Tenn. Code Ann. § 38-6-110 (1989) 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 38-6-113 (1991) 

Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. art. 6252-13c.1 (1993) 

Utah Code Ann. § 77-27-21.5 (1992) 

Wash. Rev. Code § 9A.44.130 (1991) 
Wash. Rev. Code § 9A.44.140 (1991) 
Wash. Rev. Code § 4.24.550 (1990) 
Wash. Rev. Code § 10.77.207 (1990) 
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ALABAMA 

Summary of Legislation Requiring Sex 
Offenders to Register With a Government Agency 

(Current through December 31, 1993) 

Ala. Cade § 13A-1l-20(; (1975) 
If any perscn, except a delinquent child residing in Alabama, has been or shall be convicted 
in any state or lUurucipal court in Alabama or has been convicted in another state in any court 
having jurisdiction similar to the jurisdiction of state and municipal courts in Alabama, for 
any of the offenses hereinafter enumerated, such person shall, upon his or her release from 
legal custody, register with the sheriff of the county of hislher legal residence within 30 days 
following such release. 

The offenses referred to are generally any act of sexual perversion involving a member of the 
same or opposite sex; any sexual abuse of any member of the same or opposite sex; any 
attempt to commit either of these acts; and without limiting the generality of the above 
statement, shall include specifically: rape, sexual misconduct, sodomy, indecent exposure, 
promoting prostitution, obso~nity, incest, or the attempt to commit any of these offenses. 

Ala. Code § 13A-1l-201 (1975) 
The sheriff of each county in Alabama shall maintain a register or roster of the names of all 
persons registered by himlher under this article. This register shall only be open to inspection 
by duly constituted law enforcement officers. 

Ala. Code § 13A-1l-202 (1975) 
The Alabama Department of Public Safety shall maintain a register or roster of the names of 
all persons registered, which shall be open only to inspection by duly constituted law 
enforcement officers or agencies. 

ARIZONA 

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-3821 (1993) 
"Sex offense" means indecent exposure, public sexual indecency, sexual abuse, sexual conduct 
with a minor, sexual assault, sexual assault of a spouse, adultery, molestation of a child, crime 
against nature, lewd and lascivious acts, or commercial sexual exploitation of a minor. 

A person who has been convicted of a sex offense, or who has been convicted of an offense 
committed in another jurisdiction which if committed in this state would constitute one of 
these offenses shall within 30 days after the conviction, or within 30 days after entering any 
county of Arizona for the purpose of residing or setting up a temporary domicile for 30 days 
or more, register with the sheriff of the county in which helshe resides or sets up a temporary 
domicile. 

At the time of registering, the person shall sign a statement in writing giving such information 
as required by the director of the department of public safety. The sheriff shall fingerprint 
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and photograph the person and within three days thereafter shall send copies of the statement, 
fingerprints and photographs to the criminal identification section within the department of 
public safety and the chief of police, if any, of the place where the person resides. 

The clerk of the superior court in the county in which a person has been convicted of a sex 
offense shall notify the sheriff in that county of the conviction within 30 days after entry of 
the judgment. 

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-3822 (1985) 
Upon changing hislher address within a county, a person required to register under 
§ 13-3821 (above) shall promptly inform the sheriff in writing of hislher new address. 

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-3823 (1985) 
Except for use by law enforcement officers and for dissemination as provided by law, a 
statement, photograph or fingerprint required in this section shall not be made available to any 
person. 

ARKANSAS 

Ark. Code Ann. § 12-12-902 (1987) 
"Habitual child sex offender" includes any person who after August 1, 1987, is convicted a 
second or subsequent time in separate criminal actions for the commission of any "sex 
offense" against a child. Upon such conviction, the court shall certify that the person is a 
habitual child sex offender and shall include this certification in the order of commitment. 

• 

Convictions which result from or are connected with the same act, or result from offenses • 
committed at the same time, shall be counted as one conviction. Any conviction set aside 
pursuant to law is not a conviction for purposes of this section. A conviction from another 
state shall constitute a conviction for purposes of this subchapter. 

"Sex offense" means: (1) rape, carnal abuse, sexual abuse, violation of a minor, or incest 
when the victim is under 18 years of age; (2) a violation of any former law of this state 
which is substantially equivalent to one of these and (3) a conviction for an offense of the law 
of another state which is substantially equivalent to one of the above listed offenses. 

Ark. Code Ann. § 12-12-904 (1987) 
Any habitual child sex offender shall register with the chief of police of the municipality in 
which he/she resides within 30 days of hislher coming into any county in which he/she resides 
or is temporarily domiciled for more than 30 days. In the event no police chief exists or if 
the habitual sex offender resides in an unincorporated area, he/she shall register with the 
sheriff of the county. 

If any person required to register under this subchapter changes hislher residence address, 
he/she shall inform the law enforcement agency with whom he/she last registered of hislher 
new address, in writing, within 10 days. 
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The law enforcement agency shall, within 3 days of receipt of the new address, forward this 
information to the Arkansas State Police and to the law enforcement agency having 

• jurisdiction of the new place of residence. 

• 

• 

Ark. Code Ann. § 12-12-906 (1987) 
Any person required to register under this subchapter shall be required to register for a period 
of 10 years after conviction if not confined to a penal institution, psychiatric residential care 
facility or mental hospital, or any other institution or facility to which the person is confined 
for treatment related to registrable offenses at the expiration of 10 years after paroled, 
discharged, or released from any such facility. 

Liability for registration terminates at the expiration of 10 years from the date of conviction if 
not confmed to a penal institution, psychiatric residential care facility or mental hospital, or 
any other institution or facility to which the person is confined for treatment related to 
registrable offenses, or at the expiration of 10 years from the date of parole, discharge, or 
release from any such facility, if the convicted habitual child sex offender does not again 
become liable to register under the provisions of tins subchapter during that period. 

Ark. Code Ann. § 12-12-908 (1987) 
Any habitual child sex offender registered under § 12-12-904 (above) may apply to the circuit 
court in this state having jurisdiction over the county in which the offender resides for an 
order relieving him/her of the duty of further registration. The court shall hol,d a hearing on 
the application at which the applicant and any interested party may present witnesses and 
other evidence. If, after the hearing, the court finds by a preponderance of the evidence that 
the habitual child sex offender is rehabilitated, the court shall grant an order relieving himlher 
of the duty of further registration. 

Ark. Code Ann. § 12-12-909 (1987) 
The statements or any other information required by this section shall not be open to 
inspection by the public and specifically are not subj ect to the provisions of the Arkansas 
Freedom of Information Act, nor may this data be obtained by any person other than a law 
enforcement officer or other individual as may be authorized specifically by law. 

CALIFORNIA 

Cal. Penal Code § 290 (1993) 
"Sex offense" means rape, assault with intent to commit rape, sodomy or oral copulation, 
enticing or abducting a person under 18 for purposes of prostitution, incest, sodomy, lewd or 
lascivious acts with a child under 14, oral copulation, continuous sexual abuse of a child, 
object rape, molesting a child under 18, any offense involving lewd and lascivious conduct, 
sending harmful matter with intent to seduce a minor, or rape of a person who is the spouse 
of the perpetrator involving the use of force or violence for which the person is sentenced to 
state prison. 

"Mentally disordered sex offender" includes any person who has been determined to be a 
sexual psychopath or a mentally disordered sex offender under a provision of Div. 6 of the 
Welfare and Institutions Code which was in effect on January 1, 1976. 
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Any person who, since July 1, 1944, has been or is hereafter convicted in California, of a 
"sex offense;" or any person who has been or is hereafter convicted of the attempt to commit 
a sex offense; or any person who is discharged or paroled from a penal institution where he or • 
she was confined because of the commission or attempt to commit a sex offense, or who is 
determined to be "mentally disordered sex offender", or any person who is convicted in any 
other state of any offense which if committed or attempted in this state, would have been 
punishable as one or more of the above-mentioned offenses, shall, within 30 days after the 
effective date of this section or within 14 days of coming into any county or city in which he 
or she temporarily resides or is domiciled for that length of time, register with either the chief 
of police of the city in which he or she is domiciled or with the sheriff of the county if he or 
she is domiciled in an unincorporated area. He or she shall also register with the chief of 
police of a campus of the University of California, or the California State University if he or 
she is domiciled upon the campus or in any of its facilities. 

The registration shall consist of a statement in writing signed by the person, giving 
information as may be required by the Department of Justice, and the fingerprints and 
photograph of the person. Within three days thereafter, the registering law enforcement 
agency or agencies shall forward the statement, fingerprints, and photographs to the 
Department of Justice. The statements, photographs, and fingerprints required by this section 
shall not be open to inspection by the public or by any person other than a regularly 
employed peace or other law enforcement officer. 

If any person required to register changes his or her residence address, the person shall inform 
in writing, within 10 days, the law enforcement agency or agencies with whom he or she last 
registered of the new address. The law enforcement agency or agencies shall, within 3 days • 
after receipt of this information, forward it to the California Department of Justice. The 
Department of Justice shall forward appropriate registration data to the law enforcement 
agency or agencies having local jurisdiction of the new place of residence. 

Cal. Penal Code § 290.5 (1961) 
A person required to register may petition for a certificate of rehabilitation. Upon obtaining a 
certificate of rehabilitation, the person shall be relieved of any further duty to register. Such 
certificate shall not relieve petitioner of the duty to register for any offense subject to that 
section of which he/she is convicted in the future. 

COLORADO 

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-3-411(1) (1991) 
"Unlawful sexual offense" means sexual assault when the victim at the time of the 
commission of the act is a child less than 15 years of age; sexual assault on a child, sexual 
assault on a child by one in a position of trust, aggravated incest, trafficking in children, 
sexual exploitation of a child, procurement of a child for sexual exploitation, soliciting for 
child prostitution, pandering of a child, procurement of a child, keeping a place of child 
prostitution, pimping of a child, inducement of child prostitution, patronizing a prostituted 
child, or criminal attempt, conspiracy, or solicitation to commit any of these acts. 
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Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-3-412.5 (1991) 
On and after July 1, 1991, any person who is convicted in Colorado of an unlawful sexual' 
offense or enticement of a child and any person who has been convicted on and after July 1, 
1991 in any other state of an offense which, if committed in Colorado, would constitute an 
unlawful sexual offense or enticement of a child, or any pe:rson who is released from the 
custody of the Department of Corrections having completed serving a sentence for an 
unlawful sexual offense, shall be required to register. 

Each person who is required to register shall, within 7 calendar days of becoming a temporary 
or permanent resident in the state of Colorado, register with the local law enforcement agency 
in the place of the person's temporary or permanent residence by completing a registration 
foml provided to the person by the local law enforcement agency. The registration form shall 
contain the information regarding the person as shall be required by the local law enforcement 
agency. Any person who is required to register shall be required to register each time the 
person changes hislher temporary or permanent address, regardless of whether the person has 
moved to a new address within the jurisdiction of the law enforcement agency with which the 
person previously registered. 

The Director of the Colorado Bureau of Investigation may establish a central registry of 
persons required to register pursuant to this section as soon as computerized resources are 
available. The forms completed by persons required to register pursuant to this section shall 
be confidential and shall not be open to inspection by the public or any person other than any 
law enforcement officer. 

Any person required to register may petition the district court for an order which discontinues 
the requirement for the registration as follows: (1) if the offense which required the person to 
register constituted or would constitute a class 1, 2, or 3 felony, after a period of 20 years 
from the date of the person's final release from the jurisdiction of the court for the offense, if 
the person has not subsequently been convicted of any unlawful sexual offense; (2) if the 
offense which required the person to register constituted or would constitute a class 4, 5, or 6 
felony, after a period of 10 years from the date of the person's final release from the 
jurisdiction of the court for the offenses, if the person has not subsequently been convicted of 
any unlawful sexual offense; (3) if the offense which required the person to register 
constituted or would constitute a misdemeanor, after a period of 5 years from the date of the 
person's final release from the jurisdiction of the court for t:.e offense, if the person has not 
subsequently been convicted of any unlawful sexual offense. 

FLORIDA 

Fla. Stat. Ann. § 943.325 (1990) 
Any person convicted on or after July 1, 1990 of any offense or attempted offense relating to 
sexual battery, or lewd and lascivious conduct, shall, upon conviction, be required to submit 
two specimens of blood to a Department of Law Enforcement designated testing facility. The 
testing facility shall analyze the specimen to determine genetic markers and characteristics for 
the purpose of individual identification of the person submitting the sample. . 
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The analysis shall be entered into the automated data base maintained by the Department of 
Law Enforcement for such purpose, and shall not be included in the state central criminal 
justice information repository. 

The Department of law enforcement and the statewide criminal laboratory analysis system 
shall establish, implement and maintain a statewide automated person identification system 
capable of classifying, matching, and storing analyses of DNA and other biological molecules. 
The system shall be available to all criminal justice agencies. 

HAWAII 

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 706-603 (1991) 
After entry of a plea of guilty or no contest or return of a verdict of guilty, the court shall 
order a defendant who has been convicted of a sex offense, including attempts, to provide a 
sample of saliva and two samples of blood for the purpose of secretor status, blood type, and 
DNA analysis. The results shall be recorded, preserved, and disseminated in a manner 
established by the Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center. 

IDAHO 

Idaho Code § 18-8303 (1993) 
The provisions of this chapter shall apply to any person who: (a) on or after July 1, 1993, 
pleads guilty to or is found guilty of the crime, or an attempt, a solicitation, or a conspiracy 

• 

to commit sexual abuse of a child under 16 years of age, ritualized abuse of a child, sexual • 
exploitation of a child, possession of sexually exploitative material for other than for a 
commercial purpose, lewd conduct with a minor child, sexual battery of a minor child 16 or 
17 years of age, rape, male rape, crime against nature, or forcible sexual penetration by use of 
a foreign object; (b) enters the state on or after July 1, 1993, and who has pled guilty to or 
has been found guilty of any crime, an attempt, a solicitation or a conspiracy to commit a 
crime in another state, territory, commonwealth, or other jurisdiction of the United States that 
is substantially equivalent to the offenses listed in (a) of this section; (c) pleads guilty to or 
has been found guilty of a crime covered in this chapter prior to July 1, 1993, and the person, 
as a result of the offense, is incarcerated in a county jail facility or a penal facility or is under 
probation or parole supervision, on or after July 1, 1993. 

Idaho Code § 18-8304 (1993) 
(1) Any person who becomes subject to the provisions of this chapter on or after July 1, 
1993, shall register, within five (5) days of coming into any county, with the sheriff of the 
county in which that person resides or is temporarily domiciled. 
(2) If there is an address change for a person required to register, such person shall inform the 
law enforcement agency with whom that person last registered of the new address, in writing, 
within five (5) days of such change. 
(3) The law enforcement agency shall, within five (5) working days of receipt of the new 
address, forward this information to the law enforcement agency where such person would be 
required to register. 
(4) Each law enforcement agency shall forward all written information, photographs and • 
fingerprints obtained pursuant to this chapter to the Idaho department of law enforcement 
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within five (5) working days. The Idaho department of law enforcement shall maintain a 
central registry of sex offenders who are required to register . 

Idaho Code § 18-8305 (1993) 
Any person to whom this chapter applies shall be required to register during any period of 
probation or parole and shall continue to comply with the provisions of this chapter for a 
period of ten (10) years after the date of discharge from probation, parole or release from 
~ncarceration, whichever is greater. 

Idaho Code § 18-8306 (1993) 
Registration shall include: (1) name and all aliases which the person has used or under which 
the person has been known; (2) complete description of the person including the date of birth, 
social security number, photograph and fingerprints; (3) name of each offense covered in this 
chapter to which the person pled guilty or was found guilty, where each offense was 
committed, where the person pled guilty or was found guilty of each offense, and the name 
under which the person pled guilty or was found guilty of each offense; (4) name and location 
of each hospital, jail or penal institution to which the person was committed for each offense 
covered under this chapter; and (5) address of current residence and place of employment. 

Idaho Code § 9-340(1l)(f) (1993) 
Except as provided in this subsection, all information provided to a law enforcement agency 
for sex offender registration pursuant to the provisions of section 18-8306: (i) such 
information shall be available upon request to a law enforcement agency; and (ii) the 
information provided pursuant to the provisions of subsections (1) and (3) of section 18-8306, 
shall be provided to any person upon written request. Such written request shall include the 
name, date of birth and social security number of the person for whom the information is 
requested. 

ILLINOIS 

730 Ill. Compo Stat. Ann. § 150/2 (1992) 
"Habitual child sex offender" includes any person who after July 1, 1986 is convicted a 
second or subsequent time for any sex offense or attempts to commit a sex offense. Upon 
conviction the court shall certify that the person is a "habitual child sex offender" and shall 
include the certification in the order of commitment. Convictions that result from or are 
connected with the same act, or result from offenses committed at the same time, shall be 
counted as one conviction. Any conviction set aside pursuant to law is not a conviction for 
purposes of this article. 

As used in this section, "Sex offense" means a violation of any of the following provisions of 
the crimir!al code when the victim is under 18 years of age: criminal sexual assault, 
aggravated criminal sexual assault, criminal s~xual abuse when the offense is a felony, and 
aggravated criminal sexual abuse. A violation of any former law of Illinois substantially 
equivalent to one of the above-listed offenses is a sex offense . 
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730 Ill. Compo Stat. Ann. § 150/3 (1992) 
Any habitual child sex offender shall within 30 days of hislher coming into any county in 
which he/she resides or is temporarily domiciled for more tharl 30 days, register with the chief 
of police of the municipality in which he/she resides, or in the event no police chief exists or 
if he/she resides in an unincorporated area, he/she shall register with the sheriff of the county. 

730 Ill. Compo Stat. Ann. § 150/6 (1992) 
If any person required to register under § 223 changes hislher address, he/she shall inform the 
law enforcement agency with whom he/she last registered of hislher new address, in writing, 

. within 10 days. The law enforcement agency shall, within 3 days of receipt, forward the 
information to the Department of State Police and to the law enforcement agency having 
jurisdiction of the new place of residence. 

730 Ill. Compo Stat. Ann. § 15017 (1992) 
Any person required to register under § 223 shall be required to register for a period of 10 
years after conviction if not confmed to a penal institution, hospital or any other institution or 
facility, and if confined, for a period of 10 years after parole, discharge or release from any 
such facility. Liability for registration terminates at the expiration of 10 years from the date 
of conviction if not confined to a penal institution, hospital or any other institution or facility 
and if confmed, at the expiration of 10 years from the date of parole, discharge or release 
from any such facility, providing such convicted habitual child sex offender does not, during 
that period, again become liable to register under the provisions of this article. 

730 Ill. Compo Stat. Ann. § 150/8 (1992) 
Registration shall consist of a statement in writing signed by such person giving such 
information as may be required by the Department of State Police which may include the 
fingerprints and photograph of such person. 

730 Ill. Compo Stat. Ann. § 150/9 (1992) 
The statements or any other information required by this statute shall not be open to 
inspection by the public, or by any person other than a law enforcement officer or other 
individual as may be authorized by law. 

LOmSIANA 

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 15:535 (1991) 
When a sexual offender is convicted, the court shall order the offender to submit to a blood 
and saliva test. The test must include chemical testing of hislher blood to determine its 
genetic markers and of hislher saliva to determine its secretor status. The court shall order 
that the results of the test be submitted to the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification and 
Information. 

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 15:546 (1992) 
Criminal justice agencies are authorized to release relevant and necessary information 
regarding sex offenders to the public when the release of the information is necessary for 
public protection, according to provisions set forth in this chapter. 
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The authorization applies to information regarding a person convicted of a sex offense, a 
person found not guilty of a sex offense by reason of insanity, and a person found 
incompetent to stand trial for a sex offense and subsequently committed to treatment facility 
or institution or hospital. 

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 15:549 (1992) 
The Department of Public Safety and Corrections shall send written notice of parole, 
community placement, work release placement, furlough, or escape, about a specific inmate 
convicted of a sex offense, to all of the following: the victim of the crime, any witnesses 
-who testified against the inmate, and any person specified in writing by the prosecuting 
district attorney. 

MAINE 

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 34-A § 11002 (1993) 
"Sex offender" means an individual convicted of gross sexual assault if the victim had not 
attained the age of 16 years at the time of the crime. 

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 34-A § 11003 (1993) 
A sex offender shall register that person's current address with the Department of Public 
Safety, State Bureau of Identification within 15 calendar days after discharge or discharge 
under supervision from a state correctional facility or county jail or, if no period of 
institutional confinement is to be served, within 15 calendar days of sentencing . 

This registration requirement remains in effect for 15 years from the date of sentencing if no 
pt:!riod of incarceration is to be served, or discharge or discharge under supervision from any 
state or county correctional facility. 

If a sex offender required to register under this chapter changes address, that person shall 
register the new address with the State Bureau of Identification within 5 days of moving to 
the new address. 

MINNESOTA 

Minn. Stat. § 243.166 (1993) 
A person shall register under this section if the person was charged with a felony violation of 
or attempt to violate allY of the following, and convicted of that offense or of another offense 
arising out of the same set of circumstances: (1) murder; (2) kidnapping involving a minor 
victim; (3) criminal sexual conduct in the first, second or fourth degree; or (4) the person was 
convicted of a predatory crime as defined in § 609.1352, and the offender was sentenced as a 
pattern sex offender or the court found on its own motion or that of the prosecutor that the 
crime was part of a predatory pattern of behavior that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal. 

The registration provided to the corrections agents must consist of a statement in writing 
signed by the person, a fingerprint card and a photograph of the person . 
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The information provided under this section is private data on individuals. The inforrrmtion 
may be used only for law enforcement purposes. When the sex offender is discharged from 
supervised release or probation, the probation officer shall inform all law enforcement • 
agencies notified under this section. Each agency shall then destroy the data. 

A person required to register under this section shall continue to comply with this section 
until ten years have elapsed since the person was initially assigned to a corrections agent in 
connection with the offense, or until the probation, supervised release, or conditional release 
period expires, whichever occurs later. 

The person shall register with the corrections agent as soon as the agent is assigned to the 
person. If the person changes residence address, the person shall give the new address to the 
current or last assigned corrections agent in writing within 10 days. 

MISSOURI 

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 43.506 (1991) 
All felonies and serious or aggravated misdemeanors are reportable under this section. In 
addition, all cases arising where the defendant pleads guilty to an offense involving a child 
under 17 years of age where the court imposes a suspended sentence shall be reported. 

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 650.055 (1991) 
Every individual convicted of a felony defined as a violent offense or a sex offense shall have 
a blood sample drawn for purposes of DNA profiling analysis before release from, or transfer 
to, a state correctional institution, county jail or detention facility. Any blood sample taken • 
shall be used solely for the purpose of providing DNA or other blood grouping lists for 
profiling analysis and prosecution of a violent offense or a sex offense. 

MONTANA 

Mont. Code. Ann. § 46-23-502 (1991) 
"Sexual offender" means a person who has been convicted of: (1) sexual assault, sexual 
intercourse without consent, deviate sexual conduct, incest (unless the violation occurred 
between 2 consenting persons 16 years of age or older), or sexual abuse of children; or (2) 
any violation of a law of another state or the federal government reasonably equivalent to one 
of the above-mentioned offenses. 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-504 (1989) 
A sexual offender shall, within 14 days of coming into a county in which he/she resides or is 
temporarily domiciled, register with the chief of police of the municipality or the sheriff of 
the county if he/she resides in an area other than a municipality. 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-505 (1989) 
If a person required to register changes hislher residence, he/she shall within 10 days give 
written notification of hislher new address to the law enforcement agency with whom he/she 
last registered. The law enforcement agency shall, within 3 days after receipt of such 
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information, forward it to the department and the local law enforcement agency having 
jurisdiction over the new place of residence . 

Mont. Code Ann. § 46-23-506 (1989) 
A person required to register shall register for a period of 10 years after conviction, if not 
imprisoned during that period. If a person required to register is imprisoned during the initial 
10 year period, he shall comply with this section for a period of 10 years after release from 
prison. A convicted sexual offender's duty to register terminates at the expiration of 10 years 
from the date of initial registration, provided that during the 10 year period the convicted 
sexual offender does not again become subject to this provision. 

NEVADA 

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 207.151 (1991) 
"Sex offender" means any person who has been or is convicted of: (1) assault with intent to 
commit a sexual assault; (2) sexual assault, statutory sexual seduction, using a minor in 
producing pornography, promotion of sexual performance of a minor, incest, open or gross 
lewdness, indecent or obscene exposure, or lewdness with a child when 14 years; or (3) a 
second or subsequent offense of possession of child pornography. 

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 207.152 (1993) 
Each "sex offender" shall, within 48 hours after his arrival in a county in which he resides or 
is temporarily present for 48 hours or more, register with the sheriff of the county or the 
metropolitan police department, if any, or with the chief of police, if any, if the sex offender 
resides or is temporarily present in an incorporated city. If a sex offender who committed any 
offense set forth in NRS 207.151 against a person who was under the age of 18 years 
registers with a law enforcement agency other than the sheriff of the county, that law 
enforcement agency shall forward a copy of the registration data to the sheriff of the county 
in which the sex offender expects to reside. 

Within 10 days after changing his address each sex offender shall notify, in writing, the law 
enforcement agency with which he last registered, and that agency shall forward to the law 
enforcement agency having jurisdiction of the area in which the new residence is located this 
registration data concerning the sex offender. 

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 207.154 (1993) 
Each person in charge of jail, hospital, prison, school or other institution to which a sex 
offender has been committed, and each judge who releases a sex offender on probation or 
discharges him upon payment of a fme shall before the discharge, parole or release of the sex 
offender: 

• Explain to him his duty to register under the sex offender registration laws; reqUIre 
him to sign a statement that his duty to register has been explained to him; obtain the 
address at which he expects to reside upon his release; give one copy of the statement 
to him and mail one copy, together with the address obtained above to the law 
enforcement agency having jurisdiction of the area in which he expects to reside . 
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• If the sex offender has committed an offense against a person who was under the age 
of 18 years, contact the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction of the area in 
which the sex offender expects to reside to determine if the sex offender has registered 
as required. The contact must be made within 72 hours after the sex offender is 
discharged, paroled or released. If the sex offender has not registered, the person in 
charge of the institution from which the sex offender was released or the judge who 
released or discharged the sex offender shall provide the law enforcement agency all 
information available to him that is required to register the sex offender. 

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 207.155 (1993) 
No person other than a regularly employed peace officer or other law enforcement officer 
shall inspect the statements, photographs or fingerprints required by this statute. 

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 207.156 (1961) 
Any sex offender registered under this provision may apply to any district court for an order 
relieving himJher of the duty of further registration. The court shall hold a hearing on the 
application at which the applicant and any interested persons may present witnesses and other 
evidence. If, after such hearing, the court is satisfied that such sex offender is rehabilitated, 
the court shall grant an order relieving himJher of the duty of further registration. 

NEW HAMPSHIRE 

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 632-A:ll (1993) 

• 

"Sexual offender" means a person who has been convicted of aggravated felonious sexual 
assault, felonious sexual assault, sexual assault, or purposeiy performs any act of sexual • 
penetration or sexual contact on himself or another in the presence of a child under 16 years 
of age, or a law of another state or the federal government reasonable equivalent to any of 
these violations. 

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 632-A:12 (1992) 
Every sexual offender shall be registered with the department of safety, division of state 
police. Upon receipt of information pursuant to this section concerning the conviction of any 
sex offender, the division shall register such person and shall include the relevant information 
in the law enforcement name search (LENS) system. Upon receipt from any out-of-state law 
enforcement agency of information that a sex offender has moved to New Hampshire, the 
division shall register such person and shall include the relevant information in the LENS 
system. 

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 632-A:14 (1992) 
Any person required to be register under this subdivision shall be required to report his 
current mailing address and place of residence or temporary domicile to the local law 
enforcement agency. Such report shall be made annually within 30 days after each 
atmiversary of the person's date of release from custody following conviction, or after each 
anniversary of the person's date of establishment of residence in New Hampshire if convicted 
elsewhere, and additionally within 30 days after any change of address or place or residence. 
The division shall include such address report information in the LENS system, and shall also 
use the information to maintain a current address in the person's criminal record. • 
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N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 632-A:15 (1992) 
When any person required to be registered under this subdivision changes his residence he 
shall give written notification of his new address to the local law enforcement agency to 
which he last reported within 10 days of such change of residence. Such notice shall not 
relieve the person of his duty to report at the new place of residence. The local law 
enforcement agency receiving such notice shall forward a copy to the division within 3 days 
after receipt. The division shall notify the local law enforcement agency at the new place of 
residence, or the appropriate out-of-state law enforcement agency if the new place of 
residence is outside New Hampshire, and shall include such change-of-address information in 
the LENS system. 

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 632-A:16 (1993) 
Any sexual offender convicted of aggravated felonious sexual assault, or felonious sexual 
assault, or of an equivalent offense in an out-of-state jurisdiction, shall be registered for life. 
Any sexual offender convicted of a violation of sexual assault or purposely performs any act 
of sexual penetration or sexual contact on himself or another in the presence of a child under 
16 years of age, or of an equivalent offense in an out-of-state jurisdiction, shall be registered 
for a 10-year period from the date of release following conviction, provided that any such 
registration period shall not run concurrently with any registration period resulting from a 
subsequent conviction. 

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 632-A:17 (1992) 
Any records established or information collected pursuant to the provisions of this subdivision 
shall be classified as confidential and shall be made available only to law enforcement 
officials and their authorized designees or to the individual requesting his own record in the 
LENS system. However, nothing in this section shall be construed to limit access to a 
person's criminal record, including address information obtained under the provisions of this 
subdivision. 

OIDO 

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2950.01 (1974) 
"Habitual sex offender" includes any person who is convicted 2 or more times, ,in separate 
criminal actions, for commission of "sex offense". Convictions which result from or are 
connected with the same act, or result from offenses committed at the same time, shall be 
counted for the purpose of this section as one conviction. Any conviction set aside pursuant 
to law is not a conviction for purposes of this section. 

"Sex offense" means: (1) rape, sexual battery, gross sexual imposition, voyeurism, public 
indecency, corruption of a minor, sexual imposition, or importuning; (2) a violation of any 
former law of Ohio substantially equivalent to any of the offenses listed above; (3) an offense 
under an existing or former municipal ordinance or law of another state or the federal 
government substantially equivalent to any of the offenses listed above; (4) violation of any 
prohibition against conspiracy or attempt to commit, or complicity in committing any offense 
listed above . 
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Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2950.02 (1963) 
Any habitual sex offender shall, within 30 days of hislher coming into any county in which 
he/she resides or is temporarily domiciled for more than 30 days, register with the chief of • 
police of the city in which he/she resides or the sheriff of the county if he/she resides in an 
area other than a city. 

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2950.06 (1963) 
Any person required to register under this statute shall be required to register for a period of 
10 years after conviction if not imprisoned, and if imprisoned, for a period of 10 years after 
release from prison by discharge or parole. Liability for registration terminates at the 
expiration of 10 years from the date of the initial registration, providing such convicted 
habitual sex offender does not during this period become liable to register again. 

OKLAHOMA 

Okla. Stat. tit. 57, § 582 (1993) 
The provisions of the Sex Offender Registration Act shall apply to any person who, after 
November 1, 1989, has been convicted, whether upon a verdict or plea of guilty or upon a 
plea of nolo contendere, or received a suspended sentence for a crime or an attempt to 
commit incest, forcible sodomy. indecent exposure, procuring or permitting sexual 
performance of a minor, procuring or detaining a child for prostitution, rape, or lewd or 
indecent acts to a child under 16. The provisions also apply to a person who enters this state, 
and who has been convicted or received a suspended sentence for a crime or attempted crime 
which, if committed or attempted in this state, would be a crime or an attempt to commit a 
crime provided for in any of said laws. These provisions shall not apply to any such person • 
while the person is incarcerated in a correctional institution of the Department of Corrections. 

Okla. Stat. tit. 57, § 583 (1989) 
Any person who becomes subject to the provisions of the Sex Offender Registration Act shall 
register with the Oklahoma Department of Corrections within 10 business days of being 
convicted or receiving a suspended sentence if the person is not incarcerated, or within 10 
business days of release of the person from a correctional institution. 

Any person who has been convicted of an offense in another jurisdiction which, if committed 
in Oklahoma, would have been punishable as one of the offenses listed above, and who enters 
or remains in Oklahoma for 30 days or longer shall register with the Department of 
Corrections within 30 days after entering the state. 

The registration required by this section shall be maintained by the Department of Corrections 
for a period of 10 years from the date of registration; however persons who successfully 
complete the sex offender treatment program provided by the Department of Corrections shall 
only be required to register for 2 years after date of discharge. Repeat offenders after 
discharge shall be required to register for the full 10 year period. 
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Okla. Stat. tit. 57, § 584 (1991) 
Any person subject to the provisions of the Sex Offender Registration Act who changes 
hislher address within a county shall give written notification of the new address to the 
Department of Corrections within 10 business days after the change of address. 

The Department of Corrections shall maintain a file of all such registrations which shall be 
made available to state, county and municipal law enforcement agencies. This file shall not 
be made available for public inspection and no person other than a law enforcement officer 
employed by a state, county or municipal law enforcement agency shall have access to the 
file. The Department of Corrections shall provide all municipal police departments and all 
county sheriff departments a list of these sex offenders living in their respective jurisdictions. 

OREGON 

Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 181.518 and 181.519 (1991) 
When a person confined for the commission of a sex crime is discharged, paroled or released 
on any form of supervised release from a correctional facility, or when a person convicted in 
another jurisdiction of a crime that would constitute a sex crime if committed in Oregon is 
paroled to this state, the official in charge of supervising the person shall obtain the address 
where the person will reside upon release and shall enter into the Law Enforcement Data 
System the person's name and description, a description of the methodology of the offense, 
the person's address and the originating code of the parole or probation agency that is located 
closest to the address of the person. The person shall provide, in writing, the person's 
address: within 30 days of a change of residence; and once each year regardless of whether 
the person changed address. 

Or. Rev. Stat. § 181.555 (1981) 
The department shall adopt rules establishing procedures to permit a person or agency, in 
addition to a criminal justice agency, to inquire as to whether the department has compiled 
criminal offender information on an individual and to provide that any person making an 
inquiry furnish the department with such information known to the inquirer as will assist the 
department in identifying and notifying the individual about whom the information is sought. 

RHODE ISLAND 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-37-16 (1992) 
Any person who since July 1, 1992 has been, or shall hereafter be convicted of any offense 
in violation of this chapter, or convicted in another state of first degree sexual assault which if 
committed in this state would constitute a violation of this chapter, shall, within sixty days 
after, or within 30 dayt. of coming into any city or town in which such person shall reside, 
register with the chief of police of said city or town. 

The registration shall consist of a statement in writing signed by the person giving such 
information as may be required by the attorney general, and the fingerprints and photograph 
of the person. Within 3 days thereafter, the registering law enforcement agency shall forward 

• the statement, fmgerprints, and photograph to the attorney general. 
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If any person required to register pursuant to this section changes his or her residence address, 
the person shall inform, in writing within 10 days, the law enforcement agency with whom he 
or she last registered of the new address. The law enforcement agency shall, within 3 days 
after receipt of this information, forward it to the attorney general. The attorney general shall 
forward appropriate registration data to the law enforcement agency having local jurisdiction 
of the new place of residence. 

In any case in which a person who would be required to register pursuant to this section for a 
felony conviction is to be temporarily sent outside the institution where he or she is confined 
on any assignment within a city or county, including fire fighting, disaster control, or of 
whatever nature the assignment may be, the local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction 
over the place or places where the assignment shall occur shall be notified within a reasonable 
time prior to removal from the institution. 

SOUTH DAKOTA 

S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 23-5-14 (1990) 
The Attorney General shall procure and file for record genetic marker grouping analysis 
information from any person taken into custody or confined for rape, sexual contact with 
child under 16, sexual contact with person incapable of consenting, or incest. The Attorney 
General shall cooperate with and assist law enforcement officers to the end that a complete 
state system of "genetic marker grouping analysis II information may be established. 

• 

S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 23-5-15 (1990) 
Any person convicted of rape, sexual contact with child under 16, sexual contact with a .• 
person incapable of consenting, or incest released on parole from confinement or subject to 
probation for such conviction shall be required to submit specimens of his blood and saliva to 
the Division of Criminal Investigation. 

S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 23-5-7 (1990) 
IIGenetic marker grouping analysis" information obtained pursuant to this chapter is 
confidential. 

TENNESSEE 

Tenn. Code Ann. § 38-6-110 (1989) 
The Tennessee Bureau of Investigation shall establish a central registry of sexual offenders 
modeled after statutes enacted in other states. The registry shall include all validated 
offenders from files maintained by the Department of Human Services, all persons who have 
been arrested for the commission of a sexual offense, and all persons who have been 
convicted of a sexual offense. 

Tenn. Code Ann. § 38-6-113 (1991) 
The Tennessee Bureau of Investigation shall develop uniform procedures for the collection 
and preservation of human biological specimens for DNA analysis in cases of suspected or 
alleged rape, aggravated rape, sexual battery, aggravated sexual battery, or incest. 

National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse Page 19 

• 
-- ------- -- -- - ---------------------_________ .--1 



• 

• 

• 

The Bureau shall adopt uniform procedures to maintain, preserve and analyze human 
biological specimens for DNA. The bureau shall establish a centralized system to cross­
reference data obtained from DNA analysis . 

The Bureau shall perform DNA analysis and make data obtained available to law enforcement 
officials in connection with appropriate criminal investigations in which human biological 
specimens have been recovered. The Bureau shall also make the data available to the district 
Attorney General and the subject of the data in any subsequent criminal prosecution of the 
subject. 

TEXAS 

Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. art. 6252-13c.1 (1993) 
"Reportable conviction or adjudication" means: a conviction for indecency with a child, sexual 
assault, aggravated sexual assault, or incest; a conviction of sexual performance by a child or 
possession or promotion of child pornography; the fourth conviction for indecent exposure; an 
adjudication of delinquent conduct for indecency with a child, sexual assault, aggravated 
sexual assault, or incest, or for the fourth conviction for indecent exposure; or a deferred 
adjudication for indecency with a child, sexual assault, aggravated sexual assault, incest, 
sexual performance by a child or possession or promotion of child pornography. 

A person who has a "reportable conviction or adjudication" shall register with the local law 
enforcement authority in any municipality or county where the person resides or intends to 
reside for more than 7 days . 

The registration shall include the person's full name, alias, date of birth, sex, race, height, 
weight, eye color, hair color, social security number, driver's license number and home 
address; the type of offense the person was convicted of, the date of the conviction, and the 
punishment received; and any other information requested by the department. 

If the person required to register changes address, the person shall provide written notice not 
later than the 7th day after the change to the local law enforcement authority with whom the 
person registered . 

. The duty to register ends on the day that the person is discharged from parole or probation. 
The duty to register for a person with a deferred adjudication ends on the date the court 
dismisses the criminal proceedings against the person and discharges the person, or the person 
discharges parole or probation, if the court proceeds to final adjudication in the case. 

A person who releases the information required for registration under this article to a person 
other than a full-time, fully paid, employed law enforcement officer commits an offense . 
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UTAH 

Utah Code Ann. § 77-27-21.5 (1992) 
"Sex offender" means any person convicted by the state of Utah of: (1) incest or lewdness • 
involving a child; or (2) committing or attempting to commit unlawful sexual intercourse, 
rape, rape of a child, object rape, object rape of a child, forcible sodomy, sodomy on a child, 
forcible sexual abuse, sexual abuse of a child, or aggravated sexual assault. 

All sex offenders in the custody of the Utah Department of Corrections shall be registered by 
agents of the department upon any of the following: being placed on probation; commitment 
to a secure correctional facility operated by or under contract to the department; release from 
confmement to parole status, termination or expiration of sentence, or escape; entrance to and 
release from any community-based residential program operated by or under contract to the 
department; or termination of probation or parole. 

All sex offenders not in the custody of the Department of Corrections who are confined in a 
correctional facility not operated by or under contract to the department shall, upon release 
from confinement, be registered with the department by the sheriff of the county in which the 
offender is confined. 

All sex offenders confined in a state mental hospital shall be registered with the department 
by the hospital. All sex offenders committed to a state mental hospital shall be registered 
with the department by the hospital upon admission and upon discharge. 

Any sex offender not registered under another section shall register with the office of the 
Department of Corrections nearest to hislher residence. • 

All sex offenders shall, for the first 5 years after termination of sentence, again register within 
10 days of changing their place of habitation. 

Information collected under this section is classified as private, controlled, or protected, and is 
available only to law enforcement agencies, the State Office of Education, and the Department 
of Corrections. 

WASHINGTON 

Wash. Rev. Code § 9A.44.130 (1991) 
"Sex offense" means: (1) rape, indecent liberties, statutory rape, rape of a child, child 
molestation, sexual misconduct with a minor, incest, communication with a minor for immoral 
purposes, or a criminal attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit such crime; (2) a felony 
with a finding of sexual motivation; or (3) any federal or out-of-state conviction for an 
offense that under the laws of Washington would be a sex offense. 

Any adult or juvenile residing in this state who has been found to have committed or has been 
convicted of any sex offense shall register with the county sheriff for the county of the 
person's residence. 
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The person shall provide the county sheriff with the following information when registering: 
name, address, date and place of birth, place of employment, crime for which convicted, date 
and place of conviction, aliases used, and social security number . 

Sex offenders shall register within the following deadlines. For purposes of this section the 
term "conviction" refers to adult convictions and juvenile adjudications for sex offenses: 

• Sex offenders who committed a sex offense on, before, or after February 28, 1990, 
and who on, or after July 28, 1991, are in custody of the state department of 
corrections, the state department of social and health services, a local division of youth 
services, or a local jailor juvenile detention facility, must register within 24 hours 
from the time of release with the county sheriff for the county of the person's 
residence. 

• Sex offenders, who, on July 28, 1991, are not in custody but are under the jurisdiction 
of the indeterminate sentence review board or under the active supervision of the state 
department of corrections, the department of social and health services, or a local 
division of youth services, for sex offenses must register within 10 days of July 28, 
1991. 

• Sex offenders who are convicted of a sex offense, but who are not sentenced to serve a 
term of confmement immediately upon sentencing, shall report to the county sheriff to 
register immediately upon completion of being sentenced. 

• Sex offenders who move to Washington state from another state that are not under the 
jurisdiction of the state department of corrections, the indeterminate sentence review 
board, or the state department of social and health services at the time of moving to 
Washington, must register within 30 days of establishing residence or reestablishing 
residence if the person is a former Washington resident. The duty to register under 
this subsection applies to sex offenders convicted under the laws of another state, 
federal statutes or Washington state. Sex offenders from other states who, when they 
move to Washington are under the jurisdiction of the department of'corrections, the 
indeterminate sentence review board, or the department of social and health services, 
must register within 24 hours of moving to Washington. 

If any person required to register pursuant to this section changes his or her residence address 
within the same county, the person must send written notice of the change of address to the 
county sheriff within 10 days of establishing the new residence. If any person required to 
register pursuant to this section moves to a new county, the person must register with the 
county sheriff in the new county within 10 days of establishing the new residence. The 
person must also send written notice within 10 days of the change of address in the new 
county to the county sheriff with whom the person last registered . 
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Wash. Rev. Code § 9A.44.140 (1991) 
A person convicted of a class A felony may only be relieved of the duty to register under the 
following two provisions: 

• Any person having a duty to register may petition the superior court to be relieved of 
that duty. The court shall consider the nature of the registrable offense committed, 
and the criminal and relevant noncriminal behavior of the petitioner both before and 
after the conviction, and may consider other factors. Except as provided below, the 
court may relieve the petitioner of the duty to register only if the petitioner shows, 
with clear and convincing evidence that future registration of the petitioners will not 
serve the purposes of the sex offender registration laws. 

• An offender having a duty to register for a sex offense committed when the offender 
was a juvenile may petition the superior court to be relieved of that duty. The court 
shall consider the nature of the registrable offense committed, and the criminal and 
relevant noncriminal behavior of the petitioner both before and after adjudication, and 
may consider other factors. The court may relieve the petitioner of the duty to register 
for a sex offense that was committed while the petitioner was fifteen years of age or 
older only if the petitioner shows, with clear and convincing evidence, that future 
registration of the petitioner will not serve the purposes of the sex offender registration 
laws. The court may relieve the petitioner of the duty to register for a sex offense that 
was committed while the petitioner was under the age of 15 if the petitioner: (1) has 
not been adjudicated of any additional sex offenses during the 24 months following the 
adjudication for the sex offense giving rise to the duty to register, and (2) the 
petitioner proves by a preponderance of the evidence that future registration of the 
petitioner will not serve the purposes of the sex offender registration laws. 

A person convicted of a class B felony may only be relieved of the duty to register 15 years 
after the last date of release from confinement, if any, (including full-time residential 
treatment) pursuant to the conviction, or entry of the judgment and sentence, if the person has 
spent 15 consecutive years in the community without being convicted of any new offenses. 

A person convicted of a class C felony may only be relieved of the duty to register 10 years 
after the last date of release from confinement, if any, (including full-time residential 
treatment) pursuant to the conviction, or entry of the judgment and sentence, if the person has 
spent 10 consecutive years in the community without being convicted of any new offenses. 

Wash. Rev. Code § 4.24.550 (1990) 
Public agencies are authorized to release relevant and necessary information regarding sex 
offenders to the public when the release of the information is necessary for public protection. 
The authorization applies to information regarding: a person convicted of, or juvenile found 
to have committed, a sex offense; a person found not guilty of a sex offense by reason of 
insanity; a person committed as a sexual psychopath; or a person committed as a~ sexually 
violent predator. 

Wash. Rev. Code § 10.77.207 (1990) 
The department is authorized to release relevant information necessary to protect the public 
concerning a person who was acquitted of a sex offense due to insanity. 
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National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse 

The National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse was founded by the American 
Prosecutors Research Institute in 1985 in response to dramatic increases in child abuse cases 
reported to law enforcement. Its mission is to improve the investigation and prosecution of child 
abuse through professional specialization, court reform and interagency coordination. 

By demanding full accountability for the crime of child abuse along with comprehensive 
support services for the child, the Center reflects the commitment of prosecutors to a particularly 
vulnerable group of victims. The Center is servIng prosecutors' needs by providing: . 

Expert training and technical assistance through national and regional training 
conferences, on-site visits and phone .consultations. Experienced trial and staff attorneys review 
cases, offer strategic guidance and forward up-to-date litigation and background documents in 
response to over 3,000 callers each year. In-depth training is provided to interdisciplinary 
audiences at some 70 conferences per year. 

Clearinghouse on child abuse case law, statutory initiatives, court reforms and trial 
strategies. The Center maintains the only comprehensive collection of criminal child abuse case 
law and statutes--a continually updated and expanded resource. Written materials are supplemented 
by computer access to legal, medical and social service d~ta bases. 

Authoritative publications including the highly acclaimed guide, Investigation and 
Prosecution of Child Abuse, the informative monthly newsletter, Update, and a monograph series 
examining special issues. 

Research on reducing trauma in court for child sexual abuse victims, child abllse fatalities,. 
drug-affected children and parental abduction. The Center works closely with researchers, local 
prosecutors and specialists in exploring new avenues to prote.ct ehildren from abuse. 

For information, write or call the National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse, 
American Prosecutors Research Institute, 99 Canal Center, Suite 510, Alexandria, VA 22314, 
703/739-0321. FAX: 703/549-6259. 




