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Introduction 

Youth and the Law describes Minnesota statutes and cases that provide rights, 
responsibilities, and protections for young people different from those applicable 
to adults. The purpose of the guidebook is to give legislators an overview of all 
laws affecting young people in order to have a reference aid on current state 
policies toward youth. The guidebook should prove useful for evaluating any 
proposals for changing these policies. 

This is basically a state guide. Federal statutes and cases are included only in a 
few areas where they dictate state policy or where state policy has been closely 
linked with federal law for some other reason. Youth and the Law does not 
attempt to cover federal statutes, cases or programs in general. 

Legal distinctions are generally made between adults, who are statutorily defined 
as age 18 and over, and minors, who are statutorily defined as under age 18. 
Youth and the Law uses the terms "minor" and "child" as synonyms. 
Exceptions occur if the text clearly indicates that "child" means a minor of a 
particular age or means an individual of any age in relation to his or her parents. 

Youth and the Law is divided into two parts: Part 1, The Laws, consists of 
substantive laws organized by subject categories. Part 2, The Courts, explains 
the courts and procedures that deal with youths. A glossary of terms used 
throughout both Parts 1 and 2 is provided at the beginning of the guidebook. 

Unless otherwise noted, all citations are to Minnesota Statutes, 1994 or 
Minnesota Rules, as of July 1, 1994. 
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1. The Laws 

Minnesota law makes many distinctions between adults and young persons' rights 
and responsibilities. Part 1 describes the major statutory and case law that 
differentiates between youths and adults. These provisions have been divided into 
the areas of economic regulations, education, family relations, health and social 
services, and criminal law. There is a miscellaneous section for other age 
provisions. 

Usually, legal distinctions are drawn at the age of majority, which is statutorily 
defined as 18 years. Persons under 18 are minors. They are deemed less able 
than adults to take responsibility for themselves or to carry out obligations to 
others. Similarly, they are considered more in need of protection both from their 
own inexperienced judgments and from the actions of others. 

Minnesota law makes some distinctions between adults and youth at points other 
than 18 years. For example, a few rights are withheld and a few protections are 
extended until ages 19 or 21 in the belief that 18 year olds are not ready to be 
entirely on their own in particular areas. On the other hand, not all minors are 
treated identically under the law. In some instances younger children are 
considered in need of greater protection or unable to carry out the greater 
responsibilities of older children. As a result, certain statutes treat minors under 
such ages as 16, 14, or 10 differently from minors over those ages. 
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Economic Protection 

Minors' economic rights and activities are heavily regulated by statute because it is believed 
that minors are much less able than adults to support themselves, to make decisions about 
managing property, or to bargain as equals in employment and other business situations. 

Child Support 

All Parents ........................................ 2 
Divorced Parents .................................... 2 
Support Guidelines . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 2 
Unmarried Parents ..... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 2 
Enforcement ....................................... 2 
Step-parents ....................................... 3 

Property Rights 

Control of a Minor's Earnings or Property . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 3 
Minor's Contracts ................................... 3 
Wills ............................................ 3 
Inheritance from Parents . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 3 
Uniform Transfers to Minors Act . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 4 

Employment 

Age Discrimination in Employment ....................... 4 
Child Labor ....................................... 4 
Minimum Wage . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 5 
Unemployment Compensation ........................... 6 
Workers' Compensation ............................... 6 
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If a parent consents to have a child reside with an individual or 
entity other than the parent, or if the child does so by court 
order, the parent can be required to pay support for the child. 
M.S. 256.87, subd. 5 

A parent who is financially able to support a child but fails to do 
so may have his or her parental rights terminated by the juvenile 
court. M.S. 260.221, subd. l(b)(2) 

The court may order either or both parents to pay child support. 
A parent may also be required to provide health insurance or pay 
medical expenses for a child. Child means an individual: (1) 
under 18; (2) under 20 who is still attending secondary school; 
or (3) who, because of his or her physical or mental condition, 
cannot support himself or herself. M.S. 518.171; 518.54, subd. 
2; 518.551, subd. 5 

Statutory guidelines amounts and other specified factors affect 
the amount of parental support courts will award to children of 
divorced parents, lIDless the parents each have separate counsel 
and reach their own support agreement. M.S. 518.551, subd. 5 

If an individual admits she or he is a child's parent or if 
parentage is established in a court action, the individual is legally 
obligated to support the child and will be ordered to pay the 
amount indicated in the statutory guidelines. M.S. 257.67, 
subd.l 

If a court orders a parent to pay child support, including health 
insurance or medical or daycare costs, legal mechanisms exist to 
enforce the order in Minnesota or against a parent who moves to 
another state. M.S. 256.87; 257.66; 518.611; 518.613; 518.614; 
548.091 and Chapter 518C 
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In determining the amount of public assistance to be granted for 
a dependent child, the income of a step-parent living in the same 
household will be considered, after subtracting the first $90 of 
earned income and any amount the step-parent pays to support 
other dependents and for alimony and child support. M.S. 
256.74, subd. 1a 

When a divorced parent seeks a change in court-ordered child 
support, the income of both parents' new spouses, if any, will 
not be considered in raising or lowering the support amount. 
M.S. 518.64, subd. 2 

For further information, see Overview of Minnesota's Child 
Support Law, Research Department, Minnesota House of 
Representatives (1994). 

A parent or guardian may claim a minor's wages by notifying 
the minor's employer. Otherwise, the minor has control of his 
or her own wages. M.S. 181.01 

A minor may control his or her own savings account. 
M.S. 48.30 

A minor may make a contract but may choose not to complete it, 
unless it involves the purchase of necessities, like food or shelter. 
Miller v. Smith, 26 Minn. 248, 2 N.W. 942 (1879) 

A minor may not make a will. M.S. 524.2-501 

An adopted individual has a legal right to an intestate share of 
the adopted parents' estate but not to the biological parents' 
estate, unless the individual was adopted by a step-parent. M.S. 
524.2-114 
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If a person does not make a will, his or her children share the 
estate with the surviving spouse, if that spouse was married to I 
the children's other parent. If no spouse survives, the children 
share the estate among themselves. M.S. 524.2-102 and 524.2- I 
103 

If parents were not married to each other and did not leave wills, 
the children inherit from either parent, if parentage is established I 
pursuant to the Uniform Parentage Act. M.S. 524.2-114 

A parent who makes a will may intentionally disinherit a child. 
If it seems the child was omitted from the will by error or 
because of being born after the parent's death, the child will 
inherit something. M.S. 524.2-108 and 524.2-302 

Any kind of property (money, real estate, stocks, etc.) may be 
transferred to a custodian for a minor's benefit. This kind of 
custodianship lasts until the beneficiary turns 21. M.S. 527.21' 
to 527.44 

The prohibition against unfair employment practices based on a 
person's age does not apply to persons until they reach the age 
of majority. The law permits different treatment in privileges, 
benefits, services, or facilities for employees under age 21. M.S. 
363.02, subd. 6 

The Minnesota Child Labor Standards Act restricts the age, days 
and hours, and occupations of working minors. 
M.S. 181A.01-181A.12 

Age Restrictions. No minor under the age of 14 may be 
employed, except: (1) a minor may be an actor, performer, or 
model; (2) those 11 and older may be newspaper carriers; (3) 
those 12 and older may work in agricultural operations. 
M.S. 181A.04, subd. 1; 181A.07, subds. 1, 2, 3 

I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 



,- ------~----------------.------------~------

II 
fl ~ 
I; 
~: 

House Research Department 
Youth and the Law 

Minimum Wage 

October 1994 
Page 5 

Day and Hour Restrictions. On school days during school 
hours, no minor under 16 years may be employed except with a 
valid employment certificate. M.S. 181A.04, subd. 2; 181A.05 

No minor under 16 may work any day before 7 a.m. or after 
9:30 p.m. except as a newspaper carrier. M.S. 181A.04, subd. 
3; 181A.07, subd. 3 

Noone may employ a minor under 16 more than 40 hours per 
week or more than eight hours in any 24-hour period, except for 
minors working in agricultural operations with their parents' or 
guardian's permission. M.S. 181A.04, subd. 4; 181A.07, subd. 
1 

No one may employ a high school student under age 13 after 
11 :00 p.m. on a school night or before 5:00 a.m. on a school 
day. With written permission of a parent or guardian a student 
may work one half hour later or begin one half hour earlier. 
M.S. 181A.04 

Occupation Restrictions. All minors may be excluded from 
employment in any occupation which the commissioner of Labor 
and Industry finds by rule hazardous to their well-being. Minn. 
Rules 5200.0900-0920 The co~issioner also has the power to 
exempt an individual minor from this restriction. M.S. 181A.04, 
subd. 5; Minn. Rules 5200.0940-0960 

Child Labor Exemptions. Minors employed to do home 
chores or babysitting, or employed by their parents are exempt 
from the above child labor restrictions. M.S. 181A.07, subd. 4 

Federal law provides that minors under age 16, working in 
particularly hazardous agricultural work for their parents, are 
exempt only if they work on a farm owned or operated by the 
parent. 29 U.S.C. §213(c)(2); M.S. 181A.ll 

The minimum wage set by state law does not differentiate 
between adults and minors. M.S. 177.24, subd. 1 

The minimum wage does not apply to persons under the age of 
18 who are: (1) doing certain agricultural work, (2) babysitting 
as a sole practitioner, or (3) employed part-time by a 
municipality as part of a .recreational program. 1\'1.S. 177.24, 
subd. 1; 17~23, subd. 7 
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Like all adults, a minor may be covered by unemployment 
compensation laws if the minor satisfies the statutory 
requirements regarding eligibility. M.S. 268.07, subd. 2 
However, minors in the following employment areas are not 
eligible for unemployment compensation: (1) agricultural labor 
performed by a child under 16; (2) service performed by a child 
under 18 in the employ of a parent; (3) work performed by a 
student for an academic or vocational program; (4) work 
performed at a school or university by a student enrolled there; 
and (5) newspaper delivery by anyone under 18. M.S. 268.04, 
subds. 11; 12(13)(t), (15)( d); and 268.07 

A minor with a workers' compensation covered injury with 
permanent total disability has an imputed permanent total 
disability rate on the date of injury of 105 percent of the 
statewide average weekly wage. M.S. 176.101, subd. 6 

A guardian or conservator shall be appointed to represent the 
interests of a minor who has a covered workers' compensation 
injury or who is eligible for survivor benefits. M.S. 176.092; 
176.521 
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Educational Rights and Responsibilities 

The state of Minnesota is required by its constitution to provide a free education to all 
children in the state. This section provides an overview of some of the rights and 
responsibilities of students attending elementary and secondary schools. 

Compulsory Attendance 

Age of Attendance;. Compulsory Attendance ................ 10 
Instruction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 10 
Penalty. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 11 
Residency Requirements .............................. 11 
Immunization Requirement ............................ 11 
Enrollment Options ("Open Enrollment") . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 11 
Post-Secondary Enrollment Options ...................... 11 
High School Graduation Incentives Program ................ 12 

Statutory K-12 Curriculum Requirements 

Required Areas of Instruction .......................... 12 
AIDS Education. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 12 
Chemical Abuse Programs. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 12 
Review of Instructional Materials . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 12 

Discipline; Tobacco Use 

Corporal Punishment ................................ 13 
Dismissal Generally ................................. 13 
Suspension ....................................... 13 
Expulsion and Exclusion . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 14 
Admission or Readmission ............................ 14 
Removal from Class . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 14 
Tobacco Products Prohibited ........................... 14 

Disabled Children 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) . . . . . . . . . . .. 14 
Availability and Procedural Requirements under State Law ...... 15 
Suspension, Exclusion and Expulsion ..................... 15 
Education Records . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 15 



Participation in Athletics 

State Discrimination Law; Opportunity to Use Ice Arenas ....... 16 
Federal Discrimination Law. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 16 
Equal Protection Clause .............................. 16 
Right of Participation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 17 

Public School Fee Law 

Prohibited Fees .................................... 17 
Authorized Fees. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 17 

Access to Student Records 

Limit on Disclosure ................................. 18 
Right to Inspect and Review ........................... 18 
Right to Request that a School Correct Records .............. 18 
Access by Parents to Student Records . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 18 

Law Enforcement and Court Records on Students 

Court Disposition Order .............................. 19 
Law Enforcement Records . . . . .. ...................... 19 

Rights of Non-Public School Students 

Educational Materials and Student Support Services ........... 20 
Separate School District .............................. 20 
Transportation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 20 
Tuition Tax Deduction ............................... 21 

Sexual Harassment 

Sexual Harassment in Schools Prohibited . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 21 
Sexual Harassment and Violence Policies .................. 21 
Victims' Remedies . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 21 
Student Safety . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 22 
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Violence in Schools 

Possession of Dangerous Weapons on School Property ......... 22 
Reports of Dangerous Weapon Incidents on School Property ..... 22 
Use of Force against School Officials . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 23 
Violence Prevention Education Programs . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 23 

First Amendment Rights 

Freedom of Speech ................................. 23 
Hate Speech ...................................... 24 
Prayer in the Schools ................................ 24 
Religious Observances ............................... 24 
Release Time . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 24 
Course Requirements ................................ 25 
Access to Facilities for Religious Purposes. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 25 
Exemption from Compulsory Attendance . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 25 

Fourth Amendment Rights 

Search and Seizure. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 25 
Drug Testing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 26 

Fourteenth Amendment Rights 

School DesegregationlIntegration ........................ 26 
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Compulsory Attendance I 
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Age of Attendance; 
Compulsory 
Attendance 

Instruction 

Children aged seven to 16 must receive instruction for at least 
170 days each year. M.S. 124.19, subd. 1b (this provision is 
repealed August 1, 1996). For the 2000-2001 school year and 
beyond, a child must remain in school until that child completes 
the high school graduation requirements or is 18 years old. A 
minor who is a parent and who has not completed high school 
must attend school in order to receive AFDC (Aid to Families 
with Dependent Children). M.S. 256.736, subd. 3b 

A child must receive developmental screening before enrolling in 
kindergarten or first grade in a public school. M.S. 123.702 

I 
I 
I 
I 

A school age child may be exempted from mandatory attendance 
requirements under certain circumstances. M.S. 120.101, subd. I 
9 

II A child under age 16 is considered a "habitual truant" if the 
child is in elementary school and absent seven school days 
without a lawful excuse or if the child is in middle, junior high I 
or high school and absent one or more class periods on seven 
school days without a lawful excuse. M.S. 260.015, subd. 19 

Instruction must occur either in a public school, a non-public 
school, a church or religious organization, or a home-school. 
M.S. 120.101, subd. 4 

Instruction is required in specific subject areas, and must be 
provided by a person who meets the specific requirements for 
instructors. M.S. 120.101, subds. 6 and 7; 125.188 

The performance of every child not enrolled in a public school 
must be assessed each year. All persons in charge of providing 
instruction to a child must document that the child received 
instruction as required by law. This reporting requirement does 
not apply to a child receiving instruction from an accredited or 
state-recognized body. M.S. 120.102, subd. 1-3 

I 
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Depending on their qualifications as instructors, parents 
instructing their children in a home-school may be required to 
provide greater assessment and documentation of their children's 
instruction. M.S. 120.101, subd. 8(b); 120.102, subd. 1(4) 

It is a misdemeanor if a person responsible for instruction in an 
unaccredited non-public school, home, or other institution, fails 
to comply with compulsory instruction requirements. M.S. 
120.103 

Any person who fails or refuses to provide for instruction of a 
child of whom the person has legal custody, and the child is 
required to receive instruction, commits a misdemeanor. M.S. 
127.20 

School age children who reside within a district operating public 
schools may attend those schools without charge. M.S. 120.06, 
subd.l 

No child may enroll or remain enrolled in any elementary or 
secondary school or child care facility unless an immunization 
statement is submitted to the school or facility. M. S. 123.70 

Students in grades kindergarten through 12 have the option of 
attending a school or program in a district in which the student 
does not reside, unless (1) a school board determines by 
resolution that nonresident students may not attend its schools or 
programs or (2) a district with a desegregation plan limits the 
number of transferees. A school board is required to adopt 
specific standards for accepting and rejecting timely applications. 
M.S. 120.062 

Students in the 11th or 12th grade may apply to enroll in a 
course or program provided by a post-secondary institution. 
Students may elect to receive secondary or post-secondary credit 
for successfully completing a course under the PSEO law. M.S. 
123.3514 
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Eligible students who have experienced or are experiencing 
difficulty in the traditional education system have the option to 
enroll in alternative programs or area learning centers in order to 
complete their high school education. M.S. 126.22 

Statutory K-12 Curriculum Requirements 

Required Areas of 
Instruction 

AIDS Education 

Chemical Abuse 
Programs 

Review of Instructional 
Materials 

School districts are required to provide students with instruction 
in basic communication skills including reading, writing, 
literature and fine arts, mathematics and science, social studies, 
including history, geography and government, and health and 
physical education training and instruction. M.S. 120.101, subd. 
6; 126.02, subd. 1 

School districts are required to develop and implement a 
program to prevent and reduce the risk of AIDS. Adolescents 
are the target of this program. M.S. 121.203, subd. 1 

Every public elementary and secondary school is required to 
provide students with instruction in chemical abuse and 
preventing chemical dependency. M.S. 126.031 (this provision 
is repealed August 1, 1996) 

For further information, see Statutory Requirements for K-12 Curriculum, 
Research Department, Minnesota House of Representatives (August 1991). 

School districts must adopt as part of the PER policy a 
procedure for parents and adult students to review instructional 
materials provided to students: School personnel must make 
reasonable arrangements for alternative instruction if a parent or 
adult student objects to the content of the materials. Parents and 
adult students may provide alternative instruction if the school 
board fails to meet their concerns, but may not receive payment 
for their costs. School personnel may evaluate the quality of a 
student's work, but are prohibited from penalizing the student 
merely because the student arranges alternative instruction. M.S. 
126.666, subd. 1 
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Discipline; Tobacco Use 

Corporal 
Punishment 

Dismissal Generally 

Suspension 

A school official may not use corporal punishment to discipline a 
child. M.S. 127.45 However, a school official who uses 
reasonable force within the exercise of lawful authority to 
discipline a child has a defense against a criminal prosecution 
and civil liability for the disciplinary act. M.S. 609.06, clause 
(6); 127.03, subd. 3 

Dismissals from school are generally governed by the Pupil Fair 
Dismissal Act of 1974. M.S, 127.26 to 127.39 

Grounds for dismissal are the willful violation of clearly defined 
school board regulations, substantial disruption of the learning 
process, or posing a serious danger to persons or property. M.S. 
127.29, subd. 2 A public school student is entitled to due 
process and equal protection guarantees when facing dismissal 
proceedings. Possible outcomes of a dismissal proceeding 
include exclusion, expUlsion or suspension. M.S. 127.28 A 
school must attempt to provide a student subject to dismissal 
with an alternative education program, except where the student 
creates an immediate and substantial danger to him or herself or 
to surrounding persons or property. M.S. 127.29, subd. 1 

Before being suspended for one to five days, a student is 
generally entitled to notice and a meeting with the 
administration, where he or she will be informed of the grounds 
for suspension. M.S. 127.27, subd. 10; 127.30 If the student 
poses a serious danger he or she can be suspended for up to 15 
days, provided the school implements an alternative education 
program for any suspension over five days. M.S. 127.27, subd. 
10; 127.30, subd. 3 The U.S. Supreme Court declared that 
suspending a student from a public school requires procedural 
due process, including written notice of the charges, an 
explanation of the evidence the authorities have, and an 
opportunity for the student to present his or her side of the story. 
These requirements do not include the right to counsel, a right to 
confront and cross-examine witnesses, or a right to call the 
student's own witnesses. Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565 (1975). 
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If a student is subject to expulsion (precluding an enrolled 
student from attending school for an amount of time not greater 
than one school year, from the date of expulsion) or exclusion 
(preventing a prospective student from enrolling in school for up 
to one school year), he or she is entitled to notice from the 
administration and to information regarding attendance rights, 
including the right to a formal hearing and appeal. M.S. 127.27, 
subds. 4 and 5; 127.31; 127.32; 127.33 The school is required 
to notify the student of his or her right of reinstatement within 
ten days of termination of the dismissal period. M.S. 127.37 

A school board may prepare and enforce an admission or 
readmission plan for any pupil who is suspended, excluded or 
expelled from school. M.S. 127.31, subd. 15. 

If a student willfully engages in disruptive, dangerous or 
unsanctioned conduct, a school official may prohibit that student 
from attending class for up to three class periods. This is not 
considered a dismissal under the Pupil Fair Dismissal Act. M.S. 
127.27, subd. 2; 127.40; 127.41 

No one may smoke or use any other tobacco product in a public 
school. The prohibition extends to all school facilities that a 
district owns, rents or leases and all district vehicles. The 
prohibition does not apply to technical colleges. M.S. 144.4165; 
144.417, subds. 2 and 3 

IDEA provides federal funding to states and local educational 
agencies for expenses incurred in providing special education and 
related services to disabled children who qualify for assistance 
under the Act. In order to be eligible for funding, states must 
provide a "free appropriate public education" for all "children 
with disabilities", establish priorities for services, and assure that 
disabled children and their parents are guaranteed procedural 
safeguards in decisions affecting the children's education. States 
are held accountable for the expenditure of these funds. The 
United States Supreme Court .declined to review a federal 
appeals court decision holding that federal law mandates a "zero 
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reject" policy requiring school districts to provide educational 
services to all children regardless of the severity of their 
handicap. Timothy W. v. Rochester, New Hampshire School 
District, 875 F.2d 954 (lst Cir. 1989), cert. denied _ U.S. _, 
110 S. Ct. 519 (1990). 

Each school district is required to provide appropriate 
nondiscriminatory instruction and services for handicapped 
children from birth until the disabled child is 22 or completes 
secondary school, whichever comes first. M.S. 120.03; 120.17, 
subds. 1 and Ib 

State law guarantees procedural safeguards and parental 
participation in the assessment and educational placement of 
disabled children. Anyone can refer a child to a school district 
for a preliminary evaluation to determine whether the child is 
eligible to receive special education services. To receive such 
sen ices, a child must be found (l) eligible for spec~al education 
services according to statewide eligibility criteria, and (2) in need 
of such services. For example, a child in a wheelchair might 
meet certain statewide eligibility criteria but might not need 
special education services. If school district personnel find that a 
child meets the eligibility criteria and is in need of special 
education services, a team that includes the child's parents and 
appropriately trained school personnel will, after a 
comprehensive evaluation, develop an Individualized Education 
Plan (IEP) that contains, among other things, annual educational 
goals for the child. M.S. 120.17, subds. 1, 3a, 3b 

When a student with an IEP is suspended from school for 
misbehavior that is unrelated to the student's disabilities, the 
district must provide the student with special education and 
related services. 

The district is required to review the student's IEP within ten 
days if the student is expelled, excluded or suspended for ten 0::: 

more days. M.S. 127.281 

A district may not limit the frequency with which a disabled 
child's parent or guardian inspects the child's education records. 
A district may charge a fee for reproducing the education records 
unless the fee impairs the ability of the parent or guardian to 
inspect or review the records. M.S. 13.04, subd. 5 
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Participation in Athletics 

State Discrimination 
Law; Opportunity to 
Use Ice Arenas 

Federal 
Discrimination Law 

Equal Protection 
Clause 

All educational institutions are required to provide equal 
opportunity for both sexes to participate in athletic programs. 
Depending upon the grade level, past circumstances, extent of 
interest and the particular sport, sports programs may offer single 
sex teams in some cases. M.S. 126.21 Any school district that 
operates and maintains an ice arena must offer equal sports 
opportunities for male and female students to use the ice arena. 
M.S. 124.912, subd. 7 

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, which prohibits 
sex discrimination in federally assisted interscholastic athletic 
opportunities for male and female students, specifies what 
educational institutions must do in order not to face a cut-off of 
federal funds. Factors the government will consider in 
determining whether equa 1 athletic opportunities are available for 
members of both sexes include whether: the kinds of sports and 
levels of competition accommodate the interests and abilities of 
both sexes; equipment and supplies are provided; game and 
practice time schedules are comparable; coaching and academic 
tutoring is available; and locker rooms and other facilities are 
provided. Nondiscrimination on the Basis of Sex in 
Education Programs and Activities Receiving or Benefitting 
from Federal Financial Assistance, 20 U.S.C. §§1681-1686 

Female athletes alleging sex discrimination in athletic programs 
have argued that the equal protection clause of the fourteenth 
amendment to the federal constitution prohibits rules barring 
them from male athletic teams or treating female teams 
differently from male teams. While courts generally agree that 
the equal protection clause requires permitting females to try out 
for male teams in contact and non-contact sports, they are 
unwilling to find a right for females to participate on male teams 
when there is a separate female team available. See, Brendan v. 
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Independent School District 742, 477 F.2d 1292 (8th Cir. 1973); 
Leffel v. Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association, 444 F. 
Supp. 1117 (E.D. Wisc. 1978); O'Connor v. Board of Education. 
Dist. #23, 645 F.2d 578 (7th Cir., 1980), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 
1084. 

The right of participation in extracurricular activities is not a 
constitutionally protected property interest and is not of equal 
importance with the right to an education. Without a protected 
property interest: there are no due process requirements in 
dismissing a student from a team. Athletic programs are not 
included in the statutory protections under the Pupil Fair 
Dismissal Act. M.S. 127.39, subd. 2; Dorn v. Anoka-Hennepin 
Independent School District No. 11, Case No. C6-87-1186, 
Edward W. Bearse, 10th Judicial District (Minn. State trial court) 
(March 10, 1988). 

Public School Fee Law 

Prohibited Fees 

Authorized Fees 

Public school education is free to all eligible students. School 
boards may not charge fees for necessary goods and services 
such as instructional materials and supplies, required library 
books, or required school activities. A school board may require 
payment of transportation costs for which state aid is not 
authorized, if guidelines are established to guarantee no one is 
denied an education based upon this cost alone. M.S. 120.72; 
120.73; 120.74 

School districts may require students to pay for certain school­
related costs specified in statute, such as fees for extracurricular 
activities, security deposits, personal athletic equipment, 
supplementary field trips, musical instruments, and personal 
stationery supplies. M.S. 120.73; 120.75 

The U. S. Supreme Court ruled against a poor family's equal 
protection challenge to a North Dakota law allowing some school 
districts to charge a bussing fee while providing students in other 
districts with free transportation. Kadrmas v. Dickinson Public 
Schools, 487 U.S. 450, 108 S. Ct. 2481 (1988). 
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Access to Student Records 

Limit on Disclosure 

Right to Inspect and 
Review 

Right to Request that 
a School Correct 
Records 

Access by Parents to 
Student Records 

Schools must obtain written permission from a parent or a 
student over 18 before disclosing information in education 
records unless a statutory exception applies. 20 U.S.C. 1232g 
(b) (1) and (2) 

Parents and students have the right to inspect and review 
education records within a reasonable period of time. Schools 
are not required to provide copies of materials in education 
records unless parents or students cannot inspect the records 
personally. Schools may charge a fee for copies of education 
records. 34 C.F.R. §99.10(a); M.S. 13.03; 13.04; 13.32, subd. 
1 

Parents and students have the right to request that a school 
correct education records they believe to be inaccurate or 
misleading. If a school refuses to change the records, parents 
and students have the right to a formal hearing. If the school 
still refuses to correct the records after the hearing, the parent or 
student may place written comments about the contested 
information in the records. 20 U.S.C. 1232g (a)(2) (1988) 

A minor student may request that a school deny the student's 
parents access to educational data about the student. M.S. 13.32, 
subd. 2; 13.02, subd. 8 If a school official reasonably 
concludes that disclosing the information to the parent or 
guardian could lead to physical or emotional harm to the minor. 
the official may withhold the data. If, however, the data concern 
certain medical, dental, mental or other health services, the 
school official may release the data if failing to inform the 
parent would seriously jeopardize the minor's health. M.S. 
144.341 to 144.347 Under state rule, school officials must not 
deny parents access to a student's education records unless the 
student is a full-time college student or is 18 years old. Mn. 
Rules 1205.0500, subp. 4. 

For further information, see Federal and State Laws Governing 
Access to Student Records, Research Department, Minnesota 
House of Representatives (Revised February 1994). 
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Law Enforcement and Court Records on Students 

Court Disposition 
Order 

Law Enforcement 
Records 

School principals will receive the court disposition order on any 
public or private student from elementary through secondary 
school who is adjudicated delinquent for (1) an act committed on 
school property, or (2) an act that would be one of a list of 
specified felonies if committed by an adult. 

The order must be kept in the student's record, may not be 
released outside the school district, and must be destroyed when 
the juvenile graduates or at the end of the school year after she 
or he turns 23. Additional information may be obtained from 
the probation officer with parental consent. M.S. 260.161, subd. 
Ib 

A law enforcement agency may notify the principal or chief 
administrative officer of a juvenile'S school if there is probable 
cause to believe the juvenile has committed an offense, the 
victim is a student or staff member of the school, and notice is 
reasonably necessary for protection of the victim. Notice is not 
given if it would jeopardize an investigation. 

Data from this notice must be destroyed when the juvenile 
graduates or reaches the age of 23, whichever is earlier. 

In a county where the county attorney operates a diversion 
program, a law enforcement agency or county attorney may 
provide information on participants or juveniles being considered 
as participants to school officials and to public or private social 
service agencies participating in the program. M.S. 260.161, 
subd.3 
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Rights of Non-Public School Students 

Educational Materials 
and Student Support 
Services 

Separate School 
District 

Transportation 

School districts are required to provide all students not attending 
public schools, including those in home schools, with textbooks, 
individualized instructional materials, and standardized tests. All 
material must be secular in nature and cannot be used for 
religious instruction or worship. A district must provide the 
same health services to students of non-public schools as it 
provides to public school students. Non-public secondary 
students must be offered guidance and counseling services by the 
public secondary schools. Allotments for non-public school costs 
are not to exceed average expenditures for the same public 
school services. M.S. 123.931-123.937 

Public school teachers cannot provide Chapter 1 instructional 
services to eligible non-public school students on non-public 
school premises because of the potential for violating the first 
amendment ban on establishment of a state religion. Aguilar v. 
Felton, 473 U.S. 402, 105 S. Ct. 3232 (1985). 

A school district may provide an interpreter to a deaf student 
attending a parochial school without violating First Amendment 
limits on government support for religion. Zobrest v. Catalina 
Foothills School District, (61 USLW 4641), _ U.S. _ 
(1993). The U. S. Supreme Court did not say whether the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) requires 
public schools to pay for such assistance. 

Having the state create a separate school district to serve a 
religious enclave is tantamount to allocating political power on a 
religious criterion and violates the first amendment establishment 
clause. Board of Education of Kirgas Joel Village School 
District v. Louis Grumet, L USLW ~, _ U.S. _ 
(1994). 

School districts are required to provide "equal transportation" for 
non-public school students within the district's boundaries to the 
same extent they are required to provide transportation for public 
school students. A district may provide transportation to a non­
public school located in another district, but the non-public 
school pays the cost of the transportation. M.S. 123.78 
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A taxpayer may deduct for the costs of tuition, textbooks and 
transportation up to $650 for each dependent in kindergarten to 
grade 6 and $1,000 for each dependent in grades 7 to 12. The 
costs of religious books and lnaterials and the expenses of 
participating in extracurricul?:c non-public school activities may 
not be deducted. M.S. 29CI.Ol, subd. 19(b)(3) 

Sexual Harassment 

Sexual Harassment in 
Schools Prohibited 

Sexual Harassment 
and Violence Policies 

Victims' Remedies 

Sexual harassment is unwelcome sexual advances, requests for 
sexual favors, and other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual 
nature that (1) is a term or condition of receiving education, (2) 
is used as a factor in decisions affecting a person's education, or 
(3) has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with a 
person's education. Educational sexual harassment can occur 
when school district employees, independent contractors or 
volunteers sexually harass students or when students sexually 
harass other students. Sexual harassment is prohibited by state 
and federal law. M.S. 363.01, subd. 41; 363.03, subd. 5; Title 
IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 

Each school board is required to adopt a written sexual, religious 
and racial harassment and violence policy. Each school must 
develop a process for discussing the policy with students and 
school employees. M.S. 127.455 

Under the U. S. Supreme Court decision in Franklin v. Gwinnet 
County Public Schools, _ U.S. _ 112 S. Ct. 1028, 117 
L.Ed.2d 208 (1992), private individuals have the right to file 
lawsuits under Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 
claiming they have been victims of sex discrimination in school 
(sexual harassment is a form of sex discrimination). Courts are 
allowed to award unlimited punitive and compensatory damages 
as a remedy. 
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The United States Supreme Court has not yet answered the 
question whether school officials are constitutionally responsible 
for students' safety. In D.R. v. Middle Bucks Area Vocational 
Technical Schools, 972 F.2d 1364 (3d Cir. 1993), the Third 
Circuit Court of Appeals ruled that because school officials did 
not have custody of students, they were not liable to students 
who were sexually molested by other students. In Doe v. Taylor 
Independent School District, 975 F.2d 137 (5th Cir. 1993), the 
Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals said that when school officials are 
on notice of possible sexual abuse of students by district 
employees, the officials must not show "deliberate or conscious 
indifference" to the students' plight. 

Violence in Schools 

Possession of 
Dangerous Weapons 
on School Property 

Reports of Dangerous 
Weapon Incidents on 
School Property 

It is unlawful for any person to possess, store, keep, or use a 
dangerous weapon, a replica firearm, or a BB gun on elementary, 
middle, or secondary school property or on a school bus while it 
is transporting students. The offense is punishable by either 
gross misdemeanor or felony penalties depending on the type of 
weapon and activity involved. The law exempts certain activities 
from its scope, such as firearm safety courses and the possession 
of a weapon with the permission of the school principal. M.S. 
609.66, subd. 1d . 

The Commissioner of Education, in consultation with others, 
must develop a standardized form to be used by schools to report 
dangerous weapon incidents occurring on school property and in 
school buses while they are transporting students. The form 
must include certain specified information about the incident, the 
offender and victim involved in the incident, the cost of the 
incident to the school and the victim, and the school's response 
to the incident. Schools must report dangerous weapon incidents 
to the commissioner semiannually and, in turn, the commissioner 
must compile and forward the information annually to other 
interested government agencies. M.S. 121.207 
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It is a gross misdemeanor to assault and inflict demonstrable 
bodily harm on a school official while the official is performing 
official duties. A similar assault against a non-school official 
would be a misdemeanor-level offense. "School official" means 
a teacher, administrator, or other employee of a public or private 
school. M.S. 609.2231, subd. 5 

Minnesota law encourages all school districts to integrate a 
violence prevention program into their existing K-12 curricula. 
The law also directs the Commissioner of Education to assist 
school districts, on request, in developing and implementing such 
programs. A grant program also is available to help school 
districts pay for the development, implementation, and 
continuation of these programs. The amount of the grant award 
is $3 per actual pupil unit. M.S. 126.77 and 126.78 

First Amendment Rights 

Freedom of Speech Students retain their first amendment right to freedom of speech 
in school provided their speech does not result in "material 
disruption" of the education process. Tinker v. Des Moines Ind. 
Comm. School District, 393 U.S. 503, 89 S. Ct. 733 (1969). 
The test for determining the degree of disruption is "whether the 
manner of expression is basically incompatible with the normal 
activity of a particular place at a particular time." 

The Supreme Court has ruled that a student's speech containing 
"explicit sexual metaphors" is not protected by the first 
amendment. Bethel School District v. Fraser, 478 U.S. 675, 106 
S. Ct. 3159 (1986). . 

School officials have the right to impose reasonable restrictions 
on student speech in school sponsored student papers. 
Hazelwood School District v. Kuhlmeier, 484 U.S. 260, 108 S. 
Ct. 562 (1988). The United States Supreme Court declined to 
review the application of Hazelwood to a student council election 
in which school officials disqualified a student from the election 
for making "discourteous" and "rude" remarks about the assistant 
principal during a speech at a school sponsored assembly. 

----- ----------
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Poling v. Murphy, 872 F.2d 757 (6th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 
493 U.S. 1021, 110 S. Ct. 723 (1990). 

In Wisconsin v. Mitchell, (61 USLW 4575), _ U.S. _ 
(1993), the U. S. Supreme Court upheld a state statute 
prescribing higher penalties for crimes motivated by racial or 
other bias. Arguably, this ruling provides a legal framework for 
districts to impose more severe discipline for improper behavior 
motivated by bias. 

The U.S. Supreme Court declared the district-sanctioned 
recit~tion of a non-denominational prayer at the beginning of 
each school day a violation of the first amendment prohibition 
against establishment of religion. Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421, 
82 S. Ct. 1261 (1962). The Supreme Court ruled that a law 
authorizing a short period for "voluntary or silent prayer" is also 
unconstitutional, but indicated that allowing a moment of silence 
probably would not violate the U. S. Constitution. Wallace v. 
Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38, 105 S. Ct. 2479 (1985). The U.S. Supreme 
Court held that an invocation and a benediction at public school 
graduation ceremonies violate the establishment clause. Lee v. 
Weisman, _ U.S. _, 112 S. Ct. 2649 (1992). 

The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals held that it is not a 
violation of the first amendment's ban on establishing a state 
religion for a school to observe holidays that have both a 
religious and a secular basis. The court found permissible 
programs containing music, art, literature, and drama having 
religious themes, and the temporary display of religious symbols 
associated with religious holidays. Florey v. Sioux Falls School 
District 49-5, 619 F.2d 1311 (8th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 449 
U.S. 987, 101 S. Ct 409 (1980). 

In Zorach v. Clauson, 343 U. S. 306, _ S. Ct. _ (1952), the 
U. S. Supreme Court upheld a "release-time" program in which 
public school students were allowed to leave school for religious 
purposes. The court found that no religious instruction occurred 
on school property, no public funds were expended to support 
the program, and students had parental permission to attend the 
program. 

'--------------~----~-~---------- -- ---------- --- ---------- ---- -------------------- --------_. 
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The U. S. Supreme Court held that a statute forbidding the 
teaching of evolution unless "creation science" is also taught 
violated the constitutional ban on state establishment of religion. 
Edwards v. Aguillar, 482 U.S. 578, 107 S. Ct. 2573 (1987). 

The Equal Access Act forbids secondary schools receiving 
federal funds from barring student religious groups from meeting 
at school if the school has a general policy of allowing student 
meetings. 20 U.S.C. §4071 In Board of Education of the 
Westside Communitv Schools v. Mergens, 867 F.2d 1076 (8th 
Cir. 1989), 110 S. Ct. 2356 (1990), the United States Supreme 
Court ruled that a school district that allows "noncurriculum 
related" student groups access to school facilities must give 
access on equal terms to all student groups, regardless of the 
religious or other content of members' speech. 

The United States Supreme Court ruled that certain pupils may 
be exempt from the state compulsory attendance law if they can 
show that the law imposes an unnecessary burden on the right to 
free exercise of religion under the first amendment. Wisconsin 
v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205, 92 S. Ct. 1526 (1972). 

Fourth Amendment Rights 

Search and Seizure The United States Supreme Court ruled that the fourth 
amendment of the U. S. Constitution protects students against 
unreasonable searches and seizures, but permits school officials 
to search students if there are "reasonable grounds" for 
suspecting that a student has violated the law or school rules. 
New Jersey v. T.L.O., 469 U.S. 325, 105 S. Ct. 733, (1985). 
For a search to be constitutional, it must be "justified at its 
inception" and there must be reasonable grounds for suspecting 
"the search will turn up evidence that the student has violated or 
is violating either the law or the rules of the school." The scope 
of the search must be "reasonably related to the objectives of the 
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search and not excessively intrusive in light of the age and sex 
of the student and the material of the infraction." In adult 
criminal search and seizure cases, courts use a more stringent 
standard that requires a warrant based on "probable cause" before 
a search can be done. 

A drug test is a search covered by the fourth amendment. In 
1988, a federal court upheld a school district's drug testing 
program requiring random urinalysis for high school athletes and 
cheerleaders on the grounds that (1) the right to participate in 
extracurricular activities was not constitutionally guaranteed and 
(2) school officials' interest in a drug free athletic program 
outweighed students' privacy interest. Schaill v. Tippecanoe 
County School Corp., 864 F.2d 1309 (7th Cir. 1988). However, 
in 1994, the U. S. Ninth Circuit Court ruled that an Oregon 
school district's mandatory random urine testing policy for 
interscholastic athletes violated students' privacy rights. The 
court suggested that the district could perhaps justify suspicion­
based testing of particular students, but not suspicionless testing 
covering the entire sports program. Acton v. Veronica School 
District, (CV-91-1154-MFM). A policy requiring all students to 
submit to urinalysis likely would be ruled unconstitutional. For 
further information, see Drug Testing and Searches in Public 
Schools, Research Department, Minnesota House of 
Representatives (September 1989). 

Fourteenth Amendment Rights 

School Desegregation/ 
Integration 

Racial segregation or other race-based discrimination in public 
schools and other educational institutions denies minority 
students the "equal protection" of the laws and is prohibited 
under the fourteenth amendment. Brown v. Board of Education, 
347 U.S. 483, 74 S. Ct. 686 (1954); M.S. 363.03, subd. 5 
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Family Relations 

With a few exceptions noted in this section and elsewhere in the guidebook, the statutes do 
not regulate relations between married parents and their children who live together. Statutes 
exist primarily to deal with needs that arise when a new family is being created-for example, 
by marriage or adoption--or when a family is changing form-for example, due to events 
like divorce, death, or a minor's marriage. For provisions regulating circumstances arising 
from neglect or abuse of children by family members see Unlawful Acts Against Youths 
(p. 45) in this part and the Juvenile Court (p. 67) in Part 2. 
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Parents choose the residence of an unmarried child under age 18. 
A child who leaves that residence without permission is 
considered a runaway and can be taken into custody. M.S . 
. 260.015, subd. 20; 260.165 

Neither parent has a superior right to choose a child's surname, 
but once a name is chosen the court will be very unwilling to 
change it if one parent objects. Application of Saxton, 309 
N.W.2d 298 (Minn. 1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1039, 102 S. 
Ct. 1737 (divorced mother not allowed to change children's last 
name to hyphenation of her name and father's name). 

The Human Rights Act prohibits (1) refusal to rent or sell real 
estate to persons with children and (2) any unlawful restrictions 
against children in a real estate sale or rental advertisement. 
Various exceptions exist for owner-occupied, cooperative, and 
elderly housing units. M.S. 363.01-363.03 

"Emancipation" means that a minor has the same legal rights and 
obligations as an 18 year old adult. A minor can be emancipated 
by a legal marriage or by parental consent. State ex. reI. Scott v. 
Lowell, 78 Minn. 166, 80 N. W. 877 (1899); Minneapolis v. 
Orono, 212 Minn. 7, 2 N.W.2d 149 (1942). For a child age 16 
or older who is the subject of a petition for a "child in need of 
protection" the juvenile court may authorize an independent 
living situation for the child that is the equivalent of 
emancipation. M.S. 260.191, subd. 1, clause (4) 

A 16 year old may marry with parental consent. Anyone may 
marry at age 18. M.S. 517.02 
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If a child has resided with a grandparent for at least a year and a 
parent during that time, without cause, has failed to comply with 
the duties of the parent-child relationship (contact, support, care, 
etc.), the grandparent may obtain a court order for custody if the 
parent tries to remove the child. M.S. 518.158 

/ 

If an unmarried minor lives with (1) a grandparent or great­
grandparent for at least 12 months, or (2) an individual other 
than a foster parent for at least two years, the grandparent, great­
grandparent, or other individual may obtain a visitation order if 
statutory requirements are met. M.S. 257.022, subds. 2a and 2b 

After an annulment, dissolution, or legal separation, the court 
must order either sole or joint legal and physical custody of 
minor children. In deciding custody, the court must consider the 
best interests of the child and not prefer one parent over the 
other on the basis of the parent's sex. There is a presumption 
that joint legal custody is in the child's best interests. If the 
child is old enough the judge may ask her or his custody 
preference. M.S. 518.17 

The child resides with the parent who has physical custody. If 
the noncustodial parent has visitation rights, the child can be 
moved out of state only with a court order or the noncustodial 
parent's consent. M.S. 518.175, subd. 3 

In dissolution or legal separation proceedings, on request of the 
noncustodial parent, the court must grant visitation rights in the 
best interests of the child. The court may restrict visitation or 
deny it entirely, if it would endanger or impair the child. A 
parent's failure to pay support because of inability to do so is not 
sufficient cause to deny visitation. If one parent wrongfully 
denies the other's visitation rights, compensatory visitation time 
may be obtained by court order. The court may also refer a 
visitation dispute to mediation. M.S. 518.175; 518.619 
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Notice must be given to both parents that they have the right to 
(1) obtain certain education, health and religious records of the 
child, and (2) attend school conferences, unless a court waives 
the notice to protect the welfare of a party or child. M.S. 
123.35, subd. 18; 518.17, subd. 3 

In all dissolution, separation, custody, annulm:'nt, and parentage 
proceedings, the child's grandparent or great-grandparent lI'.:y 
ask the court for reasonable visitation rights to an unmarried 
minor child. The rights may be granted if they do not interfere 
with the parent and child relationship. Visitation rights end if 
the child is adopted by someone other than a step-parent or 
grandparent. M.S. 257.022 

The parent of an unmarried minor may appoint a guardian by 
will. A minor 14 years or older or an adult interested in the 
minor's welfare may object to the choice. M.S. 525.6155; 
525.616 

If parents do not name a guardian by will, the court may put the 
child under the guardianship of the Commissioner of Human 
Services, a licensed child placing agency, or an individual 
willing and able to take responsibility. M.S. 260.242, subd. 
Ib(a)-(c) 

Guardianship ends when the child dies, is adopted, legally 
marries, or turns 18. M.S. 525.6192 

If a parent dies while a child is a minor, a grandparent or great 
grandparent may obtain a court order for visitation if visitation 
would not interfere with the parent and child relationship. 
Rights end if the child is adopted by anyone other than a step­
parent or grandparent. M.S. 257.022, subds. 2 and 3 
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Unmarried Parents 

Child Custody and 
Visitation 

Establishing Parentage 

Adoption 

Required Consents 

The mother has sole custody until paternity is established, either 
by the father's legally effective admission or by court action. If 
paternity is established, the father may petition the court for 
custody or visitation. If the child is old enough, the court may 
ask his or her custody preference. M.S. 257.541, subd. 2(b) 

The child, parent, or welfare agency may bring an action to 
establish the child's parentage. The parties may be required to 
have blood tests. An action to determine the existence of the 
father and child relationship for a child who has no presumed 
father is not barred until one year after the child reaches the age 
of majority. M.S. 257.51-257.74 

An alternative to legal action: A man is presumed to be the 
biological father of the child if he and tl;te child's mother 
acknowledge his paternity in a writing signed by both of them 
and filed with the state registrar of vital statistics. M.S. 257.75 

An individual aged 14 or older may be adopted only if she or he 
consents. M.S. 259.24, subd. 3 

If an unmarried parent under 18 wants to place a child for 
adoption, he or she must be offered consultation with an 
attorney, clergy, or physician before consenting to the adoption. 
The consent of the minor's parents or guardian, if any, also is 
required. If the minor has no parent or guardian to give consent, 
the Commissioner of Human Services may do so. M.S. 259.24, 
subd.2 
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Child placing agencies and courts involved in adoption or foster 
placement proceedings must try to place a child according to the 
following order of preference: (1) relatives, (2) a family of the 
same race or ethnic background as the child, or (3) a family Df a 
different race or ethnicity who is respectful of the child's 
heritage. M.S. 259.255; 259.28, subd. 2; 259.455; 260.181 

An adopted person 19 or older may request the information on 
his or her original birth certificate. The Commissioner of 
Human Services must try to notify each parent identified on the 
certificate of the request. If the birth parents agree, the 
information is disclosed. 

If the Commissioner cannot notify a birth parent and if the 
parent has not filed a consent to disclosure, the information may 
be disclosed as follows: 

If the person was adopted before August 1, 1977, he or she 
may petition for disclosure, which will be granted if the court 
determines that it is more beneficial than nondisclosure. 

If the person was adopted on or after August 1, 1977, the 
information must be released. 

If a birth parent dies without revoking a nondisclosure request, 
the adopted person may petition the court for disclosure. The 
petition will be granted if the court determines that disclosure 
would be more beneficial than nondisclosure. M.S. 259.49 

Adopted persons age 19 and older may ask an adoption agency 
to help determine whether a biological parent or adult sibling 
wants to have contact or share information. The agency will 
also transmit non-identifying health information relevant to any 
genetically related parties to an adoption. A reimbursement fee 
may be charged for these services. M.S. 259.47 

----- -----~---
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Health and Social Services 

Minors' access ·to health care services is dependent upon the parents or guardians, who are 
expected to act in the best interest of the child. Exceptions are made for older children who 
are financially independent, who have married or who have borne children themselves. 
Minors' access to social services is specifically authorized by a number of state laws that 
require counties to provide day care subsidies for currently eligible children, and child welfare 
and protective services for children at risk. 

Access to Health Services 
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Access to Health Services 

The WIC Program 

Insurance 

Medical Assistance 
Eligibility 

Medical Assistance 
Services 

The WIC program, administered by the Department of Health, 
provides supplemental foods, nutrition education, and health 
assessments and referrals to low-income women, infants, and 
children up to age five, who have family incomes at or below 
185 percent of the federal poverty guidelines and who meet other 
eligibility requirements. Enrollment in WIC is limited by 
available funding. M.S. 145.891 to 145.897 

Minors' rights to private health insurance benefits depend on the 
purchase of insurance coverage by a parent or guardian. The 
purchase of family coverage will insure any children up to age 
19 years and dependent children of any age. M.S. 62A.03 

The Medical Assistance (MA) program (Minnesota's Medicaid 
program) pays for health care services provided to adults and 
children who meet specific eligibility requirements related to 
income and assets. MA has higher income eligibility limits for 
children, and persons under age 21 who do not need to meet MA 
asset standards. Infants up to one year old can have family 
incomes up to 185 percent of the federal poverty guidelines asset 
standards do not apply. Children one through five years old 
from families with incomes below 133 percent of the federal 
poverty guidelines are eligible for MA. Children six through 18 
years old, born after September 30, 1983, are eligible for MA if 
family income is below 100 percent of the federal poverty 
guidelines. M.S. 256B.057 

Certain MA services are provided specifically for children. 
These include services provided under the Children's Mental 
Health Act (M.S. 245.487 to 245.4887) and services provided 
under the Childrens' Home Care Option to disabled children 
living at home. M.S. 256.B.055, subd. 12 
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The MinnesotaCare health plan provides subsidized health 
coverage to children and families not eligible for medical 
assistance if the family income does not exceed plan income 
limits (set at approximately 275 percent of the 1993 federal 
poverty guidelines) and the family meets other eligibility 
requirements. Special eligibility requirements and premiums 
apply to children from families with incomes that do not exceed 
150 percent of the federal poverty guidelines. The 
MinnesotaCare health plan was established in 1992 and replaces 
the former Children's Health Plan (CHP). The MinnesotaCare 
health plan expands the eligibility and covered services that were 
available under the CHP. M.S. 256.9351 to 256.9361 

Consent for Health Services 

Abortion 

Anatomical Gifts 

A minor seeking an abortion in Minnesota must either notify 
both parents of the intended abortion and wait 48 hours, or seek 
judicial approval for the procedure. 

An expedited confidential appeal is available to any minor for 
whom the court denies an order authorizing an abortion without 
notification. An order authorizing an abortion without 
notification is not subject to appeal. M.S. 144.343 

Note: Subdivision 2 of the above statute was declared 
unconstitutional by the United States Supreme Court on June 25, 
1990. The remainder of the statute is now operating as 
described above. See Parental Notification of Abortion, 
Research Department, Minnesota House of Representatives 
(1990). Hodgson v. Minnesota, 110 S. Ct. 2926, 58 U.S.L.W. 
4957 (1990) 

Any person of sound mind who is at least 18 or any minor, with 
written consent from parents or legal guardian, may donate all or 
any part of his or her body for medical purposes after death. 
M.S. 525.9211 
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Any person 17 or over may donate blood in a noncompensatory 
blood program without obtaining parental consent. M.S. 145.41 

Medical, dental, mental and other health services may be 
provided to minors without parental consent when, in a 
professional's judgment, treatment should be given without 
delay. M.S. 144.344 

A minor who gives legally effective consent is financially 
responsible for health services rendered. M.S. 144.347 

A professional may inform a minor's parent of any medical 
treatment given, whenever the professional determines it is 
necessary to the health of the minor. For purposes of access to 
health records of a minor, the term "patient" includes a parent or 
guardian, or a person acting as a parent or guardian in the 
absence of a parent or guardian, except in cases where minors 
have received treatment related to pregnancy, venereal disease, 
alcohol or drug abuse. M.S. 144.335 and 144.346 

Any minor (1) who is living apart from his or her parents or 
legal guardian, with or without consent to do so and regardless 
of the duration of such separate residence, and (2) who is 
financially independent, regardless of the source or extent of his 
or her income, may give effective consent to medical, dental, 
mental or other health services for himself or herself. M.S. 
144.341 

Any minor who has been married or has borne a child may give 
effective consent to medical, mental, dental or other health 
services for his or her child, and for himself or herself. M.S. 
144.342 

Any minor may give effective consent for medical, mental or 
other health services to determine the presence of or to treat 
pregnancy, venereal disease, alcohol and other drug abuse. M.S. 
144.343, subd. 1 
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If a minor represents that he or she may give effective consent 
but in fact may not do so, his or her consent is effective if relied 
upon in good faith by the person rendering the health service. 
M.S. 144.345 

Any person 16 years of age or older may request informal 
admission to a treatment facility for observation or treatment of 
mental illness, chemical dependency or mental retardation, and 
may consent to treatment for emergency or short-term acute care. 
Any person under the age of 16 may be admitted as a voluntary 
patient upon the signature of a parent or guardian, so long as 
there is some independent review of the placement in accordance 
with Parham v. IR., 442 U.S. 584 (1979). M.S. 253B.03, subd. 
6(d); 253B.04, subd. 1 

Services and education programs designed to help prevent child 
abuse before it occurs may be developed and offered by private 
and public organizations at the local level and financed through 
grants obtained from the state Child Abuse Prevention Trust 
Fund. Money from this source is also used to fund a child abuse 
hotline for professionals. The Trust Fund, which is administered 
by the Commissioner of Human Services, is suppOlied by a 
surcharge on birth celiificate filings and by federal, state and 
private contributions. It will eventually have a balance of $20 
million. M.S. 299A.20 to 299A.27 

State law requires certain professionals to report information if 
they know or have reason to believe a child is being abused or 
neglected, or has been abused or neglected within the preceding 
three years. The term "abuse" includes sexual abuse, physical 
abuse, threatened abuse, and mental injury. Reports are made to 
welfare or law enforcement personnel. Failures to report are 
prosecuted by the county attorney. Local welfare agencies are 
required to investigate all reports. Special procedures have been 
enacted in regard to interviewing alleged child abuse and neglect 
victims. Agencies must also provide protective services where 
necessary. One form of protective service is removing the child 
from the home and placing him or her in a foster care setting. 
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M.S. 626.556 See Overview of the Child Abuse Reporting 
Act, Research Department, Minnesota House of Representatives 
(1994). 

Child care services for families receiving Aid to Families with 
Dependent Children (AFDC) and for other income-eligible 
families are funded through social service agencies and post­
secondary institutions using a variety of federal, state, and county 
funds. M.S. Chapter 256H 

Counties are required to provide child welfare services to assure 
protection and financial assistance for children confronted with 
social, physical or emotional problems. M.S. 393.07 Child 
welfare services are funded through federal, state and county 
sources. 

County boards are responsible for the administration, planning, 
and funding of social services. Where children are concerned, 
counties are required to provide services to children who are 
abused, neglected, dependent, mentally retarded, or chemically 
dependent, and to income-eligible families in need of child care. 
The county of financial responsibility for a minor is the county 
in which her or his parents reside. M.S. 256E.08; 256G.Ol, 
subd.4 

Counties are also required to provide special social services to 
minor parents who are recipients of Aid to Families with 
Dependent Children. M.S. 257.33, subd. 2 

Social service agencies are required to conduct administrative 
reviews of foster care placements and to seek court review, 
where applicable, in order to assure that children have been 
appropriately placed and that case plans are being implemented. 
M.S. 257.071 

Under the Children's Mental Health Act, county social service 
agencies have the obligation to plan for and coordinate local 
children's mental health services. The Department of Human 
Services provides funds (under Rule 78) to assist counties in 
carrying out some of their responsibilities under this act. M.S. 
245.487 to 245.4888 
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Withholding medically indicated treatment from an infant with a 
life-threatening condition is defined as a form of neglect that 
must be reported under the Child Abuse Reporting Act. 
Required treatment is specified and circumstances are listed in 
which treatment can be limited. 

If a report of medical neglect is received, the local welfare 
agency must consult the hospital and parents and, if necessary, 
obtain a court order for an independent medical examination and 
treatment of the infant. M.S. 260.015, subd. 2a; 626.556, subd. 
10c 

For a full description of the special eligibility requirements and 
benefits of the major public assistance programs, see Minnesota 
Welfare, A Guide to Public Assistance Programs in 
Minnesota, Research Department, Minnesota House of 
Representatives (1995). 

The Department of Human Services provides funds for counties 
from a combination of state and federal sources to be used for 
screening children at risk of out-of-home placement and 
providing services to promote family stability. M. S. Chapter 
256F 

Adoption subsidies are available to eligible families desiring to 
adopt "difficult-to-place" children. This program was established 
in 1979. The law was amended in 1982 so that its provisions 
would conform with 42 U.S.C. §§670-676, the federal Foster 
Care and Adoption Assistance Act. The Department of Human 
Services administers both the state program and the federal 
program through the county welfare agencies. M.S. 259.40 
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Unlawful Acts by Youths 

MiImesota law prohibits young people from performing certain activities that adults are 
allowed to do, and imposes penalties for such conduct. Minnesota law also requires young 
people to do certain things in order to protect their welfare. The rationale behind these laws 
is that, due to the harmful nature of the activity and the immature judgment abilities of young 
people, it is necessary to place stricter controls on youths than adults. 

Purchase and Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 42 
Use or Purchase of Tobacco or Tobacco-Related Devices. . . . . . . . . . .. 42 
Possession of a Pistol or Assault Weapon. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 42 
Possession of a Firearm . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 42 
Possession of an Assault Weapon in a Public Place . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 42 
Possession or Use of Tear Gas . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 42 
Possession or Use of Electronic Incapacitation Device . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 43 
Mandatory Use of Motorcycle Helmet. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 43 
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No person under 21 years of age may purchase alcoholic 
beverages, or possess or consume alcoholic beverages at a place 
other than his or her parent's home. In addition to incurring 
criminal penalties, an underage person may lose his or her 
driver's license for consuming alcohol while operating a motor 
vehicle. The term "consume" includes actual ingestion of 
alcohol as well as the physical condition of having ingested 
alcohol. M.S. 340A.503 and 340A.703 

No minor may possess, use, purchase, or attempt to purchase 
tobacco or tobacco-related devices such as cigarette papers or 
pipes. M.S. 609.685 

No minor may possess a pistol or semiautomatic military-style 
assault weapon unless the minor (a) is in the actual presence or 
under the direct supervision of a parent or guardian, (b) is 
possessing it for military drill purposes, ( c) is using it in an 
approved and supervised target practice range or (d) has 
completed a state-approved marksmanship and safety course. 
M.S. 624.713 

No child under 16 years of age may possess a firearm unless he 
or she is (a) accompanied by a parent or guardian, , )) on the 
parent or guardian's residential property, (c) participating in an 
organized target shooting or firearms safety program, or (d) over 
14 and has a firearms safety certificate from the Department of 
Natural Resources. M.S. 97B.021 

No person under the age of 21 may carry a semiautomatic 
military-style assault weapon in a public place. 

No person under the age of 16 may use or possess tear gas 
except by written permission of a parent or guardian. M.S. 
624.731 
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No person under the age of 18 may use or possess an electronic 
incapacitation device ("stun gun"). M.S. 624.731 

Persons under the age of 18 must wear a motorcycle helmet 
while operating or riding a motorcycle on public roadways. M.S. 
169.974 

-~-----------------------------------------
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Unlawful Acts against Youths 

There are a number of Minnesota laws that make it a crime or a petty misdemeanor to 
commit certain acts with or upon children. These criminal laws are designed to protect young 
people in a variety of situations where, due to youth and immaturity, children are considered 
particularly vulnerable to physical or emotional harm. 

Pornography Laws 

Child Pornography . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 47 
Dissemination of Pornographic Works to Minors ............. 47 

Sexual Abuse Laws 

Criminal Sexual Conduct . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 47 
Prostitution . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 48 
Sexual Solicitation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 48 

Physical and Emotional Abuse Laws 

Death Caused by Child Abuse .......................... 48 
False Imprisonment ................................. 48 
Malicious Punishment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 49 
Assault; Past Pattern of Abuse . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 49 
Assault or Malicious Punishment of Child under the Age of Four .. 49 
Neglect or Endangerment ............................. 49 
Nonsupport. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 50 
Kidnapping. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 50 
Deprivation of Parental or Custodial Rights ................. 50 

Safety Laws 

DWI; Child Endangerment ............................ 50 
Unused Refrigerator or Container . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 51 
Tobacco Sales . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 51 
Tear Gas Sales .................................... 51 
Firearms Sales . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .'. . . . . . . . . . .. 51 
Ammunition Displays . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 51 
Negligent Storage of a Firearm ......................... 51 
Electroni.c Incapacitation Device Sales . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 51 
Toxic Substance Sales ............................... 52 
Child Restraint Seats ................................ 52 
Seat Belt Use ..................................... 52 



Controlled Substance ("Drug") Laws 

Drug Sale or Distribution to or by Means of a Minor .......... 52 
Drug Crimes Committed in School Zones .................. 52 
Drug Paraphernalia Sales . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 52 

Miscellaneous Criminal Laws 

Sale of Alcoholic Beverages ........................... 53 
Pawnbrokers and Junkdealers . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 53 
Abduction for Marriage. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 53 
Solicitation of Juveniles to Commit Crime . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 53 
Contributing to Delinquency ........................... 53 

I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 



I 
I 

House Research Department 
Youth and the Law 

October 1994 
Page 47 

I Pomography Laws 
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Child Pornography 
(Felony) 

(Gross Misdemeanor) 

Dissemination of 
Pornographic Works 
to Minors 
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

(Misdemeanor) 

It is a crime to employ, use or permit a minor to pose or model 
for a sexual performance, or to disseminate or distribute for 
profit pictures or works depicting minors in a sexual 
performance. M.S. 617.246 

It is a crime to disseminate or possess photographic 
representations of sexual conduct involving a minor. M.S. 
617.247 

No person may knowingly sell or rent to a minor pornographic 
pictures or films containing material harmful to minors or show 
or admit minors, whether or not for monetary consideration, to 
see such films or other presentations in a place of public 
accommodation. 

The display of pornographic materials containing material 
harmful to minors is forbidden unless minors are physically 
segregated from the display or an opaque cover blocks from 
view those materials which may be harmful to minors. M.S. 
617.293-617.294 

Sexual Abuse Laws 

Criminal Sexual 
Conduct 
(Felony) 

It is a crime for any person to engage in sexual conduct with a 
minor who is less than 13 years of age; a minor between the 
ages of 13 and 18 who is a certain number of years younger than 
the actor and/or under the actor's authority and control; or a 
minor who is under 16 and with whom the actor has a 
"significant relationship" as defined by law. 
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It is a crime for an adult to engage in sexual conduct with a 
minor when that person has a significant relationship to the 
minor, or is the minor's guardian. "Significant relationship" 
includes relationships by blood, marriage and adoption but 
excludes relationships more distant than first cousins. M.S. 
609.341-609.345 

It is a crime for any person to solicit, induce, promote or receive 
profit from the practice of prostitution by a minor or to hire a 
minor for sexual purposes. The penalty for these offenses varies 
depending on the type of offense and the age of the minor. It is 
also a gross misdemeanor for a non-relative to permit a minor to 
reside with him or her without parental consent when the non­
relative knows or has reason to know that the minor is engaging 
in prostitution. M.S. 609.321 to 609.324 

It is a crime for an adult to solicit (i.e. command, entreat, or 
attempt to persuade) a child under the age of 15 to engage in 
sexual conduct. Mistake as to age is not a defense to this crime. 
M.S. 609.352 
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Physical and Emotional Abuse Laws 
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Death Caused by Child 
Abuse (Felony; Life 
Imprisonment) 

False Imprisonment 
(Felony) 

(Gross Misdemeanor) 

A person who causes the death of a child while committing or 
attempting to commit child abuse is guilty of first degree murder 
if (1) there is a past pattern of child abuse and (2) death occurs 
under circumstances manifesting an extreme indifference to 
human life. M.S. 609.185 (5) 

No person who knowingly lacks legal authority may intentionally 
confine or restrain someone else's minor child without the 
consent of the minor's parent or legal custodian. 

No parent, guardian or caretaker may subject a minor to 
unreasonable physical confinement or restraint, if done in a cruel 
manner and if excessive under the circumstances. 

I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 

.---------------~----------



----------_._---------------------------------

I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 
I 

House Research Department 
Youth and the Law 

(Felony) 

Malicious Punishment 
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

(Felony) 

Assault; Past Pattern 
of Abuse 
(Felony) 

Assault or Malicious 
Punishment of Child 
under the Age of Four 
(Felony) 

N(~glect or 
Endangerment 
(Gross Misdemeanor; 
Felony) 

October 1994 
Page 49 

If substantial bodily harm results from the unreasonable 
confinement or restraint, the offense becomes a felony. M.S. 
609.255 

No parent, guardian or caretaker may, through an intentional act 
or series of acts against a minor, use unreasonable force or cruel 
discipline against the minor. 

If substantial or great bodily harm results from the person's 
actions, the offense becomes a felony. M.S. 609.377 

A person who assaults a minor and causes any amount of bodily 
harm is guilty of a felony if the person has engaged in a past 
pattern of child abuse against that minor. M.S. 609.223(2) 

A person who commits an assault or malicious punishment crime 
against a child under the age of four is guilty of a felony if the 
act causes any physical harm to the child's head, eyes, or neck, 
or causes multiple bruises to any other pari of the child's body. 
M.S. 609.223(3); 609.377 

A parent, guardian or caretaker may not (1) willfully deprive a 
minor child of necessary food, clothing, shelter, or health care 
when reasonably able to provide these necessities, if the 
deprivation substantially harms or is likely to substantially harm 
the child's physical, mental, or emotional health; (2) knowingly 
permit the continuing physical or sexual abuse of the child, (3) 
endanger a child's health by intentionally causing or permitting 
the child to be placed in a dangerous situation or to be present 
where illegal drugs are possessed or sold; or (4) endanger a child 
under the age of 14 by intentionally or recklessly allowing the 
child to have access to a loaded firearm. The acts are 
punishable as gross misdemeanors; however, if the neglect or 
endangerment results in substantial harm to the child, the act is 
punishable as a felony. M.S. 609.378 
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No person legally obligated to provide for the support of a child 
under the age of 16 in necessitous circumstances may knowingly 
fail to do so without lawful excuse. 

The offense becomes a gross misdemeanor if the nonsupport 
continues for more than 90 days and it becomes a felony if the 
nonsupport continues for more than 180 days. M.S. 609.375 

No child under 16 years of age may be kidnapped without the 
consent of the child's parents or legal custodial guardian. Unlike 
the situation with adult kidnapping victims, consent of the child 
victim to the kidnapping is not a defense. M.S. 609.25 

No person may conceal a minor child for the purpose of 
depriving a parent or other custodian of his or her parental, 
custodial or visitation rights to the child, nor may a person 
abduct a minor child for the purpose' of depriving a parent of his 
or her parental rights, unless a person reasonably believes the 
action is necessary to prevent physical or sexual assault or 
substantial emotional harm. Additionally, no adult may refuse to 
return a minor child who is more than two years younger than 
the adult to the child's parent, contribute to the child's truancy 
or running away, or reside with a child under the age of 16 
without parental consent. M.S. 609.26 

A person who violates the "driving while intoxicated" laws is 
subject to increased criminal and administrative penalties if the 
person commits the offense with a child in the vehicle who is 
under the age of 16 and is more than three years younger than 
the driver. M.S. 169.121; 168.042; 169.1217 
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It is unlawful to allow an unused refrigerator or other container 
to be exposed and accessible to children, if it is large enough to 
contain a child and has doors which fasten automatically when 
closed. M.S. 609.675 

It is unlawful to sell or furnish tobacco or tobacco-related 
devices, such as cigarette papers or pipes, to a minor. M.S. 
609.685 

No one may knowingly sell or furnish tear gas to a child under 
16 years of age without the written permission of the child's 
parent or guardian. M.S. 624.731 

No one within any municipality may furnish a minor with a 
firearm, airgun, ammunition or explosive without prior consent 
of the minor's parent or the municipality's police department. 
Outside municipalities, no one may furnish such items to a minor 
under 14 years of age without parental consent nor may a parent 
or guardian permit such a minor to handle or use a firearm 
outside the parent or guardian's presence. M.S. 609.66 

It is unlawful to display centerfire handgun ammunition for sale 
to the public in a manner that makes the ammunition accessible 
to minors unless the ammunition is in an enclosed display case, 
under observation by store employees, or otherwise inaccessible 
to minors. M.S. 609.663 

No person may negligently store or leave a loaded firearm in a 
location where the person knows or reasonably should know a 
child under the age of 14 is likely to gain access, unless 
reasonable action is taken to secure the firearm against access by 
the child. M.S. 609.666 

Noone may knowingly sell or furnish an electronic 
incapacitation device ("stun gun") to a child under 18 years of 
age. M.S. 624.731 
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No one may sell toxic glue, cement, or aerosol paint to a child 
under 18 years of age, unless the glue, cement, or paint is 
contained in a packaged model construction kit. Likewise, no 
one may sell butane or a butane lighter to a child under 18 years 
of age. M.S. 609.684 

When transporting a child under four years of age in a motor 
vehicle, the vehicle operator must install and use a federally­
approved child restraint seat. M.S. 169.685 

A driver of a passenger or commercial motor vehicle must 
ensure that children too old for a child restraint seat but under 
certain ages wear a seat belt while riding in the vehicle. M.S. 
169.686 

Controlled Substance ("Drug") Laws 

Drug Sale or 
Distribution to or by 
Means of a Minor 
(Felony) 

Drug Crimes 
Committed in School 
Zones 
(Felony) 

Drug Paraphernalia 
Sales 
( Gross Misdemeanor) 

A person who unlawfully sells or distributes controlled 
substances to a minor or uses a minor to unlawfully sell or 
distribute controlled substances, is subject to increased criminal 
penalties. M.S. 152.022 to 152.024 

A person who commits certain controlled substance crimes on or 
near school property (excluding postsecondary schools) or on a 
school bus while it is transporting students is subject to increased 
criminal penalties. M.S. 152.022 to 152.023 

An adult may not knowingly deliver drug paraphernalia to a 
minor who is at least three years his or her junior. M.S. 152.094 
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Miscellaneous Criminal Laws 

Sale of Alcoholic 
Beverages 
(Gross Misdemeanor 
or Felony) 

Pawnbrokers and 
J unkdealers 
(Misdemeanor) 

Abduction for 
Marriage 
(Gross Misdemeanor) 

Solicitation of 
Juveniles to Commit 
Crime 
(Misdemeanor, Gross 
Misdemeanor, or 
Felony) 

Contributing to 
Delinquency 
(Misdemeanor) 

No one may sell or give alcoholic beverages to a person under 
21 years of age. The penalty for this crime increases to a felony 
if a nonretailer sells alcohol to an underage purchaser, and the 
purchaser becomes intoxicated and suffers or causes great bodily 
harm or death. M.S. 340A.503(2); 340A.701; and 340A.702 

No pawnbroker, junkdealer or second-hand dealer is allowed to 
make a loan or pledge to, or purchase property from a minor, 
without the written consent of the minor's parent or guardian. 
M.S. 609.81 and 609.815 

No person may take a minor for the purpose of marriage without 
the consent of the minor's parents or legal custodian. M.S. 
609.265 

It is a crime for any adult to solicit or conspire with a minor to 
commit a criminal or delinquent act. The penalty for this crime 
varies depending on the severity of the solicited criminal act. 
M.S. 609.494 

No person may encourage, cause or contribute (1) to the need for 
protective services or delinquency of a minor or (2) to the 
commission of status offenses by the minor. M.S. 260.315 
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Miscellaneous Age Provisions 

This section describes rights granted on the basis of age, in addition to those covered in other 
sections of the guidebook. 

Access to Government Records . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 56 
Driver's License . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 56 
Snowmobile Operation ................................... 56 
Fishing and Hunting Licenses . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 57 
Office Holding . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 57 
Voting .............................................. 57 



House Research Department 
Youth and the Law 

Access to Government 
Records 

Driver's License 

Snowmobile Operation 

October 1994 
Page 56 

A minor and his or her parent or guardian may examine 
government data on the minor classified as either public or 
private, with two exceptions: 

Parental financial data filed with a school is not available to a 
mmor. 

At the minor's request, data will be withheld from a parent or 
guardian if the government agency determines that withholding is 
in the minor's best interest. M.S. 13.02, subd. 8; 13.32, subd. 4 

A minor aged 15 or 16, and otherwise qualified to hold a 
driver's license, may get a restricted license for farm work or 
personal or family medical reasons. M.S. 171.041; 171.042 

Minors aged 16 and 17 may be issued driver's licenses only after 
passing an approved course in driver education. The license 
application must be approved by either parent when both reside 
with the minor, or otherwise by the custodial parent or guardian. 
M.S. 171.04(1) 

A minor may not drive a vehicle that carries passengers for hire. 
M.S. 171.322 

A minor under 14 may not cross specified highways or use 
municipal streets while on a snowmobile. A minor between the 
ages of 14 and 18 may cross highways if the youth has a valid 
operator's license in possession. A minor between the ages of 
12 and 14 may operate a snowmobile on public land lmder 
Department of Natural Resources (DNR) jurisdiction if the youth 
has an operator's license in possession. A minor under the age 
of 12 may operate a snowmobile on DNR regulated land only if 
accompanied by an adult. 
M.S. 84.872 
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Residents under 16 years old may fish without a license. M.S. 
97 A.45t, subd. 2 

Residents under 13 years old may hunt small game without a 
license. Residents aged 13 to 15 may hunt small game without a 
license if they have a valid firearm safety certificate. Residents 
under 14 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian while 
hunting. No hunting license may be issued to any resident under 
16, except those under 16 who have a firearms safety certificate 
may purchase a big game license. M.S. 97 A.0451, subds. 3 and 
4 

An individual must be 21 in order to hold state or local office. 
Minn. Const., Art. VII, Sec. 6 

An individual may vote at age 18. Minn. Const., Art, VII, Sec. 
t 
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2. The Courts 

Minnesota law makes distinctions between adults and minors not only with regard to 
substantive rights and responsibilities, as described in Part 1, but also with respect to the type 
of court procedures under which these rights and responsibilities are judicially decided. Part 2 
explains these court procedures in three sections. 

Civil Adult Court describes procedures applicable to minors who are parties or witnesses to 
civil lawsuits in adult court. 

Criminal Adult Court describes procedures applicable to minors who are involved in 
criminal cases in adult court as witnesses or parties. It also explains certain procedural 
protections pertaining to the care and custody of minors found to have committed criminal 
acts. 

Juvenile Court describes the purposes and procedures of the juvenile court, which hears most 
cases involving criminal acts committed by minors and cases involving children in need of 
protection or care by the state. . 
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Civil Adult Court 

This section describes the rights and restrictions affecting minors as parties or witnesses in 
civil lawsuits in adult court. 

Parental Liability for Children's Torts and Contracts ................. 62 
Parents' Liability to Children . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 62 
Injury to Minors .......................................... 62 
Statute of Limitations .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 62 
Minors as Witnesses . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 62 

-----------------------
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The parent or guardian of a minor who willfully causes personal 
injury or property damage is liable for up to $500 damage. M.S. 
540.18 

There is no Minnesota statute or case law indicating whether 
parents are liable for a minor's contracts. 

Children may sue their parents for torts. Parents are held by 
case law to a "reasonable parent" standard in detemlining 
whether they are negligent. Anderson v. Stream, 295 N.W.2d 
595, 601 (Minn. 1980). 

A parent may bring suit to recover for injury done to a minor 
child. M.S. 540.08 

The statute of limitations does not run while a person is a minor, 
so a minor with a legal right of action has until he or she is 18 
to file suit if parents do not do so, with one exception. The 
statute stops running in a medical malpractice case either seven 
years after the action arises or when the plaintiff turns 19, 
whichever is first. M.S. 541.15 

A child under the age of ten is a competent witness unless he or 
she lacks the capacity to remember or to relate facts truthfully. 
M.S. 595.02, subd. 1(1). 
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Criminal Adult Court 

This section describes procedures applicable to minors who are parties or witnesses in 
criminal cases in adult court, or who are confined in a correctional facility. 
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Children under the age of 14 are considered legally incapable of 
committing crimes. 

Children between the ages of 14 and 18 accused of criminal acts 
may be certified for adult criminal prosecution or designated as 
extended jurisdiction juveniles in the manner provided in the 
juvenile code. 

If a child 16 years old or older is certified to adult court and is 
convicted of a felony offense, he or she may be charged and 
tried in adult court for any subsequent felony without going 
through the juvenile code's certification process. 

Effective January 1, 1995, a child who is alleged to have 
committed first degree murder after becoming 16 years old may 
be charged and convicted in adult court without going through 
the juvenile court's certification process, and without regard to 
the child's previous criminal or juvenile court record. lVI.S. 
609.055 

Hearsay statements made by a child sex or physical abuse victim 
under ten years of age may be admitted into evidence in abuse 
cases if (a) the statement is shown to be reliable, and (b) the 
child either testifies in person or is unavailable as a witness and 
there is corroboration of the abuse. M.S. 595.02, subd. 3 

A child under 12 years old who is a victim of physical or sexual 
abuse or another violent crime or who is a witness to the 
physical or sexual abuse of another may be allowed to give 
testimony over closed-circuit TV or on videotape, if the court 
decides that use of these devices is necessary to allow the child 
to testify without undue psychological trauma. M.S. 595.02, 
subd.4 
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A child under the age of ten is a competent witness unless he or 
she lacks the capacity to remember or to relate facts truthfuily. 
M.S. 595.02, subd. 1(1). 

No data in records or reports relating to criminal child sex abuse 
complaints or indictments that specifically identify the child are 
accessible to the public, except by court order. M.S. 609.3471 
Furthermore, when a child abuse victim is interviewed by the 
government, a record must be made of the time, place and 
substance of the interview. M.S. 626.561 

The public may be barred from the courtroom by the judge 
during all or part of a child sex abuse trial if necessary to ensure 
fairness or protect the child. M.S. 631.045 

No person under age 17 may be present at a criminal prosecution 
unless involved or directly interested in the case. M.S. 631.04 

The court is permitted to exclude minors whose presence is not 
necessary, if a trial involves obscene or scandalous matters. 
M.S. 546.37 

Minors may not be detained or confined in the same area as 
adult prisoners while in jailor lockup unless the minor has been 
certified for trial as an adult or convicted of a crime as an adult. 
M.S. 636.07 and 641.14 

The Commissioner of Corrections is prohibited from placing in a 
penal institution any juvenile referred by the juvenile court. 
M.S. 242.14 

It is a misdemeanor for any person to abduct, conceal or 
improperly interfere with any juvenile inmate in a juvenile 
correctional facility. M.S. 242.47 
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Juvenile Court 

This section provides a general overview of the juvenile justice system in Minnesota. First, 
the purpose and jurisdiction of the juvenile courts are describ~d with an explanation of key 
terms and concepts necessary for understanding the function of the court. Next, the juvenile 
court process is explained: first, for delinquency and other offenses; second, for CHIPS cases. 

This overview reflects the extensive changes made to the juvenile code by the 1994 Minnesota 
Legislature. These changes are effective for acts committed by juvenile offenders on and 
after January 1, 1995. Where relevant, the text makes reference to this January 1, 1995 
effective date. 

All of the statutory provisions discussed in this section are contained in Minnesota Statutes, 
Chapter 260. Other provisions are found in the Juvenile Court Rules as of October 1, 1994. 
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Purpose and Jurisdiction of Juvenile Court 

The juvenile court in Minnesota is authorized to hear and decide two main categories of cases 

• those involving juveniles who commit unlawful acts, and 

• those involving children who, for a variety of reasons, are in need of protection or 
services by or from the juvenile court. 

The juvenile court lacks jurisdiction over two types of juvenile offenders, however: (1) 
juveniles 16 years or older who are alleged to have committed first degree murder, and (2) 
juveniles 16 years old or older who are alleged to have committed a petty misdemeanor-level 
traffic offense or a DWI or related nonfelony offense (effective 111/95). 

In addition, the juvenile court is responsible for the following legal actions 

• terminations of parental rights to a child. Parental rights may be terminated by the 
court either (a) for good cause with parental consent, or (b) if the child has been 
abandoned, continuously neglected, or if the parent's conduct shows a clear 
unwillingness or unfitness to be a parent; 

• 

• 

• 

• 

juvenile marriages; 

adoptions; 

waivers of parental notification sought by minor women wishing to terminate a 
pregnancy; 

persons (including adults) alleged to be contributing to the neglect or delinquency 
of a minor. All juvenile courts may order relief of a civil or injunctive nature, but 
only in counties having over 200,000 in population may the juvenile court hear and 
decide a misdemeanor criminal charge in these cases; 

appointments and removals of guardians for minors; and 

periodic review of a child's foster care status. 

(M.S. 260.111; 260.193) 
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Records of juvenile court actions are accessible to the minor and his or her parents or 
guardian, but may be seen by others in most cases only with a court order. Court disposition 
orders in certain cases are shared with schools as discussed on page 19. All proceedings 
conducted by the juvenile court are closed to the public with one exception: hearings and 
court records involving minors 16 years old or older are open to the public if the minor is 
accused of a felony-level offense. (M.S. 260.155 and 260.161) 

Juveniles who Commit 
Unlawful Acts 
(M.S. 260.015 and 
260.111) 

As mentioned earlier, one important type of case generally 
assigned to the juvenile court involves minors who engage in 
unlawful conduct. In contrast to the adult courts, the juvenile 
proceeding in this context is not a criminal proceeding designed 
to fix criminal responsibility and punishment but, rather, is a 
civil proceeding designed to protect the child from the 
consequences of his or her own conduct, rehabilitate him or her 
and, at the same time, promote the public safety. 

Juveniles committing unlawful acts fall into one of the 
following categories, depending mostly on the nature of the 
conduct involved: 

Delinquents: children ten years old or older who commit 
acts which would be unlawful if committed by an adult; * 

Extended jurisdiction juveniles: children 14 years old or 
older who commit felony-level delinquent acts and who are 
designated as being in this category by the prosecutor or the 
court (effective 1/1/95); 

Petty offenders: children who engage in conduct which is 
unlawful for them, but not unlawful for adults, such as violating 
curfew, drinking and smoking; 

Juvenile traffic offenders: children who violate traffic 
laws. In certain cases, depending on the age of the child and the 
nature of the traffic offense, the matter may be handled 
exclusively by the adult court rather than the juvenile court. 

* However, children who commit traffic offenses are not labelled as delinquents, even if the conduct would 
have been unlawful if committed by an adult. Similarly, children found in possession of a small amount of 
marijuana are classiticd as petty offenders rather than delinquents. 
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In some cases, the juvenile court may decide that a child over 
:le age of 14 who is accused of a particularly dangerous offense 

and/or has engaged in criminal conduct in the past would be 
handled more appropriately in the adult court. These alleged 
delinquents may be "certified to adult court for criminal 
prosecution" upon motion by the prosecutor if the juvenile court 
finds, after a hearing, that there is probable cause to believe the 
child committed a felony offense and that there is clear and 
convincing evidence that the public safety is not served by 
handling the case in juvenile court. Once a child has been 
certified to the acult court for prosecution he or she may be 
prosecuted, convicted and sentenced as if he or she were an 
adult. 

Effective January 1, 1995, the law presumes that certain juvenile 
offenders will be certified to adult court for criminal prosecution. 
A child is subject to this presumption if: 

~ the child was 16 or 17 years old at the time of the felony 
offense; and 

~ the court finds probable cause to believe the child committed 
either: (a) a felony offense that would result in a 
presumptive commitment to prison under the sentencing 
guidelines and applicable statutes (generally the more serious 
offenses); or (b) any felony offense while using a firearm. 

In such cases, the child has the burden to rebut the presumption 
by clear and convincing evidence demonstrating that retaining 
the case in juvenile court serves public safety. If the child does 
not rebut the presumption, the court must certify the case to 
adult court. 

Assuming the juvenile court retains jurisdiction over the alleged 
juvenile offender, and, after a hearing, determines that the child 
did engage in the unlawful conduct, the court has available to it 
a val ,~ty of dispositions, including: fines, probation, counseling, 
placement out of the home, loss of driver's license, restitution or 
community service, and (for delinquents only) commitment to 
the commissioner of corrections for placement in a state juvenile 
correctional facility. The juvenile court's jurisdiction over the 
child lasts until the child's 19th birthday. 
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Effective January 1, 1995, a juvenile offender alleged to have 
committed a felony-level offense after reaching the age of 14 
may be prosecuted as an "extended jurisdiction juvenile" (EJJ) 
instead of being certified to adult court or dealt with as a 
juvenile delinquent. This intermediate category may apply to the 
following offenders: 

~ 14- to 17-year-olds who are designated EJJs instead of being 
certified to adult court following a certification hearing; 

~ 16- and 17-year-olds who would have been subj ect to the 
presumption in favor of certification who, instead, are 
designated EJJ by the prosecutor; and 

~ 14- to 17-year-olds who are designated EJJs by the court after 
a hearing on the matter. 

A child who is designated an EJJ has the right to a jury trial in 
juvenile court on the issue of guilt. 

If an EJJ is convicted of the offense, the child receives both a 
juvenile disposition and a stayed adult sentence. This stayed 
adult sentence may be executed and the child may be sent to 
prison if the child violates the terms of the juvenile disposition 
order. The court's jurisdiction over an EJJ lasts until the child's 
21st birthday, unless ended sooner by the court. 

The other major category of cases the juvenile court hears are 
those involving "children in need of protection or services" 
(CHIPS) by or from the juvenile court. Grounds for invoking 
the juvenile court's "CHIPS" jurisdiction include the following: 

1. abandonment of the child; 

2. physical or sexual abuse or emotional maltreatment of the 
child; 

3. the child needs necessary food, shelter, or other care; 

4. the child needs special care due to a physical, mental, or 
emotional condition; 

5. the child is a medically-neglected infant within the statute's 
definition; 
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6. the child's parent or guardian desires, for good reason, to be 
relieved of the child's care and custody; 

7. the child is in an illegal adoptive or foster care placement; 

8. the child's parent or guardian is unable to provide care due to 
disability or immaturity; 

9. the child is in dangerous surroundings or is exposed to 
criminal activity in the home; 

10. the child has committed a delinquent act before becoming ten 
years old; 

11. the child is a runaway from home; or 

12. th~ child is an habitual truant from school. 

In CHIPS cases, the juvenile court is directed by law to secure 
for each child the care and guidance that is in the child's best 
interests. In so doing, the court must observe the following 
policies wherever possible and in the best interests of the child: 

• to make reasonable efforts to maintain the child in his or her 
own home; 

• to provide judicial procedures that protect the welfare of the 
child; 

• to remove the child from parental custody only when his or 
her welfare or safety cannot otherwise be adequately 
safeguarded; 

• when the child is placed out of the home, to secure care and 
discipline for him or her similar to that which should have 
been given by the parents; and 

o to make reasonable efforts to reunite the child with his or her 
family, consistent with the child's best interests and safety. 
(M.S. 260.011; 260.012) 

The types of dispositions available to the court to achieve these 
purposes are: placing the child under protective supervision 
while permitting the child to remain at home; placing the child 
out of the home in a foster care setting or, under certain limited 
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circumstances, in an independent living arrangement; allowing 
the child to be adopted in cases where child is not returned 
home; ordering the abuser out of the home in cases of domestic 
child abuse; or ordering that the child receive special treatment 
for his or her mental or physical health. Dispositional orders are 
for a fixed period of time not to exceed one year and may be 
renewed or modified by the court. 

If the child is in need of protection or services due to truancy or 
running away from home, the court may also order counseling, 
probation, a fine, or place the child in a correctional group 
home. 

The court's continuing jurisdiction over the child lasts until the 
child's 19th birthday, except that in truancy cases jurisdiction 
ends on the child's 17th birthday. 

Court Process for Delinquency and Other Offenses 

The following is a summary of the major stages of the juvenile court process as it relates to 
children alleged to have committed unlawful acts. 

Apprehension 
(M.S. 260.165) 

A child may be apprehended and taken into immediate custody 
by the police or a probation or parole officer before any court 
papers are filed, if the child is 

o found in dangerous surroundings, 
• the subject of an arrest warrant, 
e subject to arrest, 
• a parole/probation violator, or 
• under age 16 and truant from school. Custody under this 

circumstance is for the purpose of transporting the child 
home and into the custody of a parent or guardian, to school, 
or to a truancy service center. 
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No child taken into custody may be held for longer than 24 
hours without a court order unless he or she was found in 
dangerous surroundings or apprehended pursuant to a warrant. 
In those situations, an alleged delinquent can be held up to 36 
hours in a juvenile secure or shelter care facility, and others can 
be held up to 72 hours in a juvenile shelter care facility. In 
order to detain children in juvenile facilities longer than these 
time periods, the court must hold a detention hearing and find 
that pretrial detention is necessary. Then, it must review the 
propriety of this continued detention every eight days until the 
child's case is heard and decided. 

The detention of alleged delinquents in an adult j ail or lockup is 
strictly limited under Minnesota law as of August 1, 1991. No 
child may be detained in an adult jailor lockup for longer than 
six hours in a standard metropolitan statistical area or for longer 
than 24 hours elsewhere unless a juvenile court petition and a 
motion to certify the juvenile for adult prosecution have been 
filed and a judge has approved the continued detention. 

The juvenile court process is begun officially by the filing of a 
petition or citation with the court. Delinquency petitions are 
prepared and filed by the county attorney; citations for petty 
offenses may be filed by a peace officer. 

At the arraignment hearing, the child is given the opportunity to 
admit or deny the allegations contained in the petition. This 
hearing must be held within 20 days of the date on which the 
petition is served or, if the child is in detention, within five days 
of the time he or she was taken into custody. 
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If the child denies the allegations in the petition or if the court 
refuses to accept the child's admission, an adjudicatory hearing is I 
scheduled to take place within 30 or 60 days, depending on . 
whether or not the child is in detention. If the child admits to I 
the allegations and the court accepts the admission, the court will 
schedule a disposition hearing. 
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As was mentioned earlier, a hearing may be held by the juvenile 
court judge, upon motion by the prosecutor, as to whether or not 
a particular alleged delinquent over the age of 14 should be 
referred to the adult court for criminal prosecution. In ordering 
the reference, the court must find that there is probable cause 
that the child committed the charged offense and that there is 
clear and convincing evidence that the public safety would not 
be served by handling the case in the juvenile system. The law 
presumes that certain offenders will be certified to adult court 
(see page 70). 

Effective on and after January 1, 1995, a hearing may be held by 
the juvenile court judge on whether to designate an offender as 
an "extended jurisdiction juvenile" (EJJ). A child can be placed 
in the EJJ category without a hearing by the court or the 
prosecutor as an alternative to certification. If the child is not 
being considered for certification, the prosecutor must ask the 
court to hold a hearing if the prosecutor wants the child placed 
in the EJJ category. The effects of placement in the EJJ 
category are described on page 71. 

This hearing is the equivalent of a trial in adult court. The 
hearing is held before a judge, except that in EJJ prosecutions, 
the child has the right to a jury trial on the issue of guilt. At the 
conclusion of the hearing the court has between 15 and 30 days 
to decide whether or not the allegations in the petition have been 
proven beyond a reasonable doubt. If the allegations have not 
been proven the court must dismiss the petition. If they have 
been proven, the court may either (1) adjudicate the child as a 
delinquent or an offender or convict the child as an EJJ and 
schedule a disposition hearing or (2) withhold adjudication for 
up to 180 days pending examination or counseling of the child 
or pending probationary supervision. 

This hearing is similar to a sentencing hearing in adult court. It 
is designed to be informal and to allow all participants the 
opportunity to be heard. Based on the information received, the 
judge may order anyone of the dispositions summarized on page 
72. 
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Until fairly recently, children who appeared in juvenile court on 
charges of delinquency were not accorded the same constitutional 
rights as adults charged with criminal offenses. The rationale for 
this distinction was that the juvenile delinquency process was not 
designed to fix criminal responsibility, guilt and punishment but, 
rather, was designed to protect and rehabilitate the child. 

Since 1966, however, the U. S. Supreme Court has recognized 
that juvenile court proceedings can and do affect the rights of 
children to "life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness" and, 
therefore, that juvenile court hearings and procedures must 
measure up to the essentials of due process and fair treatment. 

Thus, during the late 1960's and early 1970's, the U. S. Supreme 
Court found, in a series of cases, that alleged delinquents have 
the following constitutional rights in juvenile adjudicatory 
hearings: 

• right to written advance notice of the adjudicatory hearing, 
allowing adequate time to prepare for it 

• right to counsel* 

• privilege against self-incrimination 

• right to cross-examine witnesses. In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 
(1967) 

• findings of delinquency must be based on proof beyond a 
reasonable doubt if the offense is one that would be unlawful if 
committed by an adult. In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970). 

o the double jeopardy clause of the Fifth Amendment prohibits 
prosecution in adult court of a juvenile if an adjudicatory hearing 
has been held on the same matter in juvenile court. Breed v. 
Jones, 421 U.S. 519 (1975). 

* In 1994, the Minnesota Legislature made it extremely difficult, if not impossible for juvenile offenders to waive their right 
to counsel. Effective January 1, 1995, a child who is charged with a misdemeanor offense who either enters a plea or waives 
the right to counsel must have an in-person consultation with counsel in order to receive a full explanation of the child's 
rights. Juvenile offenders who are charged with felonies or gross misdemeanors or are to be placed out of the home must 
have counselor, if the right to counsel is waived, must have stand-by counsel appointed. 
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In contrast, however, the u.s. Supreme Court held in McKeiver 
v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528 (1971) that a jury trial is not 
constitutionally required in the adjudicative phase of a juvenile 
court proceeding, because juries are not essential to fundamental 
fairness in fact-finding procedures. Several states have extended 
the right to trial by jury in some or all juvenile cases, however. 
Effective January 1, 1995, juveniles who have been designated 
"extended jurisdiction juveniles" in Minnesota's juvenile courts 
have a right to a jury trial during the adjudicatory hearing. 

Additionally, the Court held in Schall v. Martin, 467 U.S. 253 
(1984) that pretrial detention of an alleged delinquent, based on 
the risk of his committing additional crimes prior to trial, does 
not violate the child's due process rights. It held that, given the 
protective rather than punitive objectives of the juvenile justice 
system, pretrial detention of alleged delinquents is compatible 
with the fundamental fairness requirement of the due process 
clause of the Fifth Amendment. 

Court Process for CHlPS Cases 

The following is a summary of the major stages of the juvenile court process as it relates to 
children alleged to be in need of protection or services, and terminations of parental rights to 
children. 

Pre-adjudication 
Detention 
(M.S. 260.165; 260.171 
to 260.173) 

As explained more fully on page 68, under certain circumstances 
a child may be taken into immediate custody by a peace officer 
or by order of the court prior to the juvenile court hearing. In 
child protection cases, the usual reasons for doing so are because 
the child is a runaway, to ensure the child's presence at the 
hearing, or to remove the child from surroundings or conditions 
which endanger or reasonably appear to endanger the child's 
health or weU .... "lIe. Such a child may be held in a shelter care 
facility for no longer than 72 hours, unless a petition has been 
filed and the judge determines after a detention hearing that the 
child should remain in custody. In addition, upon the request of 
a party, the court will hold the adjudicatory hearing on the 
petition within 60 days of the detention hearing, unless another 
party shows good cause why the hearing should not be held. 
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The detention order must be reviewed infornally by the judge 
every eight days until the case is decided. The detention order 
must include rules for parental visitation unless visitation would 
endanger the child's physical or emotional well-being. 

Children who are detained because they are alleged child abuse 
victims cannot be given mental health treatment for the effects of 
the abuse until the court finds probable cause to believe the 
abuse occurred or unless treatment is agreed to by the child's 
parent or guardian. 

Any reputable person, including any agent of the commissioner 
of human services, may file a CHIPS petition in juvenile court. 
Any reputable person may likewise petition the juvenile court to 
terminate the rights of a parent to his or her child if he or she 
has knowledge of circumstances that support such a petition. 
Additionally, the social service agency responsible for the 
placement of a child in voluntary foster care may petition the 
court to review the child's foster care status. All petitions are 
drafted by the county attorney and verified by the petitioner. 

A peace officer may issue a citation to a child believed to be a 
runaway, and a school attendance officer may issue a citation to 
an alleged truant. A citation filed with the court has the legal 
effect of a petition. 

This is a hearing at which the child and the child's parents and 
guardian are required to admit or deny the allegations of the 
petition. This hearing must be held within ten days after a child 
has been placed in pre-adjudication detention, or 20 days after 
the child is served with the petition or citation if he or she is not 
in detention. If the allegations contained in the petition are 
admitted, the court will schedule a disposition hearing. If 
denied, the court will schedule an adjudicatory hearing within 90 
or 120 days, depending on whether or not the child is in 
detention. 
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The adjudicatory hearing is held to determine if the allegations 
of the petition are proven. In contrast to the delinquency or 
offender adjudicatory hearing, proof of the allegations need not 
be made "beyond a reasonable doubt" but only by "clear and 
convincing evidence," which is a lesser standard. If the court 
finds the allegations of the petition are proven, it may either 
withhold adjudication for up to 180 days, or adjudicate the child 
as being in need of protection or services, or neglected and in 
foster care, and schedule a disposition hearing. If the proceec;ling 
involved allegations of child abuse, the court must file its 
decision no later than 15 days after the hearing is concluded. 

Where the petition is one to terminate parental rights and the 
allegations are proven, the court will terminate parental rights 
and transfer custody of the child in a disposition hearing. Even 
where the allegations have not been proven, the court may still 
determine that the child is in need of protection or services, or 
that the child is neglected and in foster care. In such a case the 
court will adjudicate the child accordingly and will schedule a 
disposition hearing. 

If the court finds that a child is in need of protection or services, 
it may order the dispositions summarized on page 72. Where the 
court terminates the parental rights of both parents or of the only 
known living parent, guardianship and legal custody of the child 
will be transferred to the Commissioner of Human Services, a 
licensed child placing agency or a willing individual capable of 
assuming parental duties. 




