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Prenatal Exposure
to Controlled Substances

This information brief describes Minnesota laws relating to the use of
certain controlled substances (drugs) by pregnant women. It outlines laws
governing the reporting of and testing for (1) drug use by the pregnant
woman; and (2) the prenatal exposure of infants to these drugs.

Contents

Page

Reports of Drug Use by Pregnant Women . .. ....ocvenreeeenneeen. 2
Reports of a Child’s Prenatai Exposure to Drugs ...........c0c00nn 3

Toxicology Test Requirements PP |

e This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call Karin Johnson, (612) 296-5038
(voice); (612) 296-9896 or 1-800-657-3550 (TDD).

Research Department . Minnesota House of Representatives . 600 State Office Building

Bt Rl
o R
Setf e




House Research Department July 1994
Prenatal Exposure to Controlled Substances Page 2

Reports of Drug Use by Pregnant Women (Minn. Stat.
§626.5561)

Reports Required

A person who is a "mandated reporter" under the Child Abuse Reporting Act must
immediately report to the local welfare agency if the person has reason to believe that a
pregnant woman has used cocaine, heroin, phencyclidine, amphetamine, or methamphetamine
for a nonmedical purpose during the pregnancy. The report may be made orally by telephone
or otherwise, but must be followed by a written report within 72 hours, excluding weekends
and holidays. The report must at least identify the pregnant woman, the nature and extent of
the drug use, if known, and the name and address of the reporter.

A person is a "mandated reporter” if the person is a professional or a professional’s delegate
who is engaged in the healing arts, social services, hospital administration, psychological or
psychiatric treatment, child care, education, or law enforcement. Members of the clergy are
also "mandated reporters” unless the information was obtained during a privileged
communication.

Duties of Local Welfare Agency

Upon receiving a report of prenatal exposure to one of these conirslled substances, the local
welfare agency must immediately conduct an assessment and offer necessary services to the
pregnant woman. These services may include a referral for chemical dependency services and
treatment, if recommended, or a referral for prenatal care.

Civil Commitment Act Provisions

Under the Minnesota Civil Commitment Act, a person may be involuntarily committed to a
treatment facility if the person is a "chemically dependent person". This term includes a
pregnant woman who, during the pregnancy, has engaged in habitual or excessive use, for a
nonmedical purpose, of cocaine, heroin, phencyclidine, methamphetamine, or amphetamine.
(Minn. Stat. §253B.02, subd. 2.)

A welfare agency that receives a report of prenatal exposure to controlled substances is
authorized to file a petition for civil commitment of the pregnant woman if it believes she
comes within this definition of "chemically dependent person”. Additionally, the agency may
seek an emergency admission of the pregnant woman to the treatment facility without first
filing a civil commitment petition in court if the woman is in imminent danger of harming
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herself or others due to her chemical dependency. Under this emergency admission
procedure, the pregnant woman can be held in the facility for up to 72 hours for the purpose
of diagnosis and emergency treatment. Formal civil commitment proceedings must be
instituted in court for the pregnant woman to be held longer than 72 hours.

Furthermore, the welfare agency must seek an emergency admission of the pregnant woman
to a treatment facility under the Civil Commitment Act if the agency has offered treatment or
prenatal services to the pregnant woman, and the pregnant woman either has refused these
recommended voluntary services or has failed recommended treatment.

Other Applicable Provisions

Reports of prenatal exposure to controlled substances are also governed by the following
provisions of the Child Abuse Reporting Act:

> reporters and those assisting in assessments are immune from legal liability if they
act in good faith

> mandated reporters are protected from retaliation from their employers

> there is liability for knowingly or recklessly making a false report

> it is a misdemeanor to knowingly fail to report

> evidence of child neglect may not be excluded from legal proceedings on grounds of

spousal or medical privilege

> records are accessible under the same terms that apply to other records under the
Child Abuse Reporting Act.

Reports of a Child’s Prenatal Exposure to Drugs (Minn.
Stat. §626.556, subd. 2(c))

The Child Abuse Reporting Act requires "mandated seporters" (see page 2) to file a report
with the local welfare agency or law enforcement agency if :he reporter has reason to believe
a child has been neglected. The definition of "neglect" includes prenatal exposure of a child
to the mother’s use, for a nonmedical purpose, of cocaine, heroin, phencyclidine,
amphetamine, or methamphetamine. Evidence of such prenatal exposure may include (1)
withdrawal symptoms in the child at birth; (2) the results of a toxicology test performed on
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the mother at delivery or on the child at birth; or (3) medical effects or developmental delays
during the child’s first year of life that indicate prenatal exposure to controlled substances.

Upon receiving a report of child neglect, the welfare agency must conduct an assessment of
the child’s need for appropriate medical and social services and, if necessary, seek to provide
these services with the mother’s voluntary participation or by means of a juvenile court order.

Toxicology Test Requirements (Minn. Stat. §626.5562)

Testing of Pregnant Women and Women Who Have Recently Given Birth

Minnesota law requires a physician to give a toxicology test to a pregnant woman or to a
woman within eight hours after delivery if the woman is under the physician’s care and has
obstetrical complications indicating that she has used cocaine, heroin, phencyclidine,
amphetamine, or methamphetamine for a nonmedical purpose. If the toxicology test result is
positive, the physician must report the result to the local welfare agency to enable it to offer
appropriate treatment and other support services to the pregnant woman. If the test result is
negative, but the physician has reason to believe, through other evidence, that the woman has
used one of these controlled substances for a nonmedical purpose, the physician must still
make a report to the local welfare agency.

Testing of Newborn Infants

This statute also requires a physician to give a toxicology test to a newborn infant born under
the physician’s care if the physician has reason to believe, based on a medical assessment of
either the mother or the infant, that the mother used any of these five controlled substances
for a nonmedical purpose during the pregnancy. If the toxicology test result is positive, the
physician must report the result to the local welfare agency as "child neglect" under the Child
Abuse Reporting Act. If the test result is negative but the physician has reason to believe,
through other medical evidence, that the infant has been exposed prenatally to one of these
controlled substances, the physician must still make a child neglect report to the local welfare
agency.
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Test Reports Given to Department of Health

Physicians must also report these toxicology test results to the state Department of Health.
The reports are classified as "medical data" under the Data Practices Act and are not available
to the general public.

Immunity from Liability

Physicians and other medical personnel who perform toxicology tests under this law are
immune from civil or criminal liability if the physician believes in good faith that the test is
required by the law and the test is given in accordance with established protocol and
reasonable medical practice.

Reliability of Tests

Positive test results reported under this law must be obtained from a confirmatory test
performed by a licensed, certified, or accredited drug testing laboratory.






