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SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION:
A REVIEW OF STATE LAWS

Revised February 1995
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Sex offender registration laws require offenders to supply their addresses, and other identifying
information, to a state agency or law enforcement with the intent of increasing community protection.

Forty states currently require sex offenders to register; sixteen of these states passed their laws in
1994. Most recently, New Jersey passed an extensive registration law following the sexual assault and
murder of a seven-year-old girl by a convicted sex offender residing in her neighborhood.

In four states, legal challenges to registration laws have resulted in decisions that upheld their
constitutionality. In three of these states (Arizona, Illinois, and Washington) the courts found that
registration is not a form of punishment, and therefore not subject to the Eighth Amendment
prohibition against cruel and unusual punishment. In California, where registration has been examined
as a form of punishment, the courts have found it not to be cruel and unusual.

The 40 sex offender registration statutes conform in many respects:
e The registry is usually maintained by a state agency.

e Generally, local law enforcement is responsible for collecting information and forwarding it to
the administrating state agency.

e Typical information obtained includes an offender’s name, address, fingerprints, photo, date of
birth, social security number, criminal history, place of employment, and vehicle registration.
Eight states also collect blood samples for DNA identification; Michigan includes a DNA
profile in the registry if available.

¢ The timeframe for initial registration varies from "prior to release" or "immediately" to one
year; the most common timeframe being 30 days or less.

¢ In most states, the duration of the registration requirement is over 10 years, with 16 states
requiring lifetime registration in all or some instances. Most states requiring lifetime
registration allow the offender to petition the courts for relief from this duty.

e Most registries are updated only when the offender notifies law enforcement that he has
changed residences. Seven states have annual address verification; New Jersey requires
verification every 90 days.

¢ Twenty states specify that registry information is available only to law enforcement and related
investigative authorities. The other twenty states allow broader access, ranging from criminal
background checks for agencies hiring individuals to work with children, to full public access.
and community notification.

e Two states (California and Washington) have published compliance rates.



Introduction

In recent years, state legislatures across the country have examined their sexual assault laws to find
ways to increase community protection. Most have attempted to strengthen existing laws by requiring
released sex offenders to register with- law enforcement or state agencies. Currently, 40 states have
such a requirement.

As part of the federal crime bill approved by Congress ini August 1994, the Jacob Wetterling Crimes
Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender Registration Act encourages states to create registries
of offenders convicted of crimes against children or sexually violent offenses. States which do not
create registries within the next three years will face a ten percent reduction in their federal crime
control grant.

Do registration laws increase community protection? This paper describes the debates surrounding this
issue, and summarizes key elements of state laws.!

Policy and Debate

A sex offender registration law requires that offenders supply their address and other identifying
information to local law enforcement or a state agency. Typically the offender must register following
release from confinement and/or during community supervision. Laws in most states apply to
convicted sex offenders; some states’ laws also apply to individuals found by a judge to have
committed a sex offense (for instance, under a finding of not guilty by reason of insanity). Minnesota
extends the requirement to individuals charged with a sex offense, whether or not convicted.

Information maintained on the registry varies by state, but at a minimum includes the name, address,
and a law enforcement identification number. Some states collect very detailed information, which
vehicle registration numbers. In all cases, the offender is responsible for supplying accurate
-information,. and is penalized for noncompliance.

Sex offender registration is a controversial subject, with one side arguing that it contributes to public
safety, and the other side arguing that it impinges on individual rights and is a step towards a "Big
Brother" society. These arguments are summarized below. '

ARGUMENTS FOR REGISTRATION

Supporters of sex offender registration argue that it contributes to public safety by: 1) creating a
registry to assist law enforcement in investigation, 2) establishing legal grounds to hold known

! Information was collected March - April 1992, September - October 1993, and September 1994 - January 1995, from
states known to have sex offender registries. Informants were administrators, legislative research staff, legal counsel, or law
‘enforcement officials, as appropriate. This report also uses information provided by the National Center for Missing &
Exploited Children in Arlington, VA, and the National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse in Alexandria, VA, which has

compiled a report entitled Legislation Requiring Sex Offenders to Register with a Government Agency.
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offenders found in suspicious circumstances, 3) deterring sex offenders from committing new offenses,
and in some cases, 4) offering citizens information so they can protect themselves.

The typical legislative goals are summarized well in the sex offender registration bill passed by the
1994 Alaska Legislature:

The legislature finds that: (1) sex offenders pose a high risk of reoffending after release from
custody, (2) protecting the public from sex offenders is a primary governmental interest, (3)
the privacy interests of persons. convicted of sex offenses are less important than the
government'’s interest in public safety, and (4) release of certain information about sex
offenders to public agencies and the general public will assist in protecting the public safety.

Once created, the registry becomes a tool that law enforcement uses to solve crimes or, ideally, to
prevent them. If a sex offense is committed and no suspect is located, the registry can be used to
identify potential suspects who live in the area, or who have a pattern of similar crimes. States vary
in their decisions on which offenders to include in the registry: some register sex offenders with child
victims (Arkansas, Georgia, Illinois, Maine, and Wyoming); some register the most serious categories
of offenders (Florida, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Virginia, and Wyoming) or repeat offenders (Ohio,
Florida and Arkansas); and some register all sex offenders, regardless of the seriousness of the crime
or the age of the victim. California and Montana register arsonists in addition to sex offenders--
California also registers narcotics offenders. In addition to its 1993 sex offender registration law,
Florida has maintained a registry of all felony offenders since 1957.

Registration laws also create legal grounds to hold sex offenders who do not comply with registration
and are later found in suspicious circumstances. For example, if a convicted sex offender is observed
-loitering around a playground, and when stopped by the police is found not to have registered, the
offender can be charged and prosecuted for failure to register. Law enforcement representatives often
argue that registration laws, thus, prevent crimes because the police can intervene before a potential
victim is harmed. Therefore, some states pass a registration law without expecting a high rate of
voluntary compliance, but still anticipate a law enforcement benefit.

Another intended effect of registration is psychological. Once registered, offenders know they are
being monitored. Many lawmakers argue that such knowledge discourages sex offenders from
reoffending. Also, some lawmakers believe that a registration requirement will deter potential first-
time sex offenders.

Half of the states with registration limit access to this information to law enforcement and related
investigative authorities. The other 20 states allow various levels of public access, ranging from
background checks for potential employees/volunteers to work with children, to full public access.
Access to the registry, or the active release of information by law enforcement or school districts, is
intended as a means of citizen protection, particularly for parents to protect their children.

ARGUMENTS AGAINST REGISTRATION

Several arguments against sex offender registration often surface during legislative dellberatlons
These arguments can be summarized as follows:



Civil Liberties:

Registration programs are inconsistent with the goals of a society committed to protecting
individual liberties. Registration is a step toward a "Big Brother" society, or a violation of
offenders’ rights. Released sex offenders have paid their debt to society and must not be
subjected to further punishment.

Offender Motivation: -

By forcing sex offenders to register, society sends a message to these individuals that they
are not to be trusted, that they are bad and dangerous people. Such a message can work
against efforts to rehabilitate offenders, and inadvertently encourage antisocial behaviors. The
offender can use the law to rationalize further crimes: "If society thinks I’m a permanent

" threat, I guess I am and there’s nothing I can do to stop myself."

Registration laws encourage sex offenders to evade the attention of law enforcement. Some
sex offenders, choosing not to comply with the law, will conceal their whereabouts, making
investigation of sexual assaults more difficult.

Public Safety:

Registration creates a false sense of security. Citizens may rely too heavily on the registry,
not realizing that the majority of sex offenders never appear on registration lists. The reasons
are many: only a small proportion of sex crimes are reported, and an even smaller number
result in convictions; many offenders plea-bargain to nonsexual offenses; sex offender
registration laws can apply to limited categories of offenders; and many offenders were
convicted prior to passage of the law. In addition, not all offenders register. For all these
reasons, only a small percentage of sex offenders actually appear on any list.

Registration of sex offenders implies that these offenders are the most dangerous, whereas
other types of offenders present similar or greater risks. How helpful is it for someone to
know that a convicted sex offender lives next door, as compared to knowing that a neighbor is
a convicted murderer, drug dealer, or armed robber?

Registration will encourage citizen vigilantism. For states where the registration list is public
‘information, citizens may threaten and take action against offenders. The harassment may also
be extended to family members of offenders.?

Victim Consequences:

If made public, a list of registered sex offenders may inadvertently disclose the identity of
incest victims. In cases of intra-familial sex offenses, a list of offenders identifies some
victims by family, if not by name. Such a violation of privacy may compound a victim’s
trauma. i

2 Harassment following community notification is further discussed in Community Notification: A Survey of Law
Enforcement, Washington State Institute for Public Policy, December 1993.
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Efficiency:

Rather than expend public funds on registration, the state should direct its resources toward
other criminal justice activities. A list of all convicted sex offenders, including names,
addresses and other information, is expensive to create and maintain. Funds could be better
spent on such areas as treatment of incarcerated sex offenders, or intensive supervision of a’
small group of the most serious sex offenders.

LEGAL CHALLENGES

Sex offender registration laws have been subject to legal challenges in at least four states. In Arizona,
Illinois, and Washington, the courts have found that registration is not a form of punishment, and,
therefore, not subject to the Eighth Amendment prohibition against cruel and unusual punishment. In
California, where registration has been examined as a form of punishment, the courts have found it not
to be cruel and unusual. Challenges on the basis of due process and equal protection have also failed.
Registration has not been found to unreasonably infringe on the offender’s rights to travel or privacy.’

Juvenile registration was challenged and upheld in Washington State in 1994. The defendant claimed
that, as a juvenile, he could not be required to register because he had not actually been "convicted."
The court found that the legislative intent behind the statute compelled application to juvenile
offenders. The court also found that the juvenile’s duty to register arises pursuant to the statutory
mandate, and, therefore, survives the jurisdiction of the juvenile court. As such, the juvenile’s duty to
register does not automatically end upon reaching 21 years of age.*

Background of Registration Laws

CHRONOLOGY

There are three distinct periods in the passage of sex offender registration laws: an early period from
1944-67, a period of light activity from 1985-90, and a period of intense activity from 1991-94. The
‘majority of laws were enacted during the most recent period, with 16 states passing registration laws
in 1994,

California has the nation’s oldest sex offender registration law, enacted in 1944. Arizona passed its
first sex offender registration law in 1951, though this law has been repealed and replaced by a 1985
statute. The next four oldest laws were enacted in the decade of 1957-67, in Florida, Nevada, Ohio
and Alabama. (Florida’s 1957 law required registration of all felony offenders; in 1993 the state
enacted a new statute specifically for sex offender registration.) A hiatus of 18 years appears to have

? For addiﬁonal information on constitutional challenges to sex offender registration statutes, see The Constitutionality of
Statutes Requiring Convicted Sex Offenders to Register with Law Enforcement, National Center for Missing and Exploited
Children, December 22, 1994.

4 National Center for Missing and Exploited Children, The Constitutionality of Statutes Requiring Convicted Sex Qffenders
to Register With Law Enforcement, December 22, 1994.



followed; none of the current laws were passed in the period between 1968 and 1984. Of the 40 states
with sex offender registljation laws, all but 4 were enacted after 1984. Since 1991, 28 of the 40 laws
have been passed, and a total of 12 have been amended.

Overview of Registration Laws

ADMINISTRATION

Maintenance of a sex offender registry is generally overseen by a state agency such as the state police
or departments of corrections, institutions, or probation and parole. The state attorney general often
has a central role as well. Local law enforcement is generally responsible. for collecting information
and forwarding it to the administering state agency. Exceptions are Delaware, Maine, Utah, Virginia,
West Virginia, and Oregon, where the state is responsible for both collecting the information and
maintaining the central registry.

INFORMATION COLLECTED

Generally, the state obtains an offender’s name, address, fingerprints, photo, date of birth, social
security number, and criminal history at the time of registration. In some states, fingerprints and
photographs are already on file with the administering department, so other information is simply
updated. Other information frequently collected includes place of employment and vehicle
registration. Eight states collect blood samples for DNA analysis: Arizona, California, Hawaii,
Illinois, Louisiana, Missouri, South Dakota, and Wisconsin; Michigan includes a DNA profile if
available.

* TIME PERIOD FOR REGISTRATION

Offenders in different states have varying timeframes for initial registration, ranging from
"immediately" or prior to release (Connecticut, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, West
Virginia, and Wisconsin) up to one year following release (Oregon), with a more common range of 7
to 30 days (23 states). The duration of the registration requirement ranges from the duration of
probation/parole (Georgia, Indiana, and Texas) to life, and is typically 10 years or longer.

Thirteen states require lifetime registration for some or all offenders. Most of these states allow the
offender to petition the courts for relief from this duty after a specified time period. Four other states,
while not specifying lifetime registration, require the offender to petition the courts to end the
registration requirement. A typical example of this petition process is found in Mississippi’s
legislation: ‘

Any person having a duty to register under Section 1 of this act may petition the circuit court
to be relievéd of that duty...The court shall consider the nature of the registrable offense
committed and the criminal and relevant noncriminal behavior of the petitioner both before

. and after conviction, and it may consider other factors. The court may relieve the petitioner
of the duty to register only if the petitioner shows, with clear and convincing evidence, that
future registration of the petitioner will not serve the purposes of this act.
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Eight states vary the length of the registration requirement according to the seriousness of the offense
(Colorado, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Washington, and Wyoming) or the number of convictions
(Alaska, Kansas, and Michigan). Oklahoma allows an exceptional two-year requirement for offenders

- who complete a state-approved sex offender treatment program (otherwise, the duration is ten years).
In Georgia, Indiana, and Texas, registration ends with completion of parole or probation. Minnesota
adds five years to the registration requirement if an offender fails to comply with the law.

Under the federal crime bill’s registration act, offenders convicted of a crime against a child, or a
-sexually violent offense, are required to register for ten years following reléase or placement on
supervision; sexually violent predators must register until it can be determined that the offender no
‘longer suffers from a mental abnormality or personality disorder which makes him hkely to commit a
predatory, sexually violent offense.

UPDATING ADDRESSES AND ADDRESS VERIFICATION

Addresses must be updated in order for the registry to maintain its usefulness.to law enforcement and
the public. Generally, offenders are relied upon to notify authorities of new addresses; most states
allow the offender 10 days to give change-of-address notification. Minnesota and New Jersey reqmre
the offender to notify the appropriate authorities prior to residing at a new address.

Seven states require offenders to verify their registration information annually (Alaska,'Califomia,
New Hampshire, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, and Wisconsin); New Jersey will require
verification every 90 days.

In compliance with the federal crime bill’s registration act, states are required to periodically verify a
registered offender’s address; annually, for an offender convicted of an offense against a child or a
sexually violent offense, and every 90 days for a sexually violent predator. Each state law
enforcement agency will send a non-forwardable verification form to the last-reported address; the
offender is required to return this form, by mail, within ten days of receipt.

OUT-OF-STATE CONVICTIONS

Most states’ registration laws apply equally to offenders convicted in another state.

Kentucky, Minnesota, and Oregon require offenders coming into the state to register only if they are
currently on probation or parole. In Arkansas, where registration is required after two convictions for
sex offenses against a child, an out-of-state conviction will be counted. '
The federal crime bill’s registration act requires offenders moving to another state to register with law
enforcement in the new state within ten days of establishing residence, if the new state has a
registration requirement.

NONCOMPLIANCE

"The penalty for failure to register ranges from a misdemeanor to a felony. For offenders released
under community supervision, noncompliance is frequently punished by revocation of parole or



probation. - California, Delaware, South Carolina, and Utah impose a mandatory confinement of 90
days for noncompliance. Other states impose confinement ranging from one to five years, and/or a
fine of up to $5,000. Eleven states (California, Colorado, Delaware, Indiana, Louisiana, Ohio, South
Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, and Wyoming) increase the severity of the penalty for
repeat failures to register. California, Mississippi, Oregon, and Washington vary the severity of the
penalty according to the severity of the offense for which the offender is registering. Minnesota
punishes noncompliance by requiring the offender to register for an additional five years.

ACCESS TO REGISTRIES

States have various provisions regarding access to registry information. Twenty states specify that
registry information is available only to law enforcement and investigative authorities. Twenty states
allow some type of access, ranging from criminal background checks to full public access and
community notification.

In California, the Department of Justice will operate a "900" telephone number that the public may
call to determine if a specific individual is a felony child molester; the caller must already have
specific identifying information. In addition, California’s Department of Justice will make a
subdirectory of sexual habitual offenders available to local law enforcement, who may regulate public
access; this subdirectory will not include exact addresses, or criminal history other than the crime for
which the offender is registering. In Montana, the law does not specifically prohibit the release of
information, but the public has not yet requested access to the registry.

COMMUNITY NOTIFICATION PROGRAMS

Concurrent with registration laws, some states have passed notification legislation designed to inform
communities about convicted offenders. Notification programs can be directed at a number of
different audiences, including: law enforcement, victims and witnesses connected to specific
offenders, school districts, and citizens in a particular neighborhood or community. Some states allow
victims and witnesses to enroll in a program which lets them know where the offender is located
during confinement, and where and when the release occurs. Other states require the departments of
prisons or parole to inform local law enforcement when an offender believed to be dangerous is
released from prison and intends to reside in a specific community.

As part of the federal crime bill, states may allow law enforcement agencies to release relevant
registration information to the public when necessary for the public’s protection. The name of an
offender’s victim may not be released. Louisiana, New Jersey, Oregon, and Washington already have
full-scale community notification programs for sex offenders judged to pose a serious public threat.

Louisiana has a three-step notification process, with responsibility placed on the offender: 1) the
offender places a two-day notification in the local newspaper, which must include the name, offense
committed, and address; 2) the offender provides this same information to the local school
superintendent; and 3) the offender sends postcards of notification (with the same information used in
steps one and two) to all neighbors within a three-block radius, or one square mile if in a rural area.

In New Jersey, the county prosecutors where the offender was convicted and where the offender plans
to reside, together with appropriate law enforcement, assess an offender’s risk of reoffense. The -

8



county prosecutor where the offender will reside consults with local law enforcement to determine the
means of providing community notification for sex offenders believed to be at a high risk to reoffend.
For offenders determined to be a moderate risk, organizations in the community--including schools,
churches, and youth organizations--are notified. ‘

Oregon’s notification procedures include flyers, news articles, and "stop" signs posted on the
offender’s residence. These signs, which resemble actual stop signs, read: "Stop, Sex Offender
Residence," and include the address and phone number for the Department of Corrections. The
supervising probation or parole officer in the county where the offender resides "develop([s] a
notification plan based on the offender’s crime/behavior and the make-up of the community."*

Washington’s community notification law authorizes law enforcement to release "relevant and
necessary" information about convicted sex offenders to the public. Notification activities have
included front-page news articles, flyers and posters, and canvassing of neighborhoods.® Some
newspapers print the names of sex offenders registered in their counties.

- CONFIDENTIALITY

Ten states address the confidentiality of the registry information. Most of these states consider
violations of this confidentiality a misdemeanor; Arizona, however, considers this crime a felony.
Michigan specifies that violators may be punishable by up to 90 days imprisonment and/or a fine of
up to $500. California states that the use of the registry information to commit a felony is punishable
by a five-year prison term in addition to any other applicable punishment. Other states make reference
to confidentiality under separate statutes which address "private data" or "criminal history."

JUVENILE REGISTRATION

Most states do not require juvenile offenders to register (except when convicted under adult statutes).
States that routinely seal or destroy juvenile records are generally unable to impose a registration
requirement upon juveniles because of confidentiality laws.

Thirteen states have imposed a registration requirement on juvenile sex offenders (Califomia,
Colorado, Delaware, Idaho, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, Rhode Island, South Carolina,
Texas, Washington, and Wisconsin). Washington registers juveniles and keeps records indefinitely,
requiring both adult and juvenile Class A felony sex offenders to register for life, Class B sex felons
for 15 years following release, and Class C sex felons for 10 years. Delaware and Rhode Island
destroy juvenile registration records when the offender reaches age 25; Texas, where the registration
requirement extends only through the duration of parole in any case, destroys juvenile records at age
21. California, Michigan, New Jersey, and South Carolina can potentially apply lifetime registration
requirements to juvenile offenders.

5 Guidelines for Sex Offender Notification and Registration, Sex Offender Supervision Network Training Committee,
chaired by Larry Cramer, Clackamas County Community Corrections, January 1994.

¢ For examples of community notification, see Community Notification Press Review, Washington State Institute for Public
Policy, July 1992. See also, Community Notification: A Survey of Law Enforcement, Washington State Institute for Public
Policy, December 1993.



COSTS

The initial cost of implementing a new registration law varies, depending on the need for investment
in new equipment. In Oklahoma and Oregon, existing electronic systems were easily adapted to
accommodate registration information, with nominal added costs. Other states created entirely new
information systems. In Washington State, where a new system was created in 1990, the total start-up
costs were $120,000.” California has been updating its reglstratlon technology in recent years, with
investments in computers and other equipment.

Annual costs may include data collection and entry, administration of the central registry,
administration of registration forms, program evaluation, compliance monitoring, and enforcement.
Maintenance of a central registry generally requires a small staff. Most states provide funds for
maintenance and administration of a central registry, but enforcement and local administrative costs are
generally borne by local governments. Washington State allocates over $50,000 annually to reimburse
local sheriff’s départments for administrative costs. ‘

Active enforcement of registration laws is costly, requiring law enforcement to contact registered

- offenders periodically, either by mail or in person. In many states the level of enforcement varies by
local jurisdiction, depending on the availability of funds. Most states enforce their registration laws
passively, waiting for noncompliant offenders to come to the attention of law enforcement through
suspicious behavior or new offenses; such states have no way of knowing how many sex offenders fail
to register.

EVALUATING REGISTRATION LAWS

Most of the laws were enacted recently and have not been evaluated. Only California and Washington
State have produced written evaluations. A 1988 study by the California Department of Justice found
that adult sex offenders released from prison in 1973 and 1981 had compliance rates of 54 and 72
percent, respectively.® In 1991, Washington’s compliance rate was 76 percent.” Thus, in both
California and Washington, approximately three out of four sex offenders required to register actually-
did so. This compliance rate is much higher than predicted by critics of registration laws.

Significantly, high rates of voluntary compliance are not essential for a registration law to have law
enforcement benefits. If a complete list of released sex offenders who should have registered is
routinely produced by the state prison system, then law enforcement can choose whether to actively
pursue those not in compliance, or to enforce passively, reserving noncompliance charges for offenders
whose behavior draws the attention of law enforcement. In several Washington State counties, local
authorities conduct thorough background checks on all released offenders and use the information--
regardless of compliance--as an investigative tool.

? Washington State Institute for Public Policy, Cost of Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification in-
Washington State, February 1995.

¥ California Department of Justice, Effectiveness of Statutory Requirements for the Registration of Sex Offenders, 1988.

® Washington State Institute for Public Policy, Sex Offender Registration in Washington State: Compliance, 1991, January
1992. State Patrol records have been used to calculate the percentage of sex offenders released from confinement who have
registered. As of December 1, 1994, 79 percent of sex offenders required to register have done so.
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In addition to measuring compliance, California’s 1988 study looked at the recidivism rates of released
sex offenders, and has examined the extent to which registration actually assists in the investigation of
sex crimes. A .15-year follow-up study was conducted of sex offenders first arrested in 1973. Nearly
half (49 percent) of this group were re-arrested for some type of offense between 1973 and 1988, and
20 percent were re-arrested for a sex offense. Those whose first conviction was rape (by force or
threat) had the highest recidivism rate--64 percent for any offense and 25 percent for a sex offense.

Based on the responses of 420 criminal justice agencies, the California study found that a large
proportion of criminal justice investigators believed the registration system was effective in locating -
released or paroled sex offenders and apprehending suspected sex offenders. For this reason, the vast
majority of those surveyed believed the registration requirement should be continued. Approximately
one-half of the respondents believed that registration deterred offenders from committing new sex
crimes.
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STATE
(Year Enacted)

Alabama

Revised

(1967)
(1994)

CONTACT
PERSON

Ron Cunningham

Criminal Justice
Information Center

(205) 242-4800

TABLE 1

States with Sex Offender Registration Laws
* Shaded rows indicates states that passed registration statutes in 1994.

OFFENDERS
REQUIRED TO
REGISTER

Adult sex offenders

INFORMATION COLLECTED
(In addition to name and address)

DNA sample {DNA sample to be kept in separate
database)

ADMINISTRATING
AGENCY

State Department of Public
Safety, local law enforcement

Arizona

(1985)

Eva Skelton

Department of Public
Safety, Central Records

{602) 223-2229

Nancy Swetnam

Administrator for the
Courts

(602) 542-9517

Adult sex offenders

Fingerpfints, photo, DNA sample, other identifying
information

State Department of Public
Safety, local law enforcement

Arkansas

(1987)

Karen Curry

Office of Prosecutor
Coordinator

{501) 682-3671

Habitual adult sex offenders
{convicted a second or
subsequent time after
1987), whose victim is
under 18

Fingerprints, photo, other identifying information

State Police, local law
enforcement

California

Latest revision

Marty Langley
Dept of Justice
(916) 227-3288

Adult and juveniie sex
offenders; offenders found
to be sexually motivated

Fingerprints, photo, drivers license number, vehicle license
plate number, criminal history, other identifying
information which may include blood and saliva samples
for DNA analysis '

State Department of Justice,
local law enforcement

Colorado

(1991)

Gray Buckley
Bureau of Investigations
{303) 239-4300

Adult and juvenile sex
offenders

Fingerprints, photo, other identifying information including
place of employment

State Bureau of Investigation,
local law enforcement




STATE
(Year Enacted)

CONTACT
PERSON

OFFENDERS
REQUIRED TO
REGISTER

INFORMATION COLLECTED
(In addition to name and address)

ADMINISTRATING
AGENCY '

Florida

(1993)

Wayne Quinsey

Division of Criminal
Justice Information
Systems

{904) 487-1179

Violent sex offenclers -and
repeat sex offendars

Fingerprints, photo, other identifying information including
physical description, place of employment, dates of
conviction and release

State Department of Law
Enforcement, local law
enforcement

Idaho

(1993)

Bob Taylor

Bureau of Criminal
Investigation

(208) 884-7135

Adult and juvenile sex
offenders

Fingerprints, photo, other identifying information inéluding
physical description, description of crime

State Bureau of Criminal
Identification, local law
enforcement

HMinois
Revised

(1986)

11993)

Rich Lingle

State Department of
Police Intelligence
Bureau

{217) 785-2316

Adult and juvenile felony
sex offenders whose victim
is under 18

Address only (fingerprints, other information and DNA
already on file) ’

State Police, local law
» enforcement

Kansas
Revised

(1993)
(1994)

Kathleen Bledsoe

State Bureau of
Investigations

{913) 296-8200

Adult violent sex offenders

Fingerprints, photo, other identifying information including
date of conviction

State Bureau of Investigations;
Department of Corrections,
local law enforcement

Louisiana

(1992)

Bill Price

Department of Probation

and Parole
(5604) 342-5826

Adult sex offenders

Fingerprints, photo, place of employment, place and date
of conviction, other identifying info

State Bureau of Criminal
Identification and Information,
Department of Public Safety
and Corrections, local law
enforcement




STATE
(Year Enacted)

(1991)

CONTACT
PERSON

Wendy Littlefield
State Bureau of
Identification
{207) 624-7009

OFFENDERS
REQUIRED TO
REGISTER

Serious adult sex offenders
whose victim is-under 16

INFORMATION COLLECTED
(In addition to name and address)

Address only

ADMINISTRATING

AGENCY

State Bureau of |dentification

Minnesota

Revised

{1991)
(1994)

Special Agent Gary Dahl

_Bureau of Criminal

Apprehension
(612) 642-0610

Adults and juvenile sex
offenders

Fingerprints, photo, DNA sample (required by another
statute), other identifying info

State Department of Public
Safety, Department of
Corrections

Ted Clack Adult sex offenders DOB, physical description, description of offense State Department of
Montana (1989) .

Department of Corrections and Human
Revised 11991) Institutions Services, local law

(406) 444-4907 enforcement
Nevada Nancy Tiffany Adult sex offenders Fingerprints, photo, address, and other identifying info State Department of Probation
Rovisad ;;ggz Department of Probation ° and Parole, local law

ovise

and Parole
{702) 687-5040

enforcement

New Hampshire, ;45

Wendy Howard
State Police
(603) 271-2663

Adult sex offenders

Physical description, employer’s address

State 'Department of Safety,
local law enforcement
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STATE

(Year Enacted)

CONTACT
PERSON

OFFENDERS
REQUIRED TO
REGISTER

INFORMATION COLLECTED
(In addition to name and address)

ADMINISTRATING
AGENCY

North Dakota

Revised

(1991)
(1993)

Bob Helton
Bureau of Criminal

Investigations
(701) 221-5500

Adulf sex offenders; adult
non-sex offenders against
children

Fingerprints, photo, place of employment, date and place
of conviction, description of offense, other identifying
information :

State Bureau of Criminal
Investigations, local law
enforcement

Ohio

(1963)

Greg Berquist

Bureau of Criminal-

Investigations
{614) 852-2556

Aduit sex offenders
convicted 2 or more times

Fingerprints, photo

State Bureau of Criminal
Investigations, local law
enforcement and courts

Oklahqma

Revised

(1989)
(1991)

Sharon Neumann

Department of
Corrections

{405) 425-25693

Adult sex offenders

Fingerprints, photo, physical description, DOB, criminal
history, place of employment, vehicle registration

| State Department of

Corrections

Oregon
Revised

(1989)
(1991)

Bob Sundstrom
State Police

{503) 378-3720 x4410

Adult sex offenders

Physical description, description of offense (other
information on file}

State Police

Rhode Island

(1992)

Steven White

Attorney General's Office

(401) 274-4400

Adult and juvenile sexual
assault offenders, including
attempted offenses

Fingerprints, photo, signed statement

State Attorney General, local
law enforcement




STATE
(Year Enacted)

CONTACT
PERSON

OFFENDERS
REQUIRED TO
REGISTER

INFORMATION COLLECTED ,
{In addition to name and address)

ADMINISTRATING
AGENCY

Texas
Revised

(19917)
(1993)

Paul Jordan

Criminal Intelligence

Service, Department of
Public Safety

{512) 465-2200

Adult and juvenile sex
offenders (except indecent
exposure)

Fingerprints, photo, place of employment, other identifying
information ’

'

State Department of Public
Safety, local law enforcement

Utah

Latest revision

(1987}

(1994

Michelle Rodriguiz
Dept of Corrections
(801) 265-5626

Adult sex offenders

Vehicle description, criminal history, DOB, other
identifying information

State Department of
Corrections

Washington
Revised

(1990}
(1991)

Susie Coon
State Patrol
(360) 705-5101

Adult and juvenile sex
offenders

Fingerprints, photo, crime, date of conviction, social
security number, DOB, place of employment, place of

conviction

State Pétrol, State Department
of Corrections, local law
enforcement
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STATE
(Year Enacted)

Wisconsin

CONTACT
PERSON

Mike Lew, Department of
Corrections
{608) 266-5413

Special Agent Ron Feurer
Department of Justice
(414) 227-2100

OFFENDERS
REQUIRED TO
REGISTER

Adult and juvenile sex
offenders

INFORMATION COLLECTED
(In addition to name and address)

Place of school enrollment, place of employment,
employment duties, DNA sample

ADMINISTRATING
AGENCY

State Department of Justice




TABLE 2

States with Sex Offender Registration Laws

TIMEFRAME FOR
REGISTRATION

Within 30 days of release; 30
days of changing address

APPLIES TO
OFFENDERS
CONVICTED
IN ANOTHER
STATE?

DURATION OF
REQUIREMENT

VERIFICATION OF
ADDRESS?

PENALTIES FOR
NON-COMPLIANCE

Felony--1 to 5 years
imprisonment and up to $1,000
fine

Arizona

Within 30 days of conviction; 30
days of entering state;
"promptly” upon changing
address

[

Class 6 (lowest) felony or Class
1 (highest) misdemeanor

Arkansas

Within 30 days of entering any
county; 10 days of changing
address

10 years

Class A misdemeanor--up to 1
year in jail and up to $1,000 fine

California

Within 14 days of entering any
county or city; 10 days of
changing address

Life for both adults and
juveniles; juveniles may
petition to have their
records sealed

Offenders update registration
info annually with local law
enforcement within 10 days of
birthday; verify address with
Department of Justice

If guilty of a misdemeanor,
failure to register or update is a
misdemeanor--up to 1 year in
jail; if guilty of a felony or have
prior failure, failure is a felony--
16-36 months in state prison;
mandatory 90 days
imprisonment; parole/probation
revocation
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Colorado

TIMEFRAME FOR
REGISTRATION

Within 7 days of becoming a
temporary or permanent resident;
7 days of changing address

APPLIES TO
OFFENDERS
CONVICTED
IN ANOTHER
STATE?

DURATION OF
REQUIREMENT

20 years {Class 1, 2 and
3 felonies); 10 years
{Class 4, 5 and 6
felonies); 5 years
{misdemeanors)

VERIFICATION OF
ADDRESS?

PENALTIES FOR
NON-COMPLIANCE

Class 2 misdemeanor; Class 6
felony for second failure

Florida

Within 48 hours of entering a
county; 48 hours of changing
address

Third degree felony; revocation
of parole/probation

Idaho Within 5 days of entering any Yes 10 years . No Felony--incarceration up to 5
county; 5 days of changing years and fine up to $5,000
address

@ ] L J o ] o @ ®
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Hlinois

TIMEFRAME FOR
REGISTRATION

Within 30 days of entering any
county; 10 days of changing
address

APPLIES TO
OFFENDERS
CONVICTED
IN ANOTHER
STATE?

Conviction in
another state may
constitute a first
conviction

DURATION OF
REQUIREMENT

10 years

VERIFICATION OF
ADDRESS?

No (State Police has requested
that local law enforcement
verify addresses)

PENALTIES FOR
NON-COMPLIANCE

Class A misdemeanor

Within 15 days of entering any
county; 10 days of changing
address

10 years for first
conviction; life for second
or subsequent conviction

Class A non-person
misdemeanor

Louisiana

Within 30 days of release; 45
days of entering state; 10 days
of changing address

10 years {(may petition the
court for relief of duty)

1st failure--up to $1,000 fine
and/or up to 1 year
imprisonment; 2nd failure--up to
3 years imprisonment without
parole, probation or suspension

Within 15 days of release; 5

days of changing address

15 years {may petition for
relief of duty after 5
years)

Class E crime (misdemeanor)




Minnesota

TIMEFRAME FOR
REGISTRATION

Immediately upon release; prior
to entering state if accepted
while on parole/probation; 5 days
prior to changing address

APPLIES TO
OFFENDERS
CONVICTED
IN ANOTHER
STATE?

Yes, if on
parole/probation;
acceptance of an
offender under
interstate
agreement is
conditional on
offender

_ registering, and

other requirements

DURATION OF
REQUIREMENT

10 years or length of
parole/probation,
whichever is longer

VERIFICATION OF
ADDRESS?

No (local law enforcement is
asked to physically verify
offender’s reported address)

PENALTIES FOR
NON-COMPLIANCE

Gross misdemeanor, and adds 5
years to registration requirement

Montana

Within 14 days of coming into a
county; 10 days of changing
address

10 years

Misdemeanor--minimum 90 days
incarceration and/or up to $250
fine '

Nevada

Within 48 hours of arrival in a
county; 10 days of changing
address

Life; offender may
petition district court
relief of duty

Gross misdemeanor--up to 1
year in county jail

New
Hampshire

Within 30 days of release
{including while under
supervision); 30 days of
establishing residence; 10 days
of changing address

Life {felony offenses); 10
years {misdemeanors)

Registration report made
annually within 30 days of
anniversary of release, or of
establishment of residence in
state if convicted elsewhere

Misdemeanor




TIMEFRAME FOR
REGISTRATION

North
Dakota

Within 30 days of release; 30
days of changing address

APPLIES TO
OFFENDERS

.CONVICTED

IN ANOTHER
STATE?

DURATION OF
REQUIREMENT

VERIFICATION OF
ADDRESS?

PENALTIES FOR
NON-COMPLIANCE

5-10 years, depending
upon seriousness of
offense

Class A misdemeanor; automatic
parole revocation

Ohio

Within 30 days of entering any

county; 10 days of changing
address

10 years

First degree misdemeanor for
1st offense; fourth degree
felony for subsequent offenses

Oklahoma

Within 10 days of release; 30
days of entering state; 10 days
of changing address

2 years for offenders who
complete Department of
Corrections’ treatment
program; 10 years for
other offenders

Misdemeanor

Within 1 year of release from
supervision; 30 days of changing
address

Yes--if offender is
on probation

Life; may petition for
waiver after 10 years (law
sunsets in 1997)

No {currently developing a
system of verification)

Class C felony if felony offense;
otherwise a Class A
misdemeanor

Rhode
Island

Within 60 days of conviction; 30
days of entering state; 10 days
of change of address

Life for adults; until age
25 for juveniles (juvenile
registration records
destroyed at that time)

Misdemeanor--90 days
imprisonment, 1 year probation




TIMEFRAME FOR APPLIES TO | DURATION OF VERIFICATION OF PENALTIES FOR
REGISTRATION OFFENDERS | REQUIREMENT ADDRESS? NON-COMPLIANCE
' CONVICTED ' ‘

IN ANOTHER
STATE?

Texas ) Within 7 days of arriving-at No Duration of No Class A misdemeanor for 1st
intended residence; 7 days of parole/probation for failure; Third degree felony for
changing. address adults; until age 21 for second failure

juveniles (juvenile
registration info destroyed

at age 21)
Utah During presentence investigation, Yes 5 'years ’ No Class A misdemeanor--
or immediately upon being : mandatory 90 days confinement
paroled; 10 days of changing ) and 1 year probation

address




TIMEFRAME FOR
REGISTRATION

APPLIES TO

OFFENDERS
CONVICTED
IN ANOTHER
STATE?

DURATION OF
REQUIREMENT

VERIFICATION OF
ADDRESS?

PENALTIES FOR
NON-COMPLIANCE

Washington

Within 24 hours of release,
immediately if not confined; 30
days of becoming new state
resident; 10 days of changing
address

Life if Class A felony;
15 years if Class B felony;
10 years if Class C felony

Class C felony if Class A felony
offense; otherwise gross
misdemeanor

Wisconsin

Upon release from supervision;
within 14 days of changing
address, school enrollment, or
employment

No (DOJ asks
supervised
offenders from
other states to
register but this
cannot be
enforced)

15 years from discharge
from supervision

Offender must notify the
Department of Justice annually
of his/her current information;
DOJ notifies offenders of this
requirement

Up to $10,000 fine and/or up to
9 months imprisonment
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TIMEFRAME FOR
REGISTRATION

APPLIES TO
OFFENDERS
CONVICTED
IN ANOTHER
STATE?

DURATION OF
REQUIREMENT

VERIFICATION OF
ADDRESS?

PENALTIES FOR
- NON-COMPLIANCE
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Alabama

TABLE 3

States with Sex Offender Registration Laws

ACCESS TO INFORMATION

Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only

CONFIDENTIALITY
PROVISION?

NUMBER
REGISTERED

Not known

PERCENT
COMPLIANCE

Arizona

Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only

Information is considered criminal
history; violation of confidentiality
is a felony

6,789

Not known

Arkansas

Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only

No

less than 20

Not known; believed to
be low

California

Department of Justice will operate a "900" phone number that the
public may access to determine if a person is registered as a felony
child molester (caller must already have specific identifying
information); DOJ will make a subdirectory of sexual habitual
offenders available to local law enforcement, who may regulate
public access (subdirectory will noet include exact address or criminal
history except crime for which registering)

Use of information disclosed by
"900" number or subdirectory to
engage in illegal discrimination or
harassment is illegal; use of this
information to commit a felony
shall be punished by a 5-year
prison term in addition to any other
punishment

65,645

72% for those reléased
in 1981; 54% for those
released in 1973

(1988 study)

Colorado

Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only

No

Not known - state registry recently created, but very
few registrants entered in data base"

Available to law enforcement and inyestigative authorities only

Not known




Idaho

ACCESS TO INFORMATION

Limited information is available to the public upon written request
that includes name, DOB, and social security number; address is
available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only

CONFIDENTIALITY
PROVISION?

NUMBER
REGISTERED

PERCENT
COMPLIANCE

Not known

Hinois

Available to law enforcement and investigative authoritiés and to
state child welfare and other governmental agencies

Class B misdemeanor for -
unauthorized release of registration
information

Approximately 944

Not known

Available for public inspection at the sheriff’s office

Estimated to be nearly
100%

Louisiana

Available to the general public

1081 active cases;
1/3 include public
notification

Estimated: Registration
= over 95%;

Public notification

= approx. 90%

Name, address, and description of offense are available 10 the public

27

Not known

Minnesota

Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only

Reference made to another section
addressing "private data”

approximately 3,000

Not known

Montana

Some information is constitutionally protected; public can No 1,300 Not known
theoretically access the list (but has not attempted to dc so)



Nevada

ACCESS TO INFORMATION

Available to law enforcement authorities who, if offender’s victim
was under 18, may inform board of trustees of county school
district, who may inform teachers/education personnel; further
dissemination prohibited without approval by board of trustees

CONFIDENTIALITY
PROVISION?

NUMBER
REGISTERED

Not known

PERCENT
COMPLIANCE

Not known

New
Hampshire

Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only;
background checks may be conducted by agencies that employ

persons to work with children

A person who violates
confidentiality provisions is guilty
of a violation

590 (includes those registered and those notified of
their requirement to register; the computer program
to monitor who has registered and compliance rates
has not yet been completed)

North Dakota

Available to the genera! public without restriction

83 (58 registered for
crimes against children,
25 registered for sex
offenses)

Not known

Ohio

Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only

Not known

Not known

Oklahoma

Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only

1,132

Not known

Oregon

Information on predatory sex offenders may be released to the public

Approximately 750 are
registered or are
expected to register
(offenders have a year
to register upon
release)

Not known

Rhode Island

Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only

Approximately 85

Not known

Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only

Release of registration information
to an unauthorized person is a
Class B misdemeanor

65%-70% for those on
parole




ACCESS TO INFORMATION

Available to law enforcement agencies, the Department of
Education, and the Department of Corrections

CONFIDENTIALITY
PROVISION?

NUMBER
REGISTERED

875 on probation
384 on parole

PERCENT
COMPLIANCE

Not known

Washington

Available to general public and press; background checks may be
conducted for businesses or organizations employing persons to
work unsupervised with children or vulnerable adults

A business or brganization which
obtains conviction information
through a background check may
not further disseminate or use the
record; anyone who violates this is
subject to a civil action for
damages

8,184 registered
2,128 not registered
553 back in custody'®

Wisconsin

Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only

Failure to keep information
confidential may result in fine of
up to $500 and/or up to 30 days
imprisonment

Not known

10 The Washington State Patrol has restructured their database to identify those offenders who are back in custody. This group was previously
counted as either complying or not complying with the registratior requirement. Telephone conversation with Susie Coon, Washington State Patrol, January

9, 1995,
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Updated:

40 States Have Sex Offender Registration Laws

Il Enacted
[ ] None

Washington State Institute
for Public Policy, February 1995







APPENDIX: Sex Offender Registration Statutes

Alabama Code § 13A-11-200 to 13A-11-203

Alaska Statutes § 12.63.010

Arizona Revised Statutes Annotated § 13-3821 to 13-3824
Arkansas Statutes Annotated § 12-12-901 to 12-12-909 _
California Penal Code § 290 and 290.2

Colorado Revised Statutes § 18-3-412.5

Connecticut Pub. Act 94-246

Delaware Code Annotated, Title 11 § 4120

Florida Statutes Annotated § 775.2 '

Georgia Code Annotated 42-9-44.1

Idaho Code § 18-8301 ez segq.

“730 Illinois Compiled Statutes 150/1 et seq.

Indiana IC 5-2-12

Kansas Statutes Annotated § 22-4901 et seq.

Kentucky Revised Statutes, Chapter 17.510

Louisiana Revised Statutes Annotated, Title 15 § 540

Maine Revised Statutes Annotated, Title 34A § 11001

- Michigan Senate Bill 397 (1994)

Minnesota Statutes § 243.166

Mississippi House Bill 2482 (1994)

Missouri Senate Bill 693 (1994)

Montana Code Annotated § 46-18-254 and § 46-23-501 to 507
Nevada Revised Statutes § 207.151 to 207.157

New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated § 632-A:11, ef seq.
New Jersey Revised Statutes § 2C:52-2 '
North Dakota Century Code § 12.1-32-15

Ohio Revised Code Annotated § 2950.01 to 2950.08
Oklahoma Statutes, Title 57 Chapter 8B § 581 to 587
Oregon Revised Statutes § 181.518 to 181.519

Rhode Island General Laws § 11-37-16

South Carolina Code Annotated § 23-3-400 to 23-3-490
South Dakota Codified Laws § 22-22-31

Tennessee Code Annotated § 38-6-110

Texas Revised Civil Statutes, Title 110A, Article 6252-13c.1
Utah Code Annotated § 77-27-21.5 '
Virginia Code Annotated § 19.2.390.1

~ Washington Revised Code §§ 9A.44.130 and 9A.44.140
West Virginia Code § 61-8F-2

Wisconsin Statutes § 175.45

Wyoming Statutes § 7-19-301 to 7-19-306

31
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