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JUVENILE SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION 
IN WASHINGTON STATE: 

IMPLEMENTATION AND INITIAL COMPLIANCE 1991 

BACKGROUND 

Both juvenile and adult sex offenders have been required to register in Washington State since the 
Community Protection Act was enacted in February of 1990 (RCW 9A.44.130). Adult sex 
offender registration was examined in a report published by the Institute earlier this year entitled 
"Adult Sex Offender Registration in Washington State: Initial Compliance 1990" (Felver with 
Lieb, 1991). Effectiveness of the law was discussed, and comparisons with registration rates in 
California were made. 

SUMMARY 

This study examines juvenile application of the law, implementation efforts to date, and identifies 
compliance rates, types of sentences, and selected demographic characteristics of juveniles 
required to register. Compliance is identified for juvenile sex offenders who: 
1) have been adjudicated since the law (and released, if confined); and 2) were in custody at the 
time of the law and have since been released. Findings are current as of March 1991. 

Findings indicate that during the first year of implementation: 

Juvenile sex offenders who were released and/or newly adjudicated have registered at 
a higher rate (70 percent) than adult sex offenders who were released or sentenced 
after the law (60 percent). Total juveniles (state and county)=214, Registered=IS0. 

Compliance for juveniles under state authority (Department of Social and Health 
Services, Division of Juvenile Rehabilitation) was higher than for juveniles under 
county authority (83 percent versus 50 percent compliance). Number (state)=130, 
Registered=lOS. Number (county)=84, Registered=42. 

Of the juveniles under state authority, one-fourth (33 individuals) were adjudicated 
for Class A sex felonies and will be required to register for life. Three-fourths (96 
individuals) were adjudicated for Class B felonies and will be required to register for 
15 years following release (or adjudication, if granted a treatment alternative or 
placed on parole). Only one juvenile was adjudicated for a Class C felony offense, 
which carries a 10-year registration requirement. 



The average age upon release of juvenile sex offenders under state authority was 17, 
and ranged from 12 to 21 years; 1 86 percent were 15 to 19 years old; 39 percent 
were 18 or older. Nearly all were male. 

Washington is one of the few states in the nation, if not the only state, that has 
imposed a statutory registration requirement on juvenile sex offenders. In contrast to 
many states, Washington does not seal courtrecords for all juveniles. Since 1986, court 
records of juveniles adjudicated for Class A felonies have not been sealed. The law was 
expanded with the Community Protection Act of 1990 to include court records of 
juveniles adjudicated for any type of sex offense (RCW 13.50.050(15)). Consequently, 
the state has the necessary information to identify these offenders and monitor their 
registration status when offenders leave the juvenile system. 

Identifying juvenile sex offenders adjudicated and kept under county jurisdiction has 
been more difficult than for juveniles adjudicated and placed in state facilities 
because counties (unlike the state) were not required by law to transfer the names of 
individuals who have been adjudicated or released directly to the Washington State 
Patrol. Thus, a central receiving point for the information has not been established. 

In addition, the very nature of the juvenile system makes monitoring of juvenile sex 
offenders more difficult than for adults. Juvenile courts in each of the 39 counties keep 
independent records. Even if a juvenile reaches the state system, gathering compre- 
hensive case f'des on juvenile offenders can be difficult, especially if individuals have 
criminal histories in more than one county. 

The registration requirement for juvenile sex offenders is basically the same as for 
adults, but decision-making regarding notification of release is different for juveniles. 
Whereas the End of Sentence Review Committee reviews all adult sex offenders released 
under the authority of the Department of Corrections, this committee reviews juvenile sex 
offenders only if they meet the statutory criteria of a sexually violent predator as defined 
in the civil commitment law. 2 Local law enforcement is notified about the release of 
juvenile sex offenders deemed dangerous to the community by the Division of Juvenile 
Rehabilitation. 

As in our previous study, findings in this report should be considered preliminary. We note 
again that penalties imposed on sex offenders who fail to register could change registration 
compliance, as could reports of negative citizen reaction when identified sex offenders move into 
neighborhoods. More experience with registration is needed to evaluate the long-term 
compliance of those affected by this law. 

1Juvenile offenders are defined as youth between the ages of 8 and 17 who have been found guilty of an offense 
which, if committed by an adult, would be a crime. A juvenile offender may also be between the ages of 18 and 21 
if jurisdiction was extended by the juvenile court before the offender turned 18. 

2As def'med in the law: Sexually violent predator means "any person who has been convicted of or charged with 
a crime of sexual violence and who suffers from a mental abnormality or personality disorder which makes the 
person likely to engage in predatory acts of sexual violence." (RCW 71.09.020(1)). 
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Figure 1 

Juvenile Sex Offender Registration: 
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Sources: Dept. of Social and Heal~ Services (DJR) and Washington St=ffe Petrol, Iggl. 
WSIPP, May 1991 *Relec~sed or sentenced to supervision 2/28/90 to 1/31/91. 

THE JUVENILE STUDY GROUP 

Registration compliance of sex offenders adjudicated under the juvenile system was identified. 
Three groups were affected by the law: 

1) Juvenile sex offenders who were released from Department of Social and Health 
Services' facilities since the Community Protection Law was passed (February 28, 
1990). This group represents the most serious group of juvenile sex offenders required to 
register. Compliance for this group was 83 percent. See Figure l, above. Total 
Number= 130, Registered= 108. 

Most of these offenders were adjudicated for sex crimes committed against children. 
One-fourth of the juvenile sex offenders (33 individuals) were adjudicated for sex crimes 
that carry a lifetime registration requirement (Class A felonies). Three-fourths (96 
individuals) were required to register for 15 years (Class B). Specific adjudications and 
length of the registration requirement are shown in Figure 2. See page 4. 

The average age of offenders under state authority upon release was 17 and ranged from 
12 to 21 years (86 percent were 15 to 19; 39 percent were 18 or older). See Figure 3. 



2) 

3) 

Juveni le  sex offenders who were released from or placed under county supervision 
since the law was passed. Compliance for this group was 50 percent. See Figure 1. 
Tota l  N u m b e r  = 84, R e g i s t e r e d  = 42. 

Type of offense and age prot-fle were not available for juveniles under county authority. 

Juveni le  sex offenders who were on parole wh~:n the law passed (retroactively 
requi red  to register). Names of juveniles who were on parole when the law went into 
effect were not recorded by the Division of Juvenile Rehabilitation (DJR) in a systematic 
way, and the size of this group is unclear. These juveniles were notified of the 
responsibility to register by their juvenile parole counselor and some were escorted to 
their sheriff's office to assure compliance. Because the individuals in this category are 
not known at this time, group compliance rates cannot be measured. 

Figure 2 

DJR Juveniles Required to Register: Type of 
Felony and Length of Requirement 

CLASS B: 
15-year registration 
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Reoistration for l ife 
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WSIPP, May 1991 
Source: Department of Soci~l and Heelth Services, Division of Juvenile Rehabilitation, 1991. 

*Released from Division of Juvenile Rehabilitation 2/28[90 to 1/31/91. 



Figure 3 

Juveniles Under DJR Authority Required to 
Register: Age at Time of Release* 

Number (Total= 130) 

Average age = 17 I 
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Source: DepL of Socieff end Health Services, Division of Juvenile Rehabflitetion, 1991. 
WSIPP, May 1991 Released from Division of Juvenile Rehe~bilitaffon 2/28]90 to 1/31/91. 

JUVENILE APPLICATION OF THE LA W 

For Juveniles and Adults, the Same Criteria Apply 

The requirement to register is essentially the same for juveniles and adults, and includes "Any 
adult or juvenile residing in this state who has been found to have committed or has been 
convicted of any sex offense..." (RCW 9A.44.130(1)). Registerable sex offenses are: rape 
(first, second, third degree); rape of a child (ftrst, second, third degree); child molestation (first, 
second, third degree); sexual misconduct with a minor (first, second degree); indecent liberties; 
incest (first, second degree); communication with a minor for immoral purposes; and (under 
sentencing definitions prior to 1988) statutory rape (fu'st~ second, third degree). 

Juvenile sex offenders, like adult sex offenders, have 30 days to register following release from 
conf'mement, and 45 days to register after moving to Washington State. When relocating, 
offenders are required to update their registration with the sheriff in their county of residence 
within 10 days of a move. And, as with adult offenders, the Washington State Patrol has the 
names of all juvenile sex offenders to assist local law enforcement officers in identifying 
offenders who have and have not complied with the registration law. 
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The 1991 Legislature passed a law (Substitute House Bill 1997) that, subject to funding of the 
state budget, will: 1) shorten deadlines for registration (in some cases immediately upon release), 
and 2) extend the requirement to all sex offenders who were under the jurisdiction of the 
Indeterminate Sentence Review Board at the time the law became effective. The same bill 
proposes to reduce the burden of proof for juveniles under the age of 15 who request waivers 
from the requirement. The current law allows waivers through the Superior Court if an offender 
can prove that future registration will not serve the purpose of the law (RCW 9A.44.140(2)). 

PENALTIES FOR NON-COMPLIANCE AND THE DURATION OF REQUIREMENT 

The Same for Juveniles and Adults 

For both juveniles and adults, failure to register is classified as a Class C felony for persons 
convicted of a Class A felony sex offense; otherwise, the failure is a gross misdemeanor. And, 
as for adults, registration is for life if convicted of a Class A felony sex offense, 15 years if 
convicted of a Class B felony sex offense, and 10 years if convicted of a Class C felony sex 
offense, unless a court waiver can be obtained by the offender. 

Rates of compliance for both adults and juveniles were found to be highest for the most serious 
groups of offenders--those released from state institutions--as opposed to those released from 
local jails or placed under community supervision. The variance may be due to the method of 
notification about the registration law, or to the higher penalty associated with failure to register 
for a Class A felony sex offense. 

THE JUVENILE SYSTEM 

Different from Its Adult Counterpart 

In Washington State, the juvenile system has a relatively small number of sex offenders whose 
registration status must be monitored (approximately 250 individuals, state and county combined) 
compared to the adult corrections system (approximately 4,500 individuals). Because of this 
smaller population, and because there are fewer juvenile institutions, the supervising agency 
(DJR) is generally more aware of the individual profiles of juveniles within their system than is 
possible for the Department of Corrections. These advantages--plus the tendency for juvenile 
offenders, as dependents, to move less frequently than adult offenders--make juveniles easier to 
locate and supervise than adult offenders, and may contribute to the higher compliance rate 
among juveniles. 

For all sex offenders under state authority who are adjudicated as juveniles, DJR is responsible 
for forwarding names to the Washington State Patrol so the status of offenders who both have 
and have not registered can be monitored. The State Patrol manually verifies the status of 
juveniles Who have not registered; names of those who have registered are on the State Patrol's 
computerized database. County officials were no t  required by the legislation to forward to the 
State Patrol the names of juveniles adjudicated and kept under county jurisdiction. Thus, a direct 
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link does not exist to transfer the names of these offenders between the counties and the State 
Patrol. 

The most serious adult  offenders released from prison are screened by the End of Sentence 
Review Committee prior to their release) Special bulletins (Notification of Release) are issued 
on persons who are to be released and are deemed dangerous to the community upon their return. 
All adult sex offenders are screened by this process. 

In contrast, juvenile sex offenders are screened internally by staff at the institution where the 
offender resides before release, and again at the state level by a D JR screening committee. If a 
juvenile offender is identified who could meet the statutory criteria for civil commitment, 
information about that juvenile is forwarded to the End of Sentence Review for potential referral 
to the prosecuting attorney. Rather than using the special bulletin process as for adults, names of 
juveniles about to be released who are deemed dangerous to the community are forwarded 
directly to local law enforcement from DJR. 

To date, six juveniles have been considered for civil commitment through this process. One 
19-year-old offender under probation for a sex offense committed as a juvenile is residing at the 
Special Commitment Center. He entered the program after a petition for commitment was filed 
by Snohomish County. This offender did not contest the petition. 

THE WASHINGTON REGISTRATION L A W  

The Only State Known to Register Juvenile Sex Offenders 

All states known to register adult sex offenders were contacted and n o n e  had a statutory 
registration requirement for juveniles (Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Illinois, 
Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Tennessee, Utah). Some agencies in other states, 
however, are apparently tracking juvenile sex offenders on a discretionary basis through child 
abuse registries, and other states may be registering sex offenders under 18 years through their 
adult system if the individual was tried as an adult for the crime. 

The ability to register juveniles is possible in Washington because juvenile court records are not 
sealed for Class A felonies and sex offenses. In many states, the requirement to seal or destroy 
records prohibits juvenile registration as sex offenders because the process generally requires 
collecting certain pieces of confidential information, such as f'mgerprints. 

3The End of Sentence Review Committee is a six-member interagency committee that reviews criminal history, 
institutional behavior, and other relevant information on offenders prior to their release from state institutions. 
Based on this review, recommendations are made to prosecuting at'.orneys for possible civil commitment, and/or to 
the Department of Corrections for the issuance of special bulletins. Agencies on the committee include the 
Department of Corrections, the Indeterminate Sentence Review Board, and the Department of Social and Health 
Services. 



METHODS 

Data for this analysis was obtained from DJR within the Department of Social and Health 
Services, the Washington State Patrol, and Office of the Administrator for the Courts. 

The Office of the Administrator for the Courts supplied the names of all persons age 18 or under 
who, since the law, have been found guilty of sex offenses. Names of juveniles under state 
authority, received from DJR, were removed from this list to identify those under county 
authority (those remaining). The registration status of the remaining juveniles (under county 
authority) was verified by cross-matching these names against a Washington State Patrol master 
printout of registered sex offenders dated March 21, 1991. 

The registration status of sex offenders under state authority was calculated by cross-matching 
names obtained from summary reports maintained within DJR with the March 21, 1991, 
Washington State Patrol master printout. It was necessary to secure these names separately 
because information about commitments served by juveniles under state versus county authority 
are not systematically linked; thus, these names would not have appeared on the listing supplied 
by the Office of the Administrator for the Courts. Ages and types of felonies for sex offenders 
under state authority were also obtained from the summary reports supplied by DJR. 
Corresponding information was not available for juvenile sex offenders under county authority. 

Calls to county clerks indicated that some juveniles have petitioned the court for waivers from the 
registration requirement, and in some cases the registration requirement has been removed. 
Since a statewide listing of juveniles who have obtained waivers is not available, compliance rates 
for juveniles under county authority may be overstated. It should be noted, however, that sex 
offenders who are required to register are not exempt from the requirement even though a waiver 
application has been made. 

We wish to thank Karen Brunson at the Division of Juvenile Rehabilitation, and Susie Coon at the 
Washington State Patrol for their assistance in compiling and reviewing the information contained 
in this report. 
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Appendix 
SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION: 

TRACKING THE OFFENDER 
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WSIPP, May 1991 

*Except juveniles on detention and adult jail releases without DOC supervision. 
**If SHB 1997 (1991) is enacted, will include offenders who were under the 

jurisdiction of the Indeterminate Sentence Review Board as of 2/28/90. 
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