
, . , , 

.\ 
• t ' 

A GUll[))IE TO 
~~~ CJnWWSUlMIIE~ ~nGHTS 
MI\!l31 ~JlN SOUTH [))AI[OT,k 

SOUTH DAKOTA DEPARTMENT OF 
COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS 

: ,,~\CQ~JffSItn,aNS DIVISION OF CONSUMER PROTECTION 
".J . 

----- ~~- --~~~~~------- ~~~----~-- -

~ 

~ 
f~~ 

~.~ "'-/ , ~ ... , . 

-..Ia....-___ --..-____ ~ ~- ~~- --- .. ~ 

,$ ~il$I$I$I' • $1$1$1 
l 
l 

If you have issues viewing or accessing this file contact us at NCJRS.gov.



f' 



annuunced ley 
Presi'Jent J0hn F, Kennedy 
in a mesr::age tf; CrJnt~resz 

:.larch 15, 1962 

To be prutecteJ :<,:ainst the marketinc oj' I~'C :Jdz ;lhi~h are hazardous to 
h'J~ltb .Jr tu j ife, 

TQ be prote0t'eJ ut __ "~inzt fraudulent) deceitfu.L, ()r ,"r",;3S ly micleading 
informatil)n, a.dvvrti~in~.:, l:ibc2-iu(, ur uther pra~tic"8, n.rhl t,) be riven the. 
f"acts he needs to make irl1'"rmei cll,)i~es, 

To be assured, wherever Pl)3Si ble, access to ~i vari~ty \if products :In:1 

services at competitive prices; anJ in these industries in which competition 
is not workable arId guvernment rel;ulation in substituted, an assurance <)j' 

satisfactory quality and service at fair prices, 

To be assured that cunsumer interests will receive full and s~npathetic 
consideration in the formulation uf Lovernment policy, and fair and 
expeditious treatment in its aJrninistrative tribunals, 
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Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs 

DIVISION OF CONSUMER PROTECTION 
State Capitol, Pierre, South Dakota 57501 

Phone 605/224-3242 

Dear Fellow Consumer: 

I am pleased to provide you with this handy reference for 
consumer action in South Dakota. 

The Division of Consumer Protection, within the Department 
of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, protects you from a variety 
of illegal practices which can be prepetrated upon the unwary 
consumer. We make every effort to be fair to you, the consumer, 
and to the legitimate businessman. Everyone benefits from the 
exposure of practices which are in violation of the law. It is 
incumbent upon you to inform us if you suspect that you have 
been treated unfairly. You will benefit as will future victims. 

Please feel free to contact us at anytime with questions or 
complaints concerning unscrupulous business activities. Our ability 
to react to your problems is limited to what is provided to us by 
the law. However, we do try to deal with all problems which are 
brought to our attention. Many complaints do not involve a vio­
lation of the law and it is heartening to me to know that we can 
arbitrate legitimate disagreements. That fact speaks well for South 
Dakota's consumers and businessmen. 

Max A. Gors 
Secretary 
Department of Commerce 

And Consumer Affairs 
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~ State Tie-line number (Toll free) ................. 1-800-592-1865 

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS 224-3177 

Division of Consumer Protection 
State Capitol Building 
Pierre, SD 57501 ...........................•.....• 224-3696 

Division of Consumer Protection 
408 West 34th Street 
Sioux Falls, SD 57105 .............................. 339-6691 

Division of Securities 
State Capitol Building 
Pierre, SD 57501 .................................. 224-3241 

Division of Human Rights 
State Capitol Building 
Pierre, SD 57501 .................................. 224-3692 

Division of Banking & Finance 
Insurance Building . 
Pierre, SD 57501 .................................. 224-3421 

Division of Profession and Occupational Licensing 
State Capitol Building 
Pierre, SD 57501 .................................. 224-3177 

Division of Insurance 
InSUral'lce Building 
Pierre, SD 57501 .................................. 224-3563 

FEDERAL CONSUMER OFFICES 

!!r .... 
"i""~ Office of Consumer Affairs 

Washington, D.C. 2020} ................... " ... (202) 245-6164 

.:., Food & Drug Administration 
Room 208,32 S. Dakota 
Sioux Fails, SD 57101 ...................... 336-3980 (ext. J83) 



~ Consumer Product Safety Commission 
Denver Area Office 
Suite 938, Guaranty Building 
817 Seventeenth Street ........................ 1·800·638-2666 
Denver, CO 80202 ............................ (303) 837-2904 

~ Federal Trade Commission 
Denver Regional Office 
Suite 2900 
1405 Curtis Street 
Denver, CO 80202 ............................ (303) 837-227] 



The Division of Consumer Protection consists of four separate programs: 
Retail Inspection, Heavy Scales, Mobile Homes, and Consumer Protection. 
The Retail Inspection program was transferred to the Division from the 
Department of Agriculture in 1973. This program is responsible for 
enforcement of the weights and measures law and the misbranded and 
adulterated food law in South Dakota. The employees of this program are 
stationed across the state of South Dakota and inspect retail outlets on an 
unscheduled basis. These persons ensure that consumers of South Dakota get 
the weight and quantity for which they pay. 

The Heavy Scales program was transferred to the Division from the Public 
Utilities Commission in 1973. The Heavy Scales program is responsible for 
the accuracy of the heavy commercial scales used for grain and livestock sales 
in South Dakota. 

The Mobile Home Program also began in 1973 with the passage of the 
South Dakuta Mobile Home Safety Act. The program is specifically 
discussed later in this handbook. 

The fourth program within the Division of Consumer Protection is the 
Consumer Protection program. Much of the activity concerning the Deceptive 
Trade Practices Act, peddlers and solicitors law, and other consumer laws is 
conducted directly by the personnel in the Consumer Protection program. 

The Division has two office locations. The main office is located on the 
first floor of the State Capitol building in Pierre. The telephone number is 
224-3696. A branch office is located at 408 West 34th Street in Sioux Falls, 
South Dakota, telephone 339-6691. The offices are open Monday through 
Friday from 8 - 12 and 1 - 5 central time. South Dakotans may also ,each the 
Consumer Protection offices by calling the toll free Tie-Line number 
1-800-592-1865. 
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The following are among the many activities the Division of f'.Qnsumer 
Protection undertakes on behalf of the consumer: 

1. DCP investigates and mediates consumer 
complaints. 

2. DCP may recommend legal action to States 
Attorneys and the Attorney General against 
companies alleged to be engaged in unfair 
business practices. 

3. DCP engages in a consumer education program 
and distributes consumer education materials. 

4. DCP assists in the preparation of consumer 
protection legisill tion. 

S. DCP cooperates with Federal and consumer 
protection agencies in other states. 

" ~ WHAT THE DIVISION OF ~
' 

c~.V "'-'1)'" CONSUMER PROTECTION (DCP) IS UNABLE TO DO 

~.:. '7' The Division of Consumer Protection has been given specific responsibili­
~~ri ties by the South Dakota Legislature. While its powers are broad, there are 
I' certain activities the Division cannot undertake . 

. '." 1. DCP has the power to act only in cases where the deceptive act or • .-< .• 

practices occurred in trade and commerce. 
2. DCP can act only in the name of the State of South Dakota. It cannot 

act as a consumer's private attorney in legal action against merchants. 
3. DCP cannot make recommendations on individual businesses. As a 

matter of policy the DCP will inform the consumer if the Division has 
received consumer complaints against a business and whether the 
c'omplaint has been resolved. 
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Many problems commonly encountered by consumers can be avoided if 
the consumer will make it a habit to do the following when purchasing items 
or services: 

Take the name of the salesperson and put it on your receipt. 
Keep all receipts until the product has proven satisfactory. 
Deal only with established, reputable firms. 
Ask for old and/or damaged parts when they 
are replaced. 
Read and thoroughly understand everything 
before you sign. 
Check guarantees to ensure what is 
guaranteed for a lifetime. 
Don't be pressured. Ask questions. 

HOW TO COMPLAIN EFFECTIVELY 

To resolve consumer frustration, we recommend when a problem arises: 
Take your complaint to the company from which you purchased the 
product or service. Most often they can solve your problem. Many 
consumers with complaints fail to contact,,~he company before 
seeking outside help. Save copies of all corresp!J1dence. 
If you don't achieve Satisfaction from the first person you see, ask to 
see the supervisor or manager. 
Allow the company a few days or a week. Some complaints take 
time to resolve. 

WHERE TO GO FOR HELP 

1. If after a reasonable length of time, you still have not received 
satisfaction from the company, gather your facts together and 
call for help, Try to have copies of bills, contracts, cancelled 
checks, warranties, and any correspondence you have sent or 
received regarding the problem. 

-
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2. Call the Division err Consumer Protection 
office in Pierre at (605) 224-3696 or 
Sioux Falls (605) 339 -6691 or use the 
toll free Tie-Line number, 
1-800-592-1865 and ask for the Division 
of Consumer Protection. 

3. Visit the Pierre office located on the first floor of the Capitol 
building or the Sioux Falls office at 408 West 34th Street. 

Wise buying can prevent consumer problems. Remember the best 
consumer protection against fraud is an alert,informed consumer. No matter 
what your age - - - money is important. 

Businessmen generally want to serve you. Their success, particularly in a 
sparsely populated state like South Dakota, depends upon your satisfaction 
with goods and services. You must protect your interest by shopping wisely, 
knowing your rights, and reporting violations of law or deceptive practices 
you encounter. 

6 
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Consumers who encounter deceptive ads or practices should be able to 
recognize them as deceptive ads and report them to the Division of Consumer 
Protection. The South Dakota Deceptive Trade Practices Act has broad appli­
cations. It is generally used to prevent false advertising and deceptive 
practices. 

/01~ '~ 
~ ". 

YOU SHOULD REPORT, <'i\_:-~J 
- . ~¥ 

Statements which misrepresent the source, origin, sponsorship, 
approval, or certification of a product. 
Statements which misrepresent a product endorsed by a govern­
mental agency, a testing agency, and possibly by a celebrity. If a 
product has such an endorsement, it is wise to check if you have any 
doubts. A similar misrepresentation is a merchant who represents he 
is approved or sponsored by a particular group when he actually is 
not. If you see any merchandise that is supposedly sponsored by a 
group, you may want to check on such sponsorships. 
Misrepresentation of a standard is also a deceptive act. In today's 
market place, many consumers shop for a particular grade or 
standard of goods. Merchants are prohibited from labeling their 
goods "national brands" when they ure not. 
Selling used merchandise as new is also a deceptive act. Tl1i1; jaw 
prohibits a merchant from selling seconds or blems as new merchan­
dise. 
Advertising mercllandise and not intending to sell it as advertised is a 
deceptive act. It is recommended you take your ad when you shop 
for a particular special, ask to see the display and if one is not 
available, request a rain check. If you are refused a rain check, 
contact the Division of Consumer Protection so that a determination 
can be made as to adequate supply. 
Advertising for sales personnel as an investment. In some cases, 
consumers looking for a part-time or second job will respond to a 
merchant advertising for sales personnel. It may be a scheme to 
obtain an investment from the consumer. 

i ., .r: '<;'''' "'-, - 'r--. _ _ ~, .- r..::r~ r.'" .- r;_~ ~.~-~ k"'-.c· "'1l~ 
\~ili~:~;::,,~r~ir)J;:?~~T~r·~J@"~:;~":l~ r)~":IG~~~i~·~.t:~~-:1:;j r·~~·G{"",'.d~l \~~~~~ 
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It is also a deceptive act to use false or misleading price statements. 
If a product has been previously advertised at $300 and an ad is used 
stating "was $450, now $325," it is a deceptive ad. If the merchant 
has previously advertised a used item at $600 and changes it to a 
"was $800, now $650,' a deceptive act is occurring unless the 
merchant can prove that he has invested money to improve the 
quality of the item or can show that the actual value has increased. 

It is a deceptive act to engage in bait and switch advertising. 
Consumers have often heard of bait and switch, but probably have 
not realized they have experienced such a situation. A common 
example is when a merchant offers a name brand item at an 
unbelievably low price. When YCJU come to the store, you are 
switched to another product at a higher price, the original product is 
downgraded and/or shoddy merchandise is shown. The disadvantages 
of the special arc emphasized and the advantages of the second item 
are expressed. You may also be told that the original product is 
unavailable. If you go to a store planning to purchase a fantastic 
special; if you are talked out of your purchase by a merchant; :md if 
you are sold a higher priced item, you may be a victim of bait and 
switch. It should be reported. 

We need you to be alert and informed consumers. Don't be afraid to 
complain. The Division of Consumer Protection serves you by: 

Investigation 

Conciliation 

Education 

And the enforcement of the Deceptive Trade Practices Act. 
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Many consumers receive merchandise through the mail, by common 
carrier, or personal delivery which they have not ordered. Tllis merchandise is 
often accepted by the consumer and, in many instances, the consumer 
actually pays. South Dakota law provides that the consumer may refuse the 
merchandise, throw it away or convert it to his personal use. The unsolicited 
merchandise is deemed an unconditional gift to the consumer. You may use it 
in any manner without any obligation to the sender. Tllis law does not apply, 
however, if there is evidence of obvious misdelivery of tb merchandise, or if 
the merchandise is offered in good faith as a substitute for merchandise 
solicited. 

If you receive merchandise which is not ordered, it is recommended that 
you contact the sender and indicate that you do not want the merchandise. If 
you have ever done business with the merchant, it is possible there has been a 
mistake. You probably have an unconditional right to keep the merchandise, 
but it may not be worthwhile to keep it if a legal action is commenced. It is 
recommended you keep a copy of any letter you send to the merchant. Send 
the letter by certified mai1. You should document every effort to correct any 
mistake and always realize you may have to defend your rights in the future. 

9 
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South Dakota has a law which permits you to reconsider purchases made 
under certain circumstances for a three day period. The seller must provide 
you with a copy of the contract showing his phone number and address 
before the avoidance period begins. 

The sale must be: 
1. A cash price of $25.00 or more; 
2. The result of a personal contact solicitation (away from established 

place of business. 
To cancel a sale you should: 
1. Cancel before three (3) business days have elapsed. 
2. Write to the seller by certified mail. Keep a copy for your records. 
3. Offer to return the merchandise to the seller in its original condition. 
The three day avoidance period does not apply: 

When a transaction is made pursuant to prior negotiations at a retail 
establishment. 
If you initiate the contract to meet a personal emergency. 
If you furnish the seller with a separate personal statement waiving 
the three day avoidance period. 
If the transaction is conducted and consummated entirely by phone 
Or mail. 
If you initiate the contact and specifically request the business to 
visit your home to repair goods. 
If the sale involves insurance or securities by a licensed agent. 

The three day avoidance period gives consumers a method to offset high 
pressure sales tractics in the home. Many people are unable to convince or 
force a door-to-door salesman to leave their home. People buyout of desper­
ation to get the person to leave. When such tactics are used, the three day 
avoidance period is necessary to provide the consumer with a remedy and an 
opportunity to cancel a contract made under these circumstances. 

10 
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Did you know that ... 
Peddlers and solicitors must be licensed by the Division of Consumer 
Protection? 
Peddlers and solicitors must be bonded for faithful performance? 
Solicitors must provide you with a signed copy of the order and 
notice of the three day avoidance period? 
Unlicensed peddlers and solicitors must cancel the sale and/or 
contract within one year if the consumer demands that they do so 
and offers to return the merchandise? 
It is against the law for peddlers and solicitors to offer you a . 
discount or gift if you refer a customer to him or her? 

If you are approached by a peddler or solicitor who cannot produce a 
license, you should contact your local States Attorney and request that he • 
contact the Division of Consumer Protection. 

11 



The 1973 South Dakota Legislature passed the state's Mobile Home Safety 
Act. Prior to this time, South Dakota mobile homes were largely unregulated. 
This law was intended to upgrade the quality of the mobile homes in the state 
by providing a minimum building code for mobile homes. The law has been 
successful and has accomplished an upgrading in the q1}ality of mobile homes 
sold in South Dakota. The mobile home program is scheduled to undergo 
substantial changes due to a new federal mobile horne law. The Division of 
Consumer Protection i~ coordinating and enforcing the federal law. 
Consumers who purchased mobile homes manufactured after July 1, 1973, 
should contact the Division. If any difficulty exists, the consumer will be 
assisted or will be referred to the proper person for assistance. 

WHEN BUYING A MOBILE HOME, always deal with a reputable firm. 
Tllis is of utmost importance! It is best to speak to people who are mobile 
home owners. If you don't know any, contact some residents of the various 
mobile home parks in town. 

As with any major purchase, you will probably have to choose between 
what you would like to have and what you can afford. Consider quality and 
floor plan, as well as where you will be putting your mobile home. 

A WORD OF CAUTION: Most mobile home dealers and manufacturers 
try to give their customers full value for their money; but unfortunately, 
irregularities in mobile home sales sometimes occur. Here are a few common 

• sense rules that will protect you: 
*Understand what you sign: The contract that you and the mobile home 

dealer sign should contain a clear and complete description of the mobile 
home, the furnisllings, appliances, accessory items, etc. Before you sign, be 
sure to ask the dealer to spell out the following: 

-How much the complete home will cost. 
-How much interest or finance charge you will pay over the life of the 
loan. 
-How many paymen ts you must make to payoff the loan. 
-How mucl). each payment will be. 

Read and understand thoroughly. NEVER sign a sales agreement with anyone 
who makes fantastic promises. Reputable dealers are not running give-away 
businesses. Always reduce verbal agreements to writing. Be certain to have the 
business owner sign this agreement. 

*Avoid wild bargains. The best bargain is a well built mobile home. 
*Avoid being pressured. High-pressure tactics are often the mark of a 
phony deal. 

~~10I0ler0I0I0ElG10E0~0E 
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Milk CONSUMER REPORTS " "" . ' 

Be . erators 

* Avoid signing a certificate of placement until the home is set up to your 
satisfaction. 
*Avoid signing a contract that has any blank spaces. Find out what they 
are before signing. 
*Make sure you get a copy of everything you sign. Insist that it be given to 
you personally -- do not let it be mailed to you. 

13 



Most of us use credit in one form or another. Usually a service charge has 
to be paid for the use of credit. The purpose of the truth-in-Iending law is 
to let you know exactly what the finance charge is so you may make 
comparisons more readily_The law requires creditors to state such charges in 
a uniform way. The truth-in-Iending law makes it easier for you to know two 
of the most important things about the cost of credit: One is the finance 
charge - the amount of money you pay to obtain credit. The other is the 
annual percentage rate - which provides a way of comparing credit costs 
regardless of the amount of those costs or the length of time in which 
payments are made. Thus, the finance charge and the annual percentage rate 
must be displayed (prominently) on the forms and statements used by your 
creditor to make the required disclosures to you. 

Some creditors utilize a service or canying charge or some other term 
. instead of interest. Under the truth-in-Iending law they must total all such 
charges, including the interest and service charge on the finance charge. Then 
they must list the annual percentage rate of the total credit charge. To find 

. out more about truth-in-Iending you may contact the Division of Consumer 
Protection in Pierre. Be sure to identify the name and location of the 
company extending credit so that your letter can be brought to the attention 
of the appropriate business extending the credit. 

14 



If you have a charge account or a mortgage on your home, life insurance, 
or have applied for a personai loan or job, it is almost certain that there is a 
file on you somewhere. That file will show how you pay your bills, if you 
have been sued, arrested, or if you have filed for bankruptcy. The companies 
which gather and sen such information are caned credit reporting 
agencies. The Fair Credit Reporting Act was passed by the U.S. Congress to 
protect consumers against the circulation of inaccurate and obsolete infor­
mation. Under this law, you may take steps to protect yourself if you are 
denied insurance, employment, or credit. 

Here are the steps you can take: 
You have the right: 

1. To be told the name and address of the credit reporting agency 
responsible for preparing a credit report that was used to deny you 
credit, insurance, or employment. 

2. To be told by a credit reporting agency the nature, substance, and 
sources of the information collected about you. 

3. To take anyone of your choice with you When you visit the credit 
reporting agency. 

4. To be told who has received a credit report on you within the preceding 
six months. 

5. To have lllcomplete or incorrect information reinvestigated, and if the 
information is found to be inaccurate, to have such information 
removed from your file. 

6. To have the agency notify those who have previously received the 
incorrect or incomplete information that this information has been 
deleted from your file. 

7. To have your version of a credit report placed in your file and included 
in future credit reports. 

8. To request the reporting agency to send your version of the dispute to 
certain businesses for a reasonable fee. 

The Fair Credit Reporting Act does not give you the right to request a 
report on yourself from the credit reporting agency. It does not give you the 
right when you visit the agency to receive a copy of your file or allow you to 
phYSically handle it. The Act does not compel anyone to do business with an 
individual consumer. It does not apply when yliU request commercial credit 
or business insurance. . 

If you want to know about information the credit reporting agency has 
collected on you, either arrange for a personal interview at the agency's office 
during regular business hours or call in advance for an interview by telephone. 
The credit reporting agency in your community can be located by consulting 
the yeallow pages of your telephone book under such headings as credit, or 
credit ratings and reporting agencies. 

15 



Many consumer purchases are financed by consumers executing an 
installment sales contract with the merchant for payments over a period of 
months. This is known as a closed end account. The merchant who sells the 
merchandise is usually not in the business of lending money and will sell your 
"paper" co a fmancial institution which would in most circumstances be 
considered a holder in due course. 

Financial institutions which have become holders in due course enjoy a 
special status. The consumer has to pay the financial institution regardless of 
the condition or usefulness of the merchandise or services. Defenses which 
the consumer may have against the seller are not effective against a holder in 
due course. A consumer's only recourse is to recover damages from the 
merchant. 

Under South Dakota law, the financial institution cannot obtain the status 
of a holder in due course for certain consumer purchases and contracts until 
it gives a consumer a 60 day notice. During the 60 day notice, the consumer 
may notify the institution of any legal defenses he may have against the 
merchant if the consumer has notified the financial institution. 

On May 14, 1976, the Federal Trade Commission's Holders in Due Course 
Trade Regulation Rule became effective. This rule is designed to end the 
practice of separating the consumer's duty to pay from the seller's reciprocal 
duty to keep his promises. If a merchant sells or assigns a consumer credit 
contract to a third party or accepts the proceeds of a purchase money loan 
from a third party, the holder of the consumer credit contract or one who 
provides a purchase money loan is subject to all claims and defenses the buyer 
may have against the original seller. 

The rule applies only if the holder has an agreement with the seller or the 
seller referred the buyer to the holder for a purchase money loans. Purchases 
with credit cards, pursuant to a continuing line of credit and purchase money 
loans made between the buyer and a thirrl. party independent of the seller are 
excluded from operation of the rule. 

16 



Have you ever wondered if you are being charged the proper rate of 
interest? Interest is compensation for the use of money. Any non-itemized 
charge should be considered as interest. It is assumed that whenever a loan of 
money is made, that loan is made with interest. South Dakota law specifies 
what rate of interest can be charged on certain transaction: 

Unless the rate is specified in writing the legal annual rate is 6% . 
. . .If the rate is expressed in writing, the maximum that can be charged is 
10% . 
. . . Revolving charge accounts can be 12%. A revolving charge account is a 
credit transaction that has been previously arranged and the consumer 
continues to charge goods over a period of time. 
The latter transactions are called open accounts. This means that there is 

not a specified limit as to the amount that has been or will be purchased. 
Open accounts can not be "compounded". Compounding interest is simply 
interest on interest. If you have an account balance of $100 and the annual 
rate is 12%, your interest charge for the first month would be $1. If 
compounding interest were permitted, the interest on the second month 
would be 1% times an account balance of $101. You cannot be charged 
interest for the failure to pay interest. 

Closed accounts are commonly referred to as retail installment contracts. 
These accounts are for a specified amount that is known to both parties in a 
Signed agreement. Charges of interest are usually computed in agreement with 
X numb'er of payments and Y number of months to satisfy the agreement. 
The permissible rate of interest for closed accounts is conSiderably more 
complex than for open accounts, 

There are other areas for which higher rates of interest can be charged. 
These are bank cards, auto loans, and variou~ other limited types of financial 
arrangements, wllich are also complex. For the consumer, however, you 
should remember that in a simple account arrangement, the minimum 
amount of interest is 6% unless there is a written agreement permitting 10% 
or unless there is a revolving charge account agreement. Interest rates are a 
complex area and each situation will have to be determined on its own merits 
and facts. There are no easy answers. If you have any questions on credit 
transactions, it is suggested that you contact the Division of Consumer 
Protection. You should remember that excessive interest is usury and 
unlawful. 

~~~~t~t~ttttttttttttttttttttttt 
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Warranties and guarantees are a seller's or manufacturer's written promise 
to stand behind his merchandise and services. In evaluating warranties and 
guarantees, consumers need to know what product, part of a product, or 
performance 1s guaranteed ... for how long ... what will be done in case of 
failure and what the buyer must do to make the guarantees good. In 1976, a 
federal warranty law was implemented making almost all warranties, 
including those for cars and mobile homes, easier to understand. Products 
costing $15 or more must be labeled full or limited. To have a full warranty, 
the product must meet minimum federal standards regarding repair, refunds, 
and replacements. Under this new law, if you incur damages of $25 or more 
that are the result of deceptive 'Narranties or violations of the law, you can 
sue the manufacturer for those damages. A "lemon" clause is a part of full 
warranties. If you can't get a product or part repaired after a "reasonable" 
number of attempts, tIus provision requires the manufactufer to give you a 
refund, less depreCiation, or to replace the product or part without charge. 

18 



Landlord and tenant rights and responsibilities are vague under South Dakota 
law. Therefore, you should know how to avoid disputes with your hUldlord. 
Here are some hints for renting and leasing property to protect yourself from 
future problems. 

Signing the Lease 

L It is alway\;; best to obtain a written lease. Your rights and responsibili-
ties are spelled out clearly. Avoid oral contracts. 

2. Learn the penalties if you leave before the lease expires. 
3. Find out how much notice you must give before leaving. 
4. Avoid signing a lease with your roommate(s) if possible. You could be 

responsible for his or her share of the rent or damages. Request a 
separate lease covering your amount of the rent only. 

5. Keep a copy of the lease for your records. 
6. Find out what the landlord considers damage to the residence and how 

it will affect your security deposit. 

Living in Your Apartment or Home 

1. The first thing to do before you move in is to make a list, in duplicate, 
of all damages in the residence. If possible, ask the landlord to be there. 
Sign and date the copy and have the landlord or manager sign it. If the 
manager of landlord is not there, make the list anyway (with a witness) 
and send a copy to the landlord by registered maiL 

2. If repairs are needed, see that they are made as soon as possible. 
3. If you wish to make alterations, get written consent from the owner 

first and find out if you must pay for the materials such as paint, 
carpeting and lumber. 

4. If your rent is increased, your lan.r!iord must give you at least fifteen 
days notice before the next payment period. 

When You Move 

1. Be sure to give written notice, according to your lease, of your 
intention to move and be sure that you move on that date. South 
Dakota law gives the landlord the right to charge you double your rent 
if you fail to move. 

2. Request 1;hat the landlord go over the property with you to determine 
damages beyond normal wear and tear. Find out then if he intends to 
keep part of the security deposit for damages. 

3. Be sure to leave your forwarding address or send it to your landlord 
promptly so that he may return your deposit within a reasonable time. 

4. You should leave the dwelling in a reasonably clean condition. 
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LANDLORD-TENANT ACT OF 1976 SETS THE FOLLOWING RIGHTS 

AND RESPONSIBILITIES FOR LANDLORD-TENANT RELATIONSHIPS. 

RIGHTS 

LANDLORD: 

1. May withhold deposit to pay for 
rent or damages. 

2. May claim tenant's property, if 
under $100 and not removed 
from premises 10 days after 
tenant vacates. 

3. May charge tenant storage if over 
$100. He may claim after 30 days. 

TENANT: 

1. May sue for damages, 
injunctive relief, recover 
properties, or terminate the 
agreement, if landlord 
unlawfully evicts Or cuts utili­
ties. 

2. May request itemized list of 
damages if landlord withholds 
deposit. 

3. May make repairs and deduct 
from rent if tenant notifies 
landlord and landlord refuses 
to make repairs after reasona­
ble length oftime. 

4. If repairs exceed one month's 
ren t, tenant may deposit 
check in savings account until 
el!ough money has accumu­
lated to pay for repairs. 

RESPONSIBILITIES 

LANDLORD: 

1. May not demand deposit in excess 
of one month's rent. 

2. Must return deposit within two 
weeks after tenant vacates. 

3. Must furnish in writing, within 
two weeks, reasons why not 
returning deposit. 

4. Mus t keep premises in repair 
except when damage is the result 
of negligence by the tenant. 
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TENANT: 

1. Tenant is responsible for all 
leased property. 

2. Must remove all property 
from premises within] 0 days 
or relinquish ownership. 



There are so many things to do around the house and the price just 
quoted to you by the repairman seems so reasonable. He also checked the 
roof aad said it needed some work. How can you find out if he is a reputable 
businessman? There are several ways to check on him:' 

1. Check his place of business. 
2. Check on some jobs he has completed. 
3. Always get more than one estimate for a job. Make sure that each bid is 

based on the same amount of work and quality of material (if bids vary 
widely, find out why). 

It is also very important, as in all things, to fully understand the contract 
you sign. It should clearly state the type and extent of repairs and/or 
improvements and the materials to be used. Avoid any verbal agreements; get 
it in writing. Avoid advance payments, pay after the work has been com­
pleted. A deposit should be sufficient to engage the contractor, If a company 
does not have enough money to start the job, it is not worth employing. 
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HOW TO GET THE BEST DEAL ON A NEW CAR 

Automobile agencies are under pressure from the manufacturer to sell in 
large volume. This means that the buyer should be prepared for pressure from 
the salesman. It is the buyer who is responsible for getting a good deal for 
himself. 

It is very important to have made several decisions before you buy. 
You should analyze your transportation needs. Do 

you need a large car? How will you use your car? 
Would a small car really be more economical if it is 
necessary to have two vehicles for the entire family to 
travel? 

A new car is one of the largest financial 
investments most people make. Take your time in 
making your decisions. And, as always, deal t11r(\' ,gh a 
reputable company. 

HOW TO SAVE YOURSELF TROUBLE WHEN YOU BUY A USED CAR 

1. Plan your purchase .ahead of time. Decide what kind of car you 
want, how much you can afford to spend, not in monthly 
payments but in total costs; principal (price of the car), interest, 
taxes, insurance, and immediate repairs. 

2. Wllat are your transportation requirements from a practical stand-
point? 

3. Try to arrange for f1l1ancing with a bank, credit union, or some­
one else before you buy. 

4. NEVER GO ALO:NE TO BUY A CAR, Always take someone 
along for moral support. Preferably, a mechanic friend. 

5. ALWAYS check the prices of three or four dealers before you 
buy. 

6. Avoid letting a salesman "HIGH PRESSURE" you into buying. 
Let him know that you will make your own decision. 

7. AVOID buying anything unless you have road tested it and are 
satisfied with it. IF THE DEALER WON'T LET YOU ROAD 

8. TEST IT, DON'T BUY IT. 
AVOID buying anything in a hurry. "SLEEP ON IT" and thinJc it 
over for a day or two before you buy. 

9. Have a mechanic check the car and make a list of the things that 
need to be fixed. 
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11. Buy from a dealer with a good reputation. You usually get better 
service, and they can't afford to have bad advertising if they don't 
treat you right. 

12. NEVER let a dealer talk you into borrowing extra money for the 
down payment. You are the boss,not the dealer. 

13. NEVER sign a contract that has any blank spaces in it. Make 
sure that all spaces are filled in with words, numbers or with a 
line through the space. 

14. Make sure that ALL PROMISES the dealer makes to you are IN 
WRITING and in the contract. If he is afraid to put them in 
writing, don't buy from him. 

15. A good way to find out about the car you want is to talk to the 
previous owner. The dealer knows who the owner is; ask for his 
name and phone number. Most car dealers will give you the 
name of the previous owner, and most previous owners will be 
glad to tell you about the car. 

16. Be sure you read and understand ALL PARTS of your contract. 
If you don't understand parts of your contract, have it explained 

until you do. 
17. A VOID signing anything until you are absolutely sure of what 

you are obligating yourself to do. 
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1111 AUI() 
WHAT A CAR DEALER MUST DO 
FOR YOU WHEN YOU BUY A USED CAR 

1. The DEALER MUST LIST in the contract the price of the car, all 
finance charges and any other charges you are being charged. 

2. The DEALER MUST EXPLAIN ALL charges to you. 
3. The DEALER MUST make sure that the car is in safe mechanical 

condition. 
4. 'The DEALER MUST SIGN the contract when you sign it. 
5. ANY GUARANTEES or promises the dealer makes to you MUST 

BE given to you IN WRITING in order for them to be provable as 
being legal and binding on either of you. 

6. By federal law the seller is required to disclose the true mileage of 
the vehicle to you. If the true mileage is unknown he is required 
to tell you so. The seller compiles with the law by giving you an 
"odometer statement" before any serious bargaining takes place. 
If the seller refuses to let you have an odometer statement buy 
your car elsewhere and inform the Division of Consumer 
Protection. -UDu, Ila"I'C~I'~ ILOC,/., 

flf ~\6 "~r"f,w·,q~b 
AUTOMOBILE REPAIR SHOPS ~ g~"\"J(r,s SIC""~:~s,,(,, 

FtO'/rc~'ltc "Surs'~I'CS 

Always deal with a shop that has a good recommendation from your 
friends and acquaintances. Explain as simply and fully as possible what the 
problem is and what condition you expect the vehicle to be in when it is 
returned to you. 

These are several terms and conditions which will assist you in dealing with 
a mechanic: 

1. Ask for and have Signed a written estimate of parts, labor and 
whatever other charges there might be. 

2. Write across the estimate, with your own and the mechanic's 
signature, the fact thai you will not pay for anything over the 
estimated costs unless you have agreed to them. 

3. A rebuilt engine means that all external and internal parts of the 
engine have been cleaned and made free of all rust and corrosion 
and all impaired parts and such other operations are done as are 
necessary to put the industry product in sound working 
condition. 

4. Reconditioned means repaired, adjusted, or refinished. 
5. Repaired menns fixed to working condition. 
6. Ask for old or used parts. This will eliminate the possibility that 

you are being charged for parts which were never actually 
installed. 

Apply the same rules as you do in being a careful shopper and you should 
be satisfied with the mechanic you have selected. 
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Shopping by mail can be both convenient and fun. However, there are 
problems that arise because you rarely see the merchandise and delays can 
occur due to lost orders, computer mix-ups, or slow mail. There are several 
ways to protect yourself when shopping by mail: 

1. . Never send cash. Always pay by check or money order. 
2. Keep a copy of your order and a copy of the acknowledgement. 
3. Check locally to see if you can actually save money. 

A new Federal Trade Commission rule protects consumers who order by 
mail. It provides consumers: 

1. The right to cancel orders when not received within 30 days. 
2. The right to receive the refund within 7 days after the order is 

cancelled. 
Tllis rule does not apply to C.O.D. orders, or services associated with 

merchandise such as: mail-order photo finishing, magazine subscriptions, 
seeds and growing plants, or book or record clubs where you agree to buy on 
a regular basis. 

If you are dissatisfied with services received by a mail order company, you 
should contact the Division of Consumer Protection. 

If you are offered a free magazine subscription for wllich you must pay 
only postage and handling, compute the total cost. The postage and handling 
may be very high when compared to usual rates. 

Phone solicitors may try to convince you to buy a subscription for a small 
monthly payment. Because you pay only a little at a time, you may not 
realize that you have eventually paid more than the regular subscription price. 
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1. Avoid being pressured into buying a higher priced item than the 
item you intended to buy. 

2. Investigate carefully offers made to you as a "winner" of a 
contest-offers of this sort are usually only a gimmick to persuade 
you to buy expensive items or services. 

3. Make certain a receipt for delivered merchandise is not a credit 
contract. 

4. Beware of membership wholesale clubs. The entrance fee may be 
high and the savings low. 

5. Avoid a salesman who asks you to refer him to your friends at a 
savings to you. Report him to the Division of Consumer 
Protection. 

6. Investigate magazine sales since you may save little or lose much 
on subscription prices. 

7. Do not believe that you are making a good investment on an 
expensive product because the salesman says you have been 
chosen for an advertising campaign. 

8. No offer is "once-in-a-lifetime." if it is a genuine offer, it will be 
available again. 

South Dakotans are very charitable people. Too often the honest charity 
suffers because you have been taken advantage of by those who solicit for 
phony charities. 

There are several ways you can protect yourself: 
1. Don't be impressed by impressive titles or familar sounding 

names. 
2. Avoid letting anyone pressure you into making a contribution. 
3. Ask for proper identification of the solicitor and his relationship 

to the charity. 
4. Never contribute to an unknown charity. 
5. Find out who the charity benefits. 
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5. Find out what percent of your contribution goes to charity and 
what percent goes for administrative costs. 

6. NEVER mail your donation in answer to a telephone solicitation. 
7. Check with the Division of Consumer Protection since some 

charities which collect more than $2,000.00 per year in South 
Dakota must register with the state. 

Many promoters of figure developers, correspondence courses, dance 
studios, health spas, beauty kits, etc., appeal to your wildest dreams and 
vanity. The truth is these practices are directed especially against the lonely, 
elderly, widowed, and shut-ins (to mention only a few). The promoters of 
these schemes are determined to make money from your desire to improve 
yourself. 

High School Diplomas/Trade Schools/Correspondence Courses 

Before you deal with organizations that offer education at home, a fast 
job-training, or an easy education, check their accreditation. In other words, 
will the diploma or certificate you earn from tlus organization be accepted by 
recognized schools in the same fields? Will you be able to find a job upon 
leaving the trade school? How valuable is the correspondence course? These 
questions are very important and should be adequately answered before you 
enroll or pay tuition. 

Very often tuition is rather expensive and the "degree" worth little. You 
may pay tuition and never hear from a correspondence school again. You 
may attend classes for three mon ths and never find the "high-paying job" the 
trade school guaranteed upon completion of the course. 

South Dakota colleges offer extension and correspondence courses at the 
college level. Write to the college of your choice for more information. 

If you have not received your high school diploma, you may obtain infor-
mation about a high school equivalency certificate (G.E.D.) by writing to: 

G.E.D. Program Administrator 
Department of Education and Cultural Affairs 
Division of Elementary and Secondary Education 
New Office Building 
Pierre, SD 57501 
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If you are thinking about taking a correspondence course from an organi­
zation that you know nothing about, contact the Department of Education 
and Cultural Affairs (address above or below) for information concerning the 
school's reputation and whether or not the course will give you the training 
you need. Persons who solicit school membership must be licensed and 
bonded by the Department of Education and Cultural Affairs. For trade 
schools, t;lleck with your local Board of Education or: 

Department of Education and Cultural Affairs 
Division ofVocation-Technicai Education 
New Office Building 
Pierre, SD 57501 

Under South Dakota law, when you sign an agreement for a corre­
spondence course, trade school, or self-improvement course, you may have a 
fifteen-day "cooling off' or avoidance period. You may notify the organi­
zation in writing of your intention to cancel your enrollment without any 
obligation. 
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"Make-Money-in-your-Spare-Time" Schemes 

The scheme to make money at home affects both young and old, and 
especially the shut-ins or disabled. For simply providing services for a 
company such as making calis, assembling articles, mailing advertisements, 
anong other, you are promised a fee. The only condition involves a "small 
entry fee" for the privilege of participating in this offer. 

Distributorships 

Multi-level distributorships (pyramid sales) have been a serious source of 
problems in the past years. 

To purchase a distributorship is to purchase a sales territory for a product. 
In a legitimate distributorship the sales territory has outlets for the products. 
In an illegal distributorship products may never be sold. Suppose a representa­
tive from the Cutie Cosmetic Company approaches you with the "offer of a 
lifetime.' He tells you that you can "make it big" by investing in a distribu­
torship. As he explains it, you must invest $5,000 for a sales territory. But, if 
you sell a distributorship to five of your friends at $5,000 each and split the 
money with him, you will have made $12,500. Unfortunately, the scheme 
builds up into a pyramid and soon everyone is a distributor and no one 
actually distributes the product; there may be five distributors within your 
own town. The investors at the bottom of the pyramid are the losers since 
they have no one to buy the distributorship or the product. 

Franchise 

Illegal franchises may be similar to illegal distributorships in that they also 
operate in a pyramid manner. 

Wllen you buy a legal franchise you usually buy a nationally-known 
business with property, such as a drive-in restaurant. 
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A franchise gives you an exclusive right to sell a product and use the 
company trademark, but there can be more than one dealer in your locality. 

There are many people who have made profits from franchises, but there 
are also those who have lost their life's savings by jumping into something 
that they didn't understand on a hope that they would make money. The 
parent company that heads the chain sometimes misrepresents the possibili­
ties for profit, the services that it will provide, and even the quality and/or 
success of the product. 

Under South Dakota law a franchisor must register with the Division of 
Securities and make full disclosure of its business operations. The company 
must state the franchise fee, terms for selling the franchise, the required 
purchases from the parent company, a copy of estimated earnings of the 
parent company, plus any other information that the Division may request. 
This new law will help combat the abuse that sometimes occurs with 
franchises. 
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Do you feel that a local merchant has cheated you by failing to repair 
goods sold to you? Have you ever had property damaged and the person has 
refused to pay? You may need to be your own attorney and sue the person in 
small claims court. 

Small claims courts have been designed to be a simple, quick and inex­
pensive court for the determination of legal disputes. An attorney is not only 
unnecessary, but could feel out of place in small claims court. 

HOW DO YOU START A SUIT? 

The steps in bringing a small claims case are as follows: 
1. Determine who you wish to sue, for what amount, and why. 
2. Go to the Clerk of Magistrate Court. His office is normally 

located in the county courthouse. 
3. Give the Clerk the name and address of the person or company 

and for how much money you intend to sue for. 
4. Pay minimal amount (under $10) and the Clerk will fill out the 

necessary papers, set date for hearing and will send a notice by 
certified mail to the person or company you are suing to inform 
the opposing party that the suit is being brought. This notice will 
give your opposing party until 2 days prior to the date set for 
the hearing to answer. 

a. If the opposing party does not answer, the court will order 
the party to pay you the money demanded. 

b. If the opposing party answers, either orally or in writing, 
and denies the claim you made, the hearing will be held. 

THE HEARING: WHAT DO YOU DO? 

1. The Clerk will tell you when the judge will hear your case. 
2. It is most important that you appear for this hearing, and be on time, 

or your case may be dismissed. 
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3. At the h~aring, the judge will explain in very simple terms how the case 
will be handled. He will ask you to explain your claim. You should tell 
the judge why you think the opposing party should be forced to pay 
you the amount of money you ask for. 

lt will be helpful if you bring witnesses and other evidence to support your 
claim. The best evidence is witnesses. The judge will usually allow you to 
present repair bills and estimates to prove damage (for instance, damage to 
your automobile arising out of an accident). If you have a witness who is not 
willing to appear in court, you may ask the Clerk of Court to issue a 
subpoena (an order to appear) which the Clerk will do free of charge. You 
must deliver the subpoena to the witness. Once you have delivered the 
subpoena, the witness is required to appear. 
4. The judge, after hearing your complete story and the story of your 

witnesses will allow the person you are suing to tell his side of the story 
and to present whatever witnesses and other evidence he may have. 

THE DECISION 

1. After the judge has heard all of the evidence, he normally will make a 
decision at that time. 

Plaintiff; 
Defendant: 
Claitll: 

a. If the judge rules in your favor and you are awarded a sum 
of money, the Clerk will prepare the necessary papers 
ordering the opposing party to pay you. 

b. If you are unable to obtain payment, you can ask the Clerk 
to send the papers to the sheriff, who will attempt to 
collect the money. 

WORDS USED IN COURT 

The person bringing the suit. 

Counterclaim: 

The person or company being sued. 
What you are SULrlg for and why. 
A claim brought by the Defendant against the Plaintiff. 

Judgment: The court's decision ordering a party to payor determining 
that a party does not have to pay. 

REMEMBER TO APPEAR IN COURT AT THE DATE AND TIME SET BY 
THE CLERK! 
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A total of 5,000 copies were printed at a cost of nineteen 
cents each, The purpose of this booklet is to acqaint 
consumers with his or her legal rights and protection, 
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