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MAR 1 91979 

ACQUI51TIC;r-·J3 
Beginning on the first Monday of January, 

1978, the Sma1l Claims Division of each district 
court in Kentucky will be available to provide 
the public with a forum for small claims. This 
pamphlet has been prepared to explain the 
operation of the Small Claims Division and to 
assist you in presenting your small claims case. 
All legal terms and all court procedures are 
explained in common, everyday language that 
can be easily understood. To present your case 
in the most effective way, you should first read 
this pamphlet completely to properly present a 
smaIl claims case. The checklist at the end of 
the pamphlet is provided to highlight the im­
portant steps you should take in using the 
Small Claims Division. 

If our office can be of service to you to 
answer questions regarding the Small Claims 
Division, please do not hesitate to call us at 
1-800-372-2960 on the toll-free hotline, or 
write the Office of Attorney General, Division 
of Consumer Protection, 
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WHAT IS THE 
SMALL CLAIMS DIVISION? 

The Small Claims Division of the district 
court in each Kentucky county settles disputes 
involving money or personal property valued 
at $500 or less. The proc(1dures of the court 
are very simple and informal so that anyone 
can file a claim or defend himself/herself with­
out an attorn~y. However, you can employ an 
attorney to handle your case if you want. 

In the Small Claims Division, the two par­
tif!S involved In the dispute go to court at the 
designated time, and tell their sides of the dis­
agreement to the Judge. The Judge listens to 
each side and then makes a decision based on 
the law governing the facts presented. No juries 
are used in the Small Claims Division. 

WHO CAN USE THE 
SMALL CLAIMS PROCEDURE? 

Any person or business organization with a 
claim for money or personal property of $500 
or less may use the Small Claims Division 
EXCEPT: 

(1) a person or organization in the business 
of lending money at interest, or 

(2) a collection agency or a collection agent, 
or 

(3) a person or organization with an as-
signed claim. 

A parent or legal guardian must appear in the 
Small Claims Division on behalf of a person 
under eighteen (18) years of age or a mental 
incompetent. 
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To prevent misuse of the Small Claims Di­
vision, no one can file more than twenty-five 
(25) claims in anyone calendar year in the 
Division of any district court. Any business en­
gaged in trade or commerce is entitled to the 
maximum number of claims allowed for each 
established location in the district if that busi­
ness has been engaged in trade or commerce 
for at least six (6) months. Those claims above 
the maximum· number of twenty-five (25) will 
be dismissed by the Judge. 

WHAT KINDS OF CLAiMS CAN BE 
FILED IN SMALL CLAIMS DIVISION? 

You can use the Small Claims Division if 
you are involved in a dispute over money or 
personal property valued at $500 or less. A 
typical dispute might include the following: 

-Someone owes money to you and won't 
pay. 

- You worked for someone but have not 
received the full amount of pay agreed. 

- You have recently purchased a new ap­
pliance under warranty from a business, 
but it breaks down and the business re­
fuses to replace it. 

- Someone has carelessly damaged some­
thing you OWll and refuses to fix it or pay 
for the loss or damage. 

- Goods shipped to your business are dam­
aged or destroyed in tram:it and the truck-· 
ing company refuses to reimburse you for 
the loss. 
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- You have paid a security deposit on an 
apartment and have not damaged the 
apartment in any way, but the landlord 
refuses to return your deposit when you 
leave. 

- Someone is in possession of your per­
sonal property and wrongfully refuses to 
return it to you. 

There are certainly many other situations 
that could bring you into Small Claims Divi­
sion. If you find yourself in a situation iIi 
which you feel that you are being wronged, 
and the claim involves $500 or less, this Court 
should be available to you. 

Certain kinds of claims, however, are not 
allowed in the Small Claims Division. Crimi­
nal actions or cases for libel, slander, aliena­
tion of affections, malicious prosecution and 
abuse of process must be brought in another 
court. 

WHEN SHOULD YOU USE THE 

SMALL CLAIMS DIVISION? 

Before filing a suit in Small Claims Division~ 
contact the other person or business organiza­
tion and try to settle your -dispute. Frequently, 
problems are caused by a breakdown in com­
munication or a misunderstanding that can be 
resolved by some means other than suing in 
court. A settlement out of court will save you 
both time and money. 

if a settlement is reached, put aU the terms 
of your agreement in writing, and have it 
signed by both you and the other party. If no 
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settlement can be reached and you st.ill believe 
that you have been wronged by the other party, 
you should then file a suit in the Small Claims 
Division. 

It is very important that you file your suit 
immediately after you realize that no settlement 
can be reached. The law sets a specific time 
period (Statutes of Limitat~on) in which a per­
son having a claim must file the suit in order 
to have the hearing. After this period is up, the 
person is prohibited from bringing the suit. 
These Statutes of Limitation vary with the type 
of claim you are making. For example, claims 
about oral contracts must be brought within 
five years from the time the contract was made. 
Written contracts have a fifteen year Statute of 
Limitations, and some personal injury claims 
have a one year Statute of Limitations. If you 
are in doubt about whether you are bringing 
your claim within the proper time, you may 
want to go ahead and file your suit. However, 
if your suit is late, the Judge will then dismiss 
the claim and you will lose your $10 filing fee. 

WHAT SHOULD YOU KNOW BEFORE 
FILING YOUR CLAIM? 

l. LEGAL TERMS AND PROCEDURE 
'-Generally, there are two parties to a 
lawsuit - the Plaintiff and the Defend­
ant. The person or business who starts 
the lawsuit is called the Plaintiff. The 
party being sued is called the Defendant. 
A lawsuit begins when the Plaintiff files 
a legal paper called a Complaint with the 
Circuit Court Clerk, telling the court 
about the disagreement. The Clerk will 
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send a copy of the Complaint by certified 
or registered mail to the Defendant to 
notify him/her about the lawsuit. The 
procedure is called Service of Process. If 
the Clerk is unable to reach the Defend­
ant by certified or registered mail, then 
it will be necessary for the Sheriff's office 
to personally deliver a copy of your claim 
to the Defendant. The Plaintiff must 
check with the Clerk within ten (10) 
days after the lawsuit is filed to make sure 
that the Defendant has receiv6u notice of 
the lawsuit. 

2. YOUR CLAJM-The maximum amount 
of money for which you can sue is $500. 
Even if your claim is for more than $500, 
you can choose to sue for only $500, 
rather than go through a trial in another 
court. The amount of your claim should 
include both the actual amount of dam­
age due and any extra expenses you paid, 
because of the damage. For example, if a 
mechanic charged you $100 for repairs 
he did incorrectly and you had to have 
the work done over for $100, then you 
may want to sue for $200. Remember 
that you must be able to prove the 
amount of damages that you are suing for. 

3. EVIDENCE AND WITNESSES - Your 
case will be stronger if you can bring to 
court any evidence or witnesses that will 
help prove your case. Such evidence may 
include contracts, letters, paid bills, re­
ceipts, cancelled checks, leases, estimates, 
photographs, or the actual damaged goods. 
Before )lou file your claim, check to see if 
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you have any such evidence that will sup~ 
port your case. Save any evidence so you 
can use it at the hearing. You may also 
bring witnesses to testify for you. 

HOW DO YOU FILE A CLAIM 
IN THE SMALL CLAIMS DIVISION? 

Follow these steps to file a claim in the 
Small Claims Division: 

L Go to the office of the Circuit Court 
Clerk in the county where the Defendant 
or his/her representative lives or docs 
business. This means that you, the Plain­
tiff, can only sue in the Small Claims 
Division of your own county if the De­
fendant or his/her representative lives or 
does business in that same county (Jr if 
the dispute arose from a sale made in 
your home. 

2. Tell the Circuit Court Clerk that you 
wish to file a small claim and you will be 
given a simple form (the Complaint) to 
fill out. You will need to provide the 
following information: 

(a) Your name and address, and the 
Defendant's name and address; 

(b) A short, simple statement telling 
why you are suing; 

(c) The amount of money you are suing 
for. 

3. The Clerk will assign your case a num­
ber, and set a date and time for the hear­
ing before the Judge. This hearing will 
take place three to six weeks after the 
Clerk notifies the Defendant of your suit. 
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4. The Clerk will send a copy of your claim 
to the Defendant by certified or regis­
tered mail to notify him/her of your law­
suit. If the Clerk is unable to reach the 
Defendant by mail, then you must have 
the sheriff's office personally deiiver a 
copy of your claim to the Defendant. It 
is the Plaintiff's responsibility to check 
with the Clerk within ten (10) days after 
the claim is filed to see if the Defendant 
has received notice of the lawsuit by 
mail. If the Defendant did not receive 
the notice, then the Plaintiff must go to 
the Sherlff's office and ask him/her to 
serve the Defendant with these legal 
papers. 

HOW MUCH DO YOU EAVE TO PAY 
TO FILE A SMALL CLAIM LAWSUIT? 

At the time you file your claim with the 
Clerk, you will be charged a fjling fee of $10. 
This does not include the cost of sending a 
copy. of your claim to the Defen~ant by certi­
fied mail. If the Defendant cannot be served 
by mail and the sheriff must personally serve 
the Defendant, you will also be charged for the 
sheriff's fee and mileage cost. . 

Remember: If you win your Small Claims 
case, you have the right to charge the 'De.­
fendant for these "court costs" (the filing fee, 
service of process charges) to bring your case 
before the Judge. Y'DU must ask the Judge to 
award you these "court costs" in addition to 
the amount you receive by the court for your 
claim. 
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WHAT DO YOU DO IF YOO 
HAVE BEEN SUED IN 
SMALL CLAIMS DIVISION? 

If you receive a notice from the Circuit 
Court Clerk or Sheriff's office sayjng there is a 
claim against you, then you are being sued. The 
notice will tell you the person who is suing you 
(the Plaintiff's name and address), the type 
and amount of the claim filed against you, and 
the time and date of the hearing. 

When you are sued in the Small Claims Di­
vision, several options are available to you: 

(1) Default - If you fail to appear in court 
on the hearing date, the Plaintiff can 
present his/her side of the story with­
out you and may receive a Judgment 
against you that is legally enforceable. 
A Judgment is a court order which will 
require you to pay the stated amount. 
Therefore, never, never, fail to go to the 
scheduled hearing unless you have made 
previous arrangements for a Continu­
ance (postponement) with the Court. 

(Z) Settle - Even after the suit has been 
started, you and the Plaintiff can still 
come to an agreement on your own. Be 
sure to put the agreement .in writing 
signed by both parties. (See the ap­
pendix for a sample). On the day and 
time set for the hearing, go to Court 
and give the Judge the signed settle­
ment form. The Judge will sign the 
agreement . and then both parties will 
be required by law to obey it. 

(3) Removal to Another Court -If you 
wish to have a jury trial and the claim 
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d..571 
is more tha~j'you must give notice 
to the Circuit Court Clerk at least seven 
days before the hearing date. In such a 
case, the claim will be removed to the 
district court for a jury trial. However, 
you will be charged at $12.50 fee for 
removing the case to the district court. 
The regular docket of the district court 
uses a more formal procedure than the 
Small Claims Division and may take 
longer to hear the case. You may also 
need to hire an attorney to argue your 
case before the jury. 

( 4) Continuance - If you want to fight the 
claim made against you, but cannot ap­
pear on the date set for your hearing, 
you must contact the Court and explain 
your reason. If the Court accepts your 
excuse, it may allow a Continuance 
(postponement) until a future date. 
The decision to grant a postponement, 
however, is within the complete discre­
tion of the Judge. If you do want a 
Continuance, do not wait until the 
hearing date and ask for one. Your re­
quest should be made as soon as you 
realize you cannot appear at the sched­
uled bearing: Since one object of the 
SmaIl Claims Division is to promote 
quick settlement of claims, continu­
ances will not be granted unless fair­
ness or justice so requires. 

WHAT SHOULD YOU DO TO 
PREPARE FOR A 
SMALL CLAIMS HEARING? 

Small Claims Divjsion procedure encourages 
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persons to present their own cases without an 
attorney. To prepare for your appearance at 
the hearing, there are several simple measures 
you can take to strengthen your position and 
keep the court procedure running smoothly: 

(1) Evidence - Gather all papers, docu­
ments, and materials (such as contracts, 
letters, paid bills, receipts, cancelled 
checks, leases, estimates, photographs, 
or the actual damaged goods) which 
you feel are needed to present your side 
of the story to the Judge, and bring 
them to the hearing. 

(2) Witnesses - Anyone who may be 
aware of facts which can help you 
prove your case should be contacted 
and asked to appear at your hearing. If 
a witness who may be essential to your 
case refuses to come, a subpoena may 
be issued by the Circuit Court Clerk 
ordering the witness to appear. If you 
subpoena a witness, you should notify 
the Circuit Court Clerk at least a 
week before the hearing and give the 
name and address of the witness you 
need so that the Clerk can fill out the 
proper forms and notify the witness. 

(3) Facts of YoUr Case - It is very im­
portant to know the facts of your case 
and to have them organized in your 
own mind, before you appear in Court. 
Write down the facts and details of 
your case. This will help you in telling 
your side of the story during the trial. 
Outline what you expect to cover with 
each witness, perhaps even listing 
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questions you want to ask each witness. 
Try to anticipate what the "other side" 
will do or say and be prepared to 
refute it. 

(4) Visit the Court - It may be helpful to 
visit the Court and watch a hearing be­
fore your own hearing date. In this way 
you will become familiar with the way 
the Court works. 

(5) Service on the Defendant - Remem­
ber that if you are the Plaintiff, you must 
check with the Circuit Court Clerk no 
more than ten (10) days after you filed 
your claim to find out if the Defendant 
has received notice of the lawsuit. If 
the Defendant has not received notice 
by certified mail, the Sheriff can then 
try to serve the notice personally. How­
ever, if the Defendant has not received 
notice of the claim, your case cannot 
be heard. 

(6) Counterclaim - If you think you have 
a valid claim against the party suing 
you, and your claim arose out of the 
same dispute involved in the Plaintiff's 
suit, you may wish to file a Counter­
claim (a suit in reverse against the 
party suing you). For example, if an 
auto repair shop is suing you for a 
$300 bill for installing a new trans­
mission, you might want to counter­
claim for the $400 it cost you to have 
the installation redone somewhere else. 

To file a counterclaim, you must fol­
low essentially the same steps you 
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would take to file a Comiplaint. First, 
go to the office of the Circuit Court 
Clerk in the county where the original 
claim was filed at least one week be­
fore the hearing date. Tell the Clerk 
you wish to file a Counterclaim, and 
forms will be provided for you to com­
plete. (Your Counterclaim cannot ex­
ceed $500 if your claim is to be heard 
in Small Claims Division.) The Clerk 
will notify the Plaintiff of the Counter­
claim no later than two days before 
the hearing. At the scheduled hearing, 
both the Plaintiff's claim and the De­
fendant's Counterclaim will be heard by 
the Judge at the same time. 

WHAT HAPPENS AT THE TRIAL? 
On the day set for your hearing, go to the 

courtroom in advance of the time for your case. 
Have the evidence and witnesses you need to 
prove your case with you. 

When your case is called by the court offi­
cer, approach the front of the courtroom and 
tell the Judge that you are present. The Judge 
will then swear in both parties by asking them 
if they will tell the truth about the disagree­
ment. The Plaintiff will tell his/her side of the 
story. The Judge may ask questions so that 
he/she understands your claim or defense bet­
ter. At the time you present your side of the 
story, you may also call any witnesses or pre­
sent any evidence to the Judge in support of 
your story. Each party can also question the 
other party or his/her witnesses. 

Remember that the hearing is informal. Try 
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to keep your story as short as possible with­
out neglecting the important facts. The Judge 
is concerned only with the facts relevant to the 
case. He/she is the sale person who will decide 
the case and is the only person you will have 
to convince. 

If you are the Plaintiff and the Defendant 
does not show up for the hearing (Defaults), 
you must still show the Court proof of your 
claim to win a Judgment. 

If you are the Defendant and the Plaintiff 
does not show up for the hearing, the case may 
be dismissed, or the Court may award your 
Counterclaim if you can prove your claim. 

When the Judge has heard both sides, he/she 
will make a decision based on the facts and 
will enter a Judgment, stating who won, how 
much is 10 be paid, and how it is to be paid. If 
the Plaintiff wins, he/she may be awarded the 
costs for filing fees which were paid ("court 
costs"). 

If the Defendant has filed a Counterclaim, 
the Court will hear both claims together and 
may set off (subtract) one claim from the other 
in reaching a final award. For example, if the 
Plaintiff sues the Defendant for $400 for fail­
ure to fix his car and Defendant files a Coun­
terclaim suing the Plaintiff for $200 worth of 
repairs made to the car, the Judge ml;ly sub­
tract the $200 Counterclaim from the Plaintiff's 
$400 claim, and award the Plaintiff only $200. 
Of course, both parties are required to prove 
the validity of their claims before the Judge. 

If the Plaintiff and Defendant reach a settle-
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ment before the trial, they should sign a settle­
ment form and present it to the Judge at the 

, time set for their hearing. The Judge will re­
view the agreement, and if it is approved, sign 
the form and enter it as a Judgment of the 
Court. Once the settlement is signed by the 
Judge, it becomes a legally enforceable agree­
ment. The Clerk can provide you with a settle­
ment form upon request. 

HOW DO YOU GET MONEY 
IF YOU WIN? 

Once you have obtained a Judgment or an 
award, it is a legally enforceable Court order 
entitling you to receive the money owed to you. 
If you are the party being sued, you should 
come to the hearing prepared to pay the other 
person if you lose. When the Judge decides the 
case, the losing party should immediately pay 
the winning party the money owed, Or arrange 
to fix the damaged goods as the Judge orders. 

If one of the parties does not appear at the 
hearing, the Circuit Court Clerk will notify the 
losing party of the judgment awarded against 
him/her. As soon as the losing party is notified, 
the amount of the claim plus the Court costs 
must be paid to the winning party. Failure to 
pay the Judgment ordered by the Court can 
result in your wages being garnished or your 
property being taken by the Sheriff and sold at 
public sale. 

If the losing party refuses to pay the amount 
ordered by the Court, there are several legal 
methods of collecting the Judgment. For ex­
ample, you can take the losing party's wages 
from his/her employer (garnishment), or re-
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possess the goods that were not paid for, or you ,I 
could have the Sheriff take the losing party's 
property and sell it to pay the amount of the • 
Judgment. The Circuit Court Clerk can provide 
you with the necessary forms to make a legal 
collection. It is your responsibility to collect 
the Judgment and to follow these steps very 
carefully to stay within the law. If you have 
difficulty following these steps, you can con­
sult an attorney or call the Consumer Protec­
tion Division of the Attorney General's Office 
for assistance. 

WHAT CAN YOU DO IF YOU DISAGREE 
WITH THE COURT JUDGMENT? 

If you disagree with the decision of tne 
Small Claims Division, you have the right to 
appeal the judgment against you to the Circuit 
Court. Your appeal must be filed with the Cir­
cuit Court Clerk within ten days from the date 
of the entry of the Small Claims Judgment. At 
the time of the filing of the appeal you will be 
charged a $45.00 fee to cover Circuit Court 
costs. It may also be necessary to hire an at­
torney to process your appeal. If you file and 
lose on appeal, you will still be responsible for 
the amount of the original Small Claims Judg~ 
ment in addition to the court costs of the 
appeal. 

On appeal, the Circuit Court Judge will re­
view the decision of the Small Claims Division 
Judge. In most cases, the original findings of 
facts will not be changed. The Judgment will 
only be altered if the law was applied incor­
rectly to the facts as they were presented. 
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SUMMARY CHECKLIST 
1. Have you been involved in a dispute that 

can be decided in Small Claims Court? 
(p.3) 

2. Have you tried to first settle your dispute 
out of court? (p. 4) 

3. Is your claim under the $500 maximum 
amount? (p. 4) 

4. DJ you know the correct name and ad­
dress of the Defendant? (p. 7) 

5. Are you prepared to act as your own at­
torney? (p. 10) 

6. Have you filed no more than twenty-five 
(25) claims during the year? (p. 3) 

7. Do you understand you give up your right 
to a jury trial in this case when you file a 
claim in the Small Claims Division? (p. 2) 
(See also the Complaint form waiver on 
side 2) 

8. Have you filed your claim in the Small 
Claims Division in the county where the 
Defendant lives or does business? (p. 7) 

9. Do you know when and where your hear­
ing will be held? (p. 7) 

1 o. If~ after you filed your claim. the Defend­
ant agrees to settle out of court, have you 
put the terms of the agreement in writing 
and had both parties sign it so it can be 
presented to the Judge on the day of the 
hearing? (pp. 9, 14) 

11. Did you contact the Circuit Court Clerk 
to see if the defendant received notice of 
the claim? (pp. 8, 12) 
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12. If you are the Defendant and wish to file 
a Counterclaim, have you notified the 
Clerk of your Counterclaim at least one 
week before the hearing? (p. 12) 

13. Have you collected all evidence and wit­
nesses to support your case? (pp. 6, 11) 

14. Have you arranged the facts of your case 
so that you can tell your story briefly, 
clearly, and unemotionally? (p. 11) 

15. If you cannot appear at the specified date, 
have you requested a Continuance from 
the Court? (p. 10) 

16. If possible, have you visited a Small Claims 
Division hearing to familiarize yourself 
with the procedure prior to your hearing? 
(p. 12) 

17. Have you attempted to collect the judg­
ment from the losing party? (p. 15) 

18 



CommotlW(lI.lth of Kentucky 
CourioFJuJlfce: 

SMALL CLAIMS COMPLAINT' 

In the Small Clalml Djvl~lon of _ -__ ~ _____________ ~ ________ ~_ . ,_ .... _. District CCUrt 

Plllintifr_,~ __ .,...._~_ .. ...-_~~._~. ____ Altotney _-__ ._. _ ............ ___ _ 
Address ~._.-.,..._~ __ ~- _ .... ___ ._. flf Any) ~.., 

Pdemb.n\ __ --__ .... __ ............. ~." _______ ~ Attorney ~-~--.-- ______ _ 
Addreu __ - .. ~-.......,"_~~ ___ (Ir An)) .... 

NOTICE 1'0 EACH DEFENDANT-REAn CAREFULLY 

tIat m~~~:' ~~fsi~un1nl~~~e~~~I~~a~n:: gj~~':~if~~!ri:~u~O: ,tre :~:!h~~~~ ,~o~II~~~U::~:'; ~ 
)'Qur.lde()fthediJllute. 

Holrt\'CI'.lr )011 r41J IOllpptll.r In COUrt on the daie Jhu",-", on Ih~ II.l1a~~d ,ummoni Il roun JudJ1:menl ..... n be' 

;~uer~~lI~~~r~n~f~:a%Il~~:!!=~~rd~~h:;~(l~,:::sr(~:~'P~I:~~~y ;:~) ~u,':t:d~ ~~t~~~~~~~.1 or 
11)'011 have que~lhml or nmj Dubtlln"" tunsuilifle Sml1l1 Clainu Il\formlllic.ln pamphltl orelll an IIlOmt)'. 

CPmplalnl 
I. t'lIdntl(tda1mlthllt thedefendllrll _._ ~ ___ ~ ________ .............. ~ __ 

l. rlalntllt daimll/le follO\llinS 111m (rom the dtf~nd~nt lor dam:!{cs bruuiht by tile 1100\'1:" com~bin' __ _ 
~, PllIlnlitf a1JO claIms court tu~t. 

----..- --.-... ~~ 
CI«1:. A"""" ____ . ___ "_~ _____ _ 

KRS14A.250 

(I) "l'Io party sJull file mon:.lhun Iwenly.fht .. la1m$ I", IInyune clilendar year In Ihe Small CJII!m~ DivIden 
of lilly diurici cOlin In Che Common .... "ell\th. Any ~1I~nes' engagn! jn tratS!: or tonIffiCfee $hail I.lC 
entilled to thl: mn/mlll!\: numlx( or dalml IIIlQWCd under lhI, '«tWll (I( tLls: Al;t for adt ttll.f;llilhcd 
location in thil di~rrfci thllt has been engared In Ir;utc Ilr commerce ror at k~st.ix. m(lnthi." 

I aJnnn th,lf' havcnot brpugh, more Jhan the: IJ!lIdmuln numl1e:rorcblnu aUowtd underKRS24A.l50(1). 

{Nllmt: IlIld Date) 

WARNING 

KRS2JA.J20 

"All clatms In lIle Smull Claims Dlvulon .hlll1 be: tried \\ithollt lury. (}JIOn Win. I; clatm. the plaintiU 
Ihall be 1''1,<med to have wlllwd hl~ lisht 10 II jury trill) In the Divi,IQD." 



S!!ALL CLAIMS DIVISION 
JUDICIAL DISTRICT 

CASE NUMl!ER 

---T.(n:':n=me;;'j;---" PLAINTIFF 

v. SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT 

---7(=nn:::m:::e"'j---' DEFENDANT 

1. On (date) Plaintiff (name) filed a 
CompIaint with chIs Court against befendant (name) 

2. The pa~ties have noW' resolved the controversy seated in that 
Complaint, and have agreed to the following: 

(statement of agteed faces and resolution of the problem) 

1 am the Plaintiff in this case and have read this Settlement 
Agreement and consent to its terms. 

pLAINTIFf 

g~:~~W~;l"t"h-;o"£-RV:e;;:n;;:t;;:UC"'k;;:Y;---
Subscribed and sworn before me this ___ Cay of _____ 197_0 

NOtARY pUBLid 

My commission expires: 

I am the Defendant in this case and have rend this Settlement 
Agreemen\! and consent to its terms. 

DEFENDANt 

g~=~W~;l"'th;;-;;o"'£".K"e:;;n"'tu",c"'k"'Y---
Subscribed and sworn before me chis ___ day of _____ 1 197_. 

NOTAR'l pUBLIc 
My commission expires; ______ _ 

WllEREFORJ;:, the parties have agreed to resolve the differences a1-

i~gi: ~~r;~; ~ru~~~~t a~~lB~D~~~ ~~~~ ~h~r~b~~e SEttLEMENT AGREE- I 

MENT be entered as a Judgment and Order of this Court. 

This the ___ day of _________ , 197_. 

JUbGe 








