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ACQUISITIONS 

Many police chiefs, as well as many lawyers and judges, 
are relatively unfamiliar with the area of criminal sentenc­
ing and parole. This discussion will attempt to provide you 
with a general background of criminal sentencing in the dis­
trict and superior cou.rts and the effect that parole has on 
those sentences. 

Sentences to the State Prison 

A judge who sentences a defendant to the state prison may 
not set a definite term of imprisonment such as 5 or 10 years. 
Rather, he must set a minimum and a maximum term of imprison­
ment. The minimum term must not be less than 2~ years, and 
the maximum must not be, longer than the longest term fixed by 
law for the punishment of the crime of \:"hich the defendant has 
been convicted. The only exceptions to this minimum-maximum 
rule are for life sentenc~s and for "habitual criminal~ sen­
tences. 

Sentences to Mcr Concord 

Any male who has not previously been convicted for a 
felony more than three times and who is convicted of a crime 
punishable by imprisonment in any correctional institution, 
including jails and houses of correction, may be sentenced 
to Mcr Concord for an indefinite term. As opposed to state 
prison sentences, the judge, in sentencing a defendant to Mcr 
Concord, does not set a minimum-maximum term. He does, how­
ever, set a maximum term if the sentence is to exceed 2~ 
years. 

If the defendant is convicted of a felony, he cannot be 
held longer than 2~ years unless sentenced for a longer term. 
If the defendant is convicted of larceny of property of a 
value not exceeding one hundred dollars, he cannot be held 
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longer than 2 years. For the convietion of any other offense, 
the defendant cannot be held for more than the maximum term 
fixed by law. 

Sentences to Mcr Framingham 

Any female convicted of a crime which is punishable by 
imprisonment may be sentenced ,to MCI Framingham. The judge 
will no't prescribe the limit of the sentence unless it is to 
be for more than 2~ years. 

If a female is convicted'for any felony, except adultery 
and,lewd and lascivious cohabitation, she 'cannot be imprisoned 
for more than 2~ years unless she is sentenced for a longer 
term. If she is convicted of larceny of property of a value 
not exceeding one hundred dollars, or of adultery or lewd and 
lascivious cohabitation, she may not be held for more than 
2 years. For the conviction of any other offense, she cannot 
be held for more than the maximum term fixed by law. 

Habitual Criminals 

There are special sentencing provisions for habitual 
criminals. Habitual criminals are defined as persons who have 
previously been convicted of two or more felonies in 
Massachusetts, or one in Massachusetts and one in another state, 
and have been sentenced and committed on each conviction for a 
term of not less than three years. An habitual criminal must 
be sentenced to the maximum term allowed by statute for the 
crime of which he is convicted. 

Sexually Dangerous and Drug Dependent Persons 

There are also special statutory procedures for dealing 
with drug dependent or sexually dangerous offenders. In gene~al, 
a defendant found to be sexually dangerous may be sentenced to 
the treatment center a·t Bridgewater for a period from one day 
to life. 

A defendant with drug use history may request an examina­
tion for drug dependency. If he is found to be drug dependent, 
the court may, in its discretion, assign him to a drug treatment 
facility. If he is so assigned, his prosecution is stayed. 
Upon successful completion of the drug treatment program, the 
charges against the defendant are dismissed. 

Parole from Jails and Houses of Correction 

If a defendant is sentenced by a distric~ court to less 
than twelve months in a jailor house of correction then he 
may be paroled by the County Commissioners or, in Suffolk 
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County, by the Penal Instituticns Commissioner· for Boston, 
upon the recommendation of the probation officer and the sen­
tencing court. If the sentence is not more 'than six months 
then he may be paroled at any time. If the sentence is more 
than six months but less than twelve months then he may be 
paroled after serving one half his sentence. Any sentence of 
four months or more may be shortened by deductions for good 
conduct. Any sentence of thirty days or more may be reduced 
by blood donations. 

If a defendant is sentenced by a'district court to a 
jailor house of correction for one year or more or to several 
sentences that, in the aggregate, are more than one year, or 
if he is sentenced to a jailor house of correction for any 
term by a superior court then he is under the jurisdiction of 
the Parole Board. The rules of the Parole Board provide that 
an inmate is eligible for parole when he has served one half 
of his sentence minus any deductions. 

Parole from State Correctional Institutions 

The Parole Board has jurisdiction for the issuance of 
parole permits to prisoners in the correctional institutions of 
the Commonwealth or transferred therefrom to jails or houses 
of correction. The rules of the Parole Board regarding Mel 
Concord and MCI Framingham inmates are: For individuals com­
mitted for a term of less than six years, eligibility for 
parole is six months if there are no prior commitments, and, 
one year if there are prior commitments. For an individual com­
mitted for a term of more than six years and less than twelve 
years, eligibility is one year if no prior commitments, and 
eighteen months if there are prior commitments. For each sen­
tence increment of six years, parole eligibility is correspond­
ingly set ahead six months. 

If a defendant is sentenced to a state prison then he is 
eligible for parole after serving a third of his minimum sen­
tence, but thi~ cannot be les$ than one year. Defendants sen­
tenced as habituaL criminals are eligible for parole within 
sixty days of serving one half of their maximum sentence. 
Persons convicted of committing a new crime while on parole, 
or of certain crimes of violence (see Appendix A) are not 
eligible for parole until serving two years or two thirds of 
their minimum sentence, whichever is longer. Defendants who 
are sentenced to life sentences may be eligible for parole 
after serving 15 years with the consent of a majority of the 
Parole Board. There is no parole for defendants convicted of 
first degree murder, or defendants sentenced to Bridgewater. 

Work Release and Furlough 

Prisoners in state institutions, except those convicted 
of certain specified crimes, may be permitted to leave the 
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prison on work release wi thin .18 mont.hs of' their parole 
eligibility date. There is also a-provision for work release 
in county jails and houses of correction. In. addition, an 
inmate may be temporarily released on furlough for up to 
fourteen days per year, but not more than seven days at one 
time. 

Reduction of Sentences 

There are four ways in which a sentence of imprisonment 
may be reduced. First, a sentence may be reduced by the 
number of days spent in confinement. while awaiting trial. 
Second, a sentence of thirty days or more can be reduced by 
five days, from the minimum sentence, for each pint of blood 
donated by the inmate. Third,' 'a sentence can be reduced by 
good conduct, deductions corning from the maximum t.erm.· (see 
Appendix B) Finally, a sentence can be reduced by. two and a 
half days for each month for good conduct while engaged in 
certain work and educational programs. 
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APPENDIX A 

Crimes involving sex or violenc'e for which' two thirds of the 
minimum sentence must be served. 

A. The following sections of Chapter 265: 

s. 13 

s. 13B 

s. 14' 

s. 15 

s. l5A 

s. l5B 

s. 16 

s. 17 

s. 18 

s. l8A 

s. 19 

s. 20 

s. 21 

s. 22 

s. 22A 

s. 23 

s. 24 

s. 24B 

Manslaughter 

Indecent Assault and ~attery on child 
under 14 

Mayhem 

Assault with Intent to Murder 

Assault and Battery by Means of a 
Dangerous Weapon 

Assault with a Dangerous Weapon 

Attempt to Commit Murder 

Armed with Dangerous Weapon, Assault to 
Rob, With Intent to Kill or Maim' 

Assault with Intent to Rob, Being Armed 

Armed with Dangerous Weapon Entering 
Dwelling House and Assault 

Robbery, Not Being Armed 

Assault with Intent to Rob, Not Armed 

Confining or Putting in Fear 

Rape 

Rape of Female under 16 by Force or 
Against Her Will 

Carnal Abuse 

Assault with Intent to Commit Rape 

Assault of Child Under 16 \'lith Inte.nt 
to Commit Rape' 
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APPENDIX A (CQnt1d.) 

s. 25 Atternp~ to Extort Money by Threat 

s. 26 Kidnapping 

B. The following sections of Chapter 272: 

s. 17 

s .. 35 

s. 35A 

Incest 

Unnatural and Lascivious Act 

Unnatural and Lascivious Act with 
Child Under 16 
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APPENDIX B 

GOOD CONDUCT DEDUCTIONS 

Maximum Sentence Deductions - days 
per month 

at least 4 months, less than l.year· 2~ 

at least 1 year, less than 2 years 5 

at least 2 years, less than 3 years 7~ 

at least 3 years, less than 4 years 10 

4 years or more 12~ 
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