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PART I 

STATEMENT OF PROBLEM 

1 
The St'ate of Minnesota has a rather unique law. It has been described 

as an "administrative per se" drinking-driving statute. In essense it pro- 

vides as a part of the implied consent law that when a law enforcement officer 

obtains a chemical test for intoxication from a driver, and the result is 0.i0 

2 
BAC or more, the officer serves notice to the driver on behalf of the motor 

vehicle department (Department of Public Safety) of intention to revoke his 

driver's license for having a BAC of 0.i0 or more. The driver is given 30 

days in which to request a hearing and if none is requested, then the depart- 

ment revokes for 90 days. If a hearing is held, and the issues are determined 

3 
against the driver, then his license is revoked for 90 days. 

This procedure is additional to the criminal drinking-driving charges 

of "driving under the influence of alcohol" and "driving with 0.i0 BAC or more" 

which are tried in the court system. 4 Also, Minnesota has an implied consent 

law similar to other states which provides that upon refusal of a chemical test 

S 
for intoxication action is taken against the license. 

The task of this study was to report on the legal and operational aspects 

of the "administrative per se" law. They are: 

"i. Ascertain to what extent offenders charged with DUI are cited 
under Minnesota Section 169.123, as opposed to Minnesota 
Section 169.121, wherein an implied consent BAC test has 
Been administered. 

"2. Analyze the constitutional, legal and operational ramifications 
and potential impediments relative to the application of Minnesota 
Section 169.123 (special emphasis to be given to Subd. 4, 5 and 6). 

"5. Determine, if possible, to what extent law enforcement officers 



are using the Subd. 4 provision by submitting to the Commissioner 
of Public Safety BAC test results of 0.10 percent or more. 

"4. Determine what use is being made by the Motor Vehicle Department 
(Department of Public Safety) of the BAC test results as author- 
ized under Subd. 4. What, if any, are the constitutional, legal 
and practical problems--how well is it working. 

"5. Determine to what extent driver license revocation actions are 
taken pursuant to Subd. 4 (BAC test results of 0.10 percent or 
higher) under the following situations: 

"6. 

"7.  

"8 .  

"9. 

i) The DUT charge is nolle prossed 
2) The DUI case is continued 
5) The DUI charge is plea bargained down to a lesser offense 
4) The DUI case results in an acquittal. 

Based on available data, determine the impact the enactment of 
Minnesota Section 169.125 (Subd. 4) has had on the number of 
implied consent refusals. 

Determine the extent to which the Commissioner of Public Safety 
appears through prosecuting attorneys at driver license revocation 
hearings as provided for in Minnesota Section 169.123 (Subd. 6). 

Determine, to the extent practical, the impact of the administra- 
tive licensing action on the adjudication process (e.g., conviction 
rates, sanction involved). 

Determine, to the extent practical, the impact of the administra- 
tive licensing process on the rate of enforcement and support of 
police officers." 

2 



FOOTNOTES - Part I. 

i. 

. 

. 

. 

S. 

Minnesota Statutes Annotated, Sec. 169.123. It is interesting to note 
that West Virginia enacted a similar provision in 1981. See West 
Virginia Regular Session 1981, New Laws page 849. It is Sec. 17C-5A-I, 
effective September i, 1981. 

"BAC" is a commonly used term which is defined in Minnesota as 
"Alcohol Concentration" in Sec. 169.01 as follows: 

"Subd. 61. Alcohol concentration. "Alcohol Concentration" 
means (a) the number of grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of 
blood, or (b) the number of grams of alcohol per 210 liters of 
breath, or (c) the number of grams of alcohol per 67 milliliters 
of urine." 

The term "revocation" is not defined in the Minnesota statutes. However, 
the Department of Public Safety interprets the action required in the 
commonly accepted meaning of the term. A revocation means that the 
driver's license is terminated by formal action of the department and 
the driver can make application for a new license after the expiration 
of the time period. 

The criminal charges are contained in Minnesota Statutes Annotated, 
Sec. 169.121. 

The implied consent procedures are contained in Minnesota Statutes 
Annotated, Sec. 169.123. 

3 



PART I I  

LEGAL ASPECTS. 

One of the tasks of this study was to: "Analyze the constitutional, 

legal and operational ramifications and potential impediments relative to 

the application of Minnesota Section 169.123 (special emphasis to be given 

to Subd. 4, 5 and 6)." 

Consequently, the first step will be to outline the legal framework. 

LEGAL FRAMEWORK 

The Minnesota "administrative per se" drinking-driving law became 

1 
effective on July i, 1976. It is a parallel track to the traditional crimi- 

nal charges normally placed against a drinking driver, and in many respects 

the two tracks are independent. 

The legal steps in this system are summarized as follows: 

i. Contact with Driver: A law enforcement officer comes into contact with 

a drinking driver in various ways. He may observe the conduct; he may re- 

spond to a motor vehicle collision; he may stop a driver for another violation; 

he may receive information from other citizens who have observed the drinking 

driver. Whatever the means, the information the officer has must meet the 

requirements of the U.S. Supreme Court decision in Delaware v. Prouse 2 in 

which the Court held that the officer must have at least !'articulable sus- 

picion" as a basis for the stop, or that a non-discretionary systematic 

roadblock is being operated. 

2. After Stopping the Driver: The officer has several options after 

stopping the driver. He can: 



a. Issue a. citation and release the driver if the circumstances warrant. 

b. Request a preliminary breath screening test Pot alcoholic influence 

provided the officer has "reason to believe" from the manner in 

which a person is driving, operating, or controlling a motor vehicle, 

or has driven, operated, or controlled a motor vehicle, that the 

driver may be violating or has violated the "under the influence" 

of alcohol or controlled substance or combination thereof, or the 

"illegal per se" law. (Sec. 169.121(6).) 

C. Request a chemical test of blood, breath, or urine to determine 

the presence of alcohol or a controlled substance provided the 

officer has "reasonable and probable grounds to believe" the person 

was driving, operating, or in physical control of a motor vehicle 

in violation of Sec. 169.121 (criminal charges- see App. I) and 

one of the following conditions exist: 

i) the person has been lawfully placed under arrest for a viola- 

tion of Sec. 169.121, or similar municipal ordinance, or 

2) the person has been involved in a motor vehicle accident or 

collision resulting in property damage, personal injury, or 

death, or 

3) the person has refused to take the preliminary breath screening 

test, or 

4) the person took the preliminary breath screening test and the 

results recorded an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more. 

(Sec. 169.123(2).) 

d. Release the driver when the preliminary breath screening test 

indicates the driver is not under the influence and when circumstances 



e. 

f. 

do not warrant other action. 

Make an arrest for driving under the influence of alcohol or 

controlled substance. (Sec. 169.121.) 

Release the driver without arresting or without issuing citation 

if circumstances warrant. 

3. Implied Consent Law -Warning: As noted above in "2.c." the officer may 

request a chemical test of blood, breath, or urine to determine alcohol con- 

centration or a controlled substance provided the officer has "reasonable and 

probable cause" and one of four conditions is present. The next step for the 

officer is to request a chemical test and warn the driver: 

a. That if testing is refused, the person's right to drive will be 

revoked for a period of six months; and 

b. That if a test is taken and the results indicate that the person 

is under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance, the 

person will be subject to criminal penalties and the person's 

right to drive may be revoked for a period of 90 days; and 

c. That the person has a right to consult with an attorney but that 

this right is limited to the extent that it cannot unreasonably 

delay administration of the test or the person will be deemed to 

have refused the test; and 

d. 1"nat after submitting to testing, the person has the right to 

3 
have additional tests made by a person of his own choosing. 

(Sec. 169.125(2).) 

4. Implied Consent Law - Driver's Choice: After the officer has requested 

the test and has given the driver the warning, the next step is with the 



driver. 

a. 

. 

b. 

Implied Consent Law - Notice of Revocation: 

He can: 

Refuse to permit chemical testing, and if so, then none shall 

be given. 

Submit to a chemical test. 

If the driver refuses the 

chemical test or if he submits and the test results are 0.i0 or more alcohol 

concentration--in either event--the officer may serve immediate notice of 

intention t,) revoke on behalf of the Commissioner of Public Safety. When he 

does so, the officer shall take the license or permit of the driver, if any, 

and issue a temporary license effective for 30 days. If the license or per- 

mit is picked up by the officer, it is sent to the Commissioner of Public 

Safety along with the certification. (Sac. 169.123(5a).) See the form used 

for this step under Appendix III entitled "Notice of Revocation." 

In the event a blood or urine test is given and the results are not 

immediately available, or for some reason the officer does not serve immedi- 

ate notice, then the department serves the notice by certified mail. 

6. Implied Consent Law - Certification: If the driver refuses the test 

or if he submits and the results are 0.10 or more alcohol concentration, the 

officer shall certify to the Commissioner of Public Safety that: 

a. The officer had reasonable and probable grounds to believe that 

the person had been driving, operating, or in physical control 

of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or a 

controlled substance; and that: 

b. The driver refused the test; or 

c. That the driver submitted to the test and the results were 

0.i0 or more alcohol concentration. 



7. Implied Consent Law - Action by Commissioner of Public Safety: Under 

the notice of revocation the driver has 30 days within which to request a 

hearing. If he does not, the order of revocation becomes effective. If the 

driver requests a hearing it is conducted as follows. (Sec. 169.123(5) and (6).) 

8. Implied Consent Law - Hearing: 

30 days: 

a. 

b. 

c. 

d. 

e. 

f. 

If the driver requests a hearing within 

The hearing shall be before a municipal or county judge in the 

county where the alleged offense occurred unless there is an 

agreement that the hearing be in some other county. 

The hearing shall be to the court and may be conducted at the 

same time and in the same manner as hearings on pre-trial motions 

for criminal prosecution under Sec. 169.121 (criminal charges see 

Appendix I). 

The hearing shall be recorded. 

The Commissioner of Public Safety may appear through his own 

attorney or by agreement with the jurisdiction involved, through 

the prosecuting authority for that jurisdiction. (Note: Current 

practice is for an Assistant Attorney General to represent the 

Commissioner in all such hearings.) 

The request for the hearing delays the effective date of the 

revocation until a final judicial determination which results in 

a decision adverse to the person. 

If a hearing is requested within the 30 days, the Commissioner 

shall issue additional temporary licenses until the final deter- 

mination of whether or not there shall be a revocation. The 



g. 

h. 

i. 

j. 

k. 

additional temporary license is good for 180 days and may be 

renewed by the Commissioner as necessary. 

The scope of the hearing shall cover the issues of: 

I) whether the officer had reasonable and probable grounds to 

believe the person was (see 2.c. above for the grounds 

under which the test can be requested--or Sec. 169.123 

(Subd. 2) in Appendix I). 

2) whether at the time of the request for a test, the officer 

warned the person of his rights and consequences of taking 

or refusing the test (see Sec. 169.125 (Subd. 2) for text of 

warning in Appendix I). 

3) whether the person refused the test or whether the test was 

taken and the results indicated an alcohol concentration of 

0.10 or more and whether the testing method used was valid 

and reliable, and whether the test results were accurately 

evaluated. 

The burden of proof at the hearing is on the state and it must 

prove the issues by a "fair preponderance of the evidence." 

(See State v. Halvorson, 181 N.W.2d 473, 477 (Minn.-1970).) 

The court shall order either that the revocation be rescinded or 

sustained and forward the order to the Commissioner of Public Safety. 

"If the order of revocation is sustained the court shall also for- 

ward the driver's license to the Commissioner if it is not already 

in the Commissioner's possession. (Sec. 169.123(6).) 

The driver has the right to be represented by counsel at the hearing. 



9. Implied Consent Law - Appeal: If the hearing under the implied consent 

law goes adversely to the driver, he has the right to appeal to the District 

Court in the county where the hearing was held. The hearing is on the record 

and is governed by the same procedure as appeals from misdemeanor convictions. 

(Sec. 169.123(7).) If the hearing goes adversely to the Commissioner he may 

also appeal. (See State v. Normandin, 169 N.W.2d 222 (Minn.-1969), holding 

state can appeal an implied consent hearing decision; and State v. Ogg, 246 

N.W.2d 560 (Minn.-1976), outlining procedure for appeal of implied consent 

hearing by the state.) 

I0. Implied Consent Law - Other Provisions: In addition to the aspects out- 

lined above, the Minnesota implied consent law also provides thati 

a. Police officers who can implement the implied consent provisions 

are limited to state highway patrol officers, University of Minnesota 

peace officers, a constable defined in Sec. 567.40, and a police 

officer of any municipality, including towns defSned in Sec. 568.01, 

or a county law enforcement officer. (Sec. 169.125(1).) 

b. A person may decline a blood test and elect to take either a breath 

or urine test, whichever is available and offered. However, no 

action can be taken for refusing a blood test unless either a 

breath or urine test was available and offered. (Sec. 169.125(2).) 

c. Notwithstanding the requirement in "b" if there is reasonable and 

probable grounds to believe there is impairment by a controlled 

substance which is not subject to testing by blood or breath, a 

L 

urine test may be required even after the blood or breath test has 

been administered. (See. 169.123(2a).) 

d. Only a physician, medical technician, physician's trained mobile 

i0 
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intensive care paramedic, registered nurse, medical technologist, 

or laboratory assistant acting at the request of a peace officer 

may withdraw blood. This requirement does not apply to breath 

or urine. (Sec. 169.123(3).) 

e. The person tested has a right to have a person of his own choosing 

administer a chemical test or tests in addition to any administer- 

ed at the direction of the officer, provided that the additional 

test specimen is obtained at the place where the person is in custody, 

that it is after the test administered by the officer, and that it 

is at no expense to the state. The failure or inability to obtain 

the additional test shall not preclude the admissibility of the 

test by the officer unless the additional test was prevented or 
i 

denied by the officer. (Sec. 169.123(3).) 

f. Upon the request of the person tested, full information concerning 

the test or tests shall he, made available to him. (Sec. 169.123(3).) 

g. The physician or other qualified persons named in Sec. 169.123(3) 

who are authorized to withdraw blood at the request of the officer 

shall in no manner be liable in any civil or criminal action ex- 

cept for negligence in withdrawing the blood. (Sec. 169.123(3).) 

ii. Probable Cause and Exigent Circumstances for the Test. While not a part 

of the implied consent statute in Minnesota, it should be noted that the 

Minnesota Supreme Court has approved another method of obtaining a chemical 

test for intoxication. This method is based on constitutional law and since 

the court found there was no conflict with the statues, officers can obtain a 

chemical test for intoxication where there is (I) an exigent circumstance 

that the evidence will be lost (now or never), (2) that the officer had 

:11 



probable cause to support a formal arrest, (3) and it is a highly unob- 

trusive search. Further, that a formal arrest should be made whenever the 

suspect appears capable of understanding and con~nunicating with the arrest- 

4 
ing officer. If not, then the arrest is not necessary. 

This method has been approved by the court where the driver is in the 

hospital and unable to understand and communicate with the officer and there 

was probable cause to believe that the driver had killed another person while 

driving under the influence. 

LEGAL CHALLENGES 

At least :20 states, including Minnesota have enacted criminal "illegal 

5 
per se" drinking-driving laws. Since these laws are parallel to the "ad- 

ministrative per se" statute in Minnesota, an examination of appellate court 

decisions mayshed light on possible legal challenges which might be raised 

against the administrative per se law. Also, other possible legal challenges 

will be discussed. 

Arbitrary and Capricious. In North Carolina and Delaware appellate 

court decisions have ruled on the question of whether or not the 0.10 BAC 

was an arbitrary and capricious number. In rejecting this argument the 

North Carolina Court of Appeals held: 

"First, defendant argues that thenew offense of driving when 
the alcohol in one's blood is 0.10 percent or more by weight is an 
arbitrary and unconstitutional exercise of the police power of the 
State because there is no evidence that a driver with 0.10 percent 
or more of alcohol in his blood is a threat to the health, safety, 
or welfare of the citizens. We will not discuss the numerous 
scientific studies which have shown the state of intoxication of 
persons ~ith various degrees of alcohol in their blood. See, for 
example, Little, Control of the Drinking Driver: Science Challenges 
Legal Creativitz, 54 A.B.A.J. 555 (June 1968). Suffice to say, from 
1963 to 1975 there was a statutory presumption in this State that a 
person with 0.10 percent or more by weight of alcohol in his blood 
was under the influence of intoxicating liquor. G.S. 20-139.1(a) 

: 12 



~epealed by the 1973 amendment effective 1 January 1975). Our 
Supreme Court has held that the results of a breathalyzer test 
are admissible in evidence, and a test showing 0.10 percent or 
more by weight of alcohol in a defendant's blood is sufficient 
to carry the State's case to the jury on the questio~ of whether 
defendant was under the influence of intoxicating liquor. State 
v. Cooke, 270 N.C. 644, 155 S.H.2d 165 (1967). We hold that the 
prohibition against driving upon the public highways when the 
amount of alcohol in one's blood is 0.10 percent or more by weight 
contributes in a real and substantial way to the safety of other 
travelers. The challenged statute is a constitutional exercise 
of police power by the General Assembly. ''6 

Similarily the Supreme Court of Delaware said: 

"We are unable to agree with appellant's contention that the 
new statute is unconstitutional. Its effect is to forbid any person 
to operate a motor vehicle if his blood contains .i of one per cent 
alcohol. It represents a legislative determination that such quan- 
tity of alcohol has sufficient adverse effect upon any person to 
make his driving a definite hazard to himself and others. We cannot 
say that this determination is unfounded or contrary to the facts; 
a number of studies and many statistics have recently been published 
by experts in this field which support that conclusion. ''7 

In summary, based on these two decisions, it is not likely the courts 

would strike down a "per se" provision since the 0.10 BAC is based on a 

number of scientific studies and is not, consequently, arbitrary or capricious. 

Vague and Indefinite. This argument was made in decisions in Utah and 

Florida. It was contended that because the driver had no way to determine 

when he was approaching 0.i0 BAC without a chemical test the statute violated 

due process of law. In rejecting this argument the Supreme Court of Florida 

held: 

"Appellant alleges that the statute is vague and indefinite 
and so violative of due process in two ways. First, Appellant 
claims that consumers of alcoholic beverages are unable to determine 
how much alcohol they may consume before their alcohol blood level 
will make it unlawful for them to drive. An identical argument was 
made against a Utah statute, substantially similar to the challenged 
statute, in Greaves v. State, 528 P.2d 805 (Utah 1974). The Utah 
Supreme Court stated: 'We can see no reason why a person of ordinary 
intelligence would have any difficulty in understanding that if he 
has drunk anything containing alcohol, and particularly any substantial 
amount thereof, he should not attempt to drive or take control of a 
motor vehicle.' (Id. at 808.) 
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The above language is the view of this Court and accordingly we 
reject Appellant's first argument of 'vagueness.' 

"Appellant's second 'vagueness' argument is meritorious but 
the statute's defect is easily cured. Appellant correctly points 
out that the statute fails to state whether the prohibited percent- 
age of alcohol in the driver's bloodstream is by weight or by volume. 
We recognize the scientific difference. To determine the legislative 
intent we turn our attention to Section 322.262(2)(c), Florida 
Statutes Annotated, which provides as follows: 

'If there was at that time 0.i0 percent or more by weight of 
alcohol in the person's blood, it shall be prima facie evi- 
dence that the person was under the influence of alcoholic 
beverages to the extent that his normal faculties were im- 
paired. Moreover, such person who has a blood alcohol level 
of 0.i0 percent or above shall be guilty of driving, or being 
in actual physical control of, a motor vehicle, with an unlaw- 
ful blood alcohol level.' (Emphasis supplied.) 

"Because the above statute and the challenged statute are in pari 
materia we construe them together and hold that the legislative 
intent is that the standard of weight be applied in the enforcement 
of the challenged statute. 

"Section 316.028(3), Florida Statutes Annotated, withstands each 
of Appellant's constitutional attacks." 8 

In summary, based on these two decisions, "per se" provisions are not 

vague and indefinite. 

Equal Protection. 
9 

In the Watts case the defendant contended that the 

substantial disparity in punishment between the offense of "under the influence" 

and the offense of "per se" drinking-driving laws was arbitrary and unreason- 

able and thus it violated equal protection. The Supreme Court of Missouri 

concluded: 

"Although appellant states his point in constitutional terms, 
he offers no authority based upon constitutional principles and 
his ultimate conclusion, not stated in his point, is that the enact- 
ment of Section 564.439 repealed, by implication, Section 564.440. 
He contends that both sections prohibit the same conduct and that 
the punishment and consequences of conviction under Section 564.440 
are so unreasonably different from those under Section 564.439 that 
the sections are 'irreconcilably repugnant,' and that the later enact- 
ment (Sec. 564.439) had the effect of repealing the earlier (Sec. 
564. 440). 

"As appe l lan t  acknowledges, a conv ic t i on  under Sec. 564.440 
could occur although a blood alcohol test showed the defendant to 
have had between 0.05% and 0.09% blood alcohol (Sec. 564.442, subd. 1 
(2)) or even in the absence of a blood alcohol test result. Thus, 
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the basic premise of appellant's argument on this score fails be- 
cause Section 564.439 and Section 564.440 do not necessarily deal 
with the same conduct. ''I0 

Based on the Watts case the later enactment of a "per se" provision does 

not repeal the "under the influence" provision since they have different 

elements. No other decisions on equal protection were found but that constitu- 

tional clause has been interpreted to prohibit unequal treatment of persons 

within the same group or class. However, the legislature has the powe r to 

group or classify drivers as long as the classification is based on reasonable 

grounds. It is not likely that the administrative per se law could be success- 

fully challenged on equal protection grounds. 

11 
Procedural Due Process. In Bell v. Burson the U.S. Supreme Court held 

that deprivation of the continued possession of a driver's license was subject 

to the due process clause of the 14th Amendment of the U.S. Constitution. The 

Court said: 

"While '(m)any controversies have raged about . the Due Process 
Clause,' . it is fundamental that except in emergency situations 
(and this is not one) (financial responsibility law) due process re- 
quires that when a State seeks to terminate an interest such as that 
here involved (driver's license) it must afford 'notice and oppor- 
tunity for hearing appropriate to the nature of the case' before the 
termination becomes effective." (Italics by the Court.) 

Thus it is clear that due process requires notice and opportunity for a 

hearing appropriate to the nature of the case before the termination of the 

driver's license becomes effective. It appears there are instances in which 

the hearing may come after the action against the license~ but that issue is 

not present under the Minnesota implied consent law. The Minnesota law pro- 

vides for: 

I. A hearing on the issues in a municipal or county court and a 

finding adverse to the driver is required before the Commissioner 

of Public Safety can revoke the license. (Sec. 169.123(5) and (6).) 
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2. The notice of opportunity for a hearing is served personally on the 

driver at the time he refuses or the test results are 0.10 or more. 

Sec. 169.123(5a). See form used in Appendix iII, "Notice of 

Revocation." 

3. There is a right of appeil to the District Court from the hearing 

before the municipal or county court. (Sec. 169.123(7~.) 

It appears quite clear that the Minnesota implied consent law procedures 

fully comply with the requirements of the U.S. Supreme Court in Bell v. Burson. 

In 1979, which is after the present implied law was enacted, the Supreme 

Court of Minnesota concluded in the Wiehle 15 decision that: "The present im- 

Plied consent law satisfies all constitutional requirements." 

Collateral Impact- Administrative Versus Criminal. Under the Minnesota 

statutes it is a criminal offense to drive, etc., with an alcohol concentra- 

tion of 0.10 or more. In a parallel track the implied consent law provides 

for a revocation of the driver's license if the driver submits to a chemical 

test for intoxication and the results are an alcohol concentration of 0.10 

or more. The question arises: if this "issue" of 0.i0 or more has been liti- 

gated in the criminal trial, what impac t does this have under the administra- 

tive proceeding and vice versa? 

This issue could be raised by double jeopardy, res judicata, collateral 

estoppel, or collateral attack. 

"Double jeopardy" is a constitutional right which prohibits a person from 

being tried twice for the same crime. The great weight of authority holds 

this doctrine is not applicable between a criminal conviction and a suspension 

14 
or revocation of a driver's license growing out of the same event. 

"Res judicata" is a rule that a final judgment or decree on the merits is 

12 
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conclusive of the rights of the parties in later suits on the points and 

matters determined in the former suit. It is normally applied to civil 

proceedings but has been applied in criminal cases. Here again the great 

weight of authority is that res judicata does not prevent the suspension or 

15 revocation of a driver's license growing out of the same event. 

"Collateral attack" is an attempt to avoid, defeat, or evade another 

judicial proceeding in an incidental proceeding. An exception is the right 

to appeal to a higher court in the same case. Here again the great weight of 

16 
judicial authority is against collateral attack. 

"Collateral estoppel" is defined as once a court has litigated and decided 

an "issue" involving a party the same issue cannot be relitigated in a different 

case. The U.S. Supreme Court incorporated this doctrine into criminal cases 

17 
in Ashe v. Swenson. More recently the Court applied collateral estoppel 

to a case where the defendant was charged with possession of heroin and intent 

to kill. At his pretrial suppression hearing he attempted to suppress the 

evidence seized in a search of his house. The trial court ruled the search 

was legal and allowed the evidence to be admitted at the trial. He was convicted. 

Later he filed a civil rights action in Federal court against the officers who 

made the search alleging his 4th Amendment rights had been violated. The trial 

court held that collateral estoppel prevented him from relitigating the search 

and s e i z u r e  q u e s t i o n  b e c a u s e  t h a t  i s s u e  had a l r e a d y  been  d e c i d e d  a g a i n s t  him 

in the prior criminal case. In upholding the trial court's ruling the U.S. 

Supreme Court said: 

"The f e d e r a l  c o u r t s  have t r a d i t i o n a l l y  a d h e r e d  t o  t h e  r e l a t e d  
d o c t r i n e s  o f  r e s  j u d i c a t a  and c o l l a t e r a l  e s t o p p e l .  Under  r e s  j u d i c a t a ,  
a f i n a l  judgment  on t h e  m e r i t s  o f  an a c t i o n  p r e c l u d e  s t h e  p a r t i e s  o r  
t h e i r  p r i v i e s  from r e l i t i g a t i n g  i s s u e s  t h a t  were o r  c o u l d  have  been  
r a i s e d  i n  t h a t  a c t i o n .  Cromwell v.  County  o f  S a c . ,  94 U.S.  351,  352, 
24 L. Ed 195. Under c o l l a t e r a l  e s t o p p e l ,  once  a c o u r t  has  d e c i d e d  an 
i s s u e  o f  f a c t  o r  law n e c e s s a r y  t o  i t s  j u d g m e n t ,  t h a t  d e c i s i o n  may 

7 ..... 



preclude relitigation of the issue in a suit on a different cause of 
action involving a party to the first case. . As this Court and 
other courts have often recognized, res judicata and collateral es- 
toppel relieve parties of the cost and vexation of multiple lawsuits, 
conserve judicial resources, and, by preventing inconsistent decisions, 
encourage reliance on adjudication. 

"In recent years, this Court has reaffirmed the benefits of collateral 
estoppel in particular, finding the policies underlying it to apply in 
contexts not formerly recognized at common law. Thus, the Court has 
eliminatedthe requirement of mutuality in applying collateral est0ppe ! 
to bar relitigation of issues decided earlier in federal court suits, 
Blonder-Tongue Laboratories, Inc. v. Universit Z of Illinois, 402 U.S. 
515, 91S.Ct. 1454, 28 L.Ed.2d 788, and has allowed a litigant who was 
not a party to a federal case to use collateral estoppel 'offensively' 
in a new federal suit against the party who lost on the decided issue 
in the first case, Parklane Hosier Z Co. v. Shore, 439 U.S. 522, 99 S.Ct. 
645, 58 L.Ed.2d 552. But one general limitation the Court has repeatedly 
recognized is that the concept of collateral estoppel cannot apply when 
the party against whom the earlier decision is asserted didnot have a 
'full and fair opportunity' to litigate that issue in the earlier case. ''18 

A Texas U.S. District Court has stated: 

"It is well-settled in federal law that the doctrine of collateral 
estoppel is 'as applicable to decisions of criminal courts as to those 
of civil jurisdiction.' . . Thus, a criminal conviction can work an 
offensive estoppel in a subsequent civil proceeding if the issues for 
which estoppel is sought were put in issue and directly determined in 
the prior criminal proceeding." 19 

In r e g a r d s  to  c o l l a t e r a l  es topped t h e r e  a re  t h r e e  r e q u i r e m e n t s :  

"The doctrine of collateral estoppel requires (i) that the issue in 
question be identical to an issue actually litigated in the prior 
litigation; (2) that the prior litigation have resulted in a final 
judgment on the merits; and (5) that the party against whom the 
estoppel is asserted2~as a party or in privity with a party to the 
prior adjudication." 

Nonethe less  t h e r e  i s  no j u d i c i a l  r equ i rement  t h a t  r e s  j u d i c a t a  and 

collateral estoppel must apply in all situations. As regards an adminis- 

trative determination, the U.S. Supreme Court has held that: 

"When'an administrative agency is acting in a judicial capacity and 
resolves disputed issues of fact properly before it which the parties 
have had an adequate opportunity to litigate, the courts have not 
hesitated to apply re_._~s ~udicata to enforce repose." 21 

This holding was cited in a U.S. Court of Appeals case that ultimately 

d i s a l l o w e d  a c la im of  r e s  j u d i c a t a  as argued by a c o r p o r a t i o n  charged with  

OSHA violations: 
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"Finally, we note that even where the technical requirements of re__~s 
judicata have been established, a court may nonetheless refuse to 
apply the doctrine. This court does not adhere to a rigid view of 
the doctrine in the administrative context: 

'The sound view is therefore to use the doctrine of res judicata 
when the reasons for it are present in full force, to modify it 
when modification is needed, and to reject it when the reasons 
against it outweigh those in its favor.' 

Bowen v. United States, 570 F.2d 1311, 1321 (7th Cir. 1978) ~uoting 
2 K. Davis, Administrative Law Treatise 548 (1958). Res judicata must 
yield on occasion to competing public policies." 22 

A case from the Washington Supreme Court discusses the issues as applied 

either way--Criminal trial determination's impact onadministrative hearing 

and Administrative hearing determination applied to a criminal trial. The 

case involved a parolee who was successful in defending against his parole 

revocation for a narcotics violation at an administrative hearing immediately 

prior to his criminal trial on the narcotic charge. He attempted to use the 

"not guilty" finding of the administrative hearing to preclude relitigation of 

the issue at his criminal trial. The pertinent language from the court is as 

follows: 

"If a Washington state parolee is acquitted in a criminal trial, that 
acquittal does not bar the state from conducting a parole revocation 
hearing based upon the same incident. Standlee v. Smith, 83 Wash.2d 
405, 518 P.2d 721 (1974). See also Standlee v. Rha Z, 403 F.Supp. 1247 
(E.D.Wash.-1975~, rev'd 557 F.2d 1305 (9th Cir.-1977). 

"The Standlee court relied upon 'the rule that a difference in the 
degree of the burden of proof in the two proceedings precludes appli- 
cation of collateral estoppel.' Standlee v. Smith, su_.u~, 833 Wash.2d 
at 407, 518 P.2d at 722. The 'beyond a reasonable doubt' standard 
applies in a criminal case, while a parole revocation hearing is 
governed by the less exacting 'preponderance of the evidence' standard. 
Thus, a parolee defendant might be acquitted in a criminal prosecution 
because the state was unable to meet the burden of proof 'beyond a 
reasonable doubt', yet the same evidence could, under the lesser stand- 
ard of proof, support parole revocation. (This is the general rule and 
it is certainly applicable to DWI/Implied Consent statutes, see Asbrid~e 
v. North Dakota State Hi~hwa 7 Commission, 291N.W.2d 739 (N.D.-1980); 
Marquardt v. Webb, 545 P.2d 769 (Okla.-1976).) .... 

"Collateral estoppel, perhaps more descriptivel 7 denoted as 
issue preclusion, and res judicata are doctrines havin~ a common ~oal 
of ~udicial finalit[. The principles underlying both doctrines are 
to prevent relitigation of already determined causes, curtail multiplicity 
of actions, prevent harassment in the courts, inconvenience to the liti- 

gants, and judicial economy. 
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"Of the two doctrines, res judicata is the more comprehensive 
because it relates to a prior judgment arising out of the same cause 
of action between the parties. Collateral estoppel is less encom- 
passing, barring relitigation of a particular issue or determinate 
fact. Both doctrines require a large measure of identity as to parties. 

"As to identity of parties, mutuality of parties is not a limiting 
ingredient of the collateral estoppel rule imposed by the Fifth and 
Fourteenth Amendments. It is sufficient that the party against whom 
the plea of collateral estoppel is asserted was a party or in privity 
with a party in the prior litigation. 

"Here, the prosecutor asser'ts that the State was not a party at 
the parole revocation hearing because 'the state' for purposes of 
parole revocation is not 'the state' for purposes of criminal prose- 
cutions. We find this contention to be without merit. Although the 
prosecutor was not a participant in the revocation proceeding, an 
assistant attorney general was. The same sovereign is involved in both 
instances." 

The court then went on to consider whether an administrative determination 

could be applied to preclude a criminal trial. The court stated: 

"Decisions of administrative agencies may be accorded preclusive 
effect in subsequent litigation .... The applicability of collateral 
estoppel in each case is dependent upon a number of factors, including 
(i) whether the agency acting within its competence made a factual 
decision; (2) agency and court procedural differences; and (3) policy 
considerations .... 

"Policy arguments have been often the deciding factor when collateral 
estoppel is based upon prior administrative determination. 2 K. Davis, 
Administrative Law Treatise, Sec. 18.04 (1958 and Supp• 1970). The 
doctrine may be qualified or rejected when its application would contra- 
vene public policy .... 

"We believe public policy dictates re~ection of collateral estoppel 
in this instance. Parole revocation is not part of a new criminal 
prosecution .... 

"Practical public policy requires that new criminal matters, when 
charged in the criminal justice system, must be permitted to be there 
decided, unhampered by any parallel proceedings of the Board of Prison 
Terms and Paroles• Consequently we hold that the board's parole revo- 
cation hearing decision regarding Dupard may not be interposed as a 
basis for collateral estoppel in his prosecution on new criminal charges. ''23 

Since public policy considerations are an exception to the application of 

collateral estoppel, it is important to note that the U.S. Supreme Court has 

held in a number of cases that highway safety is a compelling public interest. 

For example in the ~ c a s e  the Court said: 
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"We have traditionally accorded the states great leeway in adopting 
sununary procedures to protect public health and safety. States 
surely have at least as much interest in removing drunken drivers 
from their highways as in stummarily seizing mislabeled drugs or 
destroying spoiled foodstuffs. ''24 

In Minnesota, the Supreme Court has held that acquittal of the criminal 

charge of DWI does not, as a matter of law, dispose of corollary charges under 

the implied consent law. Furthermore, administrative and criminal proceedings 

growing out of a DWI case are related only insofar as they generally grow out 

of the same set of facts. Even though the state is the "garry" in both in- 

stances, at a criminal trial, the "state" is represented by the county attorney, 

who is not free to plea bargain away state civil penalties. The civil penal- 

ties, i.e., via administrative process, is solely within the jurisdiction of 

the state's Attorney General and therefore the state could not be estopped 

from applying a civil sanction even though the county attorney included a "no 

25 
loss of license" in his plea bargain. 

Other issues concerning res judicata, collateral estoppel and collateral 

attack are: 

26 
i. Res judicata is applicable in successive administrative proceedings. 

. A collateral attack on the underlying criminal conviction is 

27 
generally not permitted at an administrative hearing. 

. As applied to Minnesota, res judicata does apply in administrative 

hearing and the Supreme Court has admonished state agencies to 

comply with pertinent statutes and regulations. 

" N e v e r t h e l e s s ,  i t  shou ld  be n o t e d  t h a t  t h e  p r a c t i c e  o f  t he  
commission in  t h i s  case  i s  n o t  one to  be commended. I t  appea r s  
t h a t ,  i n  e s s e n c e ,  t h e  commiss ion a t t e m p t e d  l a r g e l y  t o  a v o i d  t he  
difficult legal question here encountered by simply substituting a 
different set of factual findings for those made in 1963 and 1965. 
We are in sympathy with relator's assertions that such action was 
prima facie violative of principles of res judicata--principles 
which, in spirit at l~ast, apply to adjudications by administrative 
agencies as well as to those made by the courts. . . Because of 
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the breadth of power which has been delegated to administrative 
agencies such as the one here involved, it is necessary in the 
interests of consistency and fairness that such power be exer- 
cised only in the mannel prescribed by statute and published 
regulation. Our legislature has set forth specific procedures 
to be followed relative to providing for notice and hearing 
for the reopening of compensation awards by the commission. ''28 

In conclusion, the great weight of judicial authority continues to 

hold that a suspension or revocation of a driver's license is not barred by 

collateral estoppel or res judicata. This was summarized by the annotator 

in 96 ALR2d 612, 614 as follows: 

"It is generally recognized that state legislatures may, in 
the exercise of their police powers, enact reasonable regulations 
for the obtaining of drivers' or operators' licenses and for the 
revocation or suspension thereof under stated circumstances. 
However, where those circumstances which were the basis of the 
revocation or suspension were also the basis of charges in a 
previous criminal case, it might seem to the layman driver that 
the state has been allowed to try him twice for the same offense, 
and his notions Of fair play might be injured all the more where 
the previous criminal prosecution resulted in a determination that 
he was 'not guilty.' Notwithstanding the notions of fair play 
entertained by laymen, however, what little authority there is on 
the subject holds that the later proceeding to revoke or suspend his 
license, since not intended as a punishment of the driver but de- 
signed solely for the protection of the public in the use of the 
highways, does not in the legal sense subject him to double jeopardy 
or punishment, nor is a judgment of acquittal in the previous criminal 
case res judicata on the issue of guilt or innocence in the later 
proceeding, for, as stated by one court, such judgment does not 
have any probative value in the subsequent proceeding beyond the 
mere fact of its rendition, the reason for this being found in the 
nature of the criminal proceedings and the type of proof required 
therein, for in a criminal proceeding the guilt of the accused must 
be established beyond a reasonable doubt, whereas in a civil pro- 
ceeding to revoke a license it is sufficient if the offense is 
established by a preponderance of the evidence. 

"It should be noted that the result reached in the case of a 
revocation or suspension of a driver's license is fully in accord 
with the general rule relating to the effect on administrative 
proceedings of an acquittal or conviction in criminal proceedings. ''29 

Double Punishment. Under the Minnesota law there is a dual track. 

Under Sec. 169.121 it is a criminal offense for a person to drive, etc., with 

an alcohol concentration of 0.i0 or more. Under the implied consent law a 
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person can have his driver's license revoked for driving, etc., with an 

alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more. This second track has been referred 

to as "administrative per se." 

What if a driver is punished with criminal penalties under the first 

statute and also suffers a revocation of his driver's license under the 

second law? Does this violate the constitutional prohibitions of double 

jeopardy and double punishment? 

The U.S. Supreme Court has made it clear that the double jeopardy clause 

30 
of the U.S. Constitution bars double punishment. The Court held in the Pearce 

case that: "The Constitution was designed as much to prevent the criminal from 

being twice punished for the same offense as from being twice tried for it." 

However, a review of the appellate court decisions indicates there would 

no__~tbe double punishment where one sanction is criminal and the other civil 

31 32 
or administrative in nature. For example, in Barnes v. Tofan[ the de- 

fendant was convicted for driving while ability impaired for which he received 

a mandatory suspension of his driver's license. In addition, acting under a 

separate statute, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, then suspended his 

driver's license, following an administrative determination that the defendant 

was grossly negligent. Both suspensions arose out of the same event. The 

defendant appealed his second suspension on the grounds that this violated 

his constitutional rights of not being placed in double jeopardy and of 

double punishment. In upholding both suspensions the New York Court of Appeals 

said: 

"The constitutional prohibitions against double jeopardy and 
double punishment do not prevent the Legislature from enacting and 
and the executive from enforcing, civil as well as criminal sanctions 
for the same conduct .... Therefore, the question before us is 
really whether the sanction imposed (suspension of an operator's 
license) is essentially criminal or civil in nature. 
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"As the Supreme Court noted in Helvering v. Mitchell (303 U.S. 
391, 399, 58 S.Ct. 630, 633, 82 L.Ed. 917), 'Remedial sanctions may 
be of varying types. One which is characteristically free of the 
punitive criminal element is revocation of a privilege voluntarily 
granted.' It is apparent that suspension or revocation of the 
privilege of operating a motor vehicle is essentially civil in 
nature, having as its aims chastening of the errant motorist, and, 
more importantly, the protection of the public from such a danger- 
ous individual." * * * 

"Each of these proceedings--one, a civil administrative pro- 
ceeding, and the other, a criminal action--are separate and independent 
of each other. The outcome of one proceeding is of no consequence in 
the other. There is no constitutional or statutory prohibition to 
make the Commissioner's implementation of the statute illegal or un- 
lawful. Since the statute imposed upon the Commissioner a mandatory 
duty to suspend petitioner's license after conviction, there was no 
exercise of discretion to be reviewed by the courts below as to the 
second s!:spension. ''33 

The Supreme Court of Minnesota in the Mulvihill case in 1975 also emphasized 

this distinction between criminal and civil nature of the two tracks. The court 

said: 

"We feel it important to again emphasize the essential differences 
between license revocation under Sec. 169.i21, subd. 3, and license 
revocation under Sec. 169.123, subd. 4. The former is automatically 
imposed as a criminal penalty upon conviction of a Sec. 169.121 
violation. It is triggered by the outcome of the criminal proceeding 
and is imposed through the judicial system. Revocation under this 
section is for not less than 50 days. On the other hand, revocation 
under the implied-consent law is essentially civil in nature. State, 
Department of Public Safety v. House, 291 Minn. 424, 425, 192 N.W.2d 
93, 94 (1971). It is imposed administratively by the commissioner 
of public safety regardless of the outcome of the criminal proceed- 
ing arising out of the same incident and is triggered by the refusal 
to submit to chemical testing. ''34 

A related issue is where the criminal charges are dismissed or the defendant 

is acquitted: Can the motor vehicle department revoke under the implied consent 

35 
law? This issue was addressed by the Supreme Court of Minnesota in the St~rbicki 

° 

and Olsen 36 decisions. 

In Styrbicki the defendant was found not guilty by a jury On the charge of 

driving under the influence of alcohol. However, the defendant had refused the 

chemical test when arrested and on this ground the motor vehicle department moved 
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to revoke his license. He argued on appeal to the Minnesota Supreme Court 

that because he was acquitted of the criminal charge, it followed that the 

arrest was therefore unlawful and thus the officer did not have the required 

"reasonable and probable grounds" for the implied consent law to revoke his 

license. 

The court rejected this argument and held that the acquittal did not in- 

validate the arrest. In doing so the court concluded: 

"Other courts have also held that the fact that a person may have 
been acquitted of the offense of driving while intoxicated does not 
preclude an administrative hearing to determine if his driving privileges 
should be withdrawn for his refusal to submit ~@ a chemical test to 
determine the alcoholic content of his blood. ''~" 

In the Olsen 38 case the Supreme Court of Minnesota held that where the 

driving under the influence charge was dismissed when the defendant pled guilty 

to the reduction of the charge to careless driving it was not a bar to a revo- 

cation of his driver's license for a refusal of the chemical test. 

Guilty Plea. There is no provision in the Minnesota implied consent 

statute which ties a conviction of a drinking-driving offense to the refusal 

However, the Supreme Court of Minnesota in the Schlief 39 case held that a 

driver who pleads guilty tO the criminal Dwi charge cannot be subjected to a 

revocation of his driver's license for refusing the chemical test. The court 

stated that it would serve no useful purposeand would be unreasonable. 
40 

In a later decision in the Mulvihill case the court laid down the guide- 

lines for the Schlief doctrine. The court held: 

"In order for a defendant to establish reasonable grounds for 
refusing to submit to chemical testing as otherwise required by 
statute and avail himself of the doctrine in the Schlief decision, 
he must do the following: [I) At the time of the refusal, he must 
intend to plead guilty to a charge of violating Minn.St. 169.121, 
subd. i; [2) he must enter a plea of guilty to a charge which 
subjects him to automatic revocation under Sec. 169.121, subd. 5; 
and (5) he must plead guilty at the first available opportunity." 

25 



T h e  e f f e c t  o f  t h i s  a p p r o a c h  i s  t o  put  a l e v e r  on the  d e f e n d a n t  who has  

refused the test. It encourages him to plead guilty because if he does, there 

is no revocation for refusing the chemical test. Of course, he receives a 

revocation on the conviction but if he pleads "not" guilty and is convicted 

he could receive two revocations--one for the conviction and one for the 

41 
implied consent refusal. 

Thus the Schlief-Mulvihill doctrine has a tendency to chill "not" guilty 

pleas. Such a practice has been held unconstitutional by the U.S. ~upreme Court 

42 
in United States v. Jackson where the court held that due process forbids con- 

v i c t i n g  a d e f e n d a n t  on t h e  b a s i s  o f  a c o e r c e d  g u i l t y  p l e a .  

Arizona had a statutory provision which was similar in effect to the Schlief- 

Mulvihill doctrine. 

Court said: 

In holding the statute unconstitutional the U.S. District 

"The e f f e c t  o f  s u b p a r a g r a p h  H. i s  t o  n e e d l e s s l y  c h i l l  t h e  e x e r c i s e  
o f  b a s i c  c o n s t i t u t i o n a l  r i g h t s .  See Un i t ed  S t a t e s  v.  J a c k s o n ,  su__u~. 
The o p e r a t i o n  o f  s u b p a r a g r a p h  H. o b v i o u s l y  p l a c e s  t h e  i n d i v i d u a l  c h a r g e d  
in  a dilemma as  t o  w h e t h e r  t o  s t a n d  on h i s  r i g h t s ,  and t h e r e b y  l o s e  h i s  
d r i v i n g  p r i v i l e g e s ,  o r  t o  e n t e r  a p l e a  o f  g u i l t y ,  w i t h o u t  a p p e a l ,  and 

t h u s  r e t a i n  h i s  d r i v i n g  p r i v i l e g e s .  Thus, s u b p a r a g r a p h  H. o f  t h e  
s t a t u t e  imposes  an i m p e r m i s s i b l e  burden  upon t h e  e x e r c i s e  o£ t h e  a c c u s e d ' s  
F i f t h  Amendment r i g h t  no t  t o  p l e a d  g u i l t y ,  and h i s  S i x t h  Amendment r i g h t  
t o  demand a j u r y  t r i a l ,  and i s ,  t h e r e f o r e ,  u n c o n s t i t u t i o n a l .  See U n i t e d  

S t a t e s  v ,  J a c k s o n ,  s u p r a ,  and Pope v. Un i t ed  S t a t e s ,  392 U.S.  651,  
88 S . C t .  2145, 20 L .Ed .2d  1317. Moreover ,  t h e  o b v i o u s  d i f f e r e n c e  in  
t r e a t m e n t  o f  t h e  a c c u s e d  under  t h e  Ar izona  s t a t u t e ,  which  s u b p a r a g r a p h  
H. i n c l u d e s  t h e r e i n ,  c o n s t i t u t e s  a v i o l a t i o n  o f  t h e  e q u a l  p r o t e c t i o n  
c l a u s e  o f  t h e  F o u r t e e n t h  Amendment." 43 

Since the Schlief-Mulvihill approach is no__~tthe rule around the country, 

it would not normally pose a problem in other states which adopted the Minnesota 

implied consent law since this doctrine is in the case law and not the statute. 
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FOOTNOTES - Part II. 

I. 

. 

3. 

. 

. 

, 

7. 

8. 

. 

i0. 

ii. 

12. 

13. 

Minnesota Laws 1976, Chapter 341, effective July i, 1976, and codified 
as Sec. 169.127. However in 1978 this law was repealed and re-enacted 
as Sec. 169.123 by Minnesota Laws 1978, Chapter 727, effective September i, 
1978, retaining its substantive aspects. 

Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648, 99 S.CT. 1391, 59 L.Ed.2d 660 (1979). 

The Supreme Court of Minnesota held that where a driver was under arrest 
for DWI while being transported went into convulsions and was rushed to 
the hospital unconscious, a blood test could be taken and if the results 
were 0.10 or over, his license could be revoked under the "administrative 
per se" law even though no warnings had been given and the driver did not 
consent. This conclusion was reached on the grounds that the taking of 
the blood sample was constitutional because there was "an exigency to 
preserve evidence, probable cause to support formal arrest, and a highly 
unobtrusive search," citing State v. Oevering, 268 N.W.2d 68 (Minn.-1978). 
Also, the court concluded that there was no prohibition in the Minnesota 
implied consent law which precluded the taking ef the blood sample. Since 
the driver's condition precluded him from refusing the test, his consent 
remained continuous. This continuing consent permitted use of the results 
of the test in an implied consent proceeding. State v. Wiehle, 287 N.W.2d 
416 (Minn.-1979). See also: State v. Hauge, 286 N.W.2d 727 (Minn.-1979), 
holding to same effect. 

State v. Oevering, 268 N.W.2d 68 (Minn.-1978); State v. Dewey, 272 N.W.2d 
355 (Minn.-1978); State v. Hauge, 286 N.W.2d 727 (Minn.-1979); State v. 
Wiehle, 287 N.W.2d 416 (Minn.-1979); State v. Hart, 289 N.W.2d 478 (Minn.- 
1979); State v. Aguirre, 295 N.W.2d 79 (Minn.-1980). 

Alabama, Alaska, California, Delaware, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, 
Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, South 
Dakota, Utah, Vermont, New Hampshire, Washington, and Wisconsin. 

State v. Basinger, 30 N.C.App. 45, 226 S.E.2d 216, 218 (1976). 

Coxe v. State, 281A.2d 606, 607 (Del.-1971). 

Roberts v. State, 329 So.2d 296, 297 (Fla.-1976); Greaves v. State, 
528 P.2d 805 (Utah-1974). 

State v. Watts, 601S.W.2d 617 (Mo.-1980). 

601S.W.2d a t  619. 

Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535, 91S.Ct. 1586, 1591 (1971). 

See n. II. 

State v. Wiehle, 287 N.W.2d 416 (Minn.-1979). 
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14. 96 ALR2d 612, "Conviction or Acquittal in Previous Criminal Case as Bar 
to Revocation or Suspension of Driver's License on Same Factual Charges." 
See also Later Case Service with more decisions to same effect. 

15. 96 ALR2d, s u p r a ,  n .  14.  

16. 

17. 

96 ALR2d 612, supra, n. 14. 

Ashe v. Swenson, 397 U.S. 436, 90 S.Ct. 1189, 25 L.Ed.2d 469 (1970). 

18. Allen v. McCurry, U.S. , i 01S .C t .  411, 414-415 (19801. 

19. Vela v. Alvarez, 507 F.Supp. 887, 889 (D.C.-Tex.-19811. 

20. Lomax v. Smith, S01 F.Supp. 119, 122 (D.C.-Pa.-19801. 

21. United States v. Utah Construction & Mining Co., 384 U.S. 394, 422, 
86 S.Ct. 1545, 1560, 16 L.Ed.2d 642 (19661 . 

22. International Harvester Co. v. Occupational Safety and Health Review 
Commission, 628 F.2d 982, 986 (C.A.7th-lll.-1980). 

23. State v. Dupard, 609 P.2d 961, 962-65 (Wash.-1980). 

24. Mackey v. Montrym, 445 U.S. i, 99 S.Ct. 2612, 2621 (19791. Seealso 
statements to same effect in Dixon v. Love, 431U.S. 105, 97 S.Ct. 1723, 
52 L.Ed.2d 172 (19771. 

25. State, Department of Public Safety v. House, 192 N.W.2d 93 (Minn.-1971). 

26. 

27. 

28. 

Doherty v. Cuomo, 430 N.Y.S.2d 168 (N.Y.App.-1980). 

Commonwealth, Dept. of Transportation, 419 A.2d 253 (Pa.Cmwlth.-1980); 
Kuhn v. State ex tel. Van Natta, 404 N.E.2d 1560 (Ind.App.-1980): 

Souden v. Hopkins Motor Sales, Inc., 182 N.W.2d 668, 672-73 (Minn.-1971 I. 

29. 96 ALR2d 612, 614, supra, n. 14. 

30. North Carolina v. Pearce, 595 U.S. 711, 89 S.Ct. 2072, 2077 (19691. 

31. In Wells v. Roberts, 280 S.E.2d 266 (W.Va.-1981), the court noted: "Most 
courts that have considered similar claims, have consistently held that 
administrative revocation or suspension of an operator's license is not 
subject to a double jeopardy challenge. See, e.g., Campbell v. State, 
176 Colo. 202, 491P.2d 1585 (19711; Keenan v. Hardison, 245 Ga; 599, 
266 S.E.2d 205 (19801; Williams v. State, 158 Ga.App. 662, 226 S.E.2d 816 
(19761; Hardin v. Van Natta, 576 N.E.2d 518 (Ind.App.-19781; State v., 
Edwards, 355 So.2d 476 (La.App.-19771; State v. Sinner, 207 N.W.2d 495 
(N.D.-19731; Connnonwealth v. Levy, 194 Pa. Super. 590, 169 A.2d 596 (1961); 
Robinson v. Texas Dept. of Public Safety, 586 S.W.2d 604 (Tex. Civ.App. 
19791; State v. Scheffel, 82 Wash.2d 872, 514 P.2d 1052 (1975); 

See also: 88 ALR2d 1064, 1076, "Suspension or Revocation of 
Driver's License for Refusal to Take Sobriety Test," citing cases holding 
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~2. 

33. 

34. 

3S. 

36. 

37. 

38. 

39. 

40. 

41. 

42. 

43.  

that acquittal of the charge does not bar suspension or revocation of 
driver's license for refusal of the chemical test. 

Barnes v. Tofany, 27 N.Y.2d 74, 261N.E.2d 617 (1970). 

261 N.E.2d at 619. 

State ~. Mulvihill, 227 N.W.2dSI3, 817 (Minn.-1975). 

State v. Styrbicki, 169 N.W. 2d 225 (Minn.-1969). 

State v. Olsen, 169 N.W.2d 227 (Minn.-1969). 

169 N.W. 2d at 227. 

See n. 36, su__u~. 

State v. Schlief, 185 N.W.2d 274 (Minn.-1971). 

State v. Mulvihill, 227 N.W.2d 813, 817 (Minnn.-1975). 

Sec. 169.121(3) prohibits a revocation under the implied consent law if 
the driver has been revoked for a conviction under the criminal statute 
for Dwi. The provision reads as follows: Any person whose license has 
been revoked pursuant to Section 169.123 (implied consent)is not subject 
to the mandatory revocation provision of this section." However, officials 
in Minnesota report if the timing is such that the defendant receives a 
revocation for a conviction and some time later because of delays, etc., 
there can be a later revocation under the implied consent law. 

United States v. Jackson, 590 U.S. 570, 88 S.Ct. 1209, 1216 (1968). 

Voyles v. Thorneycroft, 398 F.Supp. 706, 707 (D.C.-Ariz.-1975). 
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PART I l l  

STUDY OF OPERATIONAL IMPACT 

In addition to studying the legal and constitutional questions relating, .... 

to the Minnesota "administrative pe r se" implied consent law, the questions .... 

of--is the law working and how well--are addressed. ., "., 

There were two principal sources for the responses to the fgllowing ques7 

tions: (i) interviews with a number of state officials in Minnesota who are 

involved in running the programs under the implied consent law;.and (2). statis- 

tics from their offices. 

. 

The .questions to be answered were: 

"Ascertain to what extent offenders  charged wi thOUi  are c i t e d  . 
u n d e r  M i n n e s o t a  S e c t i o n  1 6 9 . 1 2 3 ,  a s  o p p o s e d  t o  M i n n e s o t a  . . . . .  

S e c t i o n  1 6 9 . 1 2 1 ,  w h ' e r e i n  .an i m p l i e d  c o n s e n t  BAC t e s t h a s  b e e n  . 

a d m i n i s t e r e d . "  .... - ~ :., 

The total number of "arrests'? forDWI reported to the Minnesota,Criminal~. 

Justice Informa~iqn System in 1980 was 22,788., Also, in 1980 the number of ,-i~, 

"certificates" from law enforcement officers to the Department of Public Safety 

that a driver had either refused a chemical test or had submitted and the re- 

sults were 0.i0 alcohol concentration or more totaled 28,429. From the data 

available it is not possible to d e t e r m i n e  t h e  n u m b e r  of chemical t e s t s  adminis- 

tered in the 22,788 arrests. Under Minnesota law the officer can arrest for 

DWI without Administering any chemical tests. 

It is possible for the officer to file a "certificate" of refusal for 

0.i0 or more with the Department of Public Safety without filing any criminal 

charges for DWI. Also, there are cases where the driver submitted to the chemi- 

cal test and the results were less than 0.10 alcohol concentration and thus no 
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certificate would be sent to the Department of Public Safety yet criminal 

charges could have been filed. Hence there are several reasons for the 

number of arrests and number of revocations to differ. 

In some of the interviews with Minnesota officials it was reported that 

the "administrative per se" or implied consent law was popular with law en- 

forcement officers. The number of revocations over arrests appears to support 

this view. 

For further comparison of arrests and certificates see Tables I and IV 

in Appendix If. Also see Memorandum of Mr. Forst Lowery in Appendix IV 

explaining differences in the data. 

2. "Determine, if possible, to what extent law enforcement officers 
are using the Subd. 4 provision by submitting to the Commissioner 
of Public Safety BAC test results of 0.i0 percent or more." 

The laboratory of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension in Minnesota 

performs most of the blood and urine tests in DWI cases, except for St. Paul, 

Minneapolis, and a few other cities, and receives reports on all the breath 

tests performed in the state. In 1979 these tests totaled 15,2S4 where the 

results were 0.10 or more. In the same year the number of revocations under 

the implied consent "administrative per se" law was reported as 6,742. On 

the face of this it would appear that officers were using the law CSubd. 4 of 

Sec. 169.123~ only about half the time. 

However, there are some factors which should be noted. The Supreme 

Court of Minnesota has held that if a driver pleads ~uilt Z at the first oppor- 

tunity to the DWI charge, then his license cannot be revoked under the implied 

consent law. See the discussion in Part II above of the Schlief-Mulvihill 

cases under the heading of "Guilty Plea." There is no data available to in- 

dicate how much this decreases the number of implied consent revocations. 
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Another factor impacting on the number of revocations under the implied consent 

law• is that a number of drivers request a hearing. (See Table IX in Appendix 

II.) As will be noted this number has substantially increased in recent years. 

Needless to say, when it goes to a hearing the Atto}mey General does not win 

them all and this reduces somewhat the number of revocations. 

Interviews with Minnesota officials indicate that in their view officers 

are using this law most of the time. When the factors just discussed are taken 

into consideration, it would appear that the views of the officials inter- 

viewed are supported by the data. 

3. "Determine what use is being made by the Motor Vehicle Department ,of 
the BAC test results as authorized under Subd. 4. What, if any, are 
the constitutional, legal and practical problems , how well is it 
working." ~ 

The "certificate" from the officer, that a driver has either refused a 

chemical test or the results of the test were 0.10 or more, to the Department 

of Public Safety triggers the action under the implied consent law. -The offi- 

cials interviewed, both,in and out of the division in DPS which handles these 

certificates, reported that the system was working well. 

One factor which makes the system work more effectively is that at the 

time of the refusal or when a breath test is taken and the results are known 

at the time, the officer serves a "Notice of Revocation" on the driver and 

picks up the driver's license which is attached to the certificate forwarded to 

DPS. (See Form in Appendix III.) If it goes to a hearing and the license is 

not already'in the possession of DPS, and the hearing is adverse to the driver, 

the court picks up the license and sends it to the DPS along with the court's 

decision. This greatly reduces the administrative problem of notifying the 

driver of his opportunity for a hearing [which formerly was done by certified 

mail in all cases) and obtaining possession of the license from the drive r . 
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For the drivers who do not request a hearing, it was reported that there 

was no significant backlog. However, as will be noted in Table IX in Appendix 

If, the number of pending cases under the implied consent law is steadily 

growing. This is due in part to the lack of adequate staff in the Attorney 

General's Office to handle these cases and at the same time the increase in 

the number of DWI arrests being made on the street: 

4. "Determine to what extent driver license revocation actions are 
taken pursuant to Subd. ,[ (BAC test results of 0.10 percent or 
higher) under the following situations: 

i) the DUI charge is nolle prossed 
2) the DUI case is continued 
3) the DUI charge is plea bargained down to a lesser offense 
4) the DUI case results in an acquittal." 

From the data available in Minnesota, it is very difficult to determine 

the precise impact the "administrative per se" implied consent law has had on 

the four areas listed above. In fact, no data was found to determine exactly 

how many DWI cases were nolle prossed, continued, plea bargained or acquitted 

on a state wide basis. 

However, a general answer can be given by looking at the number of total 

alcohol-related revocations in Table I (Appendix fig. The "administrative 

per se" law became effective on July I, 1976. If a comparison is made for 

1975 (17,628 revocations) which would be DWI convictions and refusals and 

1979 DWI convictions and refusals (18,224 revocations) the impact of revoking 

under the "administrative per se" law was not negative. It appears the DWI 

case load has continued to increase since the convictions resulting in revoca- 

tions has increased. In 1980 there was a significant increase--from 14,797 

in 1979 to 17,406 in 1980. It can be concluded that the enactment of the 

"administrative per se" implied consent law did not decrease the DWI cases in 

court. 
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5. "Based on available data, determine the impact the enactment of 
Minnesota Section 169.125 (Subd. 4) has had on the number of 
implied consent refusals." 

Prior to 1978 theDepartment of Public Safety did not keep data on the 

number of revocations for refusal separate from revocations for convictions 

or for having an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more. However, the number 

of revocations for refusals in 1978 was 5,544, in 1979 it was 3,427, and in- 

1980 it was 5,865. Since this shows a steady increase, it can be concluded 

that the enactment of the "administrative per se" implied consent law which 

added revocations for having an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more had no 

negative impact. Nor does it appear that this new law greatly increased re- 

fusals. (See Table I in Appendix II.) 

. "Determine the extent to which the Commissioner of Public Safety 
appears through prosecuting attorneys at driver license revocation 
hearings as provided for in Minnesota Section 169.125 (Subd. 6)." 

In the Minnesota law it provides that: "The commissioner of public 

safety may appear (at the implied consent hearing~ through his own attorney 

or, by agreement with the jurisdiction involved, through the prosecuting au- 

thority for that jurisdiction." According to the Minnesota Attorney General's 

Office no agreements have been entered into with any local jurisdiction to 

represent the Department of Public Safety at any implied consent hearings 

As will be noted in Table IX in Appendix II the number of pending cases 

has been steadily growing and to deal with this backlog either the staffLin ' 

the Attorney General"s Office who handles these cases will have to be increased 

or agreements will have to be made with local prosecutors. The importance of 

keeping the function in the Attorney General's Office is that it removes any 

pressure on the local prosecutor concerning the disposition of both the crimi- 

nal charges and the implied consent revocation proceedings. Also, keeping it 
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at the state level provides for uniform policies in handling the implied 

consent cases. 

7. "Determine, to the extent practical, the impact of the administrative 
licensing action on the adjudication process (e.g., conviction rates, 
sanction involved)." 

It is very difficult to determine conviction rates, types of sanctions 

imposed, and related aspects in DWI cases in the court system. However, one 

measure that is available is the number of revocations for DWI convictions. 

These have increased -- 15,512 in 1978; 14,797 in 1979; 17,406 in 1980; and 

7,861 in the first five months Of 1981 [which if the level continues would be 

about 18,864 in 1981). 

Based on the number of revocations for convictions the enactment of the 

"administrative per se" implied consent law had no negative impact on criminal 

charges under the DWI statute. 

Since the two tracks are separate and the timing is not parallel, the 

officials interviewed in Minnesota reported they had not observed any impact 

on conviction rates, sanctions imposed, etc. If anything, tightening the net 

on drinking drivers has led to increased enforcement activity by law enforcement 

officers. See especially the 1980 and 1981 revocations in Table I, Appendix If. 

8. "Determine, to the extent practical, the impact of the administrative 
licensing process on the rate of enforcement and support of police 
officers." 

The number of sworn police officers in Minnesota has remained relatively 

stable in the past few years--going from 5,922 in 1977 to 6,107 in 1980--an 

increase of only 185 officers. (See Table V in Appendix II.) Such a small 

increase cannot account for the increase in total number of revocations for 

alcohol related offenses which went from 17,741 to 50,481 in the same period 

of time. (See Table I in Appendix II.) 
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Among the officials interviewed it was reported that the "administrative 

per Se" implied consent law was popular among law enforcement officers. As 

is true in many jurisdictions the officers express frustration at the courts 

and their handling of DWI cases. It appears they view the administrative 

track as providing a method of doing something about the drinking driver 

regardless of what happens to the criminal charges in court. 
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PART IV 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY AND CONCLUSIONS 

In 1976 the State of Minnesotaadopted a rather unique implied consent 

law. That state already had the traditional implied consent iaw which pro- 

vided for a revocation of the driver's license if the driver refused to submit 

to a chemical test for intoxication. What was added was a p:ovision that when 

the officer requested a chemical test for intoxication under the implied con- 

sent law, and the driver submitted, and the results were an alcohol concentra- 

tion of 0.10 or more, the officer sent a report to the motor vehicle department 

(Department of Public Safety). Based on the report the DPS could revoke the 

driver's license for having 0.10 or more. Of course, there is a notice and 

opportunity for a hearing. However, if the results of the hearing are adverse 

to the driver, or if he waives his right to a hearing, then the DPS can revoke 

on the basis of either the refusal to submit or having 0.10 or more. It has 

been described as an "administrative per se" law. 

At the same time, Minnesota has a criminal statute making it a crime to 

drive, etc., while under the influence of alcohol which is the traditional 

DWI charge. Also in recent years at least 20 states, including Minnesota, 

have enacted criminal statutes making it a crime to drive, etc., with an alco- 

hol concentration of 0.i0 or more. This charge has been described as an 

absolute or "illegal per se" law. 

The uniqueness of the Minnesota law is the two tracks--one a criminal 

"per se" law and the other an administrative "per se" law. They are separate 

tracks with almost no connection between the two. About the only connection 

are some restrictions on revoking the driver's license for both but that 
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connection applies in only some circumstances. In the situation where the 

driver refuses the test and pleads guilty to the criminal charge at the 

first opportunity, the Minnesota Supreme Court has held his license cannot 

be revoked for the refusal. 

Another situation is where the timing is such that a revocation takes 

place for the implied consent law and the driver is later convicted of the 

criminal charge, then the statute prohibits another revocation unless the 

driver has had a prior revocation wit~,in three years. Then the prohibition 

does not apply. 

If the timing is the opposite--the driver is convicted of the criminal 

charge first and the implied consent revocation happens later, then the Minnesota 

statute does not bar two revocations. 

This study has two principal objectives. First, to study the legal and 

constitutional aspects and second, to look at the operation of the law and 

determine whether or not it is working and its impact on other aspects of the 

system of control on drinking-drivers. 

Legal Conclusions. Since a number of states, including Minnesota, have 

had appellate court challenges to the "illegal per se" law, this was one method 

of determining possible court challenges to the "administrative per se" law. 

One possible challenge is that the legislature was arbitrar Z and capricious 

when it chose the alcohol concentration of 0.i0 or more as an element of the 

statute. This argument has been rejected by the appellate courts because of 

the numerous scientific studies which have shown that every person with an 

alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more is an unsafe driver. Consequently, the 

legislative determination is based on scientific research. 
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Another possible legal challenge is that the law is va~ue and indefinite 

because the driver cannot tell when he is approaching the 0.I0 concentration 

without a chemical test for intoxication. At least two appellate courts 

have rejected this argument because any person of ordinary intelligence who 

has consumed an alcoholic beverage, and particularly a substantial amount, 

knows that he should not attempt to drive or take control of a vehicle. 

A third possible legal challenge is based on due process of law. In 

the Bell v. Bu~!son case the U.S. Supreme Court held that a driver's license 

was an "important interest" to which the due process clause of the 14th Amend- 

ment attached. Thus a driver is entitled to notice and opportunity to a hear- 

ing in most circumstances before any action can be taken against his license. 

The Minnesota implied consent law complies with these requirements and the 

Minnesota Supreme Courthas upheld its constitutionality. 

A fourth possible challenge is "double jeopardy" or "collateral estoppel." 

Since there is both a criminal charge of driving, etc., with an alcohol con- 

centration of 0.10 or more as well as administrative action for 0.10 or more, 

do corrective sanctions against the driver under both laws constitute double 

jeopardy? The appellate court decisions almost unanimously hold there is no 

double jeopardy between criminal and administrative sanctions. Collateral 

estoppel means that once an "issue" has been litigated, that "issue" (in this 

case the issue of 0.10 or more) cannot be litigated again. Normally, collateral 

estoppel has not been applied by the courts between criminal and administrative 

proceedingm. 

In some cases a driver can receive a revocation for being convicted of 

the criminal charge and also receive a separate revocation (not running con- 

currently) under the implied consent law. Since double jeopardy also prohibits 

double punishment does this constitute a violation of double jeopardy? The 
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answer is no since the appellate courts have regularly held that double 

jeopardy does not bar both civil or administrative sanctions on one hand 

and criminal sanctions on the other arising out of the same event. 

If another state should enact the Minnesota implied consent law, care 

should be taken no___~t to add a provision which bars a revocation for refusal 

if the driver pleads guilty to the criminal charge. While this ruling is 

not in the Minnesota statute it was imposed by the Minnesota Supreme Court. 

It has been held unconstitutional in Azizona by the U.S. District Court be- 

cause it has a tendency to "chill" the defendant's constitutional right to 

plead not guilty. 

Many observers feel that the law should not impose two revocationsaone 

for a conviction and one for the implied consent law. If any state adopts 

the Minnesota "administrative per se" law, this point should be addressed. 

In summary it appears clear that the Minnesota implied consent law with 

its provisions on "administrative per se" as a parallel track to the criminal 

drinking-driving Charges is legally sound and constitutional. 

Operational Conclusions. Based on data from Minnesota, interviews with 

a number of state officials, and review of the appellate court decisions in 

Minnesota, it appears the "administrative per se" law is working quite well. 

On the national level, Professor Robert F. Borkenstein has estimated 

that police arrest only about 1 in 2,000 cases of drinking and driving. 

In Minnesota the Office of Traffic Safety estimates the figure is 1 in 300. 

Because of the difficulty in collecting data on every aspect of the 

system, it is not possible to have precise figures. However, a reduction 

from about 1 in 2,000 to 1 in 300 is impressive even if only approximately 

correct. 
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A review of the number of revocations for alcohol related offenses, 

both criminal and implied consent in Table I (Appendix II), indicates the 

system is catching more drinking drivers each year and would tend to support, 

in part, the estimate of 1 in 300. 

The addition of the "administrative per se" law appears to have had no 

negative impact on the operation of the criminal track for handling drinking 

drivers. In fact, the increase in the number of revocations for convictions 

in recent years appears to indicate it has had a "shot in the arm" effect upon 

the criminal system. 

The officials interviewed reported that the "administrative per se" pro- 

visions are popular with law enforcement officers. Because of the typical 

frustration many officers have with the criminal handling of drinking drivers, 

the "administrative per se" law gives them an out for that frustration. 

A factor which has helped make the system work is the notice of revocation 

and pick up of the driver's license at the time of refusal, or a breath test of . 

0.I0 or more, along with the pick up at the time of the hearing if the decision 

is against the defendant and the license is not already in the hands of the 

Department of Public Safety. This greatly reduces the cost and gives per- 

sonal service of the notice of an opportunity for a hearing which expedites 

the entire system. 

It must be remembered that the so-called political and safety climate 

in Minnesota has been favorable to the enactment of new legislation in the 

area of drinking and driving. While the consumption of alcoholic beverages 

has steadily increased in Minnesota in recent years (see Table VIII in 

Appendix II) the efforts of the traffic safety community have been fairly well 

received. This is in contrast to other states where efforts to control the 

drunk driver have very rough sledding in the state legislatures and any new 

41 



legislation is strongly resisted. This factor needs to be kept in mind by 

any "transplant" of this type of law to another state. 

As with an Z such system, the dedication, experience, and expertise 

of the officials and public employees operating the system are extremely im- 

portant. In Minnesota the officials and employees appear to be well motivated 

and really make the system work. 

However, the increasing case load is starting to cause problems and this 

is particularly a problem in the Office of the Attorney General. Th:~ file of 

pending cases waiting for a hearing under the implied consent law has grown 

significantly in recent years. It is clear a larger staff is needed for 

this function. 

Overall the conclusion is that Minnesota does a good job in making the 

"administrative per se" system work and other states should be encouraged 

to consider adopting similar provisions. 
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APPENDIX I 

TEXT OF RELEVANT MINNESOTA STATUTES 

Source: Minnesota Statutes 1980, Embracing laws of a general and 
permanent nature and certain other laws in force or to be 
in force after the 1980 Session of the Legislature, Official 
Publication of the State of Minnesota. 

169.121 MOTOR VEHICLE DRIVERS UNDER INFI ,UENCE OF A L C O H O L  
OR CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE. 

Subdivision 1. It is a misdemeanor  for any person to drive, operate or be 
in physical control of any motor  vehicle within this state: 

(a) When the person is under the influence of alcohol; 
(b) When the person is under the influence of  a controlled substance; 
(c) When the person is under the influence of a combination of any two or 

more of the elements named in clauses (a) and (b); or 
(d) When the person's alct)hol concentration is 0.10 or more. 
The provisions of this subdivision apply, but are not limited in application, 

to any person who drives, operates, or is in physical control of  any motor  
vehicle in the manner prohibited bv this subdivision upon file ice of any lake, 
stream, or river, including but not limited to ',he ice of  any boundary water. 

Subd. 2. Upon the trial of any prosecution arising trot of acts alleged to 
have been committed bv any,person arrested for driving, operating, or beina in 
physical control of a m~,tor'~ehiclc in violation of subdivision ~, ~he court rnav 
admit evidence of the amount  of alcohol or a controlled sulsstance in the 
person's blood, breath, or urine as Shown by a medical or chemical analysis 
thereof, if the test is taken voluntarily or pursuant to section 169.123. 

For the purposes of this subdivision: 
(a) evidence that there was at the time an alcohol concentration of 0.05 or  

less is prima facie evidence that the person was not under the influence of alco- 
hol; 

(b) evidence that there was at the time an alcohol concentrat ion of more 
than 0.05 and less than 0.10 is relevant evidence in indicating whether or not the 
person was under the influence of  alcohol. 

The foregoing provisions do not limit the introduction of any other  compe- 
tent evidence bearing upon the question whether or not the person was under 
the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance. 

Subd. 3. Every person convicted of a violation of this section or an ordi- 
oance in conformity therewith is punishable by imprisonment of not more than 
90 days, or by a fine of  not more than $5{X), or both, and his driver's license 
shall be revoked for not less than 30 days, except that every person who is con- 
victed of a violation of this section or an ordinance in confl~rmity therewith, 
when the violation is found to be the proximate cause of great bodily harm as 
defined in section 609.02, subdivision 8, or death to another person, shall be 
punished by imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or by fine of  not more 
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than $500, or both, and his driver's license shall be revoked for not less than 90 
days. 

Any person whose license has been revoked pursuant to section 169.123 is 
not subject to the mandatory revocation provision of this subdivision. 

Subd. 4. Every person who is convicted of a violation of this section or an 
ordinance in conformity therewith within three years of any previous such con- 
viction shall be punished by imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or a fine 
of not more than $500, or both, and his driver's license shall be revoked for not 
less than 90 days. 

Subd. 5. The court may stay imposition or execution of any sentence 
authorized by subdivision 3 or 4 on the condition that the convicted person 
submit to treatment by a public or private institution or a facility providing reha- 
bilitation for chemical dependency licensed by the department of public welfare. 
A stay of imposi'.l m or execution shall be in the manner provided in section 
609.135. The court shall report to the commissioner of public safety any stay of 
imposition or execution of sentence granted under the provisions of this section. 

Subd. 6. When it peace officer has reason to believe from the manner in 
which a person is driving, operating, or controlling a motor vehicle, or has 
driven, operated, or controlled a motor vehicle, that the driver may be violating 
or has violated subdivision 1, he may require the driver to provide a sample of 
his breatil for a preliminary screening test using a device approved by the com- 
missioner of public safety for this purpose. The results of this preliminary 
screening test shall be used for tile purpose of deciding whether an arrest should 
be made and whether to require :the chemical tests authorized in section 
169.t23, but shall not be used in any court action except to prove that a Chemi- 
cal test was properly required of a person pursuant to section 169.123, subdivi- 
sion 2. Following the screening test additional tests may be required of the 
driver pursuant to the provisions of section 169.123. 

T h e  driver of a motor vehicle who refuses to furnish a sample of his b rea th  
is subject to the provisions of section 169.123 unless, in compliance with section 
169.123, he submits to a blood, breath or urine test to determine the presence of 
alcohol or a controlled substance. 

Subd. 7. On behalf of the commissioner of public safety a court shall serve 
notice of revocation on a person convicted of a violation of this section. The 
court shall take the license or permit of the driver, if any, or obtain a sworn 
affidavit stating that the license or permit cannot be produced, and send it to the 
commissioner with a record of the conviction and issue a temporary license 
effective only for the period during which an appeal front the conviction may be 
taken. No person who is without driving privileges at the time shall be issued a 
temporary license and any temporary license issued shall bear the same restrict- 
ions and limitations as the driver's license or permit for which it is exchanged. 

The commissioner shall issue additional temporary licenses until the final 
determination of whether there shall be a revocation under this section. 

History: 1 9 5 7 c 2 9 7 s  1; 1961 c 4 5 4 s  9; 1 9 6 7 c 2 8 3  s 1; 1 9 6 7 c 5 6 9 s  1; 
1969 c 744 s I; 1971 c 244 s I; I971 c 893 s 1,2; Ex1971 c 27 s 6; 1973 c 421 s 1; 
1973 c 494 s 8; 1975 c 370 s 1; 1976 c 298 s 2; 1976 c 341 s 1; 1978 c 727 s 2 

169.122 OPEN BOTTLE LAW; PENALTY. 
Subdivision 1. No person shall drink or consume intoxicating liquors or 

nonintoxicating malt liquors in any motor vehicle when such vehicle is upon a 
public highway. 

Subd. 2. No person shall have in his possession on his person while in a 
private motor vehicle upon a public highway, any bottle or receptacle containing 
intoxicating liquor or nonintoxicating malt liquor which has been opened, or the 
seal broken, or the contents of which have been partially removed. 
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Subd. 3. It shall be unlawful for the owner of any private motor  vehicle or- 
the driver,  if the owner be not then present  i0 the motor  vehicle, to keep  or 
allow to be kept in a moter  w.,hicle when such vehicle is upon the public high- 
way any bottle or receptacle containing intoxicating liquors or nonintoxicat ing 
malt  liquors which has been opened ,  or the seal broken,  or the contents  of 
which have been partially removed except when such bott le  or receptacle  shall 
be kept  in the trunk of the m o t o r  vehicle when such vehicle is equ ipped  with a 
t runk,  or kept in some other area of the vehicle not normal ly  occupied by the 
driver  or passengers,  if the motor  vehicle is not equipped  with a trunk,  A utility 
compar tmen t  or glove compar tment  shall be deemed  to be within the area  occu- 
pied by the driver and passengers, 

Subd. 4. Whoever  violates the provisions of subdivisions I to 3 is guilty of 
a misdemeanor .  

History: 1959 c 255 s 1-4 

169.123 C H E M I C A L  r E S T S  FOR INTOXICATION.  
Subdivision I. Peace officer defined. For purposcs  of this section and sec- 

tion 109. 121, the term peace officer nieans a state highway patrol  officer,  univer-  
sity of  Minnesota peace officer, a constable as defined in section 367.40, subdivi-  
sion 3, or police officer of any municipali ty,  including towns having powers  
under, section 368.1)1, or county. 

Subd. 2. Implied consent; conditions; election as  to type of test. (a) Any  
person who drives, operates ,  or is in :physical control  of a motor  vehicle within 
this state consents,  subject  to the provisions of this section and section 169.121, 
to a chemical test of his bl~otl, breat  h, or urine for the purpose  of de te rmin ing  
the presence of alcohol or a control led  substance.  T h e  test shall be admin i s te red  
at the direction of a peace officer. The test may be required of a person when 
an officer has reasonable and probable  grounds to believe the person was driv- 
ing, opera t ing ,  or in physical control  ol a motor  vehicle in violat ion of sect ion 
169.121 and one of the followin,_, condit ions exist: (1) the pers,~n has been ~aw- 
fully placed under arrest for violation ot ' ,cction l~t). 121, ,,r an ord inance  in co'.l- 
fortuity therewith;  or (2) the person has been involved in a motor  vehicle acci- 
dent  or collision resulting in proper ty  damage ,  personal  injury,  or dea th ;  or  (3) 
the person has refused to take the screening test provided  for by sect ion 
169.121, subdivision 6; or (4) the screening test was adminis te red  and re 'corded 
an alcohol concentrat ion of 0.10 or  more.  Any person mav decline to take a 
direct blood test and elect to take ei ther a br~.'ath or urmc test,  whichever  is 
available and offered. No action may be taken against the person tbr decl ining 
to take a direct blood test unless eitl~er a breath  or urine test was avai lable and 
offered.  

(b) At  the time a chemical test specimen is requested,  the person shall be 
informed:  

(1) that if testing is refused,  the person 's  fight to drive will be r evoked  for 
a per iod  of six months:  and 

(2) that if a test is taken and the results indicate that the person is under  
the influence of alcohol or a control led  substance,  the person will be subjec t  to 
criminal  penalt ies and the person 's  right to drive may be revoked" for a per iod  of 
90 days;  and 

(3) that the person has a right to consult  with an a t to rney  but that  this 
right is l imited to the extent that it cannot  unreasonably  delay adminis t ra t ion  of  
the test or the person will be deemed  to have refused the test; and 

(4) that after submitting to testing, the person has the right to have addi-  
t ional tests made by a person of his own choosing.  
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Subd. 2a. Requirement of urine test. Notwithstanding subdivision 2, if there 
are reasonable and probable grounds to believe there is impairment by a con- 
trolled substance which is not sobject to Icsting by a blood or breath test, a 
urine test may be required even after a blood or breath test has been adminis- 
tered. 

Subd. 3. Manner of making test; additional tests. Only a physician, medical 
technician, physician's trained mobile intensive care paramedic, registered nurse, 
medical technologist or laboratory assistant acting at the request of a peace offi- 
cer may withdraw blood for the purpose of determining the presence of alcohol 
or controlled substance. This limitation does not apply to the taking of a breath 
or urine specimen. The person tested has the right to have a person of his own 
choosing administer a chemical test or tests in addition to any administered at 
the direction of a peace officer; provided, that the additional test specimen on 
behalf of the person is obtained at the place where the person is in custody, 
after the test administered at the direclio~t of a peace officer, and at no expense 
to the state. The failure or inability to obtain an additional test or tests by a 
person shall not preclude the admission in evidcnce of the test taken at the 
direction of a peace officcr unlcss the additional test was prevented or denied by 
the peace officer. Upon the request of the person who is tested, full information 
concerning the test or tests taken at the directio.~ of the peace officer shall be 
made availablc to him. The physician, medical technician, physician's trained 
mobile intensive c:::e paramedic, medical technologist, laboratory assistant or 
registered nurse drawing blood at the request of a peace officer for ~he purpose 
of determining alcohol concentration shall in I~(),manner be liable in any civil or 
criminal action cxccl~t for negligence in drawing the blood. The personadminis- 
tering a test :~t HIe request and direction of a pc,tee officer shall be fully trained 
in the administra'ion of the tests pursuant to standards promulgated by rule by 
the commissioner of public safety. 

Subd. 4. Refusal, consent to permit test; revocation of license. If a person 
refuses to ,)ermit chemical testing, none shall be given, but the peace officer 
shall report the refusal to the commissioner of public safety and the authority 
having responsibility for prosccution of misdcmcanor offenses for the jurisdic- 
tion in which the acts occurred. If a person submits to chemical testing and the 
test results indicate an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more, the results of the 
test shall be reported to the commissioner of public safety a, nd to the authoritY 
having responsibility for prosecution of misdemeanor offenses for the jurisdic- 
tion in which the acts occurred. 

Upon certification by the peace officer that there existed reasonable and 
probable grounds to believe the person had been driving, operating, or in physi- 
cal control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or a.con- 
trolled substance and that the person refused to submit to chemical testing, the 
commissioner o f  public safety shall revoke the person's license or permit t ° 
drive, or his nonresident operating privilege, for a period of six months. Upon 
Certification by the peace officer that there existed reasonable and probable 
grounds to believe the person had been driving, operating or in physical control 
of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance 
and that the person submitted to chemical testing and the test results indicate an 
alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more, the commissioner of public safety shall 
revoke the person's license or permit to drive, or his nonresident operating-p/'iV- 
iiege, for a period of 90 days. 

If the person is a resident without a license or permit to operate a motor  
vehicle in this state, the commissioner of public safety shall deny to the person 
the issuance of a license or permit for the same period after the date of the 
alleged violation as provided herein for revocation, subject to review as herein- 
after provided. 
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Subd. 5. Notice of revocation or determination to deny; request for hearing. 
No revocation under subdivision 4 is effective until the commissioner of public 
safety or a peace officer acting on his behalf notifies the person of the intention 
to revoke and of rew)cation and allows the person a 30 day period to request of 
the commissioner of public safety, in writing, a hearing as herein provided. If no 
request is filed within the 30 day period the order of revocation becomes effec- 
tive. If a request for hearing is filed, a revocation is not effective until a final 
judicial determination resulting in a decision adverse to the person. 

Subd. 5a. Peace officer agent for notice of revocation. On behalf of the 
commissioner of public safety a peace officer offering a chemical test or direct- 
ing the administration of a chemical test may serve immediate notice of inten- 
tion to revoke and of revocation on a person who refuses to permit chemical 
testing or on a person who submits to a chemical test  the results of which indi- 
cate an alcohol concentratitm of 0.10 or more. The officer shall take the license 
or permit of the driver, if any, and issue a temporary license effective only for 
30 days. The peace officer shall send the person's driver's license to the commis- 
sioner of public safety along with the certificate required by subdivisiori 4. 

If the person requests a hearing within the 30 day period, the commis- 
sioner shall issue additional temporary licenses until the final determination of 
whether there shall be a revocation under this section. 

Subd. 6. Hearing. A hearing under this section shall be before a municipal 
or county judge, in the county where the alleged offense occurred, unless there 

• is agreement that the hearing may be held in some other county. The hearing 
shall be to the court and may be conducted at the same time and in the same 
manner as hearings upon pre-trial motions in the criminal prosecution ~nder sec- 
t!~n 169.121, if any. The hearing shall be recorded. The commissioner of public 
safety may appear through his own attorney or, by agreement with the jurisdic- 
tion involved, through the prosecuting authority for that jurisdiction. 

The scope of the hearing shall cover the issues of: (1) whether the peace 
officer had reasonable and probable grounds to believe the person was driving, 
operating, or in physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of 
alcohol or a controlled substance, and whether the person was lawft/llv placed 
under arrest for violation of section 169.121, or the person was involved in a 
motor vehicle accident or collision resulting in property damage, personal injury 
or death, or the person refused to take a screening test provided for by section 
169.121, subdivision 6, or the screening test was administered and recorded an 
alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more; and (2) whether at the time of the 
request f o r t h e  test the peace officer informed the person of his rights and the 
consequences of taking or refusing the test as required by subdivision 2; and (3) 
either (a) whether the person refused to permit the test, or (b) whether a test 
was taken and the test results indicated an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or 
more, and whether the testing method used was valid and reliable, arid whether 
the test results were accurately evaluated. 

It shall be an affirmative defense for the person to prove that his refusal to 
permit the test was based upon reasonable grounds. 

The court shall order either that the revocation be rescinded or sustained 
and forward the order to the commissioner of public safety. If the revocation is 
sustained, the court shall also forward the person's driver's license to the com- 
missioner of public safety for his further action if the license is not already in the 
commissioner's possession. 

Subd. 7. Review by district court. If the revocation or denial • is 'sustained, 
the person whose license or permit to drive, or nonresident operating privilege 
has been revoked or denied, may within 20 days after notice of the determina- 
tion by the commissioner of public safety file a petition for a hearing 'of t he  
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matter in the district court in the county where the hearinf, pursuant to subdivi- 
sion 6 was held unless there is agreement that the hearing may be held in some 
other county. The petition shall be filed with the clerk of the court together with 
proof of service of a copy thereof on the commissioner of public safety. It is the 

d u t y  of the court to set the matter for hearing on a day certain with reasonable 
notice thereof to the parties. The hearing shall be on the record and shall be 
cofiducted in the same manner pr~vided in scctions 487.3~ :rod 484.63 for appeal 
of misdemeanor convictions. 

Subd. 8. Notice of action to other states. When it has been finally deter- 
mined that a nonresident's privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this state has 
been revoked or denied, the commissioner of public safety shall give information 
in writing of the action taken to the official in charge of traffic control or public 
safety of the state . f  the person's residcncc and of any state in which he has a 
license. 

Subd. 9. Limited licen~. In any cause in which a license has been revoked 
under this section, the commissioner may issue a limited license to the driver. 
The commissioner in issuing a limited license may impose the conditions and 
,limitations which in his judgment are necessary to the interests of the public 
safety and welfare, including re-examination of the driver's qualifications, atten- 
dance at a driver improvement clinic, oi" attendance at counseling sessions. The 
license may be limited to the operation of particular vehicles and to particular 
classes and time of operation. The limited license issued by the commissioner 
shall clearly indicate the limitations imposed and the driver operating under a 
limited license shall have the license in ihis possession at all times when operat- 
ing as a driver. In determining whether to issue a limited license, the commis- 
sioner shall consider the number and the seriousness of prior convictions and the 
entire driving record of the :.triver. 

Subd. 10. Termination of revocation period, If the commissioner receives 
notice of the driver's attendance at a driver .improvement clinic, attendance at 
counseling sessions, or participation in. treatment for an alcohol problem t h e  
commissioner may, 30 days prior to thettime the revocation period would other- 
wise expire, terminate the rew~cation period. The commissioner shall not termi- 
nate the revocation period under this s'ubdivision for a driver who has had a 
license revoked Under section 169.121 or this section for another incident during 
the preceding three year period. 

History: 1961 c 454 s 1-8; 1067 c '9,.84 s 1-6; 1969 c 620 s 1 : 1 9 6 9  c 742 s l ;  
1969 c 1129 art I s 18; 1971 c 893 s 3; Ex1971 c 36 s 1; 1973 c 35 s 36; 1973 c 123 
art 5 s 7; 1973 c 555 s I; 1974 c 406 s 35-38; 1977 c 82 s 2; 1978 c 727 s 3; 1980 c 
395 s 1; I980  c 483 s I 

169.124 ALCOHOL SAFETY PROGRAM. 
Subdivision I. The county board o f  every county having a population of 

more than 10,000 shall and the county!hoard of every county having a popula- 
t i ono f  less than 10,000 may establish an alcohol safety program designed to pro- 
vide alcohol problem assessment and evaluation of persons convicted of one of 
the offenses enumerated in section 169.126, subdivision L. 

Subd. 2. The alcohol problem assessment shall be conducted under the 
dix'ection of the court and by such persons or agencies as the court deems quali- 
fied to provide the alcohol problem assessment and assessment report as 
described in section 169.126. The alcohol problem assessment may be conducted 
by court services probation officers ha~ing the required knowledge and skills i n  
the assessment of alcohol problems, by alcoholism counselors, by persons con- 
ducting court sponsored driver improvement clinics if in the judgment of the 
court such persons have therequi red  knowledge and skills in the assessment of 
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alcohol problems, by appropriate staff members of public or private alcohol 
treatment programs and agencies or mental health clinics, by court approved 
volunteer workers such as members of Alcoholics Anonymous, or by such Other 
qualified persons as the court may direct. The commissioner of public safety 
shall provide the courts with information and assistance in establishing alcohol 
problem assessment programs suited to the needs of the area served by each 
court. The commissioner shall consult with the alcohol and other drug abuse sec- 
tion in the department of public welfare and with local community mental health 
boards in providing such information and assistance to the courts. The commis- 

s ioner  of public safetv shall promulgate rules and standards, consistent with this 
subdivision, for reimbursemcnt under the provisions of subdivision 3. The pro- 
mulgation of such rules and standards shall not be subject to chapter 15. 

Subd. 3. The cost of alcohol problem assessment outlincd in this secti~m 
shall be borne by the county. Upon application by the coUnty to the commis- 
sioner of public safety, the commissioner shall reimburse the county up to 50 
percent of the cost of each alcohol problem assessment not to cxcccd $25 in 
each case. Payments shall be made annually and prorated if insufficient funds 
are appropriated• 

History: 1976 c 298 s I: 1978 c 727 s 4 

169.125 COUNTY COOPERATION. 
County boards may enter into an agreement to establish a regional alcohol 

problem assessment alcohol safety program. County boards may contract with 
other counties and agencies for alcohol problem assessment services. 

HistorY,: 1976 c 298 s 3; 1978 c 727 s 5 

169.126 ALCOHOL PROBLEM ASSESSMENT. 
Subdivision 1. An alcohol problem assessment shall be conducted in coun- 

ties of more than 10,000 population and an assessment report submitted to the 
court by the county agency administering the alcohol safety counseling program 
when: 

(a) The defendant is convicted of an offense described in section 169.121; 
or  

(b) The defendant is arrested for committing an offense described in sec- 
tion 169.121, is not convicted therefor, but is convicted of another offense 
arising out of the circumstances surrounding such arrest. 

Subd. 12. The assessment report shall contain an evaluation of the convicted 
defendant concerning his prior traffic record, characteristics and history of alco- 
hol problems, and amenability to rehabilitation through the alcohol safety pro- 
gram. The assessment report shall include a recommendation as to a treatment 
or rehabilitfition program for the defendant. The assessment report shall be clas- 
sified as private data on individuals as defined in section 15.162, subdivision 5a. 

Subd.13. The assessment report required by this section shall be prepared 
by a person knowledgeable in diagnosis of chemical dependency. 

Subd. 4. The court shall give due consideration to the agency's assessment 
report. 

Subd.  5. Whenever a person is convicted of a second or subsequent offense 
des6ribed in subdivision I and the court is either provided with an appropriate 
treatment or rehabilitation recommendation from sources other than the alcohol 
problem assessment provided for in this section, or has sufficient knowledge 
both of the,person's need for treatment and an appropriate treatment or rehabil- 
itation plan, and the court finds that requiring an alcohol problem assessment 
Would not substantially aid the court in sentencing, such an alcoilol problem 
assessment ;need not be conducted. 
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Subd. O. This section shall not apply to persons who are not residents of 
the state of Minnesota at the time of the offense and at the time of the alcohol 
problem assessment. 

History: 1976 c 298 s 4; 1978 c 727 s 0 

169.1261 REINSTATEMENT OF DRIVING PRIVILEGES; NOTICE. 
Upon expiration of any period of revocation under section 169.121 or 

169.123, the commissioner of public safety shall notify the person o f  the terms 
upon which his driving privileges can be reinstated, which terms are: (1) success- 
ful completion of a driving test and proof of compliance with any terms of alco- 
hol treatment or counseling previously prescribed, if any: and (2) any other 
requirements imposed by the commissioner and applicable to that particular 
case. The commissioner shall also notify the person that if driving is resumed 
without reinstatement of driving privileges, the person will be subject to criminal 
fenalties. 

History: 1978 c 727 s 7 

169.127 [ Repealed, 1978 c 72"/s 11 ] 

169.128 RULES OF THE COMMISSIONER OF PUBLIC SAFETY. 
The commissioner of public safety may promulgate rules to carry out the 

provisions of sections 169.121 and 109.123. The rules may include forms for 
notice of intention to revoke, which shall describe clearly the right to a hearing, 
the procedure for requesting a hearing, and the consequences of failure to 
request a hearing; forms for revocation and notice of reinstatement of driving 
privileges as provided in section 16911261; and forms for temporary licenses. 

Rules promulgated pursuant to this section are exempt from the procedure 
required by sections 15.0411 to 15.052. 

History: 1978 c 727 s 8 

169.129 AGGRAVATED VIOLATIONS; PENALTY. 
Any person who drives, operates, or is in physical control of a motor 

vehicle, the operation of which requires a driver's license, within this state in 
violation of section 169.121 or an ordinance in conformity therewith before his 
driver's license or driver's privilege has been reinstated following its cancella- 
tion, suspension or revocation (1) because he drove, operated, or was in physi- 
cal control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or a con- 
trolled substance or while he had an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more or 
(2) because he refused to take a test which determines the presence of alcohol 
or a controlled substance when requested to do so by a proper authority, is 
guilty of a gross misdemeanor. Jurisdiction over prosecutions under this section 
is in the district court. 

History: 1978 c 727 s 9 

169.13 RECKLESS OR CARELESS DRIVING. 
Subdivision 1. Any person who drives any vehicle in such a manner as to 

indicate either a wilful or a wanton disregard for the safety of persons or prop- 
erty is guilty of reckless driving and such reckless driving is a misdemeanor. 

Subd. 2. Any person who shall operate or halt any vehicle upon any street 
or highway carelessly or heedlessly in disregard of the rights or the safety of 
others, is guilty of a misdemeanor. 

Subd. 3. Application. The provisions of this section apply, but are not lim- 
ited in application, to any person who drives any vehicle in the manner prohib- 
ited by this section upon  the ice of any lake, stream, or river, including but not 
limited to the ice of any boundary water. 

50 



1981 Legislative Session 

Note: The o n l y  change i n  t h e  t e x t  o f  t h e  M i n n e s o t a  s t a t u t e s  
r e l a t i n g  t o  d r i n k i n g  and d r i v i n g  was t o  p r o h i b i t  t h e  c o u r t  
from s t a y i n g  th e  r e v o c a t i o n  o f  t h e  d r i v e r ' s  l i c e n s e .  The 
t e x t  o f  t h e  change  i s  found i n  Laws 1981 ,  Chapter  9 as 
follows: 

Ch. 9 r~,d ~ i S ~ , ~ ' ~  

: DRIVER'S LICENSE--REVOCATION-.STAY BY COURT 

C H A P T E R  9 

S.F.No. 13 

An Act  relating to crimes; el iminating the  power of a sentencing cour t  to 
stay the revocation of the dr iver 's license of  a pereon convicted of 
driving, operating or being in physical control of a motor vehicle 
while under the influence of alcohol or  control led substances or  a 
combination thereof; amending Minnesota Statutes 1980, Sections 
169.121, Subdivision 5; and 609.135, Subdivision 1. • 

Be it enacted by the Legbletum or the State at Minne~ta: 

Section L Minnesota Statutes 19~, Section 169.121, Subdivbdon 6, is amended to 
read: 

SuM. 5. The court rosy stay imposition or execution of any eentaee euthorized 
by subdivi~on .q or 4, e~;(~at the n~vocstion of the dr~ver's license, ms the oonditiou 
that the convicted person submit to treatment by • public or private isntituties or • 
facility prodding rehabilitation for ehemlca/dependency licensed by the departsmmt 
of public welfane. A stay of imposition or execution shaft be in the manner provided 
in section 609.1~. The court shall report to the mmmmioner of public safety 8ny stay 
of impes~ion or exeeut~n of sentence Ks'sated under the provkiom of this section. 

Sec. 2. Minneeots Statutes 19~0, Section 609.1~5, Subdivision 1, b 8mesded to 
reed: 

Subdivision 1. Except when • sentence of life imprisonment is required by law, 
when a person is mnvicted of one of the crimm specified under section 609.1L 
subdivision 1, and had in his pcmmion • f'Lnearm or used another danL~n~us WeaPes, 
any court, including a justke of the peace to the eztent otherwise autherized by law, 
m y  stay impadt/on or exeeuUon of Nntenee and p~m the defendant on Inbation 
with or without supervision and on aueh terms ~ the court may prema4b~ includins 
restitution when pract~csble. The court may m.der the eupm'vimn to be under the 
probation officer of the court, or, if there is none ~ the convict/on is for • felony, by 
the eommksioner of corrections, or in any cue  by some other suitable and c o m ~ t m l  
person. 

A gO~'~ may not stsv the revocation of the driver's l i em~ of a ~s.non eonvietad of 
Y~Q~tJnf the orovisiona of section I~.12L 

See.. 3. Effeeu'~ date, 

This ~ is effective the day follow/nf its final ensetment and anolies to offenses 

Approved ~ ~ ,  198L 

Underscorina and et~kesvt4 are u shown in enrolled act. 
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1974 

1975 

1976 

1977 

1978 

1979 

1980 

1981 

TABLE I 

Revocation of Driver's Licenses 
for Alcohol Related Offenses~.in-Minnesota 

Test 
DWI Refusal 

(§ 16g.121) (§ 169.123) 
~.~:>~~Over O.lO BAC 

(§ 16g.123) 

14,797 

17,406 

7 , 8 6 1  , 

J ' " . . . . .  3 -Ll '~ " ~4~ i ' -  ~ 

3,427 6,742 

3,863 9 ,212  : 

l ,827'*. ~ ...... .... 3,598** 

Total 

15,396 

17,628 

i4,251"** 

17,741 

24,357 

24,966 

30,481 

13~, 286** 

Source: 

-. ; i.. . . . . .  ,:, ; ...... ~ ~, ~,,. ., ,~ 

Data not broken down and not available 

Through May of 198I (~five months')". " ~~' '~ "~~" ~: 

The lower number ~n1976 is..attributable to. the decision of .the. 
Minnesota SupremeCourt in Prideaux v,"Department of Public Safety, 
247 N.W.2d 385 (1976), which held that a driver had a r ight to 
counsel when submitting to a chemical test for. intoxication. I t  

.caused the dismissal of a number of pending cases. Also, there 
was a loss of ASAP money to pay officers for overtime work. 

Motor Vehicle Department and Office of Traffic Safety of 
Minnesota Department of Public Safety. 
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TABLE II 

Number of Chemical Tests for Intoxication in Minnesota with BAC of O.lO or More 

0.35 
O.lO 0.15 0.20 0.25 0.30 & over Total 

Total of 
All Tests by 

Year 

f~ 
rj1 

1973 

1974 

1975 

1976 

1977 

1978 

1979 

1980 

1981 

Blood & Urine 
Breath 

Blood & Urine 
Breath 

Blood & Urlne 
Breath 

Blood & Urlne 
Breath 

Blood & Urine 
Breath 

Blood & Urlne 
Breath 

Blood & Urine 
Breath 

Blood & Urine 
Breath 

Blood & Urine 
Breath 

780 l ,830 l ,660 630 161 
2,725 4,048 2,548 826 181 

l ,019 2,021 l ,847 718 182 
3,642 4,715 2,746 864 181 

l ,146 2,175 l ,861 678 169 
3,087 4,299 2,595 755 172 

l ,190 2,391 l ,947 723 171 
3,416 4,442 2,675 731 150 

l , l l 9  2,111 1,820 714 161 
2,646 3,757 2,179 610 121 

l ,171 2,405 l ,995 719 184 
2,913 4,218 2,410 629 159 

l ,025 l ,999 1,701 598 120 
2,788 3,984 2,314 558 125 

* * * * * 

3,598 5,011 2,883 750 149 

81 5,142 
39 I0,367 

40 5,827 
35 12,183 

34 6,063 
19 I0,927 

42 6,464 
35 : II,449 

54 5,979 
28 9,341 

43 6,517 
33 I0,362 

15,509 

18,010 

16,990 

17,913 

15,320 

16,879 

22 5,465 
20 9,789 15,254 

* 8,735*** 
32 12,423 21,158 

Source: 

Not broken down and not available. 
Data not yet available for 1981 
Includes all blood and urine tests for 1980, as well as tests below O.lO BAC and negative tests. 
Based on previous years, tests below O.lO BAC and negative tests constitute about I0%. 

Laboratory, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, Minnesota Department of Public Safety. 



TABLE I l l  

Total DWl Arrests by Minnesota State Patrol 

1974 

1975 

1976 

1977 

1978 

1979 

1980 

1981 

4,832 

5,137 

4,689 

3,593 

4,082 

3,879 

5,255 

3,179" 

~r Through June 1981. In comparison the number 
of DWI arrests in 1980 for same period was 
2,307. 

Source: Minnesota State Patrol, 
Department of Public Safety. 
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TABLE IV 

TOTAL DWI ARRESTS REPORTED TO MINNESOTA CRIMINAL 
JUSTICE INFORMATION SYSTEM BY ALL OFFICERS 

1974 19,422 

1975 18,715 

1976 19,419 

1977 16,976 

1978 18,078 

1979 18,092 

1980 22,788 . 

Source: Minnesota Crime Information, Annual Reports, 
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, 
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, 
Criminal Justice Information Systems Section. 
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TABLE V 

NUMBER OF SWORN POLICE OFFICERS IN MINNESOTA 

1974 

1975 

1976 

1977 

1978 

1979 

1980 

5,553 

5,688 

5,804 

5,922 

5,997 

6,037 

6,107 

Source: Minnesota Crime Information, Annual Reports 
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, 
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, 
Criminal ~ustice Information Systems Section. / i  
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TABLE VI 

TOTAL MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATIONS 
IN MINNESOTA 

1974 2,532,219 

1975 2,662,517 

1976 2,919,700 

1977 2,962,335 

1978 3,103,406 

1979 3,576,041 

1980 3,941,296 

Source: Highway Statistics, U.S. Department of Transportation, 
Washington, D.C. for years 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978 
and 1979; Minnesota Motor Vehicle Crash Facts, 
Office of Traffic Safety, Minnesota Department of 
Public Safety, for 1980. 
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TABLE VII 

TOTAL LICENSED DRIVERS IN MINNESOTA 

1974 2,402,550 

1975 2,416,869 

1976 2,571,540 

1977 2,598,123 

1978 2,234,646 

1979 2,286,218 

1980 2,766,032 

Source: Highway Statistics, U.S. Department of Transportation, 
Washington, D.C., for years-1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 
1978 and 1979; Minnesota Motor Vehicle Crash Facts, 
Office of Traffic Safety, Minnesota Department of 
Public Safety, for 1980. 
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TABLE VIII 

STATE OF MINNESOTA 

BEVERAGE ALCOHOL CONSUMPTION 1967-1980 
(In Gallons) 

Calender Year 1967 1968 1969 I970 1971 1972 1973 1974 1975 1976 1977 1978 1979 198Q 

Population* 2,490,260 2,541,888 2,601,071 2,655,544 2,716,086 2,793,046 2,837,071 2,891,104 2,935,351 2,994,058 3,034,718 3,088,303 3,116,100 3,129,261 

O~ 

3.2 Beer 22,682,359 21,928,966 21,381,847:21,539,420 
(per capita) 9.12 8.63 8.22 ~ 8.11 

Over 3.2 Beer 37,517,099 40,188,369 43,346,494; 47,686,339 
(per capita) 15.07 15.81 16.66 17.96 

Liquor 6,468,781 6,958,6]0 7,550,802 7,483,893 
(per capita) 2.60 2.74 2.90 2.82 

i 
5parkltn 9 
Mines 75,859 89,740 1 1 9 , 0 3 9  158,970 
(per capita) .03 .04 .05 .06 

Mtne ]4-21% !,273,118 1,270,673 ],268,749 1,174,318 
(per.capita) .5] .50 .49 .44 

Mine Under 
14Z 749,668 . 850,046 1,004,338 1,358,772 
(per capita) .30 ~ .33 .39 .51 

TOTAL 68,766.884 171,286,404 

(per capita) 27.61 28.04 

74,671,269 79,401,712 

28.71 29.90 

20,630,438 19,575,353 20,335,256 
7.60 ! 7.01 7.17 

I 
51.148,1o91 51,891;o551 18.83 ! 18.58 i 58'165'85819.80 
8.053.8681 7,735,466 8,149;172 

2.97 2.77 2.87 

274;504 
. 0 8  

1~202,639 
.44 

212,654 
.08 

1,135,721 
.44 

2,136,958 2,563,043 
.79 .92 

204.608 
.07 

1,057,291 
.37 

19,655,470 
6.89 

64,475,133 
22.30 

8,636,851 
2.99 

220,931 
.08 

i ,032,029 
.36 

2,657,476 I 2,729,253 
.94 .94 

83,396,516 83,113,292 ~90,569,661 ,96,759,667 

30.70 29.76 ; 31.92 33.47 

*Age 15 and O lder  
Source: Alcohol, Tobacco and Special Taxes Division, Minnesota Department of Revenue 
Note: Population figures are derived from v i ta l  s ta t is t ics  published by the Minnesota Department of Health 
Change, per capita consumption, 1967-1980, Increase 33g 

18,494,197 
6.30 

67.994.749 
23.16 

8,425,563 
2.87 

232,423 
.08 

962,413~ 
.33 : 

i 

2,986,39Z~ 
1.02 

99.095.737 

33.76 

16,973,058 
5.67 

71,532,562 
23.89 

8,528,288 
2.85 

289.57.1 
.10 

890,753 
.30 

3,266,807 
1.09 

101,481,039 

33.89 

15,964,194 15.026,289 
5.26 4.87 

73,894,421 
24.34 

76,867.879 
:24.09 

8.719,793i 8,659,862 
2.87 2.80 

335,127 
.11 

835,o91 
.28 

3,776,194 
1.24 

103,524,820 

34.11 

367,9841 
.12 I 

759,5781 
.25 I 

4,243,496 
1.37 

105,925,0~8 

34.30 

14.534,412 
4.66 

81,734,445 
26.23 

9,024,449 
2.90 

430,736 
.14 

701,753 
.23 

4,693,746 
1.51 

111,119,591 

35.66 

13,997,325 
4.47 

85,570.495 
27.35 

9,240,406 
2.95 

523,469 
.17 

657,139 
.21 

4,987,758 
1.59 

114,976,622 
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TABLE IX 

IMPLIED CONSENT HEARING CASELOAD 
1974 - 1981 

IMPLIED' CONSENT CASELOAD 

MONTH NEW CASES CASES CLOSED• CASES 
P~ID~G 

1974 
JANUARY 91 

FEBRUARY 121 

MARCH 93 

APRIL 96 

MAY ll0 

JUNE 79 

JULY 109 

AUGUST 103 

SEPTEMBER 79 

OCTOBER 100 

NOVEMBER 104 

DECEMBER 84 

634 

656 

645 

610 

603 

610 

633 

677 

689 

682 

688 

637 

1975 
JANUARY 146 

FEBRUARY 152 

MARCH 55 

APRIL 108 

MAY 94 

JUNE 91 

JULY 109 

AUGUST ~ 65 

SEPTEMBER 62 

OCTOBER 63 

NOVEMBER 94 

DECEMBER 86 

593 

630 

692 

,609 

593 

535 

502 

547 

550 

504 

463 

466 
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IMPLIED CONSENT CASELOAD 

MONTH NEW CASES CASES CLOSED CASES 
PENDING 

1976 
JANUARY 

FEBRUARY 

MARCH 

APRIL 

MAY 

JUNE 

JULY 

AUGUST 

SEPTEMBER 

OCTOBER 

NOVEMBER 

DECEMBER 

97 

78 

ll4 

104 

i18 

87 

89 

227 

321 

297 

242 

249 

462 

459 

446 

471 

471 

488 

456 

439 

568, 

738 

930 

,1011 

1977 
JANUARY 

FEBRUARY 

MARCH 

APRIL 

MAY 

JUNE 

JULY 

AUGUST 

SEPTEMBER 

OCTOBER 

NOVEMBER 

DECEMBER 

451 

420 

395 

317 

320 

411 

270 

151 

258 

357 

348 

321 

1050 

1322 

1478 

1589 

1632 

1628 

1780 

1782 

1849 

1834 

1812 

1819 

63 



IMPLIED CONSENT CASELOAD 

MONTH NEW CASES CASES CLOSED 

1978 
JANUARY. 316 

FEBRUARY 377 

MARCH 370 

APRIL 329 

MAY 413 

JUNE 419 

JULY 363 

AUGUST 301 

SEPTEMBER 623~ 

OCTOBER 500 

NOVEMBER 539 

DECEMBER 426 

1817 

1817 

1815 

1869 

1728 

1722 

1739 

1805 

1700 

2010 

2366 

2282 

1979 
JANUARY 603 

FEBRUARY 384 

MARCH 613 

APRIL 509 

MAY 567 

JUNE 517 

JULY 591 

AUGUST 457 

SEPTEMBER 474 

OCTOBER 533 

NOVEMBER 440 

DECEMBER 535 446 

2247 

2327 

2247 

2341 

2,378 

2363 

2451 

2511 

2478 

2553 

2362 

2451 
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IMPLIED CONSENT CASELOAD 

MONTH NEW CASES CASES, CLOSED• CASES 
PEND~G 

1980 
JANUARY 680 

FEBRUARY 381 

MARCH 492 

APRIL 790 

MAy 467 

JUNE 934 

JULY 292 

AUGUST 846 

SEPTEMBER 652 

OCTOBER 577 

NOVEMBER 676 

DECEMBER 1158 

456 

667 

508 

461 

534 

492 

581 

498 

632 

• 819 

562 

530 • 

2675 

2389 

2373 

2702 

2635 

3077 

2788 

3136 

3156 

2914 

3028 

3656 

1981 
JANUARY 

FEBRUARY 

MARCH 

APRIL 

MAY 

JUNE 

JULY 

AUGUST 

SEPTEMBER 

OCTOBER 

NOVEMBER 

DECEMBER 

Source: Office of 

809 

506 

977 

I034 
335 

1049 

Attorney General, State 

760 

679 

809 

840 
738 

793 

of Minnesota. 

3705 

3532 

3700 

3894 

349l 

3747 
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APPENDIX I I I  

FORMS USED IN PROCESSING OF DRIVER 

l .  Notice of Revocation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  69 

Note: White copy to driver 
Green copy with license and implied consent 

certif icate to Department of Public Safety 
Yellow copy to county attorney or court 
Pink copy to be retained by officer 

2. Implied Consent Advisory . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  71 

3. Alcoholic Influence Report . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  73 
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PS31123-02 

N a m e  

Address 

City 

I-7 

S T A T E  O F  M I N N E S O T A  
D E P A R T M E N T  O F  P U B L I C  S A F E T Y  

D R I V E R  & V E H I C L E  S E R V I C E S  D I V I S I O N  

F irst M idd le  

~ A I N T  P A U L  5 5 1 5 5  

Lest 

D/L# 

*Date Issued 
Enf. Agency 
Ticket or Case# 

. DOB 
cour t  

085451 

State Zip 

NOTICE OF REVOCATION 

You are hereby notif ied that on the date shown above (*date issued) you were asked to submit to a chemical test to determine the 

alcohol concentration of your blood pursuant to M.& 169.123, the Implied consent Law. 

Because you refused to submit to testing, the Commissioner of Public Safety will revoke your driver license and/or driving privileges 

for six months, unless you request a hearing as indicated on the other side of this notice. 

Because you submitted to a breath test which disclosed an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more, the Commissioner of  Public 
Safety will revoke your driver license and/or driving privileges for 90 days unless you request a hearing as indicated on the other 

side of this notice. Results of  breath test i n d i c a t e d ~ b l 0 o d  alcohol concentration. 

This revocation will take effect 30 days after the (*date issued) shown above. 

t 
ORDER OF REVOCATION 

If the commissioner of Public Safety does not receive a request for hearing within 30 days or a certificate of conviction reporting 
plea of guilty to the related charges of violating M.S. 169.121 (DWI). your driver license and/or privilege to drive in this state is 
hereby REVOKED. THIS IS YOUR OFFICIAL NOTICE OF THE REVOCATION. i f  a hearing request is received within 30 days, 

the revocation will be postponed until a final iudicial determination resulting in a decision adverse to you. 

SURRENDER OF DRIVER LICENSE 

By law, the officer is required to take all license certificates in your'possession, and if you have a valid license, issue a temporary 

license effective only for 30 days. 

TEMPORARY LICENSE 

This entire notice is valid as a temporary license from (*date issued) shown above for 30 days. NOT VALID IF DETACHED. If 
hearing requested, additional temporary license can only be obtained from Driver Evaluation Section, Driver & Vehicle Services 
Division. SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR ADDRESS. Temporary license valid only if reeord so indicates. 

Licensee Height: ~ W e i g h t :  ~ Class: 

Restriction: 

[ ~ ]  No temporary license issued because: 

AFFIDAVIT  QF LOST DRIVER L I C E N S E  

I~have lost or destroyed my license. I promise that if it is found I will im- 
mediately forward it to the Driver Ucense Office, 108 Transportation 
Building, St. Paul, Mn. 55155. I fully realize that in making this affidavit, 
the license certificate i~ rendered null and void and may not be used for 
operating a motor vehicle. 

Dole Signalure of Licensee 

Signed: 

/ . 
/ 

S ignature of Peace Off ,cer 

Te lephone NumDer 

t,"!-;ITE COFY TO D.~;V~.R 
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REQUEST FOR HEARING - PROCEDURES AND INFORMATION 

You have the right to request a I;earing. Hearing requests must be received within 30 days. Request must be in 
writ ing, and directed to the Commissioner of Public Safety, Driver & Vehicle Services Division, 108 Transportation 
Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155. The Hearing would cover the issues of: 

a. Whether the peace officer had reasonable and probable grounds to believe that you were driving, operating or 
in physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance. 

b. Whether you were lawfully placed under arrest for violation of Section 169.121, or were involved in a motor ve- 
hicle accident or col l is ion resulting in property damage, personal injury or death, or refused to take screening 
test provided in Section 169.121, or took screening test and failed. 

c. Whethor you were advised of your rights and responsibilit ies under the law: / 
/ 

d. Whether you refused the test, or whether you submitted to testing which wa~s properly conducted and showed an 
alcohol concentration of 0.10 or more. 

GENERAL INFORMATION /' 

If your license is revoked, you may not drive again in Minnesota under any condition including using a driver 
license from another jurisdiction until you have complied wi th Minnesota's requirements and received a notice of 
reinstatement. ANY ADDITIONAL TEMPORARY LICENSES CAN ONLY BE ISSUED BY DRIVER EVALUATION SECTION, 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY. ~ 

REINSTATEMFNT INFORMATION 

You may not drive in Minnesota until: 

a. The expiration of the period of time designated on the front side of this notice or expiration of additional period 
of time as indicated in correspondence from Driver & Vehicle Services Division, and 

b. You have successfully completed a re-examination, and paid $2.50 fee if required and 

c. Prior to reinstatement of your privi lege to drive in the State of Minnesota, you must submit proof of an alcohol 
problem assessment, This is an assessment interview relative to your use of alcohol. If this assessment was 
done by the court (termed a presentence investigation) you can submit a copy of that assessment to this office. 
If no assessment was done by the court, you must schedule an assessment interview with our office. 

d. 

e. 

Assessment Scheduling (612) 296.2040 
Assessment Information (612) 296-8599 

You have made application for and have received new license, and 

Received a notice of reinstatement. 

f. If you are not a resident of Minnesota, you wi l l  receive a notice or reinstatement only. 

LIMITED LICENSE INFORMATION 

If this is the first time your license has been withdrawn, you may be el igible for a limited license. 

~I, Any additional information may be obtained by writing Driver Evaluation Section, Driver & Vehicle Services Divi- 
sion, Room 108 Transportation Bui I ding, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 or by tel ephone at (612) 296-2025. 
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State of Minnesota 
Del~rtmem of Public Safety 

Driver and Vehicle Services Division 
Implied Consent Section 

108 Transportation Building 
St. Paul, MN 55155 

IMPLIED CONSENT ADVISORY 

~INSTRUCTIONS: To be used to request the test and to record the individual's responses. Complete both sides of this form. 

I 
Printed Name of Officer Requesting Test IBeq~ Number iICR Numbet 

Date I Tirnne Reading St°rted ]Tirne Reading C°rnPleted I L°cati°n Where Advisory Read 

I believe that you have been driving, operating or controlling a motor IPrlnted Name of Individual Being Adviwd 

vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance. I 
In addition: (X all applicable grounds) 

[ ] Y o u  have been placed under arrest for this offense. 

[ ] Y o u  have been involved in a motor vehicle accident or collision resulting in property damage, personal injury or death. 

[ ] Y o u  have refused to take the preliminary screening test authorized by law and requested of you. 

[--IA preliminary screen.;ng test has been admipistered to you, and has shown your alcohol concentration to be .10 or more. 

I request that you give a sample of your blood for testing to 
determine the presence of alcohol or controlled substance. 
This sample would be taken by a qualified person at: 

If you do not wish to give a blood sample, I request you give a 
sample of your: 

The sample would be taken at: 

The sample would be taken by: 

I Hospital or Other Location (PRINT) I 

[ ]  Breath [ ]  Urine 

Name of Facility (PRINT) 

Name of Person Obtaining Sample (PRINT) 

If you refuse to provide the test sample, your right to drive wil l be revoked for six months. If you refuse to answer or make a 
decision, it wil l  be considered a refusal to take the test. 

If you provide the test sample, and if the results indicate that you are under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance., you 
will be subject to criminal penalties, and your right to drive may be revoked for 90 days. 

If you provide the test sample, you have the right to have additional tests made by a person of your choice. Any additional test must 
be at your own expense. It must be taken while still in custody. You wil l be permitted to contact any person you choose to arrange for 
any additional test. 

You have the right to consult with an attorney. If you wish to do so, a telephone will be made available to you. If you are unable to 
contact an attorney, you must make the decision on your own. You must make your decision within a reasonable time. 

Yes No 

The information you have been given is based upon the Minnesota Implied 
Consent Law. Do you understand what I have just explained? 

Phone Call to Attorney 
Do you wish to consult with an attorney? Time Started rime Completed 

Will you give a sample of your blood? 

Will you give a sample of your (breath} (urine)? 

Are you refusing with the understanding that you may lose your driving 
privileges for six months? 

What is your reason for refusing? 

PS-01802-02 (Rev. 8/80) 
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IMPLIED CONSENT LAW 
PEACE OFFICER~J CERTIFICATE 

~I~(PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY, CROSS OUT REFERENCES TO INAPPLICABLE ITEMS,) 

area of Poa¢O Officer IName of Policy Agency : 

I certify to the Commissioner of Public Safety, State of Minnesota, that I am a member of the above polir~, agency and: 

1. I am a "peace officer" within the meaning of Minnesota StaT.utes, Section 169.123, Subdivision 1. 

2. On (Date) _ ,  I hadreasonable and probable grounds to believe that the person named below 

had been driving, operating or in physical control o f  a motor vehicle within the State of Minnesota 8t 

in the City or Townshio of .  in . Ce ,~y ,  
while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance, contrary to law. 

Dot .  o f  Birt~ I 
ul! Nero. __~ 

, d , . .  Ic,,v, sta,., zlo 1 
river L;.;cmm Number IDate of IsSUe 

3. The person was requested to submit to a chemical test to determine (alcohol concentration, {or) (presence of a contrGtl~J 
substance), pursuant to the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, Section 169.123, 3nd was advised as ind,catcd on the other side of this 

form. 

4. The person: (X APPLICABLE BOX) 
[ ]  Refused to provide a test sample to determine the presence of (alcohol) (or) (controlled substance). 
I'-']Provided a sample of (blood) (breath) (urine) for analysis. The sample was obtained at my request by: 

I 
emc 

alice Station. Hospital. or Other Location 

ate Obtained 

I Job Title 

A.M. ! 

P.M, I Time Obtained 

The sample was submitted for analysis to: 
Name of Agency. AneIv i t  or ereatholyzer Operator 

AddrerS ¢~f Agency or Analyst 

City. State, Zip 

Sample Identification Number (Blood or Urlno Tests Only) 

The sample was analyzed and interpreted, and the test result indicated (an alcohol concentration of . ~ )  (the presence of a controlled 

substance )" 

(AI-rACH COPY OF BREATHALYZER CHECK LIST ANO TEST SCORE SHEET OR LABORATORY TEST REPORT.) 

SEND WITH COPY OF ALCOHOL INFLUENCE 
REPORT, ARREST OR ACCIDENT REPORT, OR 
MEMORANDUM OF Cl RCUMSTANCES TO: 

Oel~rtmmt of Public Safety 
Driver and Vehide Services Division 
Implied Consent Section 
108 Transportation Building 
St. Paul, MN 56155 

(Ameh Form 

! ; |gn.tur.  of  P,oce Officer 

printed N.me Of Plec. Officer 

aedp  Number 

- Te~llshon. Nu nxb~.~ 

1~-0180242 (Rw. 8/80| 
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X one or more 
Driver _ Accident 

_~ Pedestrian : Violation 
_- Passenger ~ Other 

AME, LAST 

M I N N E S O T A  
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

STATE PATROL DIVISION 

ALCOHOLIC  INFLUENCE REPORT 

T~,.sT [ .IOOLE 

ICR Number 

1821 Number 

Date 

I TIME 

late of Birth 

4onth I Day I Year 

Arresting Officer: Badge No. 

Location of Arrest: 

Actions 
(A) -, 
(B) .-- 
(c) - 
(O) Z 
(E) 
(F) :_ 
(G) - 
(H) : :  
(I) -- 
(J) : :  
(K) : :  

of the driver prior to stop (x )  one or more 
Weave from lane to lane. 
Proceed in lanes provided for oncoming traffic. 
Proceed off the road from his lane or lanes of traffic. 

Make an improper turn. 
Proceed at excessive - reduced speed. 
Strike any gutter or other obstacles on a near road. 
Hit or narrowly miss hitting any person or property. 
Proceed contrary to any traffic control sign or signal. 

Involved in any accident• 
Other (explain on reverse side.) 
Type Of road -- Two Way : . Divided 

I 
Drwers License NO. State 

PBT - 5 Pass ,~ Fail 

Interstate 

Refused ~ Not Offered 

Field Sobr ie ty  Tests 

Pass Fail Stra ight  l ine walk ing Pass Fail 

Pass Fail Finger to nose Pass Fail 

One legged stand and count  to ten 

Pick up coins 

YOUR CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS (TIME ) 

1. You have the right to remain silent. 
2. Anything you say can and will be used against you in court. 
3. You have the right to a lawyer and to have the lawyer present while you are being questioned. 
4. If you cannot financially afford to hire a lawyer, the State, after investigation as to your finances, will appoint a lawyer to 

represent you prior to any questioning if you wish one. 

DO YOU UNDERSTAND THESE RIGHTS? ~ YES ~i NO 

1. Having these rights in mind, do you wish to answer rny questions at this time? __ Yes _ No 

2.ryorvngoo--ngmoorv'c? 3Whyev--cwyouong? 
4. Are you under a doctor or dentist's care? 1581 If so, what is your doctor or dentist's name? 

6. Are you taking any medication? 17, What Kind? Date/Time last taken { 9. How much did you take? 

10. Do you have diabetes? 111. What medication do you 112" Date/Time last taken 
I 

13. Do you have any physical disability? 14. Describe your disability? 

15. Do you have any speech difficulty? 16. Describe your difficulty? 

17. Have you been in an accident? 18. Did you get a bump on the head or any other injury? 

19. What time is it? 20. Where are you now? 

23. Where were you drinking? v 
21. Have you been drinking? 

24. When did you have your first drink? 

22. What did you drink? 

25. When did you have your last drink? 

27, Have you had anything to drink since the accident or arrest? 

29. Do you feel the effects of what you have had to drink? 

26. How many drinks? 

28. What did you have? 

30. DO you feel that what yo'u have had to drink has affected your ability to drive? 

PS 01812-03 Rev. 1/81) .~lLt.: 7 3  



E Examinat ion:  (Place an " x "  in squares descr ib ing observed condit ions) J 

Indication of Alcohol ic 
Beverage on Breath 

None ~ Modera te  

Faint :-i Strong 

Observed Reactions: 

- Average ~ Reserved --" Fighting 

Ind ignant  ~ Talkat ive "- Slow 

- Excited --  Bel l igerent -- Other 

Pupils: Reaction to Light: Balance: 

-~ Normal -- None - Good , 

Z Dilated ~ Poor Fair 

Contracted Z Fair - Sway!r~g 

Turning: 

-- Sure - Uncertain 

_- Fair -~ Stagger ing 

..-~ Swaying -_~ Falling 

Color  of Face: 

Normal  

-- Flushed 

L~ Pale 

_ Dark 

Eyes: 

--  Normal 

Z Watery 

.~ Bloodshot  

Z Staring 

Z Glassy 

Speech:  

}~ G o o d .  

~_~ Fair 

Z Slurred 

~- Stut ter ing 

_ Wobbl ing 

]:i] Falling 

-- Cannot Stand 

Walk: 

Sure 

Z Fair 

- -  Swaying 

- Uncertain 

- -  Stagger ing 

Falling 

_ Confused 

__ Incoherent 

- Other 

Conclusion: 

Effects ot Alcohol  

-- None --  Ex t reme 

-- Sl ight - -  Other 

"- Obvious 

Abil i ty TO 
Understand 
Instruct ions 

Z Poor 

Z Fair 

Z Good 

REMARKS: 

SIGNATURE (Off icer Comple t ing  Report)  Date 
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APPENDIX IV 

Minnesota Drunken Driving Apprehensions, Arrests, 
Criminal Charges, Convictions and Driver License 
Revocations - and the differences between them. 

by Mr. Forst Lowery, Alcohol Program Coordinator, Office of 
Traff ic Safety, Minnesota Department of Public Safety, 

July 31, Ig81 

Minnesota has a two-track system of acting against drunken drivers. 

One is the conventional criminal justice procedure in which a driver 

is arrested, charged with a violation of M.S. 169.121 (drunken driving), 

and if convicted is penalized by a fine or jail. The other track involves 

the unique-to-Minnesota law within M.S. 169.123 (implied consent) which 

provides for administrative revocatlon of the driver license when a test 

shows .I0 alcohol concentration or higher. Most accused drivers go down 

both tracks. This results in an extremely high ratio of penalties imposed 

on apprehended drunken drivers. Indeed, this ratio is the highest in the 

country. 

In discussing this subject, however, some caveats should be noted. The 

high rate of drunken driving cases resulting in a penalty should not be 

called a "conviction rate" even though in many ways it is the equivalent. 

Likewise, an "apprehension" is not necessarily the same thing as an "arrest". 

All arrests result from apprehensions, but not all apprehensions result in 

an arrest. In a similar way, not all arrests result in a criminal charge 

of drunken driving (169.121) even though the arrested person may be subject 

to, and receive, penalties under 169.123 for either refusing a test or 

failing a test. 

The statistical information on the following pages describes the driver 

license revocations resulting from drinking and driving offenses. Notes 

are to clarify precisely what is conveyed and to warn against misinterpretation. 
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A. 

B. 

C. 

APPREHENSIONS (Minimum number; plus cases described below) 28,429 

The figure shown here (28,429) is actually the number of 

"Peace Officer's Certificates" received by the Department 

of Public Safety (DPS). These report that a person either 

(a.) refused to take a test, or (b.) took a test and the 

result showed .I0 alcohol concentration or more. This 

report is required by M.S. 169.123, often called the Implied 

Consent Law. In addition to the apprehensions included 

in the above figure there are some additional drinking 

driver apprehensions whichishould be included in order 

to provide a total, but their actual numbers are unknown. 

These are made up of those cases in which (a.) a test was 

not requested but an arrest was made on other evidence, or 

(b.) a test showed less than .I0 but an arrest was made. 

Both situations are perfectly proper u~der Minnesota law, 

but the number of such cases is unknown. They are included, 

however, within (D.) below, "Drunken Driving Criminal Charges". 

Items (B.) and (C.) below break out the two variations of 

the "Peace Officer's Certificate" which make up the 28,429 

t6tal figure shown above, (See Figure I.) 

REPORTS TO DPS OF REFUSALS TO TAKE TEST 6,649 

REPORTS TO DPS OF TEST RESULTS SHOWING .I0 21,780 
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?i ̧ 
• , :.h- 

D. DRUNKEN DRIVING CRIMINAL CHARGES (M.S. 169.121) 

This figure is the number of "arrests" reported to 

Minnesota Criminal Justice Information System when 

a 169.121 ~ is placed. All of these cases would 

be included within the number of "Apprehensions" (item 

• A. above) exc_~ those in which a test was not requested 

or in which a lower than .I0 alcohol contentration was 

shown, as described above. "Apprehensions" includes, 

however, those cases in which a "Peace Officer's 

Certificate" was filed butla criminal charge was no___tt, 

and therefore these cases are not included in the 

22,788 figure for item D., Criminal Charges (169.121). 
(See Figure I.) 

DRIVER LICENSE REVOCATIONS (ALCOHOL) 

The three principal kinds of driver license revocations 

associated with drunken driving are shown below, together 

with some notes on how they mesh and how they do not 

overlap except in rare circumstances. They are shown 

in descending order of their numbers, beginning with 

conventional revocations resulting from a court conviction. 

This is not necessarily the chronological order in which 

action against the driver license is taken, and as we 

note below, the chronological order of such actions is 

important. 

22,788 
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E. REVOCATIONS FOR CONVICTION OF 169.121 (Minimum 30 days) 17,406 

It should be emphasized that this figure does no__~ 

represent the total number of convictions for drunken 

drivinK. It is the number of revocations resulting 

from a 169.121 conviction. Those persons convicted 

under 169.121 whose driver license has already been 

revoked under one of the provisions of 169.123 do not 

get another revocation and are not included in the 

17,406 figure. Further discussion below. 

F. REVOCATION FOR TEST RESULT SHOWING .I0 (Ninety days) 9,212 

G. REVOCATION FOR REFUSING TO TAKE TEST (Six months) 3,863 

Note that a person may purge himself or herself of 

eligibilty for this revocation by pleading guilty 

to the criminal charge under 169.121 at the first 

opportunity. Many do. This does no___~t apply if there is 

first a not-guilty plea, even if there is a subsequent 

conviction. 

H. TOTAL REVOCATIONS FOR CONVICTION OR TEST FAIL (E + F) 26,618 

I. TOTAL ALL THREE KINDS ALCOHOL-RELATED REVOCATIONS (E + F + G) 30,481 

This figure included an unknown number of revocations 

for test refusal (G.) where the person was not convicted 

of'169.121 (E.) Note also that the unknown number of 

persons charged for 169.121 but no.._t_toffered a test would 

increase total number of "Apprehensions" above the 

minimum figure (28,429) shown in (A.) 
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J. 

K. 

RATIOS OF REVOCATIONS TO NUMBER OF CASES 

~PROX. PERCENT OF APPREHENDED DRIVERS RECEIVING REVOCATION 

Number of revocations for conviction plus number 

of revocations for failing test (.I0) divided by the 

minimum number of apprehensions. ( H ) 
A 

PERCENT OF KNOWN APPREHENSIONS RESULTING IN A REVOCATION 

Total of all three kinds of alcohol-related driver 

license revocations divided by minimum number of 

apprehensions. ( I ) 
A 

! 

The apparent anomaly of agreater-than-100% figure is the 

result, again, of there being a somewhat higher number of 

actual apprehensions than will be shown by "Peace Officer's 

Certificate" reports. See note under (I.) above. In addition, 

there may be some cases in which a license may be revoked 

for conviction under 169.121 while proceedings under 169.123 

are still under way. In this kind of case, while Minnesota 

law says there shall be no mandatory revocation under 169.121 

if the license has been revoked under 169.123, the opposite 

is not true. It is possible to revoke for test refusal if that 

proceeding should happen to come after revocation for conviction, 

or even after the conviction revocation period of 30 days, for 

example, has been completed. This is not likely. Neither is 

it likely that a person would receive an administrative 

revocation for failing the test if that person has already 

93.6% 

107.2% 
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r e c e i v e d  a r e v o c a t i o n  f o r  a c o n v i c t i o n .  These  p o s s i b i l i t i e s  

a r e  d e s c r i b e d  t o  show t h a t  i n  a t w o - t r a c k  s y s t e m  l i k e  

Minnesota's, with drinking drivers going down both tracks, 

the problems are with statistical meshing, rather than 

with actual clashing of the gears. (See Figure 2.) 

In point of fact, Minnesota draws a pretty tight net around 

the drunken drivers who are apprehended and there are not 

very many holes in that net. 
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Figure i. 

APPREHENSIONS (Not necessarily with arrest) 
("Peace Officer's Certificates" filed 
with DPS) 

28,429 

Arrests resulting in 
criminal charge of DWI 

22,788 

a, 

b. 

Refused test 
but DWI charge 
not made, 

or 

Failed test  (.i0 or more) 
but DWI charge not made 

(Most of both "a" and "b"above 
are probably accident scene cases, 
where officer did not witness and 
probable cause for an arrest was 
less than the best. 

Some of "b" may result from individual 
prosecutor policy on charging DWI.) 

a. Arrests without a 
test request, 

or 

b. Arrests when test 
result was below .i0 

Numbers unknown 

Numbers unknown 
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The three principal kinds of alcohol-related 
driver license revocations 

1980 

Unlikely but possible revocation for 
both refusal of test and conviction 
of charge. 

Unknown number, if any. 

Revocation for 
conviction of criminal 

charge, MS 169.121 

17,406 
Revoc at ion 
for refusing 
test, 169.123 

3,863 

Revocation for 
failing test (.10) 

MS 169.123 

9,212 

Unlikely but possible 
revocation for both failing 
test (.i0 or more) and 
conviction of criminal charge. 

Unknown number, if any. 

Figure 2. 
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