This file is provided for reference purposes only. It was current when produced, but is no longer maintained and may now be outdated. Please send an email for questions or for further information.
DOJ Press Release letterhead

  • Friday, July 29, 2011
  • Contact: Office of Justice Programs
  • Telephone: (202) 307-0703

Weekly News Brief

SORNA Deadline Ends, 24 Jurisdictions Substantially Implement Requirements - Wednesday, July 27, was the deadline for jurisdictions to substantially implement Title I of the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006, the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (SORNA). This section of the Adam Walsh Act established a comprehensive national system for offender registration. The Department of Justice's Office of Sex Offender Sentencing, Monitoring, Apprehending, Registering, and Tracking (SMART) is responsible for administering the SORNA requirements. The States of Alabama, Delaware, Florida, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, Nevada, Ohio, South Carolina, South Dakota, and Wyoming, as well as the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation, Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation, Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and Chippewa Indians, Iowa Tribe of Oklahoma, Kootenai Tribe of Idaho, Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians, Pueblo of Isleta, Tohono O'odham Nation, Upper Skagit Indian Tribe; and the United States territory of Guam have substantially implemented SORNA. More information about SORNA and the SMART Office, including current information about jurisdictions that have substantially implemented SORNA, is at Tribal officials may visit for more details about implementing SORNA.

BJS Releases Census of State and Local Law Enforcement Agencies, 2008 Report - The Department of Justice's Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) released Census of State and Local Law Enforcement Agencies, 2008, a report covering about 18,000 state and local law enforcement agencies nationwide. This report presents the results of a census conducted every four years and includes the number of sheriffs' offices, local police departments, state police and highway patrol agencies, special jurisdiction police, and the number of sworn and civilian employees.

Nomination Period for Medal of Valor Closes Sunday, July 31st at 8p.m. (ET) - Public safety officers risk their lives to protect America's citizens and communities. To honor that sacrifice, Congress passed The Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor Act of 2001, creating the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor, the highest national award for valor by a public safety officer. The medal is awarded by the President to public safety officers cited by the Attorney General and recommended by the Medal of Valor Review Board. All applications are limited to acts of valor that occurred between June 1, 2010, and May 31, 2011. Nominations must be submitted through the online Medal of Valor Application System. The nomination period for the 2010 - 2011 Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor will close at 8 p.m. (ET) on Sunday, July 31. More information, including frequently asked questions, eligibility, and how to nominate someone is available at: