U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Gould-Wysinger Awards

NCJ Number
Date Published
October 1995
2 pages
This Fact Sheet describes the features and requirements of the Gould-Wysinger Awards, which accord national recognition to exceptional State and local achievements that advance juvenile justice and delinquency prevention.
The awards pay tribute to James Gould and Deborah Wysinger, who were dedicated and talented juvenile justice professionals who contributed significantly to the welfare of the Nation's youth during their careers, many of which were spent with the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP). The awards recognize federally funded youth service programs and projects that advance the objectives of the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) Act of 1974, as amended, and promote a standard of excellence for program development and implementation in juvenile justice and delinquency prevention. Previous honorees reflect a broad array of services, from intervention with children at risk of delinquency and restitution by juvenile offenders to attendant care for pre-adjudicated juveniles and a variety of diversion strategies. The settings for these services have also been diverse, ranging from community centers and alternative schools to youth homes and detention centers. The target populations have varied as well, including at-risk children and juveniles in secure detention. Award categories include delinquency prevention, intervention, and system improvement. Eligible projects must have objectives that advance the goals and purposes of the OJJDP Act and have been operating for at least 2 years. They must also have a funding base that supports continuation of the project through the following calendar or budget year. The selection criteria are also outlined.

Date Published: October 1, 1995