U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Briefing Book: An Overview of Federal Drug Control Programs on the Southwest Border

NCJ Number
Date Published
August 1997
106 pages
This report presents data and information on the programs, achievements, and budgets of the Federal agencies involved in drug control in the region of the Southwest border between the United States and Mexico.
There are five principal U.S. Government Departments concerned with drug control issues in the Southwest border region. These agencies are the Department of the Treasury, the Department of Justice, the Department of Transportation, the Department of State, and the Department of Defense. The Department of the Treasury is responsible for drug interdiction, antimoney laundering, and antifirearms trafficking. The Department of Justice is responsible for drug and immigration enforcement as well as prosecutions, and the Department of Transportation is responsible for drug interdiction. The Department of State involves cooperation with Mexico. The Department of Defense provides counterdrug support. One section of this report outlines the drug control programs of these Federal departments and their component agencies along with the High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA) program administered by the Office of National Drug Control Policy. The agencies and offices whose drug-control work on the Southwest border are described is the U.S. Customs Service, the Internal Revenue Service, U.S. Attorneys, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Drug Enforcement Administration, the Immigration and Naturalization Service, and the U.S. Coast Guard. In addition to the programs, achievements, and budgets of these Federal departments and agencies, information is provided on the demographics of the Southwest region, trade across the border, immigration, crime in the region, and drug seizures. Extensive data and figures