U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Domestic Violence in Washington State: 1999-2010

NCJ Number
247242
Author(s)
Sarah Veele, Ph.D.
Date Published
2011
Length
23 pages
Annotation
This report presents data on domestic violence incidences in Washington State for the period 1999 to 2010.
Abstract
Highlights from this report on rates of domestic violence in Washington State for the period 1999 through 2010 include the following: during the 10-year study period, charging rates for domestic violence (DV) misdemeanor cases decreased 18 percent, while DV felony charges increased slightly; conviction rates for both felony and misdemeanor DV cases also decreased, compared to non-DV cases; 58 percent of first-time DV offenders had offenses pre- and post- their DV event; and 32 percent of all first-time DV offenders reoffended in the 5 years following their initial DV offense, while 67 percent of all DV offenders recidivated within 5 years of being charged. This study had several objectives: provide rates DV case filings in the State and local courts for the period 1999 through 2010; provide rates on first-time DV case filings in the State; provide summary characteristics on first-time DV offenders and describe their offending careers; and describe the criminal trajectory of DV offenders during the 5 years after their first DV offense. Data for the study were obtained from court records filed with the State's Court Contact and Recidivism Database. The database includes charging and disposition information on offenders that allows them to be tracked throughout their criminal career. The records used in the study were for all misdemeanor and felony cases filed in Washington courts between January 1, 1999 and December 31, 2010. Tables, figures, and references