U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Summary of AIDS Laws From the 1989 Legislative Sessions

NCJ Number
I A Bowleg; K Cauley
Date Published
192 pages
This document presents summaries of the more than 140 laws related to AIDS enacted in State legislative sessions in 1987.
One or more laws were passed in Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, and Wyoming. The laws focused on HIV antibody testing, confidentiality and privacy, AIDS prevention and education, AIDS in correctional facilities, reporting and notification, discrimination, medical care, blood donations, school and workplace AIDS policies, and other topics. Chart