U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

9 Elements of an Information Quality Program

NCJ Number
Date Published
January 2010
4 pages
Publication Series

This document summarizes the nine program elements of an ongoing agency-wide information quality program, in order to ensure on a continuous basis that information is accurate, timely, complete, and secure.


This primer provides a listing of the nine elements that are considered steps in a comprehensive information quality (IQ) program; the steps should be completed in order, and the document notes that all the elements must be acknowledged and incorporated into the planning strategy at the formation of the IQ program. Each of the listed steps includes a brief explanation. The nine steps are: the program champion—sponsoring the creation of an IQ program; governance structure; strategic planning; identify justice events and information products; perform the analysis—IQ dimensions and the information life cycle; complete the IQ Assessment, using the Information Quality Self-Assessment Tool; evaluate IQ Assessment findings; education and training; and systematic monitoring, evaluation, review, and validation.

Date Published: January 1, 2010