U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Second Chance Act: Innovations in Supervision Initiative

NCJ Number
Date Published
April 2021
2 pages
Publication Series

After describing the purpose of the Innovations in Supervision Initiative (ISI) grant program developed under the federal Second Chance Act (SCA), this report addresses eligibility, funding amount, award period, allowable use of funds, and highlights of grantee activities.


Signed into law in April 2008 and reauthorized in 2018, the SCA aims to improve public safety by reducing recidivism and improving services for those returning to their communities from prisons, jails, and juvenile facilities. Under SCA provisions, the U.S. Justice Department’s Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) developed the ISI to provide state, tribal, and local community corrections agencies with information, resources, and training and technical assistance on ways to improve supervision capacity and partnerships with other justice agencies to prevent recidivism and reduce crime in their jurisdictions. Entities eligible to receive ISI grants are state governments, Native American tribal governments, county governments, and city or township governments. The award period is 36 months. Grants may be used to support capacity-building activities, including staff training, meeting the rehabilitative and supervision needs of those returning to communities after incarceration, and addressing gaps in and improving services that facilitate effective reentry. ISI grantee highlights are described for entities receiving funding in fiscal year (FY) 2020, FY 2019, and FY 2012. The report notes that some of the most effective ISI programs use technology to improve access to services; provide ongoing opportunities for improved training; use evidence-based supervision models; and co-locate supervision, mental health, and substance-use services.

Date Published: April 1, 2021