U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Fact Sheet: Department of Justice Fiscal Year 2018 Coordinated Tribal Assistance Solicitation

NCJ Number
Date Published
January 2018
2 pages
This fact sheet explains the benefits, procedures, eligibility and application procedure for the U.S. Justice Department's (DOJ's) Coordinated Tribal Assistance Solicitation (CTAS) initiative, which combines most of DOJ's available Tribal government-specific grant programs under one solicitation.
The Tribes are using CTAS funds to enhance their law enforcement, combat domestic violence, strengthen their justice system, prevent and control juvenile delinquency, strengthen the juvenile justice system, serve sexual-assault victims and elder victims, and support other efforts of the tribes to counter crime. CTAS is administered by the DOJ's Office of Community Oriented Policing (COPS), Office of Justice Programs (OJP), and the Office on Violence Against Women (OVW). Awards are managed by "Purpose Area." Each tribal government-specific grant program is referred to as a Purpose Area. Applicants select the Purpose Area(s) that best address their individual public safety, criminal justice, juvenile justice, and victimization needs. Tribes or Tribal Consortia may be eligible for other, non-tribal specific DOJ grant funding. The CTAS is open from Wednesday, January 3, 2018, until 9 p.m. EST on Tuesday, March 20, 2018. Applications submitted after this deadline will not be considered for funding. The advantages of submitting grant applications under CTAS include a centralized focus for Tribes seeking funding for various justice issues, administrative efficiency for both DOJ and grant applicants, and a more comprehensive focus on multiple justice needs. Only federally recognized Indian Tribal Governments, as determined by the Secretary of the Interior, may apply for grants under CTAS. A chart shows projected CTAS funding for FY 2018, distinguished by Purpose Area.