U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites always use a .gov or .mil domain. Before sharing sensitive information online, make sure you’re on a .gov or .mil site by inspecting your browser’s address (or “location”) bar.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

50 Years of Building Solutions, Supporting Communities and Advancing Justice

2001 Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor

2001 Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor

President George W. Bush signs into law the act that creates the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor. Law enforcement officers, firefighters and emergency services personnel are eligible for the award, which is the highest national honor for a public safety officer. Through 2018, 108 medals have been awarded.

In 2011, BJA begins administering the Law Enforcement Congressional Badge of Bravery, conferred by the Attorney General and presented by members of Congress. Through 2015, 127 officers have received this award.

Learn More: Heroes in Law Enforcement

Date Created: February 14, 2020